The cheapest dollar card here, if you can pass its identity check

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Cleva gives you a virtual Visa card that spends straight from a dollar balance you hold in the app. You load that balance with stablecoins, a US debit card, a bank transfer or a UK/EU transfer, then pay online the way you would with any card. There is no monthly fee and no annual fee. Creating the card costs $3. What you pay on top of that depends on where you spend: inside the United States the card authorisation fee is $0.80 per transaction, and outside it the card charges 2% plus the same $0.80.

Cleva works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That is the whole pitch, and it is a narrow one. This is not a bank account and it is not a full multi-currency wallet with cards attached — it is a USD-only virtual card with an unusual set of top-up rails, aimed squarely at people who earn in dollars and do not have easy access to an ordinary dollar card. If that is you, most of what follows will be encouraging. If you want a physical card, a card you can withdraw cash from, or a card you can hold in several currencies at once, you will hit a wall quickly, and I will point out where.

I scored this card 5.8 out of 10. That is not a dismissal. It is a well-priced product with a real set of limits attached to it, and the score reflects one thing more than anything else: the card’s public pages do not tell you who can get it. That single omission drags down an otherwise clean sheet.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, criterion by criterion

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 The list of eligible countries is not published. Verification guides exist only for Nigeria and the United States. An earlier check named Africa, including Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda and Kenya, plus the US.
Cost 7 / 10 Card creation is $3 with no subscription. An international transaction costs 2% + $0.80. Loading the card costs $0.
Top-up options 6 / 10 The USD wallet takes a USDT or USDC deposit for $2.00, a US debit card free of charge, ACH, and wire. The networks behind the stablecoin deposit are not named.
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Funds are handled by licensed US partners and the company is registered as a Money Service Business with FinCEN. Trustpilot shows 4.7 out of 5 from 126 reviews; the App Store shows 4.7 out of 5 from 1.5K ratings.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual card, USD only. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. No ATM.
Total 5.8 / 10 A cheap dollar card for a specific person, gated behind an unpublished eligibility rule.

Who this suits, in one line: freelancers in Nigeria and the US who get paid in dollars and need a dollar-denominated card more than they need a physical one. Who it does not suit: anyone who wants to know, in advance, whether they can open it from their country.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cleva starts with a transfer to the right network

Will they give you the card?

The honest answer is that I cannot tell you from the card’s own pages, and neither, apparently, can the card.

The country list for the card is not published. The help centre has detailed identity verification guides for Nigeria and the United States only — no others. An earlier check of the site named Africa, including Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda and Kenya, together with the United States. The site also says accounts can receive USD, GBP and EUR “regardless of where you’re based”. Those two statements sit in an awkward relationship with each other: an account that receives in three currencies regardless of location is not the same thing as a card you can open from any country, and the pages do not reconcile them.

If you are outside Nigeria and the US, your realistic position is this. You can create an account and hold balances, and you will find out at the verification step whether the card follows. Treat the availability question as unresolved until you have a verification decision in hand, and do not plan around a card you cannot yet prove you can have.

The one thing I can tell you clearly is the direction of travel on checks. Verification is a single step — there are no published tiers, no bronze-to-platinum ladder, no higher tier with better limits. What gets refused, and these are the stated reasons, are worth reading carefully because several of them are avoidable:

That last list is worth internalising. A photograph of a document on your phone screen is a digital copy, and a scan is a scan. If the card wants an original physical ID, it wants the physical object in your hand, photographed properly. This is the single most avoidable rejection in the whole process, and people hit it repeatedly.

Timings differ sharply. For US applicants, verification is described as taking “only a few minutes”. For Nigeria, no timeframe is given. If you are planning around a deadline, plan around the Nigerian case.

I should also say what is not stated: whether a separate proof-of-address document is required, and what age is enforced, are both not stated on the pages I read. The general rule across prepaid and debit cards is that they are for adults, and some issuers set higher limits, but the card’s own position on an age threshold is not stated. Ask support if your situation turns on it.

How to get it

The sequence is short and entirely in the app: sign up by email, verify your identity, open the USD account, create the card for a $3 fee.

What you are really doing at step two depends on where you are.

Nigeria. You need one of: an international passport, a voter’s card, a driver’s licence, or a NIN number. You also need the original physical ID plus a live selfie. A Nigerian billing address comes out of your verified identity — you do not type a separate address.

United States. You need an international passport, an ID card, a driver’s licence, or a residence permit. On top of the document you need an SSN, your address matching the ID exactly — including the unit number, if you have one — a Stripe Link connection, and a live selfie. That address requirement is unusually strict, and a mismatch here is the classic reason a US application bounces.

