I checked what Gate actually promises, what it quietly leaves out, and who should walk away

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Gate card is one of those crypto exchange cards: you hold money on an exchange, and a card is attached to that balance so you can spend it like ordinary shop money. On paper that is a tidy idea for anyone who finds a normal bank card hard to get. In practice Gate’s offer splits into two very different halves. The Standard card, priced in plain dollars, is competently cheap — no monthly fee, free issuance, a small conversion charge, a rewards rate that goes up with your spending. But the application itself is wrapped in fine print, the issuer behind the card is never named on the page that sells it, and the country list is replaced by a phrase about “non-restricted countries”. Whether that matters to you depends almost entirely on where you live and what you are trying to solve.

Gate works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

What the card is, and who it suits

Let me give you the number first, because it frames everything else. I score the Gate card 6.8 out of 10. That is not a rejection; it is a card with real strengths sitting next to real gaps. On cost it does well. On everyday use it does well. On access and reliability — the two things that decide whether a card is any use to you at all — it is thin and vague, and that pulls the whole thing down.

The audience this fits, plainly: people who already keep a balance on the Gate exchange and want to spend it. If you hold USDT, BTC, ETH or GT on Gate and simply want those coins to pay for things, the mechanics line up. If you do not use the exchange, this card does not have an independent reason to exist in your life — it is an add-on to a platform you would otherwise not touch.

Who it does not suit: anyone whose priority is a clearly regulated, plainly named bank behind the card; anyone in a country whose eligibility is not spelled out; anyone who plans to lean on the cashback as a reliable income line; and anyone for whom the freeze-on-negative-balance rule would be a problem, because a card that can be permanently blocked over a small shortfall is a real constraint, not a footnote.

Here is the score broken down, one row per criterion, exactly as I marked it.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Available in “non-restricted countries or regions”; the list is never named. Unofficial sources suggest the Classic card reaches 24 European countries, with the US, UK, Germany, France and Canada among those it does not.
Cost 8 / 10 Standard card: virtual and physical issuance free, monthly and inactivity fees free; crypto conversion 0.90%, foreign exchange outside USD 1.00%, ATM 2%; card replacement 25 USD.
Top-up options 7 / 10 Instant Spend Mode covers USDT, BTC, ETH and GT; prepaid mode offers a wider choice, but the supported networks are not disclosed.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer not officially named (unofficial: Stanhope Financial UAB and Lead Bank); Gate’s Trustpilot is 1.5 out of 5 for the exchange overall, and card-specific complaints include a cashback pause and replacement delays.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual card available immediately alongside the physical one; ATM 2%; there is a Help Center article on adding the card to Google Pay and Apple Pay. Unofficial: on the Classic card, Google Pay only.

The total is 6.8 / 10. Every number above is the card’s own, and the caveats about what is not disclosed are as important as the marks themselves — several of the gaps I note below are the reason a fair score did not climb higher.

Will they give you the card

Short answer: probably, if you are in a country Gate has not restricted and you clear Level 2 identity verification — but you cannot confirm your own eligibility from the public pages, because Gate does not publish the list.

What the card page actually says is that the “Gate Card is only available to users in non-restricted countries or regions”. That is the whole official statement on geography. There is no country table, no “available in” list, no map. The card also does not say whether it checks your citizenship or your place of residence — a distinction that matters a great deal in practice, because providers screen both for sanctions and for their own risk policy. Treat that as not stated rather than guessing at it.

What unofficial directories suggest is messier than the official silence implies. One such directory, dated 11 August 2026, lists the Classic card in 24 countries — Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden — and lists the US, UK, Germany, France and Canada among the countries where it is missing. The same source, another directory disagrees: it adds Austria and Spain and leaves out Italy and Lithuania. I am flagging these as third-party listings, not as Gate’s confirmed position, but the disagreement between two directories about a fixed fact tells you how much weight to put on either.

