The Visa card that spends from your own crypto wallet — good idea, unfinished details

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have ever been turned away from an ordinary bank account, an ordinary bank card, or a payment app that wanted a salary slip you do not have, the pitch of the Decaf card is obvious: a Visa card number that spends a crypto balance you control, without a bank in the middle. That pitch is real and, in places, attractive. It is also, right now, a company that tells you less than you would need to make a decision with complete confidence. This review walks through what Decaf actually publishes, what it does not, and where the gaps sit.

Decaf works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

These conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

I read this card as a reviewer, not as someone who holds it. Everything below is what the card’s own public pages state, and — where I say “not stated” — what those pages leave out. I flag the difference between the two throughout, because with a card like this, the silences matter as much as the statements.

Verdict: 6.2 out of 10

Decaf scores 6.2 / 10. That is not a bad score. It is a “promising and cheap, but do your own homework first” score. The single strongest thing about this card is the combination of no monthly fee, no annual fee, and no FX markup from Decaf itself. The single weakest thing is that the company behind it — Decaf, Inc. — does not name its card issuer or its licences anywhere on the pages I could read, and its entire public review footprint is a single one-star Trustpilot review.

Who it suits. The card is built for freelancers and contractors paid in dollars who already keep their own crypto keys and are used to non-custodial wallets. If you think in stablecoins, want a Visa number to hand to a subscription or a supplier, and do not want a bank’s approval process in your life, the value proposition is genuine. If you mostly need a card to buy coffee and ride a taxi, the $90 physical activation outside the US is steep and a prepaid card from a normal issuer will serve you.

Who it does not suit. It does not suit you if you need a card tomorrow and cannot absorb an identity check that the card does not fully describe. It does not suit you if you plan to lean on Apple Pay or Google Pay, or if you need to know exactly which coins and networks you can send to your card — that list is not published. And if you live in one of the restricted countries or US states listed below, it is not for you at all.

The score breaks down criterion by criterion:

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Not issued in 19 restricted countries and 12 US states; open elsewhere, but the citizenship-vs-residence basis of the rule is not stated
Cost 7 / 10 $5 virtual activation; $10 physical (US only) or $90 elsewhere; no monthly or annual fee; FX at the plain Visa rate, no Decaf markup
Top-up options 5 / 10 You pay Decaf in USDC via the app on Solana and Stellar, but the coins and networks that top up the card itself are not named
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Decaf, Inc. is a Delaware company; issuer and licences not named; one Trustpilot review (1 star, Sep 23, 2026) alleging fake support
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa; $250 ATM per transaction, up to 3 times a day; Apple Pay and Google Pay not specified
Total 6.2 / 10 Cheap and genuinely useful for its niche, thin on disclosure and reassurance

Two of those five rows are honest weaknesses, not judgement calls. The 5 for top-up options and the 4 for reliability are where I would tell a friend to slow down and read the small print before wiring anything.

Will they give you the card?

The card is not issued in a fairly long list of countries and in a meaningful list of US states. This is the first thing to check, because it is binary and it costs you nothing to check.

Restricted countries named by the card: Belarus, China, North Korea (DPRK), India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, and Nigeria. Restricted US states: Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Washington. Wisconsin is also on the restricted-state list.

That is 19 country or territory entries and 12 US states. If you are reading this from one of them, the honest answer is: no. If you are elsewhere, the card does not publish a positive list of eligible countries that I could find — it publishes the exclusions, which is the same information seen from the other side, but it is a different shape of reassurance.

One thing the card does not say, and I want to be precise about it: both Russia and Belarus appear on the restricted list, but whether the rule applies by citizenship or by residence is not stated. That distinction matters a great deal in practice. If you hold a passport from a restricted country but live and work legally somewhere else, you may pass a residence test and fail a citizenship test, or the reverse. The card does not resolve this, and I would not assume either way. If your situation is exactly this — a restricted passport, an open residence — ask support directly and get the answer in writing before you commit money. The one-line answer decides whether the rest of this review matters to you.

The reason such lists exist at all is worth understanding, because it is not arbitrary. Card issuance is governed by sanctions and anti-money-laundering screening, and those regimes look at citizenship and country of birth as well as at where you live. The issuer’s own risk policy applies on top of that. When you see a restricted-country list, you are looking at the visible edge of a compliance process that runs in the background.

How to get it

The card’s own instruction is short: “Sign up and verify your identity once.” That is the whole of the published onboarding, and it is where the disclosure thins out noticeably. What documents you need, whether proof of address is required, and what the minimum age is — all three are not stated on the pages I read.

