A crypto card that works well day to day and says little about what it charges
If you have struggled to get an ordinary bank card — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or how long an application takes — the Mobilum Pay app is worth a look. It gives you a virtual card and a plastic one, adds them to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and lets you spend a balance you top up from crypto or from a linked bank account. On the everyday-use side it ticks every box, and it is the best-scoring part of this review.
What holds it back is everything around that. The card’s own pages do not publish a single number: no card price, no monthly fee, no conversion rate, no foreign-exchange fee, no daily or monthly spending limit, no ATM allowance, no deposit fee. You are told the fees are “competitive” and the costs “transparent”, and then you are left to find out. On top of that, the Trustpilot record I could read is very poor: a 2.4 TrustScore from 11 reviews, with 82% of those reviews at one star, describing withdrawals and refunds that were not processed and card transactions the reviewers did not recognise.
So this is a card for someone who mostly wants something that works, and who is comfortable judging the cost after the fact rather than before. It is not a card for someone who needs to know the price of a coffee before they buy it.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | 27 EEA-area countries listed, plus a stated worldwide reach excluding sanctioned nations |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | No amounts published at all — only “competitive transaction fees”; multiple cards without extra fees |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Crypto directly, including BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens, plus a linked bank account; stablecoins and networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Mobilum Inc, an MSB registered with FinCEN, issuing bank unnamed; Trustpilot 2.4 out of 11 reviews, 82% at one star |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay through external wallets, ATM withdrawals |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | Strong at spending, silent on price, weak on published reliability |
Who will they give you the card
This is the strongest part of the card’s story, and if the reason you are reading is that a normal bank said no, that matters more than anything else here.

The page lists 27 countries in the EEA area: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. It also says the card is “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations”.
That sentence does a lot of work, and you should read it carefully rather than take it at face value. “Worldwide” is doing the lifting; “excluding sanctioned nations” is the carve-out. Sanctions lists change, and they are enforced by whoever holds the money rather than by the app in your hand, so a country that is fine today can become a problem later. There is no third option: either your country is served or it is not.
Two things the public pages do not say, and I want to be plain about them rather than fill the gap with an assumption. The page does not state whether the card requires identity verification, and it does not state what level of verification that would be. Nor does it say whether the country test is based on where you live, where you are a citizen, or where your documents are issued. Those are different tests, and for some readers the difference decides the answer. If you are outside the EEA, ask the support team directly and get the answer in writing before you send any money anywhere.
How to get it
The card comes in two forms. You get a virtual card you can start using from your phone, and a plastic card in the mail for the places that still want to see something with your name on it. Both are multi-currency, and the card is on Mastercard — the App Store listing describes ATM withdrawals as available “in MasterCard-supported countries”.
Currencies listed for the card are EUR, USD and PLN, and the app lets you exchange between USD, EUR and PLN.
What you are not told is just as relevant to the practical part of getting started. The pages do not say how long delivery of the plastic card takes, or even whether it is dispatched automatically. They do not describe the application steps: whether you can apply from the app, what documents you upload, whether there is a video check, or how long approval takes. The verification question from the previous section is the same question here, and it is still unanswered publicly.
Given all that, the realistic path is: download the app, see what it asks you for, and judge from that. The App Store listing in Canada shows version 2.8.7 and a 5.0 rating from a single rating. A one-rating average tells you nothing about quality — it tells you the app is barely reviewed on that store.
Fees and the real cost of a payment
Here is where the card is weakest, and I want to give you the facts as they stand rather than dress them up.

The card’s own page says “Competitive transaction fees and transparent costs” and stops. It does not publish a single amount. It says that unlimited cards can be issued — “Flexibility to issue multiple cards without additional fees” — and that is genuinely useful if you want a separate card for subscriptions or for travel, but it tells you nothing about what a payment costs.
