A promising fee-free card with more blanks than answers

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have ever tried to get an ordinary bank card and ended up without one — because of where you live, what documents you have, or how long your bank takes — then a card that says it has no annual fee and no other fees at all is worth a look. That is the pitch. The Bolt card is a payment card tied to an account inside an app, topped up from the app, with a virtual card issued immediately once you put in at least $5 and a plastic one arriving in something like ten business days.

Bolt works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Here is the honest version. I read the card’s own public pages, and on the things that decide whether a card works for you, those pages are mostly quiet. The country is given as the United States. The coins you can deposit are not named. The conversion fee is not disclosed. The issuing bank is not named. The limits exist somewhere in the app, and only in the app. That is not the same as a card being bad. It is a card whose fine print has not been written yet, or has been written and not published where you would look for it. My score is 4.8 out of 10, and most of that number comes from the silence rather than from anything actively wrong.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 4.8 out of 10, and why

The card scores 4.8 out of 10. For US residents who want a fee-free debit card with an account inside an app, the appeal is obvious on its face and hard to judge in practice. For everyone else — anyone outside the United States, anyone who plans to spend abroad, anyone whose life depends on knowing the conversion rate before they tap — the card as documented does not reach them, or does not tell them enough to trust.

Let me break the score down the way I built it, criterion by criterion, so you can see where the marks come from and argue with any of them.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bolt starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 The starting data says United States; no countries are listed beyond that
Cost 8 / 10 “There are no annual or other fees associated with the Bolt Card” — but conversion and FX are not disclosed
Top-up options 3 / 10 Top-up happens from the app; coins and networks are not named, and crypto via Zero Hash appears only in starting data, unconfirmed by any page I read
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Bolt Financial, Inc. is the starting data; the issuing bank is not named, and no card complaints were found
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual card instantly after a deposit of at least $5, plastic in about 10 business days; Apple Wallet is not yet supported; the ATM situation is not addressed
Total 4.8 / 10

Two things worth naming before you read on. First, the 8 out of 10 for cost is the highest mark on the card, and it is a real strength — there are no account fees. Second, the 2 out of 10 for eligibility is not a judgement about the card’s policy, it is a reflection of how little is published about it. I found nothing on the pages suggesting that the card is hostile to applicants; I found a page that does not say much.

Will they give you the card?

The published starting data says United States, and that is the only eligibility information I could find. The help pages require identity verification before you can request the card, so the answer to “will they give you the card” begins and, on the published material, nearly ends there.

That is a thin foundation for a decision, and I would rather say so plainly than dress it up. Who is eligible? The only country named is the United States. Whether that means US citizens, US residents, or anyone with a US address is not stated. Whether someone in, say, Ireland or Nigeria with a valid US address can apply is not stated. Whether a US resident with a foreign passport can complete verification is not stated. Whether there is an age floor beyond the general rule that prepaid and debit cards go to adults at 18 and over is not stated. The pages mention documents, proof of address and age in the context of the verification step, but do not specify which documents, which kind of proof of address, or which age.

The company behind the card is Bolt Financial, Inc., according to the starting data. The bank that actually issues the card is not named on the pages I read; the disclosures reference a “Consumer Checking Account Agreement,” which tells you there is an agreement, but not with whom.

I would treat the United States reading as the working assumption and verify it yourself before you spend an afternoon on verification. There is one more thing that will sound small and is not: the domain moved from bolt.com to boltapp.com, and the old help address redirects with a 308. That tells you the company reorganised its web presence at some point. The date is not stated. A rebrand is normal; it is also worth noticing when you are trying to work out how long a company has been doing this.

How to get it

Two steps, in this order: complete identity verification in the app, then request the card. That is the whole process as published, and the single verification step means there is no tiered system to figure out.

The order matters more than it sounds. Because verification comes first, there is a point of no return: you hand over documents to a company whose card-issuing bank you cannot name from their public pages. That is not a reason to walk away. It is a reason to read the terms before you upload anything, and to know what you are agreeing to.

