A USD Visa card you load from a crypto balance — and what the public pages leave unsaid

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

TakeCard is a prepaid Visa card that spends a balance you load first — mostly from crypto held on the Takenos platform, in US dollars, without a monthly fee that the public pages name. On the surface it does the job: the virtual card is available immediately, Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, USD payments go through at 1:1, and spending is capped by your balance rather than by a credit line. That is the good half.

TakeCard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The other half is what you have to accept as a reader. The provider is Takenos; the site names no legal entity, no issuer and no licence. The physical card exists only for Bolivian users. The countries eligible for the virtual card are not listed anywhere in the help articles. Several fees that a spender would run into — the crypto conversion fee, the deposit fee, the minimum top-up, who pays the network fee — are simply not stated. And the Trustpilot score sits at 3.2 out of 5 from 147 reviews, with a recurring theme of accounts deactivated and balances frozen without explanation.

My score is 5.5 out of 10. That is not a verdict on whether the card works; it is a verdict on how much I could verify about who stands behind it and what it costs in the situations you will actually meet. For a Latin American crypto holder paying in USD, the product is usable and the economics are decent. For anyone who needs a card they can rely on after a freeze, the documentation is too thin.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, criterion by criterion

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 Countries are not listed in the help articles; the physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual card USD 5, 1% commission per purchase, USD payments 1:1, ATM 1% plus the ATM’s own fee; no monthly fee named
Top-up options 6 / 10 Top-up from the Takenos balance, coins not named in the article
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Issuer and licences not named, card issued in the United States, Trustpilot 3.2 from 147 reviews, complaints about deactivation with funds frozen
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card immediately, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM limit USD 250 per transaction; plastic only in Bolivia

Total: 5.5 / 10. The two strongest lines are cost and everyday use, which is where a payment card earns its keep. The two weakest are eligibility and reliability, and both fail on the same axis: the public pages do not tell you enough for the decision to be confident.

Who this suits: someone already holding crypto on Takenos, spending in US dollars or in a country where a dollar-priced card is useful, who treats the balance as spending money rather than as savings. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card outside Bolivia, anyone who cannot clear an identity check with a national ID and a short video, and anyone whose plan depends on being able to withdraw a balance back to a bank or to crypto — because the pages I read do not say that this is possible.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up TakeCard starts with a transfer to the right network

Who will they give you the card to?

The honest answer is that the public pages do not draw a boundary, and that is itself the answer you need to weigh.

The TakeCard help articles never list the countries eligible. What they do say is that the physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”, and that the Takenos site describes the wallet as able to receive payments from any country. Those two statements sit in tension. Receiving payments from anywhere is not the same as being allowed to hold a card issued from anywhere.

Starting data I could not confirm on a page I was able to read lists the virtual card for Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy. Treat that as an unofficial indication, not as a confirmed eligibility list. If you are outside those ten, you have no evidence either way from the card’s own documentation, and no published answer to appeal to.

Two structural points help you read the gaps. First, the card is stated to be issued in the United States. Merchants can look up the issuer country from the card’s first six or eight digits, and a card whose issuer country differs from the billing address may attract extra scrutiny at the till. So even where the card works, it may behave slightly like a foreign card. Second, this is a prepaid product, which usually means an age floor of 18 and no borrowing. The card is described as prepaid with a USD balance.

If your situation is “I cannot get an ordinary bank card,” then the gaps above are the whole of what you have to go on, and I would not treat a help-centre silence as permission. Ask support directly, in writing, before you load anything you would miss.

How to get it

The route is short and entirely in the app, and the identity check is a single one-time step.

Documents: a photo of the front and back of your DNI, plus a short gesture video used as a biometric check. The check is one-time, and the card is described as taking up to 24 business hours. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated as required. There is only one verification level, and the pages do not list rejection reasons — so if it fails, you learn why only from support.

The steps, as the help centre lays them out:

  1. Open the app.
  2. Go to Tarjetas.
  3. Choose “Internacional”.
  4. Tap “Quiero mi tarjeta”.
  5. Pass the identity check.
  6. The card is then notified as ready.

Two things to expect at the end of that flow. If you asked for the virtual card, it is available immediately — no waiting. If you asked for the physical card, you are in Bolivia, and the delivery fee is USD 20 per the fee page. Delivery time is not stated, and the cost of replacing a lost physical card is not stated either, which matters more in Bolivia than anywhere else, since that is the only country where the plastic exists.