Once the card exists it is virtual. You can hold more than one, you can change the design, and it is denominated in USD. Acceptance follows Visa: the card’s own claim is “150 million+ merchants worldwide where Visa is accepted”, which is a way of saying it should work anywhere Visa works, with the caveats later in this review about foreign-issued cards and merchant category restrictions.

There is no physical card to wait for, so there is nothing on delivery to track. If a physical card is a requirement rather than a preference, stop here.

Fees: what a Cleva payment really costs

Cleva’s pricing is the strongest part of this card. There is no subscription, one card type called Classic, and a single flat creation charge. Here is the full published list of what the card side costs.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cleva payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Amount
Card creation $3
Monthly fee Not listed
Card authorisation fee $0.80 per transaction
International transaction (non-US sites) 2% + $0.80
Funding the card $0
Decline fee $0
Crypto conversion fee for the card Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not stated (virtual card, online payments)
Per-transaction spending limit $1 to $3,000, set by you
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated
Dispute fee $50 per card dispute

Two of those lines deserve a second look because they are the ones people get caught by.

The $0.80 authorisation fee is per transaction, and the international fee stacks on top of it. That is the number that decides whether this card is worth it for you, so let me run three ordinary payments through it.

A $30 subscription from a US site. Card creation is a one-off $3 and does not touch this. The authorisation fee is $0.80. The international fee does not apply, because the site is a US site. Total on this purchase: $0.80.

A €45 design tool billed in euros, paid from your USD balance. The authorisation fee is $0.80, and the international fee is 2% + $0.80. The card also converts, and the app notes say it works in multiple currencies — Naira, Dirhams, Pounds, Euros — with automatic conversion. But the conversion rate the card itself applies is not stated, so treat that part as an unknown rather than as free. What is published: 2% + $0.80 on top of whatever the conversion does.

A $12 ride-hailing app. Same arithmetic as the first one: a single $0.80 authorisation fee, no percentage. This is why the card is genuinely cheap for US-facing spending and genuinely expensive for small foreign purchases. Two $12 charges cost you $1.60; one $12 charge costs you $0.80. Volume of transactions, not size of transactions, is what hurts.

The daily and monthly limits are not stated, and the per-transaction cap is set by you between $1 and $3,000 — which means the only hard spending ceiling in the public documentation is one you impose on yourself.

One behavioural rule worth knowing: the card may be closed after 15 consecutive declines for insufficient funds. A successful spend of $0.50 or more resets that counter, after 24 hours.

How to top it up

The card spends directly from the Cleva USD wallet, so topping up is really funding the wallet, and the choice of rail is the choice of fee. This is where the card is more interesting than its score suggests.

The minimum deposit and who pays the network fee are not stated. That last one matters more than it sounds: blockchain transaction costs are charged by the network, not by the card provider, so a USDT transfer can carry a network fee on top of the $2. If you are moving stablecoins, keep a little of the asset in the same network’s native coin or you may find a wallet that can receive USDT but cannot send it.

Withdrawing has its own fog. A fee for converting out of USD and paying out exists — it appears as an FAQ question on the card’s pages — but the amount is not readable. Transfers to local bank accounts are advertised as free. What happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated. If closing the account is on your horizon, ask that question in writing first.

Paying with it every day

The good part: you can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and both platforms replace your card number with a device-specific token rather than storing your actual number, so paying with a phone is the tidiest way to use this thing.

The catch is the merchant category restriction. Some merchant categories are unsupported by MCC, and the card does not publish which ones. Gambling is the obvious example of a category that tends to be blocked, but the general point stands: you are accepting an unknown blocklist. The categories the card names as working include Amazon, Upwork, PayPal, Claude, OpenAI, TikTok and Meta — which tells you something about who the card is built for, and that list is also its best guide to what it will not handle.

There is no card cashback. Cleva Points, which are cashback on transactions redeemable for USD, and USD Savings of up to 3% per year exist — but these are account features, not card rewards. Do not add them to your mental calculation of what the card pays you; you are spending from a balance, not earning from the plastic.

On the app itself the numbers are good: 4.7 out of 5 in the App Store from 1.5K ratings, read on 2026-10-21. The Google Play rating was not read, so I cannot give you the Android picture.

There is one more thing about payments that will not appear on a receipt but will appear in your bank statement if you are unlucky: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. If your balance is tight, a stack of declined attempts is expensive in a way the fee table does not show.

What can go wrong

The clearest risk in this card is the one nobody publishes: eligibility. If the country list is not public and you are not in Nigeria or the US, you are applying blind. The second is verification strictness, which is real and shows up in reviews.

