The crypto-spend card for euro users inside the EU, with a clean 1.99% top-up fee and an open question about how firm that price really is
The Bitrefill card is a prepaid Visa that turns crypto into euro spending money, and it scored 6.8 out of 10 when I went through its terms and reports. That middle-of-the-road number is honest rather than disappointing: this is a well-run, properly licensed card for a specific person — a euro spender inside the EU who holds crypto or Bitcoin Lightning and wants to pay ordinary shops without touching a normal bank card — wrapped in a fee structure the card’s own pages describe with more gaps than clarity. If you are that person, there is a lot here to like. If you are outside the eligibility zone or you want your crypto to sit in your own wallet, this is not the card for you, and no amount of good writing will change that.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.8 / 10 — a solid euro card inside the EU, held back by fees it does not spell out
My score for this card is 6.8 out of 10. It is not a rounding of enthusiasm or of doubt; it is the sum of six sub-scores, and the two ends of the range tell you most of the story. Reliability and complaints is the strongest at 9, which reflects a regulated issuer and very good public reviews. Everyday use is 8: a virtual and physical Visa with Google Pay working today. In the middle sit cost at 6, top-up options at 7, and eligibility at 5. The one that keeps the total from climbing is who can actually get the card, because the rules are drawn along lines of citizenship and residence that are stricter and more politically charged than the marketing suggests.

Here is how each part breaks down.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Issued to residents of 29 EU, Norwegian and Icelandic countries, 18+, but US and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of where they live |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Free through the app; top-up has a fixed 1.99% fee and 0% FX; but the deposit spread percentage is not stated, and unofficial reports put a €10/month inactivity fee after 12 months and 2.49% at ATMs |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA; USDT deposits ended 17 March 2025 and the minimum deposit is currently €15 |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Card issued by Wallester AS (Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon), operator Airfill Prepaid AB; Trustpilot 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews, with complaints mostly about the gift-card store |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay available, Apple Pay “soon”, and ATMs that accept Visa |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 | A card built for euro spenders in the EU who hold crypto or Lightning, held back by an eligibility map drawn tightly around citizenship and by fee details the public pages leave unstated |
Who this suits: euro-denominated spenders living in the EU, Norway or Iceland who already hold Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base or Polygon and want a straightforward Visa to spend from that crypto without a normal bank card in reach.
Who it does not suit: anyone who is a US or Russian citizen wherever they live, anyone outside the eligible European countries, anyone who insists on holding their own private keys, and anyone who plans to lean on Apple Pay, since the card’s own pages list it as coming “soon” rather than working now.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, but only inside a fairly specific box, and it is worth reading that box carefully before you get attached to the idea.

The card’s own country list is, in the honest sense, not stated on the public page. The terms say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply” — which is the standard way of saying the real gate sits with the partner, not with the marketing. What the card does spell out is the practical zone: eligible residents of Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway and Iceland — 29 countries in all — provided you are 18 or older and pass identity verification.
The part that catches most people out is that eligibility follows citizenship as well as residence. US citizens and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of where they live. There is a fair wrinkle: Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible. So a dual national with an EU passport is treated differently from a Russian passport holder in the same apartment. That is a citizenship-screening decision, and it applies to you at application time whether it feels fair or not.
Two smaller gates are worth knowing. You cannot sign up with a Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan mobile number. And the help centre carries a blocklist for verification and deposits that includes the US, Japan, Russia, Ukraine and the UAE — that list was truncated in the version I read, so treat it as indicative rather than complete, and confirm before you fund anything.
This is the section where the card’s 5 out of 10 lives. It is not that the card is badly run; it is that the people most likely to go looking for a crypto card when a normal one is awkward — people whose citizenship or residence makes ordinary banking difficult — are disproportionately the people this card says no to.
How to get it
The path is: install the app, get verified, order the card, activate it.
Two card forms are on offer — a virtual and a physical Visa (“Virtual & Physical Visa Card”) — and the card currency is euro, implied by the terms, which convert crypto deposits into euros. Identity verification is managed by the card partner and is required before you can order. The verification runs in two tiers.
- Starter (the default tier): photo ID and a selfie liveness check, and possibly proof of address. Deposits are capped at EUR 15,000 of crypto in total over your lifetime on the card. You can spend EUR 10,000 a month and EUR 10,000 a day, with contactless at EUR 200 per transaction.
