Encrypto card review: spending USDC straight from your own wallet
The Encrypto card is a Visa debit issued by Lead Bank that draws directly on a self-custody stablecoin balance across nine blockchains. The pitch is unusually clean for a crypto card: keep your own keys, fund the card with USDC on whatever network you already use, and the card settles in dollars. There is no monthly fee, no conversion fee on USDC, and the physical card costs a one-time $5.00. The catch is access: signing up is invite-only and tied to an X (Twitter) account, KYC is mandatory, and the live footprint is concentrated in the Americas plus Europe. If you already hold USDC across multiple chains and want to spend it without first bridging to a custodial account, Encrypto is one of the more direct options on the market today.
The conditions described in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Encrypto earns 7.9 out of 10. That is a strong score for a niche card: the cost structure is unusually fair, the self-custody model is well designed, and the chain coverage (Ethereum, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, Polygon, Avalanche, Solana, Stellar and Tron) is broader than most rivals. It loses points because the invite-only sign-up, the limited support channels and the absence of cashback or a mobile app in stores make it less convenient for people who are not already on-chain. It is best suited to on-chain USDC holders who live in one of the supported markets and want a card that reflects what they already hold, rather than someone who is choosing their first crypto card and needs a polished consumer experience.

| Criterion | Mark | Why it scored this way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Markets are the US, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Europe, but the wallet is described as available globally and the card itself is invite-only. The card is not a universal product. |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Virtual card is free, the physical card is a one-time $5.00, monthly maintenance is free, USDC spends carry no conversion fee, and foreign exchange uses Visa’s rate without an Encrypto markup. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Self-custody wallet on nine blockchains with USDC as the native spend asset, plus an ACH and PIX/SPEI on-ramp. Most chains you might already use are supported. |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | The card is issued by Lead Bank, a US-regulated bank, and the platform is built on Bridge (a Stripe company). There are no official incidents recorded; one user report of a missing refund is the only public complaint I could find. |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual card is instant, physical card is shipped, Apple Pay works, Google Pay is “coming soon” and ATM withdrawals are “coming soon”. No cashback is published. |
| Total | 7.9 / 10 | A fair-priced, technically thoughtful card held back by limited availability and a thin consumer surface. |
If you are an on-chain stablecoin holder who already manages your own keys, this is one of the more honest cards on the market. If you are looking for a cashback-heavy, app-rich experience with a polished support team, you may want to read the alternatives section before signing up.
Who can actually get the Encrypto card
Encrypto is available in a deliberately narrow set of markets. The supported regions are the United States, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Europe. The wallet is described as available globally, but “card availability is determined during signup based on your region”, and the card programme itself is invite-only. The card’s public pages do not list excluded countries; eligibility is checked when you try to sign up rather than stated up front.
The way to read that is: you can probably install the app and create an account from many places, but the moment you request the card the system will look at where you are and at the ID you present, and decide. Colombia is listed as rolling or coming soon in the regional pages, and the platform recently added a Spanish version aimed at Latin America.
Because sign-up is invite-only, you also need an X (Twitter) account to start: the first step is to verify with X, and only after that you are considered for an invite to complete identity verification. Documents, proof of address, age requirements and specific KYC tiers are not stated on the public pages. The identity check is run by Bridge, a Stripe-owned money-transmission business, so the documents and checks are broadly similar to what you would face at any other regulated US financial product.
Practically, the card is for adults in one of the supported markets who already have or are willing to create an X account, and who can pass standard identity verification. If you are in Europe or the Americas and meet those tests, you are in the target audience. If you are elsewhere, the wallet may still work, but the card may not.
How to get the Encrypto card
The sign-up flow is a two-step process and not the kind of thing you finish in five minutes on a Saturday morning. You start by verifying with an X (Twitter) account, and you are not given a card until the platform approves your invite and you complete identity verification. Identity verification is run by Bridge, a Stripe company, which is the regulated money-transmission partner behind the card.
