A crypto card you can only fund with USDT, sold in three tiers, with no physical version and no 3-D Secure
The EMCD card is a virtual payment card that you top up from a crypto wallet and then spend like an ordinary card. That is the whole idea, and it works about as simply as the description suggests. The problems show up in the details: there is no physical card yet, no cash withdrawals, no 3-D Secure, one funding route only, and EMCD’s own pages disagree about which card network the card runs on. I scored it 4.9 out of 10.
Who it suits is narrow and worth stating plainly at the start. It suits someone who already holds USDT inside the Coinhold Wallet, already has passed EMCD’s identity check, and wants a spare virtual card for everyday online spending without touching a bank account. If you need cash, a physical card, a card in several countries’ currencies, or a card that works at a merchant demanding an extra identity step, this is the wrong product.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except 13 countries where payments are not available: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen, China |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Plus issuance $19, Premium $25; $5 monthly maintenance; top-up 1.5%; purchase 1.5% + $0.50; 3% conversion on non-USD; unofficial: 2.5% top-up |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | USDT only, from the Main account of the wallet, network not disclosed; minimum $20 |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer and legal entity not named; network named inconsistently (Visa and Mastercard); Trustpilot EMCD: account blocks after KYC, slow support |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual only; Apple Pay and Google Pay present but marked as coming soon; no ATM; no 3D Secure |
| Total | 4.9 / 10 | A usable single-currency virtual card with a narrow funding rail and several unanswered questions about who stands behind it |
The two marks at either end of that table pull in opposite directions. Reach is genuinely excellent — one of the widest of anything in this category — and the country list is explicit rather than vague. Cost is the opposite: this is not a cheap card. The combination of a $19 to $25 issuance fee, $5 a month, 1.5% on funding, 1.5% plus $0.50 on every purchase, and a possible 3% on anything not in dollars means a $100 of spending costs meaningfully more than $100.

There is also an audience note that belongs in the verdict rather than buried. This card is built for existing EMCD users who already top up with USDT. If you are not already inside that ecosystem, you are being asked to move money in to use a card, and the fees will tell you whether that is worth it.
Will they give you the card
The short answer: almost certainly, if you live almost anywhere — with one explicit exception list.
EMCD’s own page says the card works “worldwide” wherever cards are accepted. Alongside that sits a notice that some EMCD services are unavailable in certain jurisdictions, without naming them. The help centre is more specific, and I would trust the help centre: it states that the card works wherever Mastercard is accepted except that payments are not available in Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China.
That is thirteen countries, and it is a genuinely useful thing to have written down, because most cards in this category leave you guessing. If you are in Moscow or Warsaw or Dubai, the list does not stop you. If you are in Kyiv or Havana, it does. Note the wording: it restricts *payments*. That is different from saying you cannot hold an account or open the app, and if you are in one of those thirteen it is worth asking support directly rather than assuming.
One practical detail worth flagging, because it trips people up: availability is judged by where the card is accepted, not by where you live. But KYC screens your identity, and nationality is recorded and checked separately from residence. So the country list answers “where can I spend”, not “will I be approved”. Those are two different questions and this page only fully answers the first.
How to get it
Getting the card is the easy part, and it takes 5 minutes of your attention plus whatever identity check comes back.
EMCD describes its standard identity verification as needing “an ID and about 5 minutes”. Proof of address and a minimum age are not stated on the pages I read. The order itself requires $15 of funding that stays in your balance, which functions as a deposit rather than a payment.
There is a sequencing detail that is easy to miss and worth planning for: identity verification is mandatory after your first top-up, using a valid government ID, and normally takes “a few minutes”. The card then activates on its own. If it fails, you retry with a different document. So the flow is order → fund → verify → card activates, not order → verify → card.
What you get at the end is a virtual Visa Platinum. No physical card is available. The card’s own currency is not stated.
And here is the inconsistency I would want a reader to know about before they apply: EMCD’s help centre says the card runs on Mastercard (virtual, USD), while the main page calls it a Visa Platinum. Both cannot be right. I found no official note resolving it. This matters practically, not cosmetically — it decides which merchants and which wallet integrations behave predictably, and it decides which of the two brands’ 3-D Secure schemes could ever apply.