One more thing the pages do not say: what happens to an already-issued card if your account is later restricted. That is not a detail you can check at signup. It belongs to the section on what can go wrong.

Fees: what it really costs

TakeCard’s pricing is straightforward in the places it covers and silent in the places that bite. The table below is everything the public pages name.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a TakeCard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Virtual card issuance USD 5
Physical card issuance (Bolivia) USD 20
Physical card shipping (Bolivia) USD 20
Monthly fee Not stated
Commission per purchase 1%
USD payments 1:1, no currency adjustment
Other currencies Converted at the official Visa rate of the transaction day
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM fee (Takenos) 1% of the amount
ATM operator fee Usually around USD 5
Free ATM allowance Not stated
Spending limit No fixed limit; balance only
Default weekly limit USD 5,000, changeable in the app
ATM limit USD 250 per transaction including the ATM fee
ATM daily limit USD 750 per day across up to 3 transactions
ATM attempts 3 per 24 hours

There is a conflict inside the card’s own help centre about the physical card: one article gives USD 10 for the physical card in Bolivia, another gives USD 20 for issuance plus USD 20 for shipping. I have shown both numbers rather than picking one, because you should ask support which applies before you pay.

Now the part that matters more than the table: three everyday payments, and which of these lines actually applies.

A USD 10 subscription you already pay for. You pay USD 10 plus the 1% commission, so USD 10.10. The USD leg is 1:1, no currency adjustment. This is the cleanest case the card has, and it is the one most Latin American users will hit, since paying a dollar-priced service locally often means carrying dollars anyway.

A EUR 30 purchase. You pay EUR 30 converted at the official Visa rate of the transaction day, plus the 1% commission on the purchase. The rate is the day’s, not a locked one, so the amount in your currency can differ from what you planned. The articles do cover both ARS and EUR payments alongside USD. If you are paying in pesos, the gap between the card’s rate and the “financial dollar” rate you might get elsewhere is a real cost, and one Argentine article reported the card staying more than 15% more expensive than that benchmark because other levies also apply.

A USD 40 cash withdrawal. Takenos takes 1% of the amount, so USD 0.40, and the ATM operator usually charges around USD 5. That is roughly USD 45.40 drawn from your balance to get USD 40 in cash. No free allowance is stated anywhere. This is the single most expensive thing you can do with this card, and the USD 250 per-transaction ceiling means you would need several visits to get a large amount of cash.

The 1% per purchase is the number that quietly shapes behaviour. It is small enough to ignore once and large enough to matter if you use the card daily: a hundred purchases a month at an average of USD 10 is USD 10 of commission, which is twice the cost of the virtual card itself. And the crypto conversion fee is not stated, so the real cost of loading crypto and then spending it cannot be calculated from the public pages. If you hold USDT and spend dollars, that missing number is the whole spread you earn for doing the conversion. It is the first thing I would ask support.

How to top it up

The stated route is short: you top up from your Takenos account balance. The article does not name which coins.

Starting data says USDC and USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum into the Takenos account. I could not verify that on the card’s pages, so treat it as unofficial. But it is worth taking seriously as a working assumption, because the networks involved carry very different failure modes.

The two things that actually go wrong with stablecoin top-ups are network and address. A blockchain transfer is irreversible: send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, and the money can be gone or reduced to a manual support request with no guarantee of recovery. That is not a TakeCard rule, it is how blockchains work.

The second is that networks differ in what they require from you. On Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often by burning TRX. And USDC is not native on Tron — Circle stopped supporting it there in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not an option you can count on.

Two further points you should not gloss over. The deposit fee, the minimum top-up, and who pays the network fee are all not stated in the TakeCard articles. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so they come out of your wallet rather than the card’s fees. And note the direction of travel: cash comes out only through an ATM. Withdrawal back to crypto or to a bank, and what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account, are not stated on the pages I could read.

That last point is the one I would not accept quietly. A card you can fill but not empty is a different product from a card you can fill and empty. Before your first top-up, get an answer on how money leaves.

Paying with it every day

In use, the card behaves like an ordinary prepaid Visa, and the mobile wallets are the best part.

Apple Pay is supported on iPhone, Apple Watch and iPad. You can add the card manually, once per 24 hours. Google Pay and PayPal also have help articles. This is where the absence of plastic stops mattering: most spending in many markets goes through a phone wallet, and tokenised card numbers in Apple Pay or Google Pay work well with foreign-issued cards because the device handles the token rather than the network handling the PAN.

