The plain reading of Meru: cheap to hold, solid on top-ups, thin on trust
Meru is not a bank and does not pretend to be one. It is a card programme: a USD Visa card, physical and virtual, that you load with stablecoins or with ordinary payment rails, and then spend like a prepaid Visa until the balance runs down. That framing tells you most of what matters. A prepaid card cannot overdraw, the balance is what you see in the app, and the interesting question is never whether the card works in a shop – it is what the loading costs, what the conversion costs, and what happens when something goes wrong and you need a human.
On those three questions the picture is genuinely mixed, and mixed in a way I can describe fairly. On top-ups Meru is the strongest card in this comparison. On everyday costs it sits in the middle, with a conversion fee that is high in one direction and invisible in the other. On trust, it is the weakest, because the operator is named but the issuing bank is not, and the user reviews I found are bad enough to make you read them before you sign up.
If you have been turned down for an ordinary bank card, or you hold dollars in a country where dollar balances are awkward to keep, this is a card built for exactly that situation. If you want a card that is simply a debit card attached to your salary, this is not that, and it is trying to be something else.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.3 out of 10
The score is an average, and averaging hides the shape. Let me show you the parts before I show you the total, because two of them contradict each other.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | The page says accounts can be opened “from any part of the world*”, but the footnote is not expanded and there is no country list |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Virtual card free, physical card 5 USD, no maintenance fee; payments in USD outside the US 1%, in other currencies 1.2%; crypto top-up 1% + 1 USD; ATM 0 USD |
| Top-up options | 10 / 10 | USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, plus Tron, BSC, Ethereum |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Operator R3MIT Solutions Inc. (Florida, MSB registered with FinCEN), issuing bank not named; Trustpilot on 5 reviews with complaints about support and blocked access; App Store 4.7 out of 5 |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Physical and virtual Visa, ATM with no Meru fee up to 250 USD per withdrawal; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed |
Total: 7.3 / 10.
Who this suits: someone who wants to spend dollars without a dollar bank account, who already holds USDC or USDT, and who can live with a card that only speaks one currency. The dollar-saver who tops up with stablecoins is the person this product was designed for, and on that narrow question it is well built.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a multi-currency account, anyone who wants Apple Pay or Google Pay in the app description, anyone who reads “no additional charges” as “no fees anywhere”, and anyone for whom an unnamed issuing bank is a dealbreaker. If your money is not already in dollars or dollar-pegged tokens, the conversion fees will eat the convenience.
Who they will give you the card to
Here is the honest answer, and it is shorter than most card pages want it to be: the card’s public pages do not publish a country list. There is no statement about citizenship versus residence. What the page does say is that an account can be opened “from any part of the world*”, complete with an asterisk, and the asterisk is not explained anywhere I could find.
That asterisk is doing a lot of work. An asterisk that is not resolved is a promise with the conditions removed. Every regulated card programme has a list somewhere – it may be in the app, in the terms you accept at sign-up, or in a compliance rule that changes. I am not going to guess at it for you, and I would not open an account expecting the promise to be kept exactly as written without reading what you are agreeing to at that moment.
What is clear: this is not a card that announces “we do not serve your country”. There is no public list of excluded states of the kind some competitors publish. If you are in an unusual jurisdiction, that cuts both ways – less friction at the start, and no way to check in advance.
The age rule is straightforward: users must be adults. Everything beyond that – whether a proof of address is asked for, what happens to a rejected application, how long review takes – is not stated publicly.
How to get it
The account opens with a national identity document. The site’s own wording is “con tu documento nacional de identidad”. The verification picture is a single step as described: a photo of a valid ID – a passport, DNI or cédula are the ones named – plus a facial validation check if the system asks for one.
That is the whole published process. I want to be careful here, because this is exactly the kind of page where silence is worth noticing. Not stated: whether proof of address is required, what the processing time is, what the rejection reasons would be, whether there are account tiers, and how many attempts you get. The step-by-step sequence is not published either.
The card itself comes as a physical and a virtual card, described as a “Tarjeta Visa Internacional”, issued in the USA, on a USD account. Whether the plastic is metal is not stated, and I mention that only because “metal card” is a common marketing line in this category and here there is no such claim to check.