Why this matters to you in the most practical way: if your country is not clearly in a “yes” list, your realistic outcome is a silent rejection or an application that stalls. So the first thing to check, before anything else, is Gate’s own support — ask them directly whether your country of residence is served. That is not a trick and it needs no workaround; it is just the one question the website will not answer for you.

How to get it

Yes, there is a real process, and it starts before the card: you need a Gate account and, critically, Level 2 identity verification — the card page states that users “must complete Level 2 identity verification and provide the required identification documents”. Some card types additionally ask for proof of address from the past three months. The card page does not state a minimum age.

The sequence is short: open a Gate account, complete Level 2 KYC, then apply for either a virtual or a physical card inside the app. To apply you need a linked email and phone and the verification completed; the card application must use the same identity document as your Gate KYC. In the app you enter your ID details, facial information and address. If you apply for the virtual card, it is “typically reviewed within 3–5 minutes”. The card page does not list the reasons an application can be rejected.

On delivery and cost, the honest picture is: the physical card “usually it takes around 7 to 45 days” depending on your country of residence. If it has not arrived after 45 days, there is a “Resend” option once you have confirmed your address with support. Unofficial estimates put physical delivery a little tighter at 15–45 days where the card is supported at all. Which countries those are, is not stated. Standard card issuance is free for both the virtual and the physical card; a replacement costs 25 USD.

So: the virtual card is the fast path and the one most people actually use first; the physical card is for ATMs and for places that want plastic. If you need the physical card, apply for it knowing it might sit in the post for a month and a half.

What it really costs in Fees

This is the strongest part of the offer, and the reason cost scored highest. On the Standard card the headline numbers are genuinely good: virtual card issuance free, physical card issuance free, monthly fee free, inactivity fee free. That is a rare combination — many cards in this category charge at least an annual fee or a dormancy charge, and Gate’s Standard charges neither.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Gate payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The costs that do exist are transactional. Crypto conversion is 0.90%, with a floor: 0.90% for transactions of 2 USD or more, and a flat 0.05 USD below 2 USD. Foreign exchange on non-USD spending is 1.00%. A chargeback costs 30 USD. Replacing a card costs 25 USD. Cash withdrawal at an ATM is 2%.

One wrinkle to note: the general card page does not publish all of this. It only says conversion runs “according to the card rules and applicable exchange rates” and does not list issuance or monthly fees at all. The clean fee table I have quoted is the Standard card fee page. Unofficial sources add that a prepaid variant differs — a 0.9% top-up charge, a 10 USDT first-load minimum, a 2% refund charge, a $1 reversal fee, a $35 chargeback fee (different from the Standard page’s 30 USD), a $0.10 Apple Pay authorisation charge, and a 2 USDT virtual-card fee below VIP 5 unless waived. If you are on a prepaid variant rather than Standard, those are the numbers to check, and they are third-party, not Gate-confirmed.

The card currency itself is not stated; in prepaid mode the funds are converted into the corresponding fiat currency.

Here is the cost picture in one place.

Fee or limit Standard card
Virtual card issuance Free
Physical card issuance Free
Monthly fee Free
Inactivity fee Free
Crypto conversion 0.90% (2 USD or more); 0.05 USD below 2 USD
Foreign exchange (non-USD) 1.00%
ATM withdrawal 2%
Chargeback 30 USD
Card replacement 25 USD
Spending limit (all tiers T0–T4) 50,000 USD daily; 990,000 USD monthly
ATM limits 5,000 USD per transaction and daily (up to 10 withdrawals); 15,000 USD monthly (100); 50,000 USD yearly (1,000)

Higher spending limits are available on request to [email protected].

Now, three ordinary payments, to make these percentages feel real. I am illustrating the fee structure, not budgeting for you.

A 20 USD grocery shop paid from a USDT balance: you pay the 0.90% conversion, about 0.18 USD, because the payment is above the 2 USD floor. Nothing else applies if it settles in USD.