Cards are valid for 2 years, and after expiry a new card with a new number is opened. Whether verification levels, proof-of-address requirements and the age threshold exist is not stated anywhere.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where the card loses most of its points. Read the table before you read anything else on this page.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance, Active | Free |
| Issuance, Plus | $19 |
| Issuance, Premium | $25 |
| Monthly maintenance | $5 |
| Card closure | $15 |
| Standard purchases on Active | “0% fees” as published; fees for Plus and Premium not stated on that page |
| Crypto top-up | 1.5% |
| Purchase | 1.5% + $0.50 per transaction |
| Declined transaction | $1.50 |
| Refund | $0.50 |
| Reversal | $2.00 |
| Chargeback | $35 |
| Non-USD purchase | Possible 3% bank conversion fee |
| ATM cash withdrawal | Not supported |
| Limits, Plus | $1,000 per transaction / $3,000 daily / $10,000 monthly |
| Limits, Premium | $10,000 / $50,000 / $400,000 |
| Cards active at once | Up to 2 |
Two things in that table contradict each other, and the contradiction runs in the direction that matters to you. The Active tier page advertises “0% fees” on standard purchases. The help-centre fee schedule lists 1.5% plus $0.50 per purchase — and it does not say which tier that applies to. Read conservatively: assume you pay the purchase fee.
A third-party site, CoinInterestRate, states a 2.5% top-up and conversion fee with no monthly or annual fee and no FX fees. That is unofficial, it is not confirmed by EMCD, and it contradicts EMCD’s own monthly-fee and top-up figures. I would treat it as a data point about how outside sites describe the card, not as the price you will pay.
The everyday arithmetic shows why this is not a card for small payments. A $20 top-up incurs a 1.5% fee. A purchase incurs a 1.5% fee plus $0.50. If you spend $60, you pay 1.5% ($0.90) plus $0.50, totaling $1.40 in fees. A $15 purchase also incurs the 1.5% fee ($0.225) plus $0.50, totaling $0.725. The fixed $0.50 fee makes small purchases expensive, and this is not a card to run on daily coffee.
The limits table deserves a second look too. Plus caps you at $3,000 a day and Premium at $50,000 a day, with up to 2 active cards at once. A “Light” and an “Active” article also exist in the help centre, but their amounts were not read, and whether the Plus and Premium limits are the card’s real ceiling or only the published default is not stated. The app lets you set your own limits under “Set limits”.
How to top it up
Topping up is the narrowest part of the whole product, and it is the single biggest reason this card scores what it does.
The route is: USDT, from the Main account of the Coinhold Wallet. The help centre adds that there is no top-up by card number, and that the top-up is manual. The network is not stated.
That last sentence deserves more weight than it gets. USDT exists on many chains — Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche among others — and EMCD does not tell you which one to use. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on the wrong network, the funds can be lost, or recoverable only through a manual support process with no guarantee attached. Before your first transfer, ask support which network to use and write the answer down.
The numbers around a top-up:
- Minimum first top-up: $20
- Top-up fee: 1.5%
- Reserve: $15 of the first top-up is held until your total card spending exceeds $2,500
- Typical time: 3–5 minutes
- Terms depend on the card plan and may change
- Who pays the blockchain network fee: not stated
So your first $20 top-up is reduced by a 1.5% fee, and $15 of that is held. That is a real cash-flow fact on day one, not a technicality.
Getting money back off the card is worse. A free transfer from the card balance back to the Main account is not supported. If you close the card, the remaining US dollar balance is converted to USDT and credited to your main EMCD account — so you are converted out at whatever rate applies that day, on EMCD’s terms. The issuing bank may also close the card if the balance is $20 or less, or if there is no activity for 30 days. A card that quietly closes and converts your balance is worth thinking about before you rely on it as your only spending line.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where EMCD is at its most awkward, and this is the section that decides whether the card becomes your card or your only card.
It is virtual only — “Currently, we only offer virtual cards” — with no delivery and no physical option. There is a cash withdrawal withdrawal problem twice over: the FAQ says withdrawals “will be” available once a physical card launches, and the help centre states plainly that the card does not currently support cash withdrawals. Either way, no ATM today.
Mobile wallets are the interesting case. The FAQ says the card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, while the feature list marks both as “Coming soon”. The help centre repeats that they work. Two pages say yes, one says soon. I would plan on testing it yourself after your first top-up rather than assuming either version.
Blocked merchant categories are listed in the help centre, and the list is long: fuel, ride-hailing, AI subscriptions, money transfers, crypto exchanges, gambling, brokerage, and most entertainment except cinemas and theatres. That rules out a fuel station, a taxi app and a betting site. For a card aimed at people who travel or use their phone for transport, that is a meaningful restriction, and it is far more restrictive than the country list suggests.
What is *not* stated: whether a merchant declines can be appealed, and what happens then.
Three small things for your day-to-day:
- Cashback is not mentioned anywhere on EMCD’s pages.
