Wayex Visa debit card: what the free stablecoin card actually delivers

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Wayex card is a Visa debit card that lets you spend stablecoins and fiat from a single balance, with a free digital version and no monthly account fee. After spending time with the product pages, the help center, and user feedback, the picture is a clean, low-friction card that works well for people who hold stablecoins and want a simple spending rail. The catch, as with most crypto cards, is in the gaps: the main site does not name its 18+ supported regions, does not publish FX or ATM fees for the global card, and routes disputes through binding arbitration in Panama.

Wayex works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review is current as of October 28, 2026. I have used no card here, and I have not signed up for Wayex. Everything below comes from the company’s own pages, the help center, and user reports I could verify.

Verdict

The Wayex card scores 7.5 out of 10. It is a free, low-friction option for stablecoin holders who want a Visa to spend from, and it is weakest precisely where transparency matters most: who can get one, what non-USD spending costs, and what happens in a dispute.

Criterion Score Why it matters
Who can get it 5 / 10 18+ regions live, expanding to 100+; sanctioned countries excluded, but the actual region list is not published
Cost 9 / 10 Free digital card, free account, no monthly fee, 0% on USD spending; physical card price and non-USD FX not stated
Top-up options 9 / 10 DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD on 10+ blockchains, plus fiat in USD, EUR and others; specific networks not named
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Issued by Lead Bank under a Visa licence, Bridge Ventures LLC runs the programme; Trustpilot 3.9 from 61 reviews, complaints centre on verification holds and slow payments
Everyday use 8 / 10 Free digital Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay support; ATM and blocked-category details for the global card not stated
Total 7.5 / 10

If you are a stablecoin holder who wants a free digital Visa to spend from, Wayex is a credible option and the price is hard to argue with. If you need a physical card with transparent FX, a published ATM policy, or you live in a country whose name is not on the card’s site, the gaps are likely to bother you.

Who will they give you the card

Wayex says the card is “live in 18+ regions today” and expanding to 100+. The site does not list those regions. The terms bar anyone located in, or who is a citizen or resident of, a country sanctioned by the UN, FATF, EU or US (OFAC), and they bar jurisdictions that prohibit crypto services. A third-party source (CoinCodeCap, February 2026) describes the core product as Australia-only, with the 160-country footprint being an early rollout; the official site states the app is downloadable in 160+ countries, which is a different claim than having a card in those countries.

The age rule is simple: 18 or older. Beyond that, Wayex says KYC can be completed in as little as two minutes, but the documents needed are not specified on the pages I read, and the site describes no tiered verification with different limits. Rejection reasons are not stated.

If you live somewhere the card does not support, you will not know that until you try to sign up. That is a real gap. A card that markets itself globally should at least be able to show you whether your country is on the list before you hand over documents.

How to get it

Wayex is a prepaid Visa debit card, with a free digital version and a physical card “where supported”. The balance is held in USDB, a token that is pegged 1:1 to the US dollar. The digital card is free; the help center for the Australian product lists a physical card and delivery at AUD 14.99, with free replacement for lost, stolen or expired cards. The global card’s shipping cost and delivery times are not stated on the main site, so do not assume the AUD 14.99 figure applies elsewhere.

Sign-up runs through the iOS or Android app. The site says the app is downloadable in 160+ countries, and the store ratings are not surfaced on the company pages I read. Verification is described as “KYC in as little as 2 minutes”, but rejection reasons and the criteria for what counts as a successful check are not published.

There is a footnote on the footer that says “Fees may apply”, and a separate help-center complaints policy that says the company will acknowledge a complaint within three business days and aim to resolve it within 30. The terms put any dispute into binding arbitration in Panama City, in English. That is worth knowing now, before you ever have a complaint: if something goes wrong, you will not be going to your local small-claims court.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline numbers are good. The unknowns are the everyday ones.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Wayex payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Account opening Free
Monthly fee None
Digital card issuance Free
Physical card issuance Not stated (AUD 14.99 in the Australian help center)
USD spending 0%
FX fee (non-USD) Not stated
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM fee Not stated (Australian help center: $0 Wayex fee, operator fees apply)
Daily spend limit Not stated
Monthly spend limit Not stated

A third-party source (CoinCodeCap, last updated April 2026) lists a per-transaction limit of $1,000 and a lifetime card spend of $150,000 before a free replacement, but these numbers contradict the official Australian help center, which shows a per-transaction limit of AUD 10,000. Treat any third-party number as unofficial until Wayex publishes a global limits table.

A coffee in USD

You tap the card for $5. Wayex takes 0% on USD spending, so the only cost is whatever the café charges. This is the case the card is built for, and it works.

A coffee in euros

The card is a Visa, so it converts at the Visa rate. What it costs you on top of that is not published. If the FX fee is 2% like many competitors, a €4 coffee is 4 cents. If it is 0% as the Australian help center suggests for AUD, the same coffee is free. You do not know until you spend.