Shipping is the part to look at before you order the physical card: 5 USD for the card, and the shipping cost is “according to the country of shipping” – with no amount given. Countries shipped to, delivery time, and replacement cost for a lost card are all not stated. Budget for the possibility that 5 USD becomes 5 USD plus an international delivery charge you were not shown in advance.
Fees: what it really costs
Let me separate three things that are constantly blurred together: what it costs to hold the card, what it costs to put money in, and what it costs to spend. Only the first one is genuinely free.

Here is the published cost picture:
| Item | What it costs |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Physical card | 5 USD |
| Monthly or maintenance fee | None |
| Payment in USD inside the US | 0% |
| Payment in USD outside the US | 1% |
| Payment in another currency outside the US | 1.2% |
| ATM withdrawal, Meru’s own charge | 0 USD |
| ATM withdrawal, per transaction cap | up to 250 USD, maximum 3 per day |
| Purchase limit | 10,000 USD per day |
Two things in that table need unpacking, and they point in opposite directions.
The ATM line is the best number on this page. Meru charges nothing for a cash withdrawal of up to 250 USD per transaction, three times a day. The operator’s own ATM fee or a Visa conversion charge may still apply, so this is not a free cash machine, but there is no Meru markup on top. Cash out is genuinely cheap here. Before you withdraw you have to enable ATM withdrawals in the app – Tarjetas → Habilitar retiros en ATM – so this is a deliberate switch, not an oversight.
The currency lines are where people get caught. The card is a USD card. If you buy in another currency, the merchant charges you in their local currency, that amount goes to Visa, and Visa converts it to dollars at the current rate. On top of that conversion Meru takes 1% if you are paying in USD outside the US, and 1.2% if you are paying in a currency other than USD outside the US. Inside the US in dollars, the fee is zero.
Read that again, because it is unintuitive: paying in US dollars from inside the United States costs nothing extra, and paying in dollars from Madrid costs 1%. The currency of your purchase and the country you are standing in both matter. This is a card for holding dollars, not for spending across a continent in local currencies.
Two accounts can exist alongside the US one – there is also an IBAN account and an MX account – but the card balance itself is USD. Multi-currency balances at the card are not something the card offers.
There is also a MoneyGram cash pickup option in local currency in 200+ countries. I would treat that as an aside: the published page mentions it without detail, and it is not a substitute for a multi-currency account.
On tiers: there are none. No plans, no levels, no upgrade path. Account opening and maintenance are free, and that is the whole pricing structure. The page says “sin cargos adicionales” and links to a fees page – which, when I looked, showed no amounts. Single tier, in other words.
Top up: the part Meru does better than anyone here
This is where the card earns its best mark, and it earns it honestly. The deposit side supports a long list of stablecoin networks, and the list is the feature.

- USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism and Monad, at 1% + 1 USD
- Tron USDT, at 1% + 5 USDT
- BSC, at 1% + 3 USDC
- Ethereum, at 1% + 10 USDC
- Directly from exchanges, at 1% + 1 USDC
- PIX, at 0
- SPEI, at 2 USD
- PSE, at 0.30% + 0.3 USD
- MoneyGram, at 0.5 USD
- Credit card through Stripe, at 5.40% + 1 USD
- ACH global, MX and CO, at 2 USD (3 USD for ES)
- SEPA global and CO, at 2 USD (3 USD for ES)
- Wire global, at 15 USD (25 USD for ES)
Look at the shape of that first block. Ten network options for two coins, and the network fee difference is stark: the same 1% on the good networks costs 1 USD, while the Ethereum route costs 10 USDC and Tron costs 5 USDT. The percentage is constant; the fixed component is where the network choice bites. Sending on Ethereum instead of Base costs you ten times the fixed fee for the same transfer of the same value. That is not a Meru decision – it is the network’s fee passing through – but it is a decision you make, and it is the one worth making carefully.
One practical warning before you send anything. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network Meru does not support, or sent to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Check the network twice: once in your exchange, once in the app’s deposit screen.
The minimum top-up is not stated, and the exact fee is shown in the app before you confirm – which is the right way to do it, and a reason to look rather than assume.