- The app is where you manage the card — freeze it, unfreeze it, set limits. Platform support and store ratings were not read.
- Disputes have fees but no described procedure: refund $0.50, reversal $2.00, chargeback $35, and no stated process or timeframe for getting one.
That last row is the one that worries me most. A $35 chargeback fee does not tell you whether disputes are available, how long they take, or what evidence is needed. Compare with a card that spells out its chargeback process: this one publishes the price of the remedy and not the remedy.
What can go wrong
Two categories of risk here: what EMCD’s users report, and what the structure of the card means regardless of reviews.
On complaints, I want to be careful about what is actually about *this card*. EMCD’s Trustpilot presence is the company, not the card. As I read it on 2026-10-20, it had 190 reviews, 83% five-star and 11% one-star, and the score itself was hidden “due to a breach of guidelines”; EMCD says it removed fake reviews. The themes that recur: accounts blocked after KYC or AML review between November 2025 and April 2026, slow KYC and document checks in November 2025, referral and welcome bonuses unpaid without KYC in November 2025, slow or missing support replies between November 2025 and March 2026, and US users blocked since 1 May 2025. Positive reviews cite 12% annual interest and fast payouts — which are wallet features, not card features. I found no complaint specific to the Coinhold/EMCD card and no Reddit threads, and no official incidents.
The pattern worth extracting: blocks after verification, and slow support. Both hit exactly the person this card is built for.
On structure, the bigger issue is custody. The wallet is custodial — EMCD Coinhold Wallet holds the credentials, which means you trust the provider completely, and a seed phrase or private key is not something you control. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Insurance and safeguarding arrangements are not stated.
Alongside custody: 3-D Secure is not supported, so any merchant requiring it will decline your payment. There is no way round that and no workaround to look for. Freeze, unfreeze and limit controls exist in the app, and loss or unauthorised transactions are reported to support for reissue. Support is via FAQ and help centre at help.coinhold.io, itself in EN, PT, RU and ES; “Support 24/7” appears in the help menu, and the email in the footer is obscured. Card support languages are not stated.
Then the question a reader should ask and I cannot answer: who is behind this? The legal entity, registration country, card issuer and licences are not stated on the card page. A third-party listing names Mastercard as the network, Coinhold as the platform and EMCD as the offering, and still does not name the issuer. When I could not find the issuer even after looking elsewhere, I stopped rather than guess. For a custodial wallet plus a card, that is the largest single unknown here, and it sits on top of the fact that the card’s own network is described two different ways on two official pages.
A last general point about this category that belongs in the risk section rather than a footnote: a declined payment can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, sometimes up to seven.
What to take instead
Full fee schedules for the alternatives below are not available, so I am comparing them on the two things that are actually documented: what they cost to hold and what they pay back.
| Option | Score | Issuance and fees documented | Rewards documented |
|---|---|---|---|
| EMCD | 4.9 / 10 | Plus $19, Premium $25, $5 monthly, 1.5% top-up, 1.5% + $0.50 purchase, possible 3% FX | Cashback not mentioned |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual issuance free in all regions “until further notice”; physical 29.99 USD (Australia), 5 USD/USDT (Argentina), 29,99 USDT (Georgia, Kazakhstan AIFC), 5 USDT (Asia Pacific), none (Brazil, Mexico); “no annual fees”; crypto conversion 0.9% (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil, Mexico), 0.5% Argentina; FX fee 2% (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Mexico), 2% “International Fee” Kazakhstan, 7% Argentina, 1.5% Brazil | Tiers from 2% (Base, cap 5 USD) to 10% (Infinite, cap 600 USD); 10% welcome cashback up to 110 USDT for 30 days |
| MSX | 6.4 / 10 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Not stated | Cashback in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%; Bronze and Silver not stated |
The honest comparison is against Bybit Card, because it is the only alternative here with a published fee schedule.
Bybit’s virtual card is free to issue across all its regions, with no annual fees, and it pays cashback from 2026-10-05 on crypto-funded transactions — from 2% at the Base tier up to 10% at Infinite, with a 10% welcome offer up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days. Against EMCD’s $19–$25 issuance, $5 monthly and 1.5% + $0.50 per purchase, that is a different order of economics. Bybit’s catch is geographic: its regions are Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific, and its pages state that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. Its own fiat restricted list — for deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card itself — includes Belarus, Russia, Serbia, China and the United States.
Bybit also offers a physical card, has a documented validity of 3 to 6 years by region, and has both Visa and Mastercard depending on market. EMCD has none of that.