Once your KYC is approved, activation is described as instant. You get a virtual Visa debit card usable anywhere Visa is taken, and you can have a physical card shipped to your address. The card spends in US dollars and is issued by Lead Bank, a US bank, under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, so the rails behind it are mainstream even if the front end is crypto-native. The card material is not stated — Encrypto does not describe it as metal — and the public pages do not give a delivery timeframe, list the countries it ships to, or quote a replacement cost beyond the one-time $5.00 physical issuance fee.
The honest summary is: the application itself is short, the gating is the invite, and the documents Bridge asks for are the usual regulated-finance documents. If you have a passport or national ID and a proof of address, you will probably pass; if you do not, you will not, and there is no documented workaround for that.
What the Encrypto card really costs
Cost is where Encrypto scores highest. The headline fees are unusually low and unusually clearly stated.
| Fee or limit | Encrypto’s published terms |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free (issued instantly) |
| Physical card issuance | $5.00 one-time |
| Monthly or annual maintenance | Free |
| Conversion on non-USDC assets | 0.5% at point of sale |
| Conversion on USDC spends | None |
| DEX swap fee | Market rate, typically 0.01%–0.3% |
| Domestic and international purchases | Free (network fee) |
| Foreign exchange | Visa rate, no Encrypto markup |
| ATM withdrawal | “Coming soon” (fee not stated) |
| Daily spend limit | $10,000 |
| Monthly spend limit | Not stated |
| Overdraft | None — the card declines if the balance is insufficient |
Three everyday examples make those numbers easier to feel.
A $40 lunch in a US city paid with USDC costs you $0.00 in conversion, $0.00 in network fees, and the merchant sees a regular Visa debit. Because the card settles from your USDC balance at 1:1, the dollar you spend is the dollar you held.
A $200 pair of trainers from a European website, paid with USDC, costs you $0.00 in conversion, $0.00 in foreign-exchange markup (Visa’s wholesale rate applies), but a small interchange-like network cost that Encrypto does not take a cut of. If the merchant’s currency is not USD, the conversion happens at Visa’s rate; you do not pay Encrypto anything extra.
A $25 coffee in Buenos Aires paid with a non-USDC asset you hold, say ETH, costs you a 0.5% Encrypto conversion fee ($0.125 on a $25 purchase) plus whatever the on-chain conversion to USDC costs at the back end — typically the 0.01%–0.3% DEX-swap range. The total is still a fraction of what a custodial card that charges 1%–2% would cost.
A few things are conspicuously not stated on the public pages: monthly limits, KYC-level limits, ATM fees (the feature is “coming soon”) and the minimum top-up. There is also an unofficial report that a “Black Tier” with collateral can waive certain transaction fees, but the threshold and the mechanics are not described by Encrypto itself, so treat that as unconfirmed. If any of those numbers matter to you, the right move is to confirm them in-app or with support before relying on them.
How to top up the Encrypto card
Top-ups are the part of the card that is genuinely different from most crypto cards, because the money is not loaded onto a custodial balance first. Encrypto links a self-custody wallet to your card, and the card spends directly from the USDC in that wallet. If you hold anything other than USDC, the conversion happens at the point of sale, not when you top up.

The wallet itself is on nine blockchains: Ethereum, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, Polygon, Avalanche, Solana, Stellar and Tron. That list covers the networks most people already use, with the conspicuous absence of Bitcoin and a few smaller chains. If your stablecoins are sitting on one of these nine, you can point the wallet at them and the card will see them; if they are not, you have to bridge or swap first, and that bridging step is on you.
Sending and receiving USDC on-chain is free on Encrypto’s side; what you pay is the network gas, which is set by the chain and not by Encrypto. Cross-chain transfers cost gas only. For people who want to fund the card from a bank account, there is a free ACH on-ramp that takes one to three business days, and a same-day ACH option for $1.00 where it is available. In Brazil, PIX is free. In Mexico, SPEI is free. A CVU off-ramp in Argentina is rolling out. Colombia and Europe are not listed for off-ramps on the public pages.