Here is what you can plan around, and what you cannot:

For general context that applies to any card, not just this one: in the EU, customer due diligence covers your name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires your name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems often validate proof-of-address documents against records. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults (18+), and some issuers set higher limits. None of this is Decaf-specific policy — it is the floor that sits underneath any regulated issuer — but it tells you what questions to expect to be asked once your application reaches the partner institution.

My practical advice is unglamorous: assume the check will take a few days, assume it may ask for a document with your address on it, and do not build a payment that depends on the card arriving by a particular date.

Fees: what a Decaf payment really costs

The headline cost story here is unusually good, and I want to give it to you straight before the caveats. There is no monthly fee. There is no annual fee. Decaf adds no FX fee of its own — the card says the exchange rate is the one Visa offers. The costs that do exist are one-off, at activation, and they are steep outside the United States.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Decaf payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The costs table, in full:

Fee or limit What the card says
Activation — virtual card $5, worldwide
Activation — physical card $10 in the US only; $90 in the rest of the world
Monthly fee None
Annual fee None
FX fee added by Decaf None; the rate is Visa’s
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee added by Decaf None (physical card)
ATM limit $250 per transaction, up to 3 times per day
Free ATM allowance Not stated
Spending limits Set by you, in the limits section of the card screen
Card currency Not stated
Tiers Not stated

Read that ATM row carefully, because it is doing two jobs. Decaf adds no ATM fee — but that is not the same as free withdrawals. There is a $250-per-transaction cap and three transactions a day, and the free allowance is not stated. Whether you pay a third-party ATM operator’s own surcharge is a separate matter the card does not address. So the $250 figure is a ceiling on how much you can pull out at once, not a statement about how many withdrawals you get.

Three everyday payments, walked through:

A $30 software subscription paid in euros, from a USDC balance. Here Decaf’s no-FX-markup claim does its work: the conversion happens at Visa’s rate, and no Decaf fee is added on top. What I cannot tell you is whether a crypto conversion fee applies between your stablecoin and the card balance — that fee is not stated. So the honest answer for this payment is: the FX leg is clean, the crypto-to-fiat leg is undocumented. If you pay many subscriptions in foreign currencies, that unknown is the number to chase.

A $12 lunch at a local café. This is where the card is at its most ordinary and most comfortable. It is a Visa; the merchant sees a Visa. If your card balance holds dollars, this is a straightforward purchase against a stored balance. The fee, if any, lives upstream in how you funded the balance.

A $250 cash withdrawal from an ATM. No Decaf fee, capped at $250 per transaction, three times a day. Budget for the ATM operator’s own fee, which the card does not promise to cover.

The general shape to keep in mind: in the pre-loaded balance model this card uses, you convert or top up a balance first, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. That is a real comfort. It also means every fee upstream of the card is a fee you pay before you ever tap.

Top up: how money reaches the card

There are two different things people mean by “topping up,” and Decaf’s pages describe both in slightly different ways, so it is worth separating them.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Decaf starts with a transfer to the right network

Paying Decaf can be done by card, by bank transfer, or in USDC. Decaf publishes payment links and account details for this. The sample balance shown on the page is in USDC.

Filling the card balance is described as: your funds arrive as USDC into the Decaf balance, and you move them to the card balance inside the app. The app runs on Solana and Stellar. Which coins and networks top up the card itself is not stated. This is the 5-out-of-10 in the score table, and it is the honest soft spot.

Not stated, and worth knowing before your first transfer:

That last one is the one that can cost you real money. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. That is a property of the technology, not a quirk of this card — but it is exactly the scenario an unpublished network list invites. Send a small test amount first.

Two further context points that are true of the category and bear directly on your choice of coin. First, network fees (gas, bandwidth) for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — so they are not part of any Decaf fee table. Second, on Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send. Tron prices its fees through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. These are the small mechanical traps people fall into.

Getting money back out is better documented than putting money in. Bank withdrawals go to accounts in “85+ markets,” and cash pickup works through MoneyGram in “180+ countries.” What is not stated: moving the card balance back into crypto, and what happens to a balance when you close the account.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day, this is a Visa card and it behaves like one. Virtual or physical, tap it, and the purchase clears against your balance. Spending limits are yours to set in the limits section of the card screen, which is a genuinely useful control to have.

The iPhone app is the centre of the operation, and it is a real app rather than a thin wrapper. It runs on iPhone, iPad and Apple Vision, and it carries a 4.4 out of 5 rating from 113 ratings on the App Store, as read on 2026-10-21. That figure moved during my checking — an earlier reading showed 4.5 from 88 ratings — which is normal for a live listing and not something to over-read either way. The Google Play listing was not read.