At an ATM, you can withdraw with either the virtual or the physical card, at any ATM that accepts other institutions’ cards. The limits are as in the fee table, and there is a detail buried in the app path worth knowing: you can change the weekly spending limit yourself under Tarjetas > Ajustes > Límites y restricciones. The default is USD 5,000 per week.

The app itself is available on iOS and Android through a single link. Ratings are not stated on the pages I read.

Two areas are simply silent. Rewards are not stated — no cashback, no points, nothing to count on. And blocked merchant categories are not stated. That second silence has teeth: gambling, for example, sits under a merchant category code that many issuers block on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. Since TakeCard publishes no list, you may discover the restriction at a till.

If a payment goes wrong, the documented path is: pause the card in the app, then contact support with the date, the amount and the merchant. No time frame is stated and chargeback is not mentioned. Refunds are credited to the Takenos balance, and the standard stated window is 15 to 30 business days after the merchant processes the return.

One structural point that affects any failed payment, not just this card’s. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with the issuer’s records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK — which means it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A declined authorisation may also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. So a card payment that looks like it failed can still be holding your money a week later, and the card’s own 1% is not the only number at play.

What can go wrong

I found no official incidents. What I did find is a low score and a consistent complaint theme, and the honest reading is that the risk here is not a headline scandal — it is the ordinary failure mode of a custodial platform that freezes things without explaining why.

On Trustpilot, TakeCard sits at 3.2 out of 5 from 147 reviews, of which 28 were in the last 12 months, as I read on 2026-10-21. The themes:

These are user reports on a third-party site, not verified findings, and the sample is self-selected. But a 3.2 with the same complaint about frozen funds in multiple reviews is a pattern worth pricing in.

Underneath that sits the structural question. Takenos is the provider; starting data names Global Flow S.A.U. The site names no legal entity, no issuer and no licences, while stating the card is issued in the United States. Where a crypto card works, there are normally several parties: the network routes the messages, a licensed issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager and front-end. When something goes wrong, knowing which of those parties you are dealing with is the difference between a complaint that gets answered and one that does not. Here that chain is not published. And under EU-style due diligence rules, if the checks cannot be completed, the institution is required to hold off — which is exactly why accounts get frozen pending documents, and why “frozen without explanation” is a category every crypto card user already knows.

Whether the funds are custodial is not stated. That matters more than it sounds. If the provider holds your credentials, you must trust them completely; if the money sits in your own wallet until the moment of payment, you bear the loss risk yourself. The pages do not say which model applies here.

What you can do, without any workaround: pause the card in the app, report a lost or stolen card, and set the ATM PIN in the app. Those are the documented controls. Beyond them, keep the balance you load to an amount you could lose while you are still learning how the account behaves, and read the fee page before your first ATM visit rather than the third.

Support is reachable in-app chat and on WhatsApp at +54 9 11 2471-6668, and by email at [email protected]. The help centre has an English path, but the articles themselves are in Spanish. Opening hours are not stated.

What to take instead

None of these is clearly better. The comparison is useful precisely because the gaps sit in different places — TakeCard’s weakness is disclosure, and the alternatives’ weakness is coverage.

TakeCard Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.5 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Who can get it Countries not listed; physical only in Bolivia “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no list or exclusions Aimed at Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users”; no list stated No country list on official pages; App Store says works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility)
Card Virtual immediately; physical Bolivia only; Visa; issued in the US; prepaid; USD Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical; Naira per listing Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR
Cost USD 5 virtual; no monthly fee stated Not stated “Creating a virtual card is completely free” Not stated; App Store page lists no fees
Fees 1% per purchase; USD 1:1; other currencies at Visa’s day rate Real-time conversion at payment; “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picks the best rate; no percentage stated Not stated Not stated on pages I could read
Top-up From the Takenos balance; coins not named USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; networks not stated
Rewards Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Read across the fee rows and you will notice the pattern: TakeCard is the only one of the four that publishes a percentage. The others describe how conversion works without saying what it costs. That is worth something — you can model TakeCard’s cost and you cannot model the others.

Where TakeCard is weak, Cardex and CardFlow are stronger on stated reach. “200+ countries” and “Nigerians and global users” are marketing phrases without a list behind them, but they are at least claims about reach rather than silence. Cardex’s multi-network card (VERVE alongside Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay) and CardFlow’s Naira bank transfer are both options TakeCard does not describe. Where CardFlow beats TakeCard outright is the entry cost: creating a virtual card is free there, against USD 5 here.

Where TakeCard wins is the ATM. It is the only one of the four with published ATM limits — USD 250 per transaction, USD 750 per day — and the only one that says what a cash withdrawal costs you. CardFlow’s and HyperCard’s pages simply do not address cash.