To be equally plain about the other side: this is not me finding a card that is expensive. It is me telling you that I cannot tell you what it costs, because nobody has said. If the fees turn out to be low, this review will have understated the value on offer.
| Fee or limit | What is published |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | No amount; multiple cards issued without additional fees |
| Monthly or maintenance fee | No amount |
| Transaction or conversion fee | “Competitive transaction fees” — no amount |
| Foreign exchange fee | No amount; EUR, USD and PLN supported, with exchange between them in the app |
| ATM withdrawal | Available on virtual and plastic cards; fee and allowance not stated |
| Daily and monthly spending limits | Not stated; the app offers card management with limits |
| Tiers | Not stated |
So let us run two or three ordinary payments and see what that does to you. A small purchase paid on the virtual card in EUR: if you already hold EUR balance and the merchant prices in EUR, this is the version where nothing needs converting and your exposure is whatever the card charges at the point of sale — an amount nobody has published. A larger purchase paid from a balance you loaded in USD: now there is a conversion in the chain, and the rate used is not the one you will see on an exchange website, and again the fee on top is not stated. A holiday on another continent: your EUR or USD balance is spent in a local currency, and foreign-issued cards are declined more often than locally issued ones anyway, because the merchant’s systems can read the issuer country off the card number.
The pattern to notice is that the further you are from holding the currency you are spending, the more of the cost sits in numbers the card does not publish. If you live and earn in one of the three supported currencies, this matters least. If you do not, it matters a great deal, and it is worth asking the support team for the conversion rate and the fee in writing before you commit to anything.
How to top it up
The funding routes are simple on paper, which is a good start.
You load crypto directly: the FAQ names BTC, ETH and “many ERC-20 tokens”. You can also link a bank account, and that linked account is used for deposits and withdrawals in both directions. The crypto side is described as a custodial wallet, and crypto can be loaded from any wallet.
Here is the practical trap, and it is the one that costs people money in this category. When a card says it accepts BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens, it does not necessarily mean you can send any of them from any network. ERC-20 is the token standard on Ethereum, and Ethereum charges its network fee in ETH — so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send. USDT also exists on Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and other networks. If you send on a network the card does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the transfer is irreversible and the money can be lost or need a manual recovery request with no guarantee attached. Before your first deposit, get the supported networks and the deposit address from the app and check what network your exchange’s withdrawal screen is set to.
The bank account route is the quiet one. No deposit fee is stated, no minimum is stated, and no withdrawal fee is stated — the page says a linked bank account can be used for deposits and withdrawals and leaves the pricing of that path entirely open as well.
Paying with it every day
This is the section where the card earns full marks, and I mean that as a straight assessment rather than a courtesy.
The card can be added to “any external wallet, such as Apple Pay or Google Pay”. This is the feature that actually changes daily life. When you tap to pay, the phone substitutes a device-specific number for your card number and generates a fresh security code for each payment, so your actual card number is not sitting in the payment stream. Apple Pay stores that device number in the phone’s Secure Element, not on Apple’s servers.
Card management is in the app, including limits — the app lets you set them, even though the default limits are not published. Both virtual and plastic cards work at ATMs.
Three ordinary things worth knowing. First, gambling is where crypto-card complaints most often cluster, partly because many issuers block that merchant category as policy rather than law, and this card’s blocked categories are not stated. Second, online payments may ask for a 3-D Secure step; on Mastercard that is called Identity Check, and it is either a one-time code or a biometric prompt. Third, address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a shopper types against issuer records, is mostly a US, Canadian and UK system and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — one more reason a decline in an online checkout is not automatically a sign of fraud.
Rewards are not stated. There is no published cashback, no points scheme, nothing. If a rewards programme is the reason you are tempted, this card does not advertise one.
What can go wrong
The single most important thing on this page is this: the card’s public pages do not publish the numbers that would let me price the thing. The second most important thing is the complaint record, and that record is bad.