Getting money back out is a separate fee schedule, and it is worth reading with the same care:
- ACH or SEPA: 0.75% + 1.5 USD
- Wire: 0.75% + 25 USD
- Swift: 0.4% + 15 USD
- Crypto USDC or USDT on Polygon or Stellar: 1% + 1 USD
- Crypto on Tron: 1.50% + 5 USDC
- PIX: 0
- MoneyGram: 0.5 USD
The PIX line at zero is notable if you are in Brazil. Otherwise, cashing out through a bank rail is where the fixed fees bite hardest: a 25 USD charge on a wire is 25 USD regardless of the amount.
Closing the account, per the terms, means withdrawing the balance, notifying Meru, and uninstalling the app. Plan for that as an explicit step rather than a detail.
Paying with it every day
The mechanics are simple. It is a Visa, so it works wherever Visa is taken, in stores and online, and it spends the balance sitting in your USD account – the prepaid model, meaning the card cannot take you below zero and there is no credit line and no debt. That is a real feature, not a limitation, if you have been turned away elsewhere.
The virtual card has restrictions the physical one does not appear to share. On virtual cards, betting platforms, adult sites and dating apps, virtual wallets, and streaming and video-game platforms are restricted, with the restriction applied by geolocation. Named merchants: Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal, Zinli. Limits on individual payments come from the issuing bank and from the merchants themselves, not from Meru’s published schedule.
That list deserves a pause if you are the kind of person who loads a card and then uses it for crypto-adjacent purchases. Binance, Skrill and PayPal are blocked on the virtual card. If your use case is moving money between exchanges and a spending card, you need to know which card you are actually holding.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned anywhere I could find. Not “coming soon”, not “in beta” – simply absent. Same for blocked categories generally, which are not stated. If tokenising the card into your phone is how you normally pay, Meru does not claim to do it and I would not plan around it.
Rewards: no cashback is stated. The page lists “Descuentos y promociones especiales en comercios seleccionados” – discounts and special promotions at selected merchants. That is a marketing line, not a rate you can bank on in your budget.
The app is where you actually live. iOS is the strong side: iPhone and iPad, iOS 15.5 and later, rated 4.7 out of 5 from 1.7K ratings on the App Store as I read it on 20 October 2026. A Google Play listing exists but I did not read its rating, so I will not characterise Android quality from a page I have not seen.
In the app you can freeze and unfreeze the card, set limits, receive real-time notifications, and enable ATM withdrawals. That control set is good – instant freeze is the single most useful thing a card like this offers.
Disputes have a process and a price. Contact [email protected] or use in-app chat, within 30 calendar days of the transaction. Review takes up to 15 business days. There is a fee of 30 USD per disputed transaction, deducted whether or not the dispute succeeds. A reversal is not guaranteed, and chargebacks are not explicitly addressed in what I read.
Sit with that combination for a moment. Thirty US dollars to file, deducted even if you lose, on a card where a single purchase might be a coffee. If you want to dispute a 4 USD charge, the economics are against you before you start. Practically, that fee means disputes are for larger transactions only.
What can go wrong
The operator is named; the bank is not. Meru operates under R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN. No licence changes and no fines surfaced. But the issuing bank is not named on the public page. For a card product, the issuer is the entity whose balance you hold and whose compliance rules apply to you, and this page leaves it blank.
The user reports are thin and bad. Trustpilot for meru.app sits at roughly 3.0 out of 5 from 5 reviews – the company has not invited reviews, so the sample is small and self-selected. A Spanish-language review reports that a third-party transfer (Hotmart) was not credited and that Meru then stopped accepting third-party payments. Another says a rejected withdrawal was still debited and that support is near-nonexistent. One user could not open the app for about a day, reaching them via Instagram. Two are one-star fraud accusations with no detail. Dates are not shown on these.
A second Trustpilot listing, getmeru.com, carries 39 reviews – I did not see its overall score as of 20 October 2026. A one-star from 20 June 2025 describes being locked out for over a week with about 20 support tickets closed unresolved. App Store reviews echo the same themes: slow support, an unresolved withdrawal, difficulty closing an account.
Five reviews cannot condemn a product, and they are not evidence of a pattern – but they are the only user evidence that exists here, and they consistently point at the same thing: not theft, but support that does not answer. Combined with the missing issuer name, that is the risk to weigh. If something goes wrong with your balance, this is where you will find out what kind of company is behind the card.