And HyperCard, at 4.7, is the closest structural match to TakeCard: a prepaid card with a USD or EUR balance loaded from crypto, with no fees stated and no network named. If TakeCard’s unstated fees bother you, HyperCard’s silence is deeper.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend TakeCard to someone in one of two situations.

The first is a crypto holder in Latin America who is already on Takenos, spends in dollars, and wants a card number that works with Apple Pay and Google Pay today rather than a plastic that does not exist in their country. For that person the 1% commission and the 1:1 dollar leg are a fair price for a working USD balance, and the absence of a monthly fee means an idle card costs nothing.

The second is someone who has hit a wall with ordinary banking and needs a prepaid card as a working fallback. Here the recommendation is narrower and comes with a condition: top up in small amounts first, and confirm in writing how money comes back out before you treat the balance as anything but spending money. Cash out through an ATM costs a significant fee on a USD 40 withdrawal, so if you foresee needing money rather than spending it, this is the wrong instrument.

I would not recommend it to anyone who needs the physical card outside Bolivia, anyone who cannot produce a DNI and a gesture video, anyone whose country is not on the unofficial ten-country list, or anyone who needs a predictable answer on frozen funds. The published facts are too thin on that last point, and the Trustpilot pattern points the same way.

The card is described as live and functioning. My reservation is not that it fails — it is that the public documentation does not let you predict how it will behave in the moment you most need it.

Frequently asked questions

What is TakeCard card?

TakeCard is a prepaid Visa card issued in the United States that spends a balance you load first, mainly from crypto held on the Takenos platform. The card currency is USD and USD payments go through at 1:1 with no currency adjustment. A virtual card is available immediately for USD 5; a physical card exists only for Bolivian users. The provider is Takenos.

Is TakeCard a bank?

No — the card pages describe Takenos as the provider, and the site names no legal entity, no issuer and no licences. A prepaid card normally draws on a stored balance rather than a bank account, and TakeCard’s does exactly that. Since the issuing institution is not published, I would not treat this as a bank deposit.

Which countries can get a TakeCard card?

The help articles do not list eligible countries at all. The physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”, while the Takenos site says the wallet can receive payments from any country. Unofficial starting data lists the virtual card for Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy — not confirmed on a readable page.

Does TakeCard require KYC, and what documents?

Yes — a single one-time identity check, taking up to 24 business hours. You provide a photo of the front and back of your DNI plus a short gesture video used as a biometric check. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated, and there is only one verification level. Rejection reasons are also not stated, so a failure is explained only by support.

How much does TakeCard cost to use?

The virtual card costs USD 5. Each purchase costs 1%. A physical card in Bolivia is USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping, though another article in the same help centre says USD 10 — the card’s own pages conflict. No monthly fee is stated. ATM withdrawals cost 1% from Takenos plus the ATM operator’s fee, usually around USD 5.

How do I top up the TakeCard card?

The stated method is to top up from your Takenos account balance. The article does not name which coins. Unofficial starting data says USDC and USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum — not verified by me. The deposit fee, the minimum top-up and who pays the network fee are all not stated in the TakeCard articles.

Can I withdraw money from TakeCard back to crypto or a bank?

Cash out through an ATM only, as far as the pages I read go, and it is expensive: 1% from Takenos plus the ATM’s own fee, usually around USD 5, on a USD 250 per-transaction ceiling. Withdrawal back to crypto or to a bank, and what happens to a remaining balance on account closure, are not stated. Ask support before you load anything.

How do I add TakeCard to Apple Wallet?

Add it through Apple Pay, which TakeCard supports on iPhone, Apple Watch and iPad. The card can be entered manually, and it can be added once per 24 hours. Google Pay and PayPal also have help articles, so a phone wallet covers most spending even though the plastic card is Bolivia-only.

Is TakeCard safe?

There are no official incidents on record that I found, and the documented controls are real: pause the card in the app, report a lost or stolen card, set the ATM PIN in the app, and change the weekly limit under Tarjetas > Ajustes > Límites y restricciones. Against that, Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from 147 reviews, with reports of deactivated accounts and frozen balances.

Why did my TakeCard payment get declined?

Several ordinary reasons apply. Address Verification Service is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines, and some merchants refuse prepaid or foreign BINs. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for up to seven days. On TakeCard’s side, spending is limited to your balance and to the weekly limit, and blocked merchant categories are not stated anywhere.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team