The same shop if you are billed in a non-USD currency by, say, a merchant that prices in euros: now you have the 0.90% conversion plus the 1.00% foreign exchange fee. That is the case where crypto cards quietly get expensive, and it is the one to watch.

A 1.50 USD coffee bought with crypto: because it is below 2 USD, the conversion is the flat 0.05 USD, not 0.90%. Small payments are therefore penalised in percentage terms — the flat fee is a higher share of a small total. Small, frequent purchases are where the “free card” framing stops being quite so free.

ATM withdrawals I have left out of these three because they carry their own 2% and their own daily and monthly caps, and because how often you take cash is a personal matter.

How to Top up it

Yes — the top-up question has a real answer, but it splits by card mode, and the useful detail is not the same for both.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Gate starts with a transfer to the right network

Instant Spend Mode is the one you will most likely use, and it is direct: the card spends USDT, BTC, ETH or GT straight from your Gate balance. No separate pre-loading step in the ordinary flow. The card converts at the 0.90% rate when you pay (0.05 USD below a 2 USD transaction). This mode is what suits the “I already hold coins on Gate” reader.

Prepaid mode is the other shape. Here you convert funds from Gate Pay or your Spot balance into fiat, and the card then spends only that stored balance. The available options here are wider than Instant Spend, but availability varies by card, issuer and region, and — importantly — the supported blockchain networks are not stated. That single omission is the biggest practical trap in topping up.

That is worth pausing on, because it is a general property of the category, not a Gate quirk. If you send a stablecoin deposit on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the transfer can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are simply irreversible. USDT, for instance, exists on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others, and a wallet full of USDT on the wrong network is a wallet you cannot spend from this card. Before your first transfer, confirm in the app exactly which network your card reads, and keep a little ETH or the chain’s native token on hand for gas: on Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send at all.

Two further points on money movement. The top-up fee itself is not listed, and the minimum top-up is not stated — for the Standard card the only conversion charge on record is the 0.90% at payment. And the card page carries a “Card Balance Withdrawal” headline pointing to an announcement I have not read; the card balance is linked to your Gate Pay payment account, so in practice withdrawing card funds runs through that same account. Whether that balance can be closed out on your own is not stated.

My practical sequence, offered as a habit rather than instruction: confirm the network first, fund from an exchange balance you already hold rather than an on-chain transfer from a separate wallet if you can, and treat the first top-up as a small test. Anyone who tells you there is a trick to avoid network fees is guessing — on-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card company, and there is no way around them.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where the Gate card is at its most convincing, and it is the reason this card still scored respectably overall. You get the virtual card almost immediately (reviewed in 3–5 minutes) and the physical card alongside it for when you need plastic, so you are not choosing one or the other. It works at ATMs with the physical card at supported ATMs. There is a Help Center article — “Add Your Gate Card to Google Pay & Apple Pay” — for phone payments; I have not read the body, so treat the precise mechanics as confirmed only in that the article exists. Unofficial sources add a caveat worth knowing: on the Classic card the FAQ reportedly covers Google Pay only, while the Standard and Signature help pages reportedly cover both Apple Pay and Google Pay. Which wallets your specific tier supports is worth confirming rather than assuming.

The rewards are the other daily hook. Up to 8% cashback is offered on eligible purchases, the rate depending on your card tier. How it is delivered is stated inconsistently on Gate’s own pages: the FAQ says rewards are issued as points, redeemable for USDT or GT, while a banner advertises cashback in BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC. Caps and conditions on the cashback are not stated. Unofficial sources give a Classic structure by monthly spend — T0 at 0 USDT spend pays 1% capped at 5 USDT, T1 at 500 USDT pays 1% capped at 50, T2 at 3,000 USDT pays 2% capped at 100, T3 at 6,000 USDT pays 3% capped at 150, T4 at 10,000 USDT pays 5% capped at 250, and T5 at 15,000 USDT pays 8% capped at 400 — with 100 points equal to 1 USDT and points that do not expire. If those caps are accurate, note what they mean: the top 8% needs 15,000 USDT a month of spending, and even that caps out at 400 USDT back. The headline rate flatters the card; the caps tell the real story.