On Trustpilot, read on 21 October, the card has a 2.4 TrustScore from 11 reviews, of which 2 were posted in the last 12 months. 18% are five-star and 82% are one-star. All of it is user report, none of it is confirmed by the card, and a sample of eleven is tiny — but the themes are consistent and they are the themes that should make you cautious:
- Withdrawals and refunds not processed, reported from October 2022 through October 2026
- Support that did not respond, from 2022 through April 2025
- Card transactions the reviewers say they did not authorise or disputed, dated October 2025 and October 2026, some of them tied to gambling merchants
- Verification problems in April 2025
One reviewer writing in October 2025 says Mobilum refused a refund and advises asking your bank for a chargeback. That is what a chargeback is: an instruction from the card issuer to reverse the payment and settle the dispute. It is a tool of last resort, and your leverage depends on your own bank and your own card’s protection — US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should never be assumed.
On the company side, Mobilum Inc is listed at 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003, and is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business (#31000258001314). Starting data names Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o. in Poland. The issuing bank is not stated, and the page speaks of “licensed partners” without naming one. That gap is not fatal — plenty of legitimate programmes work exactly this way, with an e-money institution or bank holding the licence while the brand handles the app — but it does mean the entity that owes you money when something goes wrong is not identified on the page you can read.
The custody arrangement cuts the other way too. The wallet is custodial, which means the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely; and recovery runs through a backup phrase, described as “the only way to restore your wallet”. If you lose that phrase, there is no support desk that can recover the funds for you, because the network cannot freeze or return them either. Crypto transfers are irreversible by design. It is a genuine trade-off — convenience against control — and you should make it knowingly.
Card freeze and two-factor authentication are not stated. Support is a ticket form and an email address in the FAQ, with no languages and no hours published.
For a sense of scale on the custodial risk: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. And programmes do get shut down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its Visa programmes closed; in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.
What to take instead
If the reason you are here is that a normal card is hard for you to get, these three are worth comparing on paper. I have not used any of them; these are their published numbers.
International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10. A US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with the physical card marked “Coming soon”. It has the strictest country list of the three, and it is worth reading carefully: not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case against compliance approval, and purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Note the rule is residence or registration, not citizenship. What it does publish is the most useful information of anything here: $5 one-time virtual card issuance, no maintenance fee, plans at Classic free, Pro $9.00/month and Max $19.00/month, card use in USD free on all plans, foreign currency at “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”, and deposits of any kind free. That single table tells you more than Mobilum Pay’s does. It is a prepaid-style USD account you fund with USDC or USDT, though networks are not stated, and it also accepts USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. No cashback is stated.
UNi Card — 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network spending from the UNi.Global account balance, with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at “live OTC rates” and “no hidden exchange fees”. Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3%. Eligibility, funding routes and physical-versus-virtual are not stated, which is a lot of gaps for a card review.
Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10. Visa, working anywhere Visa is accepted, spending from a Whop balance that is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet — coins and networks not stated. It supports 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, and excludes consumers in Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The page says “No extra fees” without listing a single amount. The cashback is 5% at select merchants, currently Uber, with payout currency and conditions unstated.
The pattern across all three is that none of them is clean either. Mobilum Pay’s distinguishing feature is reach — 27 EEA countries and a stated worldwide availability — rather than published pricing.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to someone in the EEA who cannot get a normal card easily, who already holds crypto and is comfortable moving it, and who primarily pays online or by phone. For that person the combination of a virtual card, a plastic card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and funding straight from a crypto wallet is genuinely good, and it is the strongest everyday-use offering I found in this comparison.
I would not recommend it to you if you are the person who needs the price before the purchase, if your income is in a currency other than EUR, USD or PLN, if you plan to hold a balance there for a long time, or if you are someone for whom an unexplained freeze would be a crisis. The pages will not tell you your limits, your fee, or what would trigger a block, and the complaint record suggests that questions in that category have not always been answered well.
If you are weighing it against the International Visa Card and you live nowhere near its excluded list, that card publishes a 2% foreign exchange fee and a $5 issuance price, and you can do the arithmetic before committing. That is worth more than a vague promise of competitiveness.
One last thing, and it applies to every card here rather than this one in particular. If you fund a card from crypto, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the value on the transaction date — which can make each card payment a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice; I am telling you to ask someone qualified in your own jurisdiction.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Mobilum Pay card?