I found no official incidents and no Reddit threads.
Where the money sits. The terms say Meru “does not administer digital assets on the user’s behalf” and that the app only displays the balance. The App Store text claims funds are “100 % protegido”. The terms do not address insurance or deposit protection. Two-factor authentication is not stated. I am not going to translate that marketing claim into a promise for you, because the terms do not support one.
Help is Spanish-first and unclocked. The main support channel is in-app chat, behind the support icon at the top right. A support email is listed but no address is given. There are channels on X, Facebook, Instagram, Discord and LinkedIn. The help centre is in Spanish, and hours are not stated – the article I saw was dated 9 April 2026. If you do not read Spanish, your first line of help is a translation you have to do yourself.
Structural risks that belong to the category, not to Meru. Programmes get closed. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. FTX’s US debit card was wound down after Visa terminated its global agreements on 13 November 2022. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. I found one 2026 closure reported by a single secondary source – new loads ended 8 July 2026, spending stopped 8 August 2026 – which I cannot confirm, so treat it as a shape rather than an event.
Stablecoins are not risk-free either. USDC lost its peg briefly in March 2023; TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022. And Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity – so a “self-custody” token on a public chain is not beyond anyone’s reach.
What to take instead
Three alternatives, all of which I also scored. None of them beats Meru on top-ups; they trade that away for other things.
| Card | Score | What it is |
|---|---|---|
| Meru | 7.3 / 10 | USD Visa, physical and virtual, loaded with stablecoins |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, USD account |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency Mastercard spending from a UNi.Global balance |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa spending a Whop balance, US states, creator-focused |
International Visa Card is the direct comparison: it publishes an actual country list. Not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule applies by residence or registration – citizenship is not mentioned. Its costs are higher and more transparent: virtual card 5 USD one-time, Classic free, Pro 9.00 USD a month, Max 19.00 USD a month, card use in USD free on all plans, foreign currency at “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Physical card “coming soon”. You can deposit USDC or USDT into the USD account, and deposits of any kind are free – but networks are not stated. So: a card that tells you where it will not work and charges you 2% on the foreign spend, in exchange for the virtual card being free to use in dollars.
UNi Card takes the opposite approach to the currency problem. It is a multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from your UNi.Global balance, with no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live OTC rates, and “no hidden exchange fees”. It also offers spend-to-earn rewards of up to 3%. Its weakness is disclosure: who can get it is not stated, the top-up routes are not stated, and whether the card is physical or virtual is not stated. If multi-currency spending is your problem, this is the card built for it – if you can get it.
Whop Cards is a narrower thing. Visa, usable anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores, spending a Whop balance – pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals use settled funds, and the balance is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. Cashback is 5% at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned, though the payout currency and conditions are not stated. Its reach is explicitly US: 31 states for consumers, 41 for businesses, with an unsupported-country list that includes Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Outside the US, look elsewhere.
The honest summary of this comparison: Meru wins on networks and on not publishing an exclusion list. It loses to International Visa Card on transparency and on documented costs. It loses to UNi Card on currency. Whop is in a different category altogether.
Who I would recommend it to
Recommend it if you already hold USDC or USDT, you spend mostly in dollars, you are outside the US or deliberately keeping dollars away from a local banking system, and you have decided that a prepaid balance you can freeze and cap is worth more to you than a bank relationship. Send your top-up on Base, Polygon or Stellar rather than Ethereum – the percentage is the same and the fixed fee is roughly a tenth. Enable ATM withdrawals only when you need them. Freeze the card when you are not using it. And if your spending involves exchanges, payrolines or anything else on the virtual-card restriction list, hold the physical card instead.
Do not recommend it if any of these apply: you need Apple Pay or Google Pay, you need a multi-currency balance, you spend in local currencies across several countries, you dispute small transactions, you do not read Spanish, or you cannot accept an unnamed issuing bank. In those cases International Visa Card or UNi Card will serve you better, and you will at least be able to read their rules before you commit.