Everything is run through Gate Pay and the Gate app, which is where you apply, freeze, and change your PIN. Store ratings are not on the official pages I read; unofficial, the Apple App Store listing for the US shows 4.3 out of 5 from roughly 5,200 ratings — but that is the whole exchange app, not the card.

If a payment goes wrong, the route is: contact the merchant first, then start a chargeback through Gate with proof of your merchant communication. A 25 USD processing fee “typically applies” regardless of the outcome — though the Standard card fee table says 30 USD, so treat the exact figure as unsettled. A chargeback can take “sometimes up to 3 months”. Pre-authorisation holds are released after the service ends. There is no separate refund timeline published.

One everyday-use fact that is not stated anywhere I found and that I would want answered: which merchant categories are blocked. In this category that usually means gambling (MCC 7995) and similar, and the blocked list varies by issuer. If gambling or quasi-cash spending is part of what you want the card for, ask before you rely on it.

What can go wrong

This is the section I would not skip, because the Gate card’s weaknesses are all in the same place: disclosure.

The issuer is not named. The card is described as “a digital assets credit card offered by Gate”, and the card page defers to “the issuing institution’s review” without naming that institution, sponsor, or BIN. Licences are not named on the card page either. Unofficial sources name Stanhope Financial UAB in the EEA (a Bank of Lithuania e-money institution, LB002039) and Lead Bank in the US with Bridge as programme manager. Gate has joined the Mastercard Crypto Partner Program, which tells you something about the network but not about who is liable to you for your money. This matters because in a card payment the issuer — not the crypto brand — is the party that holds the balance, authorises payments and runs chargebacks, and Gate may be only the front end.

Card freezes are aggressive and one of them is permanent. A lost or stolen card can be “temporarily” frozen, and cards are often frozen after several wrong PIN entries — you can change your PIN in the Gate Card app, but the freeze logic is not explained. The sharp one: a negative card balance “will risk having your card getting permanently blocked”. So if a conversion or a chargeback fee tips the balance below zero, you are not looking at a temporary hold; you are looking at a card that may never work again. That is an unusual and harsh rule for a consumer product.

Complaints are thin on the card, thick on the exchange. I found no Gate Card-specific complaints and no Reddit threads on the card. What exists is on Trustpilot and mostly concerns the exchange rather than the card: the exchange sits around 3.5 out of 5 from roughly 121 reviews, largely about non-card services, with one card-data complaint that support resolved; the exchange is around 1.5 out of 5 from roughly 1,000 to 1,400 reviews, 77% one-star, with recurring themes of accounts restricted without explanation, deposits and trading suspended, and slow support. Card-specific reports do exist in small numbers — a 2024 cashback pause starting 19 June 2024, a card retained by an ATM with a delayed replacement, card funds inaccessible for six days, merchant refund delays, five-to-six-week waits for chargeback responses, and cards frozen after small purchases. Some are single unverified samples; I weight them as signals, not statistics.

The company history is recent and the trail is third-party. Most of what I could assemble on Gate’s card timeline comes from third-party directories rather than Gate announcements: a EU Visa debit card launched 9 March 2023; the card relaunched 4 March 2026 with T0–T4 levels; a T0–T5 points model with an 8% top rate on 2 July 2026; a Gate US prepaid Visa with Lead Bank launched in July 2026; and a proof-of-reserves report on 22 June 2026 showing $8.182 billion at 115% coverage. None of this is officially stated in the way I would want before relying on a card.