It is a Mastercard you add to your phone, offered in virtual and plastic form as multi-currency debit and credit cards, with EUR, USD and PLN supported and exchange between them in the app. It is aimed at people who cannot easily get an ordinary bank card, and its pitch is reach rather than pricing: 27 EEA-area countries are listed, plus a stated worldwide availability excluding sanctioned nations. You spend a balance you load yourself, from crypto or a linked bank account.
Is Mobilum Pay a bank?
Not on the evidence published. The company behind it is Mobilum Inc, at 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003, and is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business (#31000258001314); starting data also names Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o. in Poland. The issuing bank is not stated and the page refers only to unnamed “licensed partners”. A card like this is normally run by a licensed e-money institution or bank with a brand in front, so the absence of a named bank is common — but it does mean the entity responsible for your funds is not identified on the public pages.
How do I get the Mobilum Pay card, and how long does it take?
The app is available on iOS and Android, and you can start with the virtual card. The public pages do not describe the application steps, the documents you need, whether there is a video check, or how long approval takes. Delivery times for the plastic card are not stated either. So treat the process as something you discover inside the app rather than something you can plan around, and budget on using the virtual card first.
Does Mobilum Pay require KYC, and who is eligible?
The public page does not say whether identity verification is required, or at what level — that is genuinely unstated rather than “no”. It also does not say whether eligibility follows your residence, your citizenship, or your document-issued country. Outside the 27 listed EEA-area countries, the only guidance is the phrase “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations”. If you are not in the EEA, ask support which test applies to you and get the answer in writing before you send money.
How much does the Mobilum Pay card cost?
Nobody will tell you. There is no published card price, no monthly fee, no conversion rate, no foreign exchange fee, no ATM fee or allowance, and no daily or monthly spending limit. The page says only “competitive transaction fees and transparent costs”, and separately notes that multiple cards can be issued without additional fees. If you need to know the cost of a purchase before you make it, ask the support team for the numbers in writing first.
How do I top it up, and which network should I use?
You load crypto directly — the FAQ names BTC, ETH and “many ERC-20 tokens” — from any wallet, or you deposit and withdraw through a linked bank account. The network question is the dangerous one: ERC-20 lives on Ethereum, which charges fees in ETH, so a wallet with USDT but no ETH cannot send, and USDT also exists on Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. Send on a network the card does not support and the transfer is irreversible.
Can I add it to Apple Pay, and where can I use it?
Yes — the card can be added to “any external wallet, such as Apple Pay or Google Pay”, which is the feature that makes it usable day to day. It works in stores and online wherever Mastercard is accepted, and you can withdraw at ATMs using either the virtual or the plastic card, in MasterCard-supported countries. Online payments may trigger a 3-D Secure step, Mastercard’s Identity Check, with a one-time code or a biometric prompt.
Is the Mobilum Pay card safe, and what about the reviews?
The safety question has two halves. Custody is the first: the wallet is custodial, so the provider holds the credentials, and recovery runs through a backup phrase described as “the only way to restore your wallet” — nobody can reverse a mistaken blockchain transfer. Trust is the second: on Trustpilot, read on 21 October, the card has a 2.4 TrustScore from 11 reviews, 82% of them one-star, describing unprocessed withdrawals and refunds, unresponsive support and unrecognised card transactions. All of that is user report, not confirmed by the card, and eleven reviews is a small sample.
What should I do if a payment is refused or a withdrawal does not arrive?
Start with the app and the support ticket form, and keep your transaction references — a merchant date, an amount and a currency often settles an argument faster than anything else. If the merchant will not resolve it, ask your bank about a chargeback, which is an instruction from the card issuer to reverse the payment; one Trustpilot reviewer reports doing exactly this in October 2025 after a refused refund. Be aware that protections differ by card type, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.
Is the Mobilum Pay card worth it?
Worth it for someone who cannot get an ordinary card easily, already holds crypto, and pays mostly by phone — the virtual and plastic cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and ATM access make that combination genuinely convenient. Not worth it if you need the cost of a payment known upfront, if you earn in a currency other than EUR, USD or PLN, or if you plan to keep a balance there for long. The missing numbers are the deciding factor, and only the card’s support team can supply them.
App and neobank cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