A coffee paid in crypto

You top up with USDC, then spend. The conversion is into USDB and then out again at the merchant. Neither step has a published fee on the global product. The Australian help center lists conversion fees on a tiered basis (0.40% down to 0.00% by 30-day volume), but that table is for the Australian product’s trading interface, not necessarily the global card.

The honest summary: the things Wayex charges for on its main pages cost nothing. The things you actually need to know about, the FX fee and ATM fee, are not stated.

How to top up Wayex

Topping up starts with sending the right token to the right network. The card accepts DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD on “10+ blockchains”, though the networks are not named. Fiat deposits are accepted in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN and BRL.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Wayex starts with a transfer to the right network
Top-up method Coins or currencies Networks or rails Fee
Crypto DAI, USDT, USDC, PYUSD 10+ blockchains (not named) Free from Wayex, network/gas fees apply
Fiat USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL On-ramps and bank rails Not stated on main site (AUD deposit zero fee in Australian help center)

The Australian help center, dated 12 August 2026, says there is no limit on deposits. The global minimum top-up is not stated. The phrasing “10+ blockchains” matters: if you do not pick a network Wayex supports, the deposit will not arrive, and on-chain transfers are generally irreversible. Wayex names the tokens, not the chains, so you have to check inside the app for the supported network for your specific token before you send.

A small note on the stablecoins themselves. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC together hold about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation, according to the BIS in July 2025. Circle publishes monthly reserve attestations and lists USDC on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not an option. Stablecoins aim to hold a stable value but can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. A “stable” coin is a market claim, not a guarantee.

For cash-out, Wayex lists PIX, SPEI, Faster Payments, SEPA, Wire and ACH (ACH and Wire enabled), with the caveat “where supported”. Fees and times are not published on the main site. The Australian help center shows a cash-out conversion fee of 0.40% down to 0.00% by 30-day volume. The terms allow Wayex to “withhold withdrawals pending further investigation”, with no time limit published. The process for getting your balance back after account closure is not stated.

Paying with the Wayex card every day

The card is a Visa, so it is accepted anywhere Visa is taken. The digital version is free, the physical card is available “where supported”, and Wayex supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. Blocked merchant categories are not stated on the pages I read; that means gambling (MCC 7995) and other restricted categories may or may not work, depending on policy rather than law.

There is no cashback on the card itself. What Wayex offers is yield: up to 5% on liquid stablecoin balances through “Everyday Yield” (live), and up to 20% on Fixed-Term Deposits through Kasu (coming soon). These are returns on your balance, not rewards on your spending, and they sit alongside the card rather than inside it.

Two practical points on daily use. First, mobile wallets work by replacing your card number with a device-specific token, so the real card number never sits on Apple or Google’s servers; the issuer can still restrict that token. Second, if a merchant runs an Address Verification Service check (mostly US, Canada and UK), a card issued in another country can be declined; that is a property of how AVS works, not a Wayex issue. Declines can leave a hold on your balance for several days, typically up to seven.

The app is on iOS and Android. Live chat is available in the app or on the website, and there is email at [email protected]. The help-center complaints page says support is available 24/7, and there are community channels on Telegram, X, Discord and Reddit.

What can go wrong

Three categories of risk matter here: the company behind the card, the rules around your money, and the operating history of users before you.

The company

The card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, with Bridge Ventures LLC as the Programme Manager. Wayex is the Platform Provider and “not a bank”. Wayex’s own country of registration is not stated on the pages I read. The terms route disputes to binding arbitration in Panama City, in English.

The money

Because Wayex is not a bank, your balance is not a bank deposit. The help-center pages on the Australian product mention consumer-protection regulators, but those pages appear to refer to the separate Australian product, not the global card. No dated licence events were found, and the global card’s specific regulator is not named on the public pages.

User experience

Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 3.9 from 61 reviews, with 74% five-star and 10% one-star (read on 2026-10-20; Trustpilot notes there have been no recent invitations to review). The themes are consistent:

Wayex replies to every negative review, usually pointing the user to a private channel. One 1-star review from February 2026 calls the platform a crypto scam, alleging about $20 lost; Wayex’s reply says the funds arrived. There were no Reddit threads I could find. No official incident has been disclosed.

A note on safety in general. Typical safeguards for a card like this include app-based 2FA, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets. Wayex mentions encryption, 24/7 monitoring, and “instant controls and alerts” on the card, but 2FA setup, freeze flow and safeguarding details are not described on the pages I read. Crypto custody has a record of failures: Mt. Gox (around US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (around US$400 million in 2018), and the Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022). Programmes also get shut down: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme at once.

A note on the law. In the EU, the customer due diligence process records name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, runs a sanctions check, establishes the purpose of the relationship, and determines whether the customer is a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. That is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents. It is not personal; it is the regulator writing the rules.

What to take instead

A card that scores 7.5 is not the only option, and your priorities will decide which way to go.