Once verification is through, the virtual card is issued instantly after an initial deposit of at least $5. That is the trigger for the whole thing. Five dollars is not a fee, it is your own money sitting in your own balance — but it is the minimum, and it is what unlocks the immediate virtual card. The physical card is described on a separate page, and its approximate delivery time is around 10 business days. Its cost is not stated. The countries it ships to are not stated. What happens if it is lost, stolen or destroyed is not stated.

What is not stated anywhere on these pages: the network the card runs on, and the currency it holds. Both of those are things I would want to know before applying, and neither is available. If you are someone who has had a card declined at a shop because of the issuer country on the card’s number, you will understand why that gap matters more than it sounds on paper.

Fees, and what a payment really costs

The card itself is free: “There are no annual or other fees associated with the Bolt Card.” No annual fee, no other fees, and that is stated plainly on the card’s own pages. That is the single strongest thing about this card and the reason it scored 8 out of 10 on cost.

Here is the table of every cost and limit the material actually supports, and — just as usefully — every row where the cell is empty because the card does not say.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bolt payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card says
Issuance Not stated for the virtual card; the physical card’s cost is not stated
Monthly or annual fee “There are no annual or other fees associated with the Bolt Card”
Crypto conversion Not stated
Foreign exchange Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not stated (a PIN can be set; there is no ATM page)
Daily limits “All limits are set to default by Bolt”; figures appear only in the app under Bank/Cards > Limits
Monthly limits Same — set by default by Bolt, visible only in the app
Minimum top-up $5 as the initial deposit; other fees and minimums are not stated
Tiers Not stated

So let me do what I think a reader actually wants here: take three ordinary payments and work out what they cost, using only what the card publishes.

A coffee in a local shop. This is the case the card handles best. No annual fee, no monthly fee, and if the card’s balance is already in the right currency then the fee is zero — or whatever undisclosed conversion fee applies if it was funded from crypto. I cannot tell you the number, and that is the point. The cleanest version of this scenario is a balance funded in fiat and spent in fiat, where the published promise applies without conversion anywhere.

An online subscription in euros. Two unknowns stack on top of each other. Whatever the foreign exchange arrangement is, it is not stated. And whatever conversion applies, is not stated. On a card with a published fee schedule you would compute this in ten seconds. Here you cannot, and you would be finding out at the checkout what the final cost is.

A cash withdrawal at an ATM. Not stated, and there is no ATM page to check. A PIN can be set in the app, which tells you withdrawals are contemplated; it does not tell you what one costs.

The structural point underneath those three examples is worth making, because it is how crypto cards generally work. A crypto card is usually closer to a prepaid card than to a debit card: crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. That is a genuine comfort. It is also why a conversion fee, if there is one, is the number that decides whether the card is cheap or expensive — and it is the one number the card does not publish.

I would not call this a bad deal. I would call it an undisclosed one, and those are different, and only one of them can be checked before you start spending.

How to top it up

You top up by depositing to the Bolt Account from the app. That is the published mechanism, and it is where the thinness becomes a real obstacle rather than an irritation.

The help pages do not name the coins or the networks. The starting data mentions crypto via Zero Hash, but no page I read confirms that, so treat it as unconfirmed. You could reasonably finish this paragraph with several open questions that matter a great deal: Which assets? On which networks? Is there a fee on the way in? How long until the balance is spendable? Can you send from a self-custody wallet, and if so, to what address?

Those last questions are not pedantic. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost, or can need manual support recovery with no guarantee of the outcome. If you are depositing stablecoins, the network question has teeth: ERC-20 gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all, and Tron prices its fees through bandwidth and energy that often means burning TRX. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. None of this is specific to Bolt — it is the terrain — but it is the terrain you cross in the first five minutes of using the card, and the card does not tell you where to step.

The withdrawal side is equally brief: you withdraw from the Bolt Account in the app, at Bank/Cards > Bolt Card > Bolt Account > Withdraw. Fees, timing, and the balance that must remain to keep the account open are not stated.