The practical walkthrough looks like this. First, you choose which network your USDC is on. If you hold USDC on Base and want to fund the card, you send USDC to the wallet address Encrypto gives you on Base, the funds appear in your on-chain balance, and the card is ready to spend. If your USDC is on Ethereum and you would rather not pay Ethereum gas, you can bridge it to Base yourself or to any of the other supported chains. If you want to top up from a bank account in the United States, you use the free ACH on-ramp; in Brazil, you use PIX; in Mexico, SPEI. The minimum top-up is not stated, so it is worth testing with a small amount first.
One important category-level caution that applies to any on-chain top-up: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and if you send funds on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address of another network, the deposit can be lost or require manual support recovery with no guarantee. Always send a tiny test transaction to a new address before sending the real amount.
Paying with Encrypto in everyday life
In day-to-day use, the card behaves like a plain Visa debit. It works wherever Visa is accepted, which in 2026 is essentially everywhere that takes cards. The virtual card is available the moment your KYC is approved, so you can start using it for online purchases immediately; the physical card is shipped to your address afterwards. Spending is in US dollars, and any non-USD transaction is converted automatically at Visa’s wholesale rate with no Encrypto markup.
Mobile wallet support is partial. Apple Pay works. Google Pay is described as “coming soon” on Encrypto’s own pages. ATM withdrawals are also “coming soon”, so you cannot rely on the card for cash yet. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, which means the default is that everything Visa accepts is accepted, but it is worth confirming directly with support if a specific category matters to you — for example, gambling merchants, which most issuers block by policy rather than by law.
There is no cashback programme on the official pages. An unofficial report mentions “Encrypto Points” earned on purchases during early access, but no cash value is given, and the public-facing material does not promise a rewards programme. If cashback is a deciding factor for you, that is a meaningful gap; the alternatives section covers cards that do publish rates.
The app story is also thin. Encrypto’s main app surface is the web app at app.encrypto.fun, and there are App Store and Google Play listings the public pages do not point to. If a polished mobile app with biometric login, instant card freeze and live spending categorisation matters to you, this is not the card that gives you that today. Two-factor authentication and a user card freeze are not stated either, which is unusual for a regulated debit product in 2026 and worth checking on the day you sign up.
Disputes and chargebacks are not described in the public material. The card is a Visa debit issued by Lead Bank, which means US debit reversal rights and the standard Visa dispute process technically apply, but Encrypto has not published a disputes policy of its own. The “everyday” picture, in other words, is positive for online and in-store spending, and slightly thin on the consumer-comfort features people have come to expect.
What can go wrong with the Encrypto card
The honest way to think about risk on Encrypto is in three layers: the card programme itself, the platform behind it, and the self-custody model that sits underneath.
On the card programme, no official incidents are recorded. There is no Trustpilot page for Encrypto, and the only public complaint I could find is a single user report from September 2026 of a refund notification that did not appear in either the card or the wallet. The report was unresolved at the time of the page I read. One data point is not a pattern, but it is also not zero, and the fact that support is only reachable through X (@encryptodotfun) is itself a risk: there is no phone line, no email address and no in-app chat documented on the public pages, and a public timeline is not a substitute for a regulated dispute process.
On the platform, the structure is unusually serious for a young crypto card. Encrypto Inc. is the company behind it. The Visa debit card is issued by Lead Bank, a US-regulated bank, under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence. Money transmission is handled by Bridge Building Inc. — a Stripe company — and by Lead Bank. The wallet’s key custody is handled by Privy, which is a third-party key-management provider. Encrypto itself says it “cannot access or move user funds”, and the wording “At no time will Encrypto receive, control, or hold your funds” is on its own pages. That is the right structure for a self-custody product, and it is meaningfully better than a custodial card that holds your dollars for you.