On the company side, the fundamentals are respectable. Cleva Technologies, Inc. is the App Store seller. The site says funds are “securefully processed by our licensed U.S-based financial partners” — the partners are not named — and that the company is “registered as a Money Service Business (MSB)” with FinCEN. The card issuer is not named. Cleva also states it holds an IMTO licence from the Central Bank of Nigeria, in its own blog, undated. Two things to be precise about: a Money Service Business registration is a US anti-money-laundering registration, not a deposit insurance, and an IMTO licence is a Nigerian remit, not a global one. Neither is a guarantee about your money, and neither tells you who you would complain to if it went wrong.

The money is custodial — it sits with licensed US partners, not in a wallet you hold the keys to. That is the standard trade-off, and it carries standard risk: a custodian has a failure record across the industry, and blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit to the wrong network or address can be gone. On the plus side, the app lets you freeze and unfreeze the card instantly, with unfreezing behind a security PIN or authentication code, you set your own spending limit, and the failed-transaction limit before termination was raised from 3 to 10 in app version 2.3.0. Whether two-factor authentication is offered on the pages I read is not stated.

The complaints picture is the interesting part, because it is better than the score suggests. On Trustpilot, read 2026-10-21, the card sits at 4.7 out of 5 from 126 reviews, 124 of them in the last 12 months, with 5% one-star. No official incidents surfaced in my checking. The themes in user reports are consistent and worth weighing:

Read that list as one story rather than five. The complaints are not about fraud or lost funds. They are about the price of moving money and the friction of getting verified — which is exactly what you would expect from a card with a $2 flat stablecoin deposit and a strict ID check.

Recent changes to know about: the stablecoin deposit fee is becoming $2 flat, new ACH and FedNow pricing applies from 7 August 2026, and app version 2.3.0 raised the failed-transaction limit from 3 to 10.

Support is described as available 24/7, through in-app chat or email at [email protected], with a help centre at help.getcleva.com. There is also a $50 fee per card dispute, and the chargeback process and time frames are not stated — so if you are disputing something, that $50 and an unknown timeline is what you are signing up for.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up in the same category review, and it is worth being clear-eyed: none of them is dramatically better on cost, and two of them tell you more about eligibility than Cleva does.

Card Score Cost FX and fees Who can get it
Cleva 5.8 / 10 $3 creation, no monthly fee 2% + $0.80 international, $0.80 authorisation Country list not published; guides for Nigeria and the US
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 $5 virtual issuance, no maintenance; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month Free in USD on all plans; foreign currency at “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” Excludes residents and registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries case by case. Purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship.
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 No annual fee; issuance fee not stated No annual fee or foreign transaction fee; conversion at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates”, “No hidden exchange fees” Not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 “No extra fees”, no amounts listed Not stated 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; consumer countries not supported include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam. Basis not stated.

International Visa Card scores highest and, for an American, is the one to compare first. It is a U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with a physical card listed as “Coming soon” — so it shares the no-physical-card limitation. Deposits of USDC or USDT into the USD account are free at 1:1, and deposits of any kind are fee-free; deposits are also accepted in USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. What it costs you is the subscription structure: $5 issuance, then Classic free, Pro $9.00 a month or Max $19.00. If you need the FX fee waived rather than reduced, Max is the tier that matters. No cashback is stated. Networks for stablecoin deposits are not stated.

UNi Card is the one whose pricing language is cleanest: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at live OTC rates, and “No hidden exchange fees”. It sits on the Mastercard network and spends from the UNi.Global account balance. Spend-to-Earn rewards of up to 3% are stated. But its eligibility is not stated, its funding routes are not stated, and whether physical or virtual is not stated. For a reader who wants transparency on the exchange rate more than transparency on the country list, that trade is worth making.

Whop Cards is the lowest-scoring of the four and the most specialized: a Visa that works online and in stores, spending from a Whop balance, with pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives. It is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, with coins and networks not stated. 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber. What makes it interesting is the geography detail: rather than a country blacklist, it publishes its US state coverage — 31 states for consumers, 41 for businesses — and a supported-country list that names the excluded ones. That is a level of candour Cleva does not reach.

One structural note that applies to all of these, including Cleva. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. There is precedent on both sides of that: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer, and WaveCrest, a card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — that is a single unconfirmed source, but the shape of it is what closure looks like.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a specific person: someone in Nigeria or the US who is paid in dollars, does most of their spending with US-facing online services, works a category the card supports, and is comfortable with an app that does not explain everything about eligibility. For that person the numbers are good — $3 to start, $0.80 per US transaction, no monthly fee, and stablecoin top-ups at a flat $2 — and the Trustpilot and App Store scores suggest the service itself is not a mess.