One last thing I will not advise on, because it is above my competence: every card payment funded from crypto may be a taxable disposal, measured in local fiat currency at the value on the date of the transaction. I am not qualified to tell you what that means for you. Talk to someone who is.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Meru card?
Meru is a USD Visa card programme, offered as both a physical and a virtual card, issued in the USA. You load its balance with stablecoins or through bank and cash rails, and it then spends that balance like a prepaid card. The card works anywhere Visa is accepted, draws only on money already in the account, and cannot go negative. The operator is R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida company registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN.
Is Meru a bank?
No, and this is the single most important thing to understand before you deposit anything. Meru is a card programme manager, not a bank, and the issuing bank is not named on the public pages. Your funds are not described in the terms as insured or covered by a deposit guarantee scheme, even though the App Store text claims funds are “100 % protegido”. If that distinction matters to you, treat the balance as unprotected.
Who can get a Meru card?
The public pages do not say. There is no country list, no statement about citizenship versus residence, and no explanation for the asterisk attached to the claim that accounts can be opened “from any part of the world*”. What is stated is that you must be an adult and hold a national identity document – a passport, DNI or cédula. Whether you qualify depends on things the public pages do not publish, so check inside the app before you count on it.
How do I top up the Meru card?
The widest selection in this comparison: USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, Tron, BSC and Ethereum, at 1% plus a fixed fee that ranges from 1 USD on the cheaper networks to 10 USDC on Ethereum. You can also deposit by PIX (free), SPEI, PSE, MoneyGram, credit card through Stripe, ACH, SEPA, wire, or directly from an exchange at 1% + 1 USDC. Always confirm the network before sending – transfers are irreversible.
What does it cost to use the Meru card?
Holding it is free: the virtual card is free, the physical card is 5 USD plus shipping that depends on the destination, and there is no monthly fee. Spending in USD inside the US costs 0%. Spending in USD outside the US costs 1%, and spending in another currency outside the US costs 1.2%. ATM withdrawals carry no Meru charge up to 250 USD per transaction, three per day, though the ATM operator or Visa conversion may charge you. The purchase limit is 10,000 USD per day.
Can I use Meru in Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The card’s pages do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay at all – not as available, not as coming. That is a real gap for anyone who pays by phone, and I would not sign up expecting it. What the app does offer is freeze and unfreeze, spending limits, real-time notifications, and a switch to enable ATM withdrawals. The iOS app is the documented platform, rated 4.7 out of 5 on the App Store; a Google Play listing exists but I did not read its rating.
Is the Meru card safe?
Separate two questions. The card mechanics are reasonable: instant freeze, limits, and a prepaid balance that cannot be overdrawn. The company’s own defences are less documented – two-factor authentication is not stated, and the terms say Meru does not administer digital assets on your behalf. Meanwhile Trustpilot shows roughly 3.0 out of 5 from 5 reviews complaining about blocked access, debited withdrawals and unresponsive support. I would call the card workable and the transparency weak.
How do I withdraw money from Meru?
Withdrawals are fee-bearing: ACH or SEPA at 0.75% + 1.5 USD, wire at 0.75% + 25 USD, Swift at 0.4% + 15 USD, crypto USDC or USDT on Polygon or Stellar at 1% + 1 USD, on Tron at 1.50% + 5 USDC, PIX free, MoneyGram at 0.5 USD. To close the account entirely, the terms say to withdraw the balance, notify Meru, and uninstall the app – so do not treat a small remaining balance as ignorable.
How do I dispute a charge I do not recognise?
Contact [email protected] or use the in-app chat, and do it within 30 calendar days of the transaction. Review takes up to 15 business days. The catch is the cost: 30 USD per disputed transaction, deducted from your balance whether or not the dispute succeeds, and a reversal is not guaranteed. Chargebacks are not explicitly addressed. For small purchases the fee exceeds the amount you are fighting over, so save this process for transactions worth it.
Can I use Meru card for Binance, PayPal or streaming services?
On the virtual card, no. Betting platforms, adult sites, dating apps, virtual wallets, and streaming and video-game platforms are restricted, with the restriction applied by geolocation. The named merchants include Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal and Zinli. If those are the payments you need to make, use the physical card – and expect individual limits to be set by the issuing bank and the merchant rather than by anything Meru publishes.
App and neobank cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