On the self-custody model, the trade-off is the one that comes with every self-custody wallet. Your keys live with you in the sense that Encrypto does not hold them, but they are also managed by Privy, and recovery is via social login rather than a seed phrase, which means the security of the account depends on how well you protect your social logins and on Privy’s infrastructure. Two-factor authentication is not described as on by default in the public material, which is worth turning on the day you create the account. On-chain balances have no FDIC insurance, because they are not bank deposits, and that is true of any non-bank stablecoin balance.
A few category-level risks are worth naming once, because they apply to every card of this type. Crypto transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on the wrong network is hard to recover. Stablecoins are not necessarily stable: USDC and USDT have each depegged at least temporarily, and Circle itself publishes the line “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable”. Card programmes can be closed by the network — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and the issuer wound down the FTX US debit card — and Encrypto has not said what would happen to cardholders’ balances if the programme were suspended. The card is a Visa debit, so US debit reversal rights apply, but Encrypto has not published a chargeback or disputes policy of its own.
If any of those risks feel like dealbreakers, read the next section.
What to take instead of Encrypto
Encrypto is not the only card in this category, and three of the more credible alternatives are MetaMask Card, KAST and TokenPocket’s TP Card. They solve the same problem — spending crypto or stablecoins through a Visa or Mastercard — in different ways, and the differences matter once you compare them on cost, availability and rewards.
MetaMask Card (7.1 / 10) is the most direct competitor in spirit, because it also spends from a self-custody wallet. The big difference is reach: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories (Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay and many more), and unsupported regions can join a waitlist. The card is a Mastercard, with a free Virtual tier and a $199/year Metal tier. The headline rewards are 1% cashback in mUSD on the Virtual and up to 3% on the Metal (limited to the first $10,000 spent, then 1%). US and UK sign-ups were temporarily closed at the time of writing. If you live outside Encrypto’s six markets or you want a published cashback rate, MetaMask Card is the more accessible option, at the cost of a $199/year Metal fee and the fact that some sign-ups are paused.
KAST (6.1 / 10) is a very different product. It is a stablecoin-funded Visa programme with three tiers — Standard at $0/year, Premium at $1,000/year and Private at $10,000/year — and a published cashback ladder that goes from 1.5% on Standard to 3% on Private. Foreign-exchange fees are 0.5%–1.75% depending on where you live and where you spend, and a USD-balance card with no FX is unusual. Eligibility is residence-based, with a country list you only see at KYC and a separate rule that your ID’s country matters as well. KAST is a better fit if you want a published rewards programme and a tiered structure; it is a worse fit if you want a self-custody wallet, because KAST holds the balance for you.
TokenPocket’s TP Card (5.8 / 10) is the lightest of the three. It runs on Arbitrum, supports a list of European and Asia-Pacific countries (Germany, France, Spain, Switzerland, Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, South Korea and others), and is virtual-only. TokenPocket’s model is a 1% fee on crypto deposits, which the company says is later refunded through rewards, with no other stated fees. The catch is that the 1% deposit fee is a real cash drag until the refund materialises, and TokenPocket is more of a wallet with a card than a card product on its own.
The short version is: Encrypto is the cheapest of the four if you hold USDC across multiple chains and you live in one of its markets. MetaMask Card is the most globally available self-custody option and the most polished on rewards. KAST is the choice for tiered rewards and a held USD balance. TokenPocket is the choice for Arbitrum-native users and Asia-Pacific residency. None of the four is best on every dimension; each one is a deliberate trade.
Who I would recommend the Encrypto card to
After going through the facts, the audiences I would point to Encrypto are fairly specific. The first is someone who already holds USDC across multiple chains — perhaps USDC on Base for everyday use, USDC on Solana for trading, USDC on Polygon because that is where a particular app lives — and who would rather not bridge everything to a single chain or to a custodial balance just to spend it. For that person, Encrypto’s nine-chain support and 0% conversion on USDC is the right answer.