The app is described as non-custodial, in its App Store wording: “only you control your private keys.” Decaf separately states it is not an asset custodian. Taken together, the model is that your crypto stays yours and the card merely lets you spend it — which is the honest version of the appeal, and I want to credit it as such.

Two things I looked for and did not find: Apple Pay and Google Pay are not specified, and neither is the app’s language coverage beyond English (the App Store lists English only). Also not stated: blocked merchant categories, rewards or cashback, and the dispute process if a charge goes wrong. Rewards being unspecified is a small disappointment — many cards in this category offer some cashback, and here there is simply nothing to point at.

A note on how these cards behave in the wild, because it explains the everyday friction people report with crypto cards generally. Merchants can look up the card’s BIN to see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. Address verification (AVS), which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — a common cause of declines. None of this is Decaf-specific, but it is the ambient environment your payments happen in.

What can go wrong

I looked for official incidents and found none. On the third-party side, the picture is thin rather than rosy, and I would rather show you thin than dress it up.

The complaints. There is one Trustpilot review — “Scammers 2,” 1 star, Sep 23, 2026 — alleging fake support. It is a single user report on an unclaimed profile, and one review is far too few to call a recurring theme. I am telling you it exists because a single angry review is not evidence of a pattern, and equally, dismissing it would not be honest. A search for Decaf card reviews turned up no Reddit threads and no other card-specific reviews, which tells you the card is either very new or very small, and probably both.

The company. Decaf, Inc. is described as a “financial technology company registered in Delaware, USA.” It says plainly that it is “not a bank, exchange, or asset custodian,” and that payment services are provided via licensed partners in each jurisdiction. The card issuer is not named, and no licences are named. This is the 4-out-of-10 in the score table, and it is the finding I would weigh most heavily. When the front-end brand does not name who issues the card or under which licence, you are trusting an arrangement you cannot read.

Support. The Help Center runs on Intercom, with collections for Business Accounts, the Decaf wallet, DecafPay, and Guidelines. No other channels and no opening hours are listed, and the app is English only — Russian, for instance, is not supported. If you are making payments in a language other than English, or you keep hours a support team in another time zone does not, that is a practical limitation, not a footnote. And the one review that exists complains specifically about support.

Security. The app is non-custodial, Decaf states it is not an asset custodian, and you set your own spending limits — all real strengths. But in-app freeze and two-factor authentication are not stated. Those are the standard safeguards (app-based 2FA, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure) that most people assume come for free with a card. Here, two of them are simply not confirmed.

The category’s own tail risks, which apply to any card in this space: card programmes do get wound down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest — a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands — was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. And stablecoins are not immune to shocks: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, USDC lost its peg briefly in March 2023, and “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable.”

None of that is a prediction about Decaf. It is the weather in this neighbourhood.

What to take instead

If you need a crypto-linked card with more published detail, three alternatives in the same space have more on the table. I am not recommending any of them outright — you should weigh them against the same questions I asked above — but the contrast is instructive, mostly in how much each one publishes.

Decaf TokenPocket MetaMask KAST
Score 6.2 5.8 7.1 6.1
Card network Visa Visa / Mastercard Mastercard Visa
Where Not in 19 countries, 12 US states EU/UK/Switzerland/Australia/Canada/Japan and others 45 listed countries, waitlist elsewhere Residence list shown at KYC
Base cost $5 virtual; $10/$90 physical NFT creation fee partly covered, small portion by user Virtual free; Metal $199/year Standard $0; Premium $1,000/yr; Private $10,000/yr
Ongoing fee None 1% on crypto deposit (refunded later via rewards) “Minimal fee”, amount not published 0% card spend; 0.5%–1.75% FX on non-USD
Rewards Not stated Deposit fee refunded via rewards Cashback 1% (Virtual) / 3% up to $10k then 1% (Metal), paid in mUSD USD cashback 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier on spend caps
Keys Non-custodial Wallet deposits Spends straight from connected wallet Own balance, stablecoins converted 1:1

A few honest notes on each. TokenPocket (5.8) runs on Arbitrum and offers Visa in Europe and Mastercard in a wider list; its Fiat24 cards are virtual only, with balances in EUR24 and USD24. It charges a 1% fee on crypto deposits, which it says is later refunded through rewards or reduced transaction fees. MetaMask (7.1) spends directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana; sign-up is open in 45 listed countries, proof of residency is required, and US and UK sign-ups were temporarily closed. Its Metal card is $199 a year. KAST (6.1) has three paid tiers, an unusual structure, and it publishes its FX spread (0.5%–1.75% depending on where you live and which programme you pick) — the transparency itself is a point in its favour, even at that price.