I would recommend it more cautiously to anyone whose income arrives through Upwork or another dollar-paying platform, since Upwork deposits are free here and that removes the biggest cost in the funding chain.

I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a physical card, wants an ATM, wants daily or monthly limits disclosed in advance, needs a card in more than one currency, or plans to spend heavily at foreign merchants — the 2% plus $0.80 compounds quickly across many small transactions. And I would not recommend it to anyone who needs certainty about eligibility, because the card will not give it to them in writing.

What would move the score up, in order of size: publishing the country list, publishing the crypto conversion fee, publishing daily and monthly limits, and publishing the network used for USDT and USDC deposits. Those four omissions are what separate a 5.8 from a card I would hand to my sister.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Cleva card?

The Cleva card is a virtual Visa card that spends directly from a USD wallet inside the Cleva app. You fund that wallet with USDT or USDC, a US debit card, ACH, FedNow, wire, or a GBP or EUR transfer, and then pay online wherever Visa is accepted. It is not a bank account, and it holds no paper. One card type exists, called Classic, and it costs $3 to create with no monthly fee.

How does the Cleva card work?

You spend from a pre-loaded balance rather than drawing on a bank account, so the card cannot overdraw. A typical flow is: convert or deposit dollars into your Cleva wallet, add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and pay. The card is denominated in USD; the app notes say it also works in Naira, Dirhams, Pounds and Euros with automatic conversion, but the conversion rate the card itself applies is not stated.

Is Cleva a bank?

No. The company is Cleva Technologies, Inc., and its site says funds are “securefully processed by our licensed U.S-based financial partners” without naming them, and that it is “registered as a Money Service Business (MSB)” with FinCEN. That registration is a US anti-money-laundering registration, not a deposit guarantee. The card issuer is not named, and there is no deposit insurance mentioned anywhere on the pages.

Can I get the Cleva card in my country?

You cannot tell from the card’s public pages, which is the biggest limitation of this product. The country list for the card is not published. Verification guides exist for Nigeria and the United States only. An earlier check named Africa, including Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda and Kenya, plus the US, and the site says accounts can receive USD, GBP and EUR “regardless of where you’re based”.

How much does the Cleva card cost to open and to use?

Card creation is $3, there is no monthly fee, and funding the card is $0. Each transaction carries a $0.80 authorisation fee, and a transaction on a non-US site carries 2% plus $0.80 on top. A declined card costs $0. Crypto conversion for the card is not stated, and ATM withdrawals are not stated either, since this is a virtual card for online payments.

How do I top up the Cleva card?

You top up the USD wallet the card spends from. A USDT or USDC deposit is $2.00, becoming a flat $2 regardless of amount, with payments under $2 charged $1. A US debit card is free, ACH and FedNow are 0.8% with a minimum of $2.00 and a maximum of $5.00, wire is $10.00, GBP and EUR deposits are 0.8% with a minimum of $2.00 and maximum $10.00 and auto-convert to USD, and Upwork deposits are free.

Does the Cleva card require KYC?

Yes, identity verification is required to open the USD account, and there is a single verification step with no tiers published. Nigeria needs an international passport, voter’s card, driver’s licence or NIN number, plus the original physical ID and a live selfie. The US needs an international passport, ID card, driver’s licence or residence permit, plus an SSN, a matching address, a Stripe Link connection and a live selfie.

What are the limits on the Cleva card?

You set the per-transaction spending limit yourself, anywhere from $1 to $3,000. Daily and monthly limits are not stated on the card’s pages, which is a genuine gap. You can hold up to 3 cards within 90 days, and the card may be closed after 15 consecutive declines for insufficient funds — a successful spend of $0.50 or more resets that counter after 24 hours.

Is the Cleva card safe to use?

The card sits inside a custodial setup: funds are held by licensed US partners rather than in a wallet you control, and blockchain transfers cannot be reversed. Cleva offers an instant freeze and unfreeze in the app behind a security PIN or authentication code, plus your own spending limits, and raised the failed-transaction limit from 3 to 10 in app version 2.3.0. Two-factor authentication is not stated on the pages reviewed. No official incidents were found in my checking.

Is Cleva card worth it?

For someone in Nigeria or the US paid in dollars who spends mainly on US-facing online services, yes — $3 to open, $0.80 per US transaction, no monthly fee, and flat $2 stablecoin top-ups. For someone who spends heavily at foreign merchants, wants a physical card or ATM access, needs disclosed daily or monthly limits, or wants certainty about whether they qualify, the answer is no. The undisclosed country list is the deciding factor for most people.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team