The second is someone who is already comfortable with self-custody. The wallet is managed by Privy, recovery is via social login rather than a seed phrase, and the platform explicitly says it cannot move your funds. That is a genuine improvement on the custodial model, but it still depends on you protecting your social logins, turning on whatever two-factor option is available, and accepting that on-chain balances are not FDIC-insured.
The third is someone in the United States, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Colombia or Europe who can pass the invite and the KYC. The card is invite-only, X-verified, and runs through Bridge and Lead Bank, which means the regulatory perimeter is real but the access path is narrower than at a fully open card.
I would not recommend Encrypto to three groups. The first is someone whose primary need is cashback, because no cashback is published and the unofficial “Encrypto Points” line is not a cash-equivalent reward. The second is someone who needs ATM cash today, because the feature is “coming soon”. The third is someone who wants a richly supported consumer experience — a mobile app with live categorisation, an in-app chat, a published disputes process — because Encrypto’s published surface is the web app and an X handle.
If you fall into the recommended group, the next step is straightforward: verify with your X account, see whether you receive an invite, complete Bridge’s identity verification, and start with a small USDC top-up on a chain you already use. The first transaction is the moment to confirm that the card works for you in your country, with your bank, and with the merchants you actually use.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Encrypto card?
The Encrypto card is a Visa debit card that draws directly on a self-custody USDC balance across nine blockchains. The card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, with money transmission handled by Bridge Building Inc., a Stripe company, and key custody handled by Privy.
How does the Encrypto card work?
The card links to a self-custody wallet, and the wallet is funded with USDC on any of nine supported chains: Ethereum, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, Polygon, Avalanche, Solana, Stellar and Tron. When you pay, the card settles from the USDC balance. Other assets are converted to USDC at the point of sale.
Is Encrypto a bank?
No. Encrypto Inc. is a technology company. The card is issued by Lead Bank, a US-regulated bank, and the money-transmission work is done by Bridge Building Inc. and Lead Bank. Encrypto itself is not a bank and does not hold your funds.
Who owns Encrypto?
Encrypto Inc. is the company behind the product. Its registration place is not stated on the public pages. Key custody is delegated to Privy, and the regulated money-transmission and issuing partners are Bridge Building Inc. and Lead Bank.
Is the Encrypto card available in my country?
The card is listed as supported in the United States, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Europe, with Colombia noted as rolling or coming soon. The wallet is described as available globally, but card availability is determined at sign-up based on your region. Excluded countries are not listed publicly.
Does the Encrypto card require KYC?
Yes. Sign-up is invite-only, and identity verification is handled by Bridge, a Stripe-owned money-transmission business, after your invite is approved. The specific documents, proof of address and age requirement are not stated on the public pages.
How do I top up the Encrypto card?
You fund the linked self-custody wallet with USDC on any of the nine supported chains. You can also use the free ACH on-ramp in the US (1–3 business days, or $1.00 same-day where available), free PIX in Brazil and free SPEI in Mexico. A CVU off-ramp in Argentina is rolling out, and Europe and Colombia are not listed for off-ramps.
How do I add the Encrypto card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay support is documented as available, so you add the card through the Apple Wallet app on a compatible iPhone or Apple Watch. The exact in-app flow is not described on Encrypto’s public pages. Google Pay is described as “coming soon”.
Is the Encrypto card safe?
The card uses a self-custody wallet managed by Privy, and Encrypto says it cannot access or move user funds. Two-factor authentication and a user card freeze are not described in the public material, so it is worth turning on 2FA at sign-up. On-chain balances are not FDIC-insured because they are not bank deposits.
How do I delete my Encrypto account?
The public pages do not describe an account-deletion process. The closest documented channel for any account-level question is the support contact on X (@encryptodotfun), so the practical first step is to reach out through that handle and ask for the closure process and the treatment of any remaining balance.
Wallet cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