And the category risks sit underneath all of it. Card programmes do close — Visa terminated FTX’s global agreements in November 2022, and WaveCrest, a supplier to several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw. If you hold crypto on the exchange (as this card requires), you also carry the custodian’s counterparty and hack risk — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin bridge are the standard precedents. The reassuring counterweight is that Gate joined the Mastercard Crypto Partner Program and the card sits on a Visa or Mastercard network, which are heavily reviewed programmes. Support is [email protected] and a Help Center; hours and languages are not stated, which is its own small risk if you are dealing with a frozen card at an awkward hour.

What to take instead

If the Gate card’s weak spot — unnamed issuer, undisclosed country list — is the thing stopping you, the honest comparison is not with other Gate tiers but with cards whose providers publish more.

I have three alternatives in view, each scored on the same basis.

Card Score What it does better What it leaves unclear
Gate 6.8 / 10 Free issuance and no monthly or inactivity fee; 0.90% conversion; up to 8% cashback; virtual card in minutes Issuer not named; country list and networks not stated
MSX 6.4 / 10 Comparable overall score to Gate Eligibility, card type, fees and top-ups not stated officially
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Publishes a detailed region list, per-region currencies, and full fee and tier tables Regions are narrow; no EEA customers; specific currencies by country
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Tiered cashback in YNG tokens (0.1% Essential, 1.8% Gold, 3.6% Platinum) Card, fees, eligibility and funding not stated officially

Bybit Card is the one worth knowing in detail, because it does the disclosure Gate does not. Its help centre names its regions: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific — and if your country is not supported, the application says it will register your interest rather than leave you guessing. It states plainly that the product “is not meant for European Economic Area customers” and that all EEA participation is “strictly prohibited”. Its fees are published per region: crypto conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate (0.5% Argentina), FX 2% on top of the network rate in much of the world, 7% in Argentina, 1% in Peru. Its tier structure is explicit, from Base at 2.00% to Infinite at 10.00%, with monthly caps from 5 USD to 600 USD, and since 2026-10-05 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback. Its limits are concrete — daily 50,000 USD and monthly 990,000 USD — matching Gate’s. And it explains its funding model outright: the card has no balance of its own, drawing instead on the Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn balance, crypto sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus the conversion fee.

The trade-off is regions. Bybit’s card is effectively unavailable across the EEA, and the US, China, Belarus, Russian Federation and Serbia appear on its fiat-service restricted list. If you are in one of Bybit’s named regions and want a card that explains itself, Bybit is the more transparent option despite the lower score. If you are in the EEA, that door is shut and the comparison is really Gate against not having a crypto card at all — and against a plain bank or prepaid card, which for ordinary spending will always be cheaper.

Young Card and MSX I would not push you toward on this evidence. Young pays cashback in its own YNG token at a rate that tops out at 3.6%, and essentially everything else about it — card, fees, eligibility, funding — is not stated officially. MSX, at 6.4, is simply too undocumented for me to recommend it.

Who I would recommend it to

Having read all of this, here is who I would point at the Gate card and who I would not.

Recommended if: you already hold a Gate balance and spend USDT, BTC, ETH or GT day to day; you want a card with genuinely zero monthly and zero inactivity fees; you are comfortable treating the cashback as a bonus rather than income, given the tier caps and the 2024 pause; and you have confirmed — with Gate, not from a website — that your country is served and which network to fund from.

Not recommended if: you need a card issued by a bank whose name you can read on the terms; you want to know for certain, from official pages, that your country is eligible; you are relying on cashback; your spending might ever take the balance slightly negative, given the permanent-block rule; or you intend to use the card for gambling or restricted merchant categories and cannot get a clear answer on what is blocked.

In between: if you are in an EEA country that unofficial directories list as supported, the card may well work for you — but you would be doing it on third-party information, and I would not put a large balance behind that. If your country appears on nobody’s list, ask support first and treat the answer as provisional.

My overall reading is unchanged by the weak spots: this is a good-value, low-cost card bolted onto an exchange, being honest by omission about the things that matter most. 6.8 out of 10.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Gate card?