- Plus (an upgrade you are invited to after hitting the Starter deposit limit): adds proof of address and proof of source of funds. There is no deposit limit. Spending rises to EUR 15,000 a month, EUR 10,000 a day, contactless still EUR 200.
If you are invited to Plus, you have 30 days to complete it — otherwise, as the terms put it, “your card will be suspended.” So the upgrade is not a casual suggestion; it is a deadline attached to your access.
On KYC, one thing to set expectations: the card page itself does not describe it, and the terms only say the card “may be restricted to Customers with at least 18 years of age.” Documents and proof of address are not stated on the card page — the specifics live with the partner. Activation also has a wrinkle: if you activate outside the EU, you will need proof of address. A physical card must be activated; a virtual one is usable the moment you receive it. The physical card is sent to the address you provide and ordering it is free, but delivery time is not stated, and a replacement card’s cost is not stated either.
Who runs the check matters. Identity verification is handled by the card partner before you order, and any source-of-funds documents are set by Lightspark. How long processing takes and why a verification might be refused are both not stated — so if you are somewhere with a patchy document history, do not expect a quick yes, and keep a fallback.
Fees: what it really costs
The card is free through the app, and the headline numbers look friendly. The problem is that the most important number — what the crypto-to-euro conversion actually costs you as a spread — is not stated on the public pages. So the table below mixes prices the card does state with the ones I could only find in unofficial reports, and I have marked which is which.
- The card itself is free through the app. Issuance and monthly fee amounts are not stated on the page.
- A fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee applies on a crypto deposit, plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate.
- SEPA pay-in is 1.99%.
- There is no foreign exchange fee of its own; foreign-currency purchases go through the Visa exchange rate.
- There is no stated FX fee and no stated deposit-spread percentage — this is the gap to watch.
- An inactivity fee applies after 12 months without spending or cashing out. Its amount is not stated on the page; unofficial reports put it at EUR 10 a month.
- Cash withdrawals work at “ATMs that accept Visa.” The fee and any free allowance are not stated. Unofficial reports put the ATM fee at 2.49% for both tiers, plus the ATM operator’s own charge, with limits of EUR 350 a day and EUR 3,000 a month.
- Spending limits are EUR 10,000 a day; EUR 10,000 a month on Starter or EUR 15,000 on Plus; contactless EUR 200 per transaction.
- The card is in euro (cashback is paid in euro). Visa’s exchange rate applies to any foreign-currency payment. Multi-currency balances are not stated.
| Fee or limit | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Card through the app | Free | Stated |
| Issuance / monthly fee | Not stated | Stated as unstated |
| Crypto deposit fee | Fixed 1.99%, plus variable exchange cost at the partner’s live rate | Stated |
| Deposit spread (crypto-to-euro) | Percentage not stated | Stated as unstated |
| SEPA pay-in | 1.99% | Stated |
| Foreign exchange fee | 0%; Visa exchange rate applies | Stated |
| ATM cash-out | 2.49% (both tiers) plus the operator’s charge — unofficial | Unofficial |
| ATM limits | EUR 350/day, EUR 3,000/month — unofficial | Unofficial |
| Inactivity fee | EUR 10/month after 12 months with no spend or cash-out — unofficial | Unofficial |
| Replacement physical card | EUR 10 — unofficial | Unofficial |
| Physical card delivery | EUR 0 where offered; delivery time not stated | Stated / partly unofficial |
| Spend limit per day | EUR 10,000 | Stated |
| Spend limit per month | EUR 10,000 (Starter) / EUR 15,000 (Plus) | Stated |
| Contactless limit | EUR 200 per transaction | Stated |
| Starter lifetime deposit cap | EUR 15,000 | Stated |
Three ordinary payments, run through those numbers, to show where the cost actually lands.
A €30 coffee bought with a Lightning top-up. You deposit the crypto, pay the fixed 1.99% plus whatever the partner’s live exchange rate costs you, and then the €30 is spent from your euro balance with no further fee. This is the case the card is built for and, Lightning aside, roughly the cheapest path the card offers. What you cannot do from the public page is price the exchange step exactly, because the spread percentage is not stated.