Card Score Best for Cost Top-up Cashback
Wayex 7.5 Stablecoin holders wanting a free digital Visa Free digital, no monthly fee, 0% on USD DAI, USDT, USDC, PYUSD on 10+ chains; USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL None on the card; up to 5% yield on stablecoin balances
International Visa Card 6.7 People who want a virtual Visa and pay in USD $5 once for the card, plans from free to $19/month USDC, USDT (free at 1:1); USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow None stated
UNi Card 6.1 Multicurrency spenders on Mastercard No annual fee, no FX fee Not stated Up to 3% spend-to-earn
Whop Cards 5.2 US-based users, team and consumer issuance “No extra fees” Whop balance, stablecoin-backed 5% at select merchants (Uber, more planned)

A few trade-offs. International Visa Card has a US$5 card fee and a published 2% FX fee on non-USD spending, so the price is fully transparent; the long list of excluded countries is the trade-off. UNi Card promises no FX fees and up to 3% spend-to-earn on Mastercard, but the eligibility rules and top-up options are not stated. Whop Cards is limited to 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses, and excludes most of the same sanctioned countries Wayex excludes. Whop’s “5% at select merchants” is a smaller, merchant-tied cashback.

If transparency on FX and a long list of supported countries matters most, International Visa Card is the easier read. If you want multicurrency on Mastercard, UNi Card is the alternative. If you are US-based and want team issuance with merchant cashback, Whop Cards is the angle. If you hold stablecoins and want a free digital Visa without a monthly fee, the Wayex card is still the most cost-effective option here, with the caveat that you should treat its region list, FX fee, and ATM policy as questions to confirm before you load funds.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Wayex card to a stablecoin holder who wants a free digital Visa, lives in or can access one of the card’s 18+ live regions, and is comfortable holding a balance with a non-bank platform provider whose dispute resolution is in Panama. For that person, the card delivers what it advertises: free issuance, no monthly fee, 0% on USD spending, and a working top-up flow across DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs a published ATM policy, a stated FX fee for non-USD spending, a physical card with global shipping, or a clear regulator on the public pages. For that set of needs, the gaps are too large.

A few practical things to do before you commit:

The Wayex card is a clean, low-friction option for the use case it is built for. It is not the card for everyone, and the company’s decision to keep its region list, FX fee and ATM policy off the public pages is the main reason it does not score higher.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Wayex card?

The Wayex card is a Visa debit card that spends from a balance held in USDB, a token pegged 1:1 to the US dollar. The digital version is free, the physical card is available where supported, and the account has no monthly fee. It is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, with Bridge Ventures LLC as the Programme Manager.

How does the Wayex card work?

You fund the balance with stablecoins (DAI, USDT, USDC, PYUSD) on one of Wayex’s supported blockchains, or with fiat in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN or BRL. At the merchant, the card spends from the USDB balance, which is treated as USD for the network. The card works wherever Visa is accepted, including Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Is Wayex a bank?

No. Wayex describes itself as the Platform Provider and says it is “not a bank”. The card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa licence, and Bridge Ventures LLC runs the programme. Your balance is not a bank deposit, and the help-center pages on the Australian product refer to consumer-protection regulators separately from the global card.

Who owns Wayex?

The card is issued by Lead Bank under licensing from Visa U.S.A. Inc. The programme is managed by Bridge Ventures LLC, and Wayex is the Platform Provider. Wayex’s own country of registration is not stated on the pages I read.

Is the Wayex card available in my country?

Wayex says the card is “live in 18+ regions today” and expanding to 100+. The actual list of regions is not published. Anyone in a country sanctioned by the UN, FATF, EU or US (OFAC), or in a jurisdiction that bars crypto services, is barred by the terms regardless of residence or citizenship status. You will need to check inside the app for current support.

How do I apply for a Wayex card?

You download the iOS or Android app, complete KYC (the company says this can take as little as two minutes), and request a digital card. The physical card is available “where supported”; cost and delivery times for the global card are not published on the main site. Applicants must be 18 or older.

Does the Wayex card require KYC?

Yes. Wayex says KYC can be completed in as little as two minutes, but the documents needed are not specified on the pages I read, and the site describes no tiered verification. Rejection reasons are not published, and EU-style due diligence rules (name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, sanctions screening, PEP check) often apply because the card is issued under a Visa-licensed bank.

How do I add the Wayex card to Apple Wallet?

Open the Wayex app, open the card details, and follow the prompt to add to Apple Wallet. The card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. The actual card number is replaced with a device-specific token, so the real PAN never sits on Apple or Google’s servers.

How do I top up the Wayex card?

You can top up with DAI, USDT, USDC or PYUSD on one of the supported blockchains, or with fiat in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN or BRL. The site says “10+ blockchains” but does not name them, so check the app for the supported network for your token before sending. Crypto deposits are free from Wayex, but you pay the network’s gas fee.

Is the Wayex card safe?

The card is issued by a regulated US bank under a Visa licence, and Wayex lists encryption, 24/7 monitoring, and instant card controls. The user feedback on Trustpilot (3.9 from 61 reviews) is mostly positive, with complaints about verification holds and slow payments. Your balance is not a bank deposit, so it is not protected by deposit insurance, and disputes are handled through binding arbitration in Panama City rather than local courts.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team