The $5 initial deposit is the one hard number. Treat it as the price of finding out the rest.

Paying with it every day

You get a virtual card in seconds and plastic in 10 business days, and the app is called the Bolt SuperApp. The everyday-use experience is where the omissions start to bite in ways you will notice at the till.

Apple Wallet is the first gap. Adding the card to Apple Wallet is “not supported yet” and “will be available soon.” So no tokenised, device-numbered, one-time-code payments on your phone — the standard way most people now pay in a queue. Google Pay is not mentioned at all. There is also no ATM page, so cash remains an open question.

What the app does cover is card control: a temporary block, unblock, a permanent block, and setting a PIN, all in the app. That is the safety net that matters most day to day, and having it is worth something.

Two more threads hang loose. The disclosures reference “Bolt Account Reward Program Terms” without stating a rate, so I will not tell you there are rewards; I will tell you that a rewards programme is mentioned in terms I did not read, and that the number is not on the pages. And dispute handling is not stated — no page describes what happens when a charge is wrong, a merchant disappears, or a payment goes through twice.

Here is the part of card mechanics most people meet within a week. When you pay online, 3-D Secure may add an identity check — a one-time code or a biometric prompt — where the issuer judges the risk and either lets it through or challenges you. Some merchants also compare the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records; that check is mostly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your money that stays for days. Since the card does not name its network or its issuing country, I cannot tell you how either of those will behave for you.

What can go wrong

No official incidents were found, and no complaints about the card were found — which is a smaller piece of good news than it looks, and there is a specific set of risks worth naming.

Start with the empty part. A card with a low public profile has a low complaint count for the same reason a new restaurant has few reviews. There is no Trustpilot page for the Bolt card that I could find. The company’s contacts are listed as boltapp.com, help.boltapp.com and a Discord chat; the languages and hours are not stated, which matters more than it sounds when a transfer has gone to the wrong network and you are trying to get it back.

On safeguarding, the pages do not say how custody works. That is a real gap for anyone whose balance came from crypto, and it belongs in the wider frame. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is the unencrypted form of that key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and there is no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return stolen funds. And custody has a documented history — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk; that is the trade you make when you accept convenience.

Then the card-specific risks:

What is genuinely reassuring: this is a card with no named scandals against it, in a category where the sector’s disasters are famous and this one is not among them.

What to take instead

Three alternatives, each stronger on the axes where Bolt is blank — and I will not pretend any of them is a clean sweep.

The clearest comparison is eligibility. Bolt names only the United States. The International Visa Card publishes a long list of countries where the account and card are not available to residents or legal registrants: Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case with compliance approval. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Note that the rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned — a distinction that catches people out. It is a US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with the physical card “coming soon.” Issuance is $5 one-time, there is no maintenance fee, and plans run Classic free, Pro $9.00/month and Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency costs “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind carry no fee. You can fund it with USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1 (per an earlier check), or with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits. No cashback is stated. Its score is 6.7 out of 10.

Where Bolt says nothing about fees, the UNi Card states its position: “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee,” assets converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates,” and “No hidden exchange fees.” It is a multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance, with no issuance fee stated and eligibility not stated. It offers “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3%. Its score is 6.1 out of 10.

Whop Cards are the most different option: Visa, usable anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores, spending from a Whop balance — a pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives, while standard withdrawals use settled funds. The starting data says it is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, with coins and networks not stated, and cards can also be issued to team members. It offers 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned, with payout currency and conditions not stated. The page says “No extra fees” without listing issuance or monthly amounts, and conversion and FX figures are not stated. Its eligibility is narrower than it looks: 31 US states for consumers (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming) and 41 states for businesses, with the same long unsupported-country list as the first alternative for consumers, plus Russia and Belarus for corporates, and no statement of whether the basis is citizenship or residence. Its score is 5.2 out of 10.