A €40 dinner paid partly in USDC. Same shape: 1.99% on the deposit, a variable exchange cost, then €40 off the balance. But note the dollar peg is not a guarantee — stablecoins can and do drift, and USDC briefly lost its peg during the March 2023 banking crisis. The 1.99% is fixed; the exchange step is not.
A €50 withdrawal from an ATM abroad. This is where the unofficial 2.49% plus the operator’s own charge shows up, on top of the Visa exchange rate for the local currency, subject to the unofficial EUR 350 daily and EUR 3,000 monthly limits. This is the costliest of the three uses and the one where the card’s silence is most costly to you. If cash is part of your plan, confirm the ATM fee with support before you rely on it.
The one reassuring line in all this is that a failed authorisation can leave a hold on your money for several days, and if a card payment is refused you are not charged for the goods — but holds and declines are the two things that make a “free” card feel expensive in the moment.
How to top it up
Topping up is the part the card does well. You deposit crypto, a fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate apply, and the minimum deposit is currently EUR 15 — smaller deposits are simply not added to the balance.
The “Buy with” list on the card page names Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and MasterCard. Treat that list with care: it is not purely a funding list. Payment options like Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and MasterCard appear there as ways to buy, not as direct ways to load the card. The networks that genuinely fund the card are Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base and Polygon; SEPA bank transfer is also supported per the terms at 1.99%.
One funding route is gone. USDT deposits, on any network, ended 17 March 2025 — so if you were planning to load in USDT, that door is closed. And store credit cannot be moved to the card, which matters if you already hold a Bitrefill balance.
Getting money back off the card: you can withdraw to a bank account for free, or cash out at ATMs with no limits listed on the card page. The card deactivates when inactivity fees take the balance down to EUR 0 — so an untouched card erodes toward nothing on its own. Unofficial reporting suggests free SEPA cash-out within limits (not for Swedish residents) or via ATM; that specific detail is not on the official pages. The closure process and what happens to a remaining balance if you close voluntarily are not stated, so if you plan to wind the card down, ask support first.
Paying with it every day
Day to day this is a competent card. You have a virtual and a physical Visa, both in euro, and you can freeze the card and hide the balance in the app with one tap. Online payments go through 3D Secure. Cash works at ATMs that accept Visa.
Mobile wallets are lopsided. Google Pay is supported. Apple Pay is listed as “not supported yet” with a promise that it “will be available soon.” If Apple Pay is how you pay for everything, that gap is the one to weigh.
The rewards are simple: 2% total cashback with no cap, split as 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. The payout currency is not stated on the card page, though the terms say the rate is published on the website. The app is on the App Store and Google Play; I did not read the store ratings myself, but an unofficial source reports the iOS app at 4.7/5 across 372 ratings and the Android app at 4.5/5 across 2,468 ratings.
Blocked merchants are not stated — and that is worth remembering, because a prepaid or foreign-issued card can be declined at some merchants simply for the type of BIN it carries. When something goes wrong with a payment, the help article’s advice is to contact the merchant first, as most refunds are handled that way. Two caveats on that: rewards may be debited if a transaction is refunded or charged back, and Bitrefill is not liable for merchant refusals. Time frames are not stated.
What can go wrong
Here is where I would look hardest before you commit money.
It is custodial. Your funds are held by the partners — Lightspark and Wallester — not by you. The card page says the site is owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB (559001-6035) in Stockholm, Sweden; the card is issued by Wallester AS (Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon); and the crypto and virtual IBAN services are by Lightspark Payments Europe AS (Estonia, licensed by the Estonian FIU). Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk, and crypto transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery if something goes wrong. Safeguarding or insurance arrangements are not stated.
Regulatory gates are tightening around your deposits. From July 2026, under the EU Transfer of Funds Regulation, deposits from non-own or non-EU-licensed VASP wallets above EUR 1,000 are declined, and SCA rules also changed how deposits work. Add to that: USDT deposits ended 17 March 2025, and the help centre mentions a temporary suspension of applications from Hungarian residents. If your money comes from a wallet that is not yours or is not EU-licensed, a deposit you expected to clear may simply be refused. I am telling you the rule as the card states it, not advising you on it — but you should know it exists before you count on that route.