The Gate card is a payment card that spends money from your Gate exchange account rather than from a bank account. Gate describes it as “a digital assets credit card offered by Gate”. You hold crypto on the exchange, and the card converts it to fiat at the point of payment — so it behaves less like a debit card and more like a prepaid card tied to an exchange balance. It comes in virtual and physical forms.

How does the Gate card work?

You apply inside the Gate app after completing Level 2 identity verification. The card draws on your Gate balance — in Instant Spend Mode it spends USDT, BTC, ETH or GT directly; in prepaid mode you convert funds into fiat first. Each payment converts crypto at 0.90% (0.05 USD below a 2 USD transaction), and spending in a non-USD currency adds a 1.00% foreign exchange fee.

Is Gate a bank?

Not as far as its own card page goes. The card page does not name the issuing institution or any licence, deferring instead to “the issuing institution’s review”. Third-party sources name Stanhope Financial UAB in the EEA and Lead Bank in the US. Gate is an exchange and card programme front end; the entity actually liable for your card money is the issuer, which the official page leaves unnamed.

Who owns Gate?

Gate is a private cryptocurrency exchange, not a listed company, and its card page says nothing further about ownership. Unofficial sources describe the card as being issued by Stanhope Financial UAB in the EEA and Lead Bank in the US, with Bridge as US programme manager. Gate has joined the Mastercard Crypto Partner Program. None of the issuer details are confirmed on Gate’s own pages.

Is Gate card available in my country?

You cannot tell from the official pages. Gate’s only statement is that the card is “only available to users in non-restricted countries or regions”, and the list is not published. Unofficial directories dated 11 August 2026 list 24 European countries for the Classic card and show the US, UK, Germany, France and Canada as missing, while a second directory disagrees on two of those countries. Ask Gate support directly.

Does the Gate card require KYC?

Yes — Level 2 identity verification, which Gate states users must complete along with the required identification documents. Some card types also require proof of address from the past three months. The card application must use the same identity document as your Gate KYC, and you enter your ID details, facial information and address in the app. The minimum age is not stated.

Is the Gate card free?

Mostly, yes. On the Standard card the virtual and physical cards are both free to issue, and there is no monthly fee and no inactivity fee. The charges that do apply are transactional: 0.90% crypto conversion, 1.00% foreign exchange outside USD, 2% ATM withdrawal, 25 USD to replace a card, and 30 USD for a chargeback. The general card page does not publish these; the figures come from the Standard card fee page.

How do I add the Gate card to Apple Wallet?

There is a Gate Help Center article titled “Add Your Gate Card to Google Pay & Apple Pay”, so the wallet setup is supported. Unofficial sources add an important qualifier: the Classic card FAQ reportedly covers Google Pay only, while the Standard and Signature help pages reportedly cover both Apple Pay and Google Pay. Because unofficial listings also charge a $0.10 Apple Pay authorisation charge on a prepaid variant, confirm wallet support for your exact tier in the app before you rely on it.

How do I top up the Gate card?

In Instant Spend Mode there is no separate top-up — the card spends USDT, BTC, ETH or GT straight from your Gate balance. In prepaid mode you convert funds from Gate Pay or your Spot balance into fiat, and the card spends only that stored balance. The supported blockchain networks are not stated, which matters: sending a deposit on an unsupported network can be lost, since transfers are irreversible. Confirm the network in the app before your first transfer.

Is the Gate card safe?

There is no way to promise safety with any card, and this one has specific sharp edges. A lost or stolen card can be frozen temporarily, cards are often frozen after several wrong PIN entries, and a negative balance “will risk having your card getting permanently blocked”. The issuer is not named on the card page, so the party liable for your funds is officially unconfirmed. Gate’s exchange has a low Trustpilot score, and card-specific reports include a cashback pause, ATM retention and six days of inaccessible funds. Use it for everyday amounts, not as a store of value.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team