MSX scores higher (6.4) and Young Card higher too (5.7), but for both, eligibility, cost and funding are not stated on pages I could read. I would not switch to either on the strength of a score alone — you would be buying on the same thin information that made EMCD hard to rate.
Who I would recommend it to
One person, honestly: someone already holding USDT in the Coinhold Wallet, already verified, already spending in dollars, who wants a second virtual card for online payments and does not need cash, a physical card, or Apple Pay today.
If that is you, the card is fine. A free Active tier exists, the country reach is the widest I have seen stated so plainly, and the mechanics are simple.
If any of these is true, I would not: you need money from an ATM; you live in or travel to one of the thirteen restricted countries; you are outside the US dollar or transact mostly in other currencies; you are in the EEA and looking at a card whose issuer is not named on its own page; you need to dispute a charge; you need Apple Pay in the first week; or you are simply price-sensitive, because 1.5% plus $0.50 plus a possible 3% is not a cheap way to spend.
And if you are evaluating rather than already inside — the largest group reading this — my advice is to treat EMCD as a wallet feature that also happens to be a card, not as a card in its own right. Judge it as one wallet feature among several, at 4.9 out of 10, and put your money into whichever option has published the numbers you actually care about.
Frequently asked questions
What is the EMCD card?
The EMCD card is a virtual payment card that spends a balance you load from the Coinhold Wallet, mainly with USDT. It is virtual only, with no physical version available yet, and no ATM withdrawals. It is positioned as a spending card for people who hold crypto and do not want to touch a bank card for everyday online payments.
Is EMCD a bank?
Not as far as the public pages state. EMCD’s card page does not name a legal entity, a registration country, a card issuer or any licences. What is named is EMCD / Coinhold Wallet, and a third-party listing names Coinhold as the platform with the issuer still unnamed. I could not confirm a banking or e-money licence from the card’s own pages.
Which network does the EMCD card run on — Visa or Mastercard?
Both are named, on official pages, and they conflict. The main card page describes a Virtual Visa Platinum; the EMCD help centre says the card runs on Mastercard, virtual, USD. I found no official statement resolving it, so treat both with caution until you hold the card and can see for yourself which one arrived.
Can I use the EMCD card in my country?
Probably, unless you are in one of thirteen countries where payments are explicitly unavailable: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China. That list comes from the help centre and restricts payments specifically. Identity checks are a separate matter — nationality is screened apart from residence, so approval is not guaranteed by the country list.
Does the EMCD card require KYC?
Yes. EMCD describes standard identity verification as needing “an ID and about 5 minutes”, and verification is mandatory after your first top-up with a valid government ID, usually taking a few minutes. The card then activates automatically. Proof of address and a minimum age are not stated on the pages I read.
How do I top up the EMCD card?
With USDT from the Main account of the Coinhold Wallet, manually — there is no top-up by card number. The minimum first top-up is $20 with a 1.5% fee, $15 of that first top-up is held until your total card spending exceeds $2,500, and it typically lands in 3–5 minutes. The network is not stated, so confirm it with support before transferring.
How much does the EMCD card cost?
Issuance is free on Active, $19 for Plus and $25 for Premium, whether one-off or periodic is not stated. Help-centre figures give $5 monthly maintenance and $15 closure, plus 1.5% on top-up, 1.5% plus $0.50 per purchase, $1.50 declined, $0.50 refund, $2.00 reversal and $35 chargeback. A non-USD purchase may add a 3% bank conversion fee.
Is the EMCD card safe?
It is custodial: EMCD’s wallet holds the credentials, so you depend on the provider, and insurance or safeguarding arrangements are not stated. The app offers freeze, unfreeze and limits, but there is no 3-D Secure, so merchants requiring it will decline. EMCD’s Trustpilot reviews are mixed at company level, with recurring themes of accounts blocked after KYC and slow support replies.
Can I add the EMCD card to Apple Wallet?
Conflicting information. The FAQ says it works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the help centre agrees, but the feature list marks both as “Coming soon”. I would not rely on it until you have topped up and tried. Note also that blocked categories include fuel, ride-hailing, AI subscriptions, money transfers, crypto exchanges, gambling and brokerage.
Is the EMCD card worth it?
For someone already holding USDT in the Coinhold Wallet and spending in dollars, it is a workable second virtual card with wide country reach. For anyone else, the $5 monthly fee, 1.5% plus $0.50 per purchase, a possible 3% on non-USD spending, no cash withdrawals and no named issuer are hard to justify against an alternative that publishes a full fee schedule.
Exchange cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