Alternative Score Stands out on Weak spot
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 Published eligibility list, published FX fee, free plan tier Physical card not yet available; deposits stated in crypto are quiet on networks
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Fee transparency: no FX fee, no hidden exchange fees Eligibility not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Pending balance usable immediately; 5% cashback at select merchants No published limits on which states or countries; no conversion or FX figures
Bolt 4.8 / 10 No annual or other fees on the card Eligibility, fees, limits, wallet support and issuing bank all unstated

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend it to a US resident who wants an ordinary-feeling card without account fees, and who treats it as one card among several rather than as a system. The no-fees promise is real and clearly stated. The virtual card arrives fast once five dollars is in. You can freeze it from your phone. If those are the three things you need and you are comfortable discovering the rest inside the app, this is a reasonable thing to try.

I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would think twice if any of these apply:

The honest summary is that Bolt has built the easy half of the product and left the hard half to the app. If that matches how you like to bank — find out as you go, freeze things when they look odd, keep a second card for the payments that matter — it works. If you prefer to read the fine print first and know the number before you tap, this card is not ready for you, and it is not ready in a way that has more to do with publishing than with any fault I found.

One last thing, since money is involved and this is not advice. If your balance is funded from crypto, tax treatment may follow. Digital assets are generally treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in your local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. That is a description of how the rules generally work, not an answer for your situation — take it to a professional.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bolt card?

The Bolt card is a payment card tied to an account inside an app called the Bolt SuperApp. You deposit money into that account from the app, and the card spends the balance. You get a virtual card instantly once you deposit at least $5, and a physical card arrives in around 10 business days. The card’s own pages state that there are no annual or other fees associated with it.

How does the Bolt card work?

You deposit into the Bolt Account, then use the card like an ordinary payment card until the balance runs down. In structure it behaves more like a prepaid card than a debit card: crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Blocking, unblocking and setting a PIN are all done in the app.

Is Bolt a bank?

Not on the published evidence. The company behind the card is Bolt Financial, Inc. The bank that issues the card is not named on the pages I read, though the disclosures reference a “Consumer Checking Account Agreement”. So there is a bank involved in the background somewhere, but the card does not put its name on the page.

Who owns Bolt?

The starting data lists Bolt Financial, Inc. as the company. One detail worth knowing if you have seen the old site: the domain moved from bolt.com to boltapp.com, with the old help address redirecting via a 308. The date of that move is not stated, so I cannot tell you how recent the change is.

Can I get the Bolt card in my country?

Only the United States is named as starting data, and that is the whole of the published eligibility information. No other countries are listed, and whether eligibility follows citizenship, residence or address is not stated. If you are outside the US, treat the answer as unknown rather than as no, and check with the company before you start identity verification.

Does the Bolt card require identity verification?

Yes. The help pages require identity verification before you can request the card, and it is a single step — not a tiered system. The pages refer to documents, proof of address and age in that context, but they do not specify which documents or which kind of proof. Verification comes first, before the card request.

Is the Bolt card free?

The card side is: “There are no annual or other fees associated with the Bolt Card.” No annual fee and no other fees are stated. The costs that are not stated are the ones that decide real spending: crypto conversion, foreign exchange, ATM withdrawals, and the physical card’s delivery cost.

How do I top up the Bolt card?

You deposit to the Bolt Account from the app. The minimum initial deposit is $5, which is also what triggers the instant virtual card. The help pages do not name which coins or networks are supported. Starting data mentions crypto via Zero Hash, but no page confirms it, so do not treat that as established.

Can I add the Bolt card to Apple Wallet?

Not at the moment. Adding the card to Apple Wallet is “not supported yet”, with the card’s own pages saying it “will be available soon”. Google Pay is not mentioned. Until that changes, you are paying with the card number itself rather than with a tokenised phone payment.

Is the Bolt card safe to use?

There is no evidence of trouble: no official incidents were found and no card complaints were found. What is missing matters as much — how custody works is not stated, the issuing bank is not named, support hours and languages are not stated, and the company has no Trustpilot page I could find. Send deposits carefully, since blockchain transfers cannot be reversed.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team