What stands out when you put Decaf beside them is not that it is worse — on cost, Decaf is the cheapest of the four by a wide margin, with genuinely zero ongoing fees. It is that Decaf publishes the least. It does not name its issuer or licences, does not list its top-up networks, does not specify Apple Pay support, and has no rewards on the page. If your decision hinges on knowing who stands behind the card and exactly how a deposit travels, Decaf asks you to take more on trust than the others do.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Decaf card to someone in this specific situation: you earn in dollars, you already hold your own keys, you are comfortable with crypto mechanics, and what you want is a Visa number that spends a stablecoin balance without a bank’s approval process and without a monthly fee. For that person, the card is a good deal — $5 to try it virtually, no recurring cost, and FX at the plain Visa rate.

I would point someone else elsewhere. If you need a bank-grade answer about who issued your card, Decaf does not give you one today. If you want to add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, that support is not specified. If you want to know which networks you can deposit on before you send money, you will not find that on the page. And if you are in one of the 19 restricted countries or 12 restricted US states, or you hold a passport from one of them, resolve the citizenship-versus-residence question with support first.

My own sequence, if I were doing this: start with the $5 virtual card, set conservative spending limits, make one small real payment, and only then decide whether the $10 (US) or $90 (elsewhere) physical card is worth it to you. Test any top-up with a small amount first, on a network you have confirmed. Keep the in-app freeze and 2-Feature status in mind — if the app does not offer them, that is a small but real gap in your own security net.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Decaf card?

The Decaf card is a Visa you spend from a crypto balance instead of a bank account. It comes as a virtual card or a physical card with tracked delivery, and it is aimed at people who already hold their own crypto rather than a bank’s stored balance. Decaf describes itself as a financial technology company, not a bank or asset custodian.

How does the Decaf card work?

You pay Decaf by card, bank transfer or USDC; the funds arrive as USDC in your Decaf balance, and you move them to the card balance in the app. The app runs on Solana and Stellar, and your card then spends that stored balance like a prepaid Visa. Because it is a pre-loaded balance, the card cannot overdraw. The crypto conversion fee, if there is one, is not stated.

Is Decaf a bank, and who owns it?

No — Decaf says plainly it is “not a bank, exchange, or asset custodian.” It is Decaf, Inc., a financial technology company registered in Delaware, USA, and it says payment services run through licensed partners in each jurisdiction. The card issuer is not named and no licences are named, which is the single biggest disclosure gap in this review.

Who can get the Decaf card?

It is not issued in Belarus, China, North Korea, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico or Nigeria, nor in twelve US states including California-neighbouring Washington and Oregon. Whether the restriction follows citizenship or residence is not stated.

How much does the Decaf card cost?

There is no monthly fee and no annual fee, and Decaf adds no FX fee — the rate is Visa’s. Activation is $5 for the virtual card, $10 for the physical card in the US, or $90 for the physical card elsewhere. ATM withdrawals carry no Decaf fee but are capped at $250 per transaction, up to three times a day. Whether a free ATM allowance exists is not stated.

How do I top up the Decaf card?

You can pay a Decaf payment link or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC, and the money lands as USDC which you move to the card balance in-app. The important caveat: which coins and networks top up the card itself is not stated. Because transfers are irreversible, confirm the network with support and send a small test amount first.

Is the Decaf card safe to use?

There are no official incidents on record and no recurring complaint pattern — the entire third-party footprint is one one-star Trustpilot review from Sep 23, 2026 alleging fake support. The app is non-custodial and you set your own spending limits, but in-app freeze and two-factor authentication are not stated. As always, send only what you can afford to lose and test transfers.

Can I add the Decaf card to Apple Wallet or use Google Pay?

Neither Apple Pay nor Google Pay is specified on the card’s pages. That is not the same as “not supported,” but it is not a confirmed yes either. If tokenised mobile wallets matter to you — for tap-to-pay on a phone being your main mode of payment — ask support before you rely on this card, and consider the alternatives that document their wallet support.

Is the Decaf card free?

The virtual card is free apart from its one-off $5 activation, and the physical card costs $10 in the US or $90 elsewhere to activate. There is no recurring monthly or annual fee. So the only thing you pay to try the card, as a virtual card, is $5 — which is why I would start there rather than ordering the physical card first.

What happens to my money if Decaf closes?

Card programmes in this space do sometimes wind down — Visa ended its agreements with FTX in 2022, and WaveCrest’s Visa programmes were closed in 2018. Closures normally mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you withdraw your balance. Decaf does not publish a policy on moving the card balance back to crypto or on what happens to a balance on closure, which is worth asking about.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team