The public complaints are mostly about the gift-card store, not the card. Trustpilot reads 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews, with 89% five-star and 5% one-star (read 20 October 2026). The recurring negative themes are about gift-card markup and fees, non-working Apple gift codes with accounts blocked, a lookalike fake site, a pending deposit sitting 20-plus days with unhelpful support, and refunds being paused — mostly the storefront, not the Visa. A three-star review does say the Visa is sometimes denied. Bitrefill says it replies to all one-to-three-star reviews. I found no Reddit threads and no official incidents. For lost, stolen or unauthorised transactions, [email protected] is the address, with the help centre at help.bitrefill.com.
Here is the practical check I would run in your position: freeze the card and hide the balance in the app are real and one tap away, 3D Secure is on, and the issuer is licensed — but none of that changes the fact that your crypto is held by a partner, and that the deposit route you plan to use may be affected by the July 2026 rules. Confirm your funding network clears before you rely on it, and keep the amounts you leave sitting small.
What to take instead
If the Bitrefill card misses on eligibility, Apple Pay, self-custody or disclosed fees, these are the other cards in the catalog, with what each does differently.
- Cardex (5.6 / 10). “One crypto card, 200+ countries,” with no country list or exclusions stated. Debit crypto card on the networks VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical cards. Its App Store listing is Naira-focused (pay in Naira), and the card currency is Naira per that listing. Conversion is real-time at the moment of payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that picks a rate across global exchanges; no fee percentage is stated. Funds with USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated. If you want reach and Naira rather than euro, this is the one — but the fee is just as unspoken.
- CardFlow (4.9 / 10). Aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and “Nigerians and global users,” with no country list or exclusions stated. A virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes; creating it is “completely free” per the site’s FAQ, monthly fee not stated. Funded with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated. Fees not stated.
- HyperCard (4.7 / 10). Official pages state no country list; the App Store says it works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility. A prepaid card, balance in USD or EUR; network not stated on the App Store page. Deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR. Fees not stated on the pages I could read.
| Card | Score | Focus | Stated fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bitrefill | 6.8 / 10 | Euro spend inside the EU/EEA, crypto + Lightning | Free card; 1.99% deposit; 0% FX |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | 200+ countries, Naira-led | Not stated; real-time conversion |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Nigeria-focused, virtual USD Mastercard | Free to create; rest not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid, USD or EUR, 176+ countries | Not stated |
One thing worth saying plainly about the whole category: Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards themselves. They license issuers, and either can suspend a programme — Visa ended its agreements with FTX in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Card programmes can and do close. That is the background risk behind any of these four cards, Bitrefill included.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Bitrefill card to someone specific: a euro spender living in one of the 29 eligible countries who already holds Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base or Polygon, wants an everyday Visa, and is comfortable that the money sits with a licensed partner rather than in their own wallet. For that person it is a good card — properly issued, well reviewed, with a 1.99% fixed top-up fee and no foreign exchange fee of its own, plus 2% cashback with no cap.
I would not recommend it to a US or Russian citizen wherever they live, since both are excluded by citizenship regardless of residence. I would not recommend it to anyone outside the eligible European countries. I would not recommend it to someone who needs Apple Pay today, or who wants their crypto to leave their own wallet. And I would approach it carefully — checking the current numbers yourself — if your deposits come from a wallet that is not your own or not EU-licensed, given the July 2026 transfer rules, or if you plan to use ATMs, where the fee is only unofficial at 2.49%.
Before you apply, the three things I would check first are the spread on the crypto-to-euro conversion, the ATM fee and limits, and whether your funding network still clears. None of the three is clearly answered on the public pages, and all three decide whether this card is cheap or expensive for you specifically.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitrefill card?
It is a prepaid Visa — virtual and physical — that converts crypto into a euro balance you spend like any other card. You top up with Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base or Polygon (or by SEPA), pay a fixed 1.99% fee plus a variable exchange cost, and then the card spends only that stored balance, so it cannot overdraw. It is aimed at euro spenders in the EU, Norway and Iceland.
Is Bitrefill a bank?
No — it is not a bank. The site is owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB (559001-6035) in Stockholm, Sweden. The card itself is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian institution licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, and the crypto and virtual IBAN services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, licensed by the Estonian FIU. So the card sits on a licensed issuer’s rails, but the brand itself is not a deposit-taking bank.
Who can get the Bitrefill card?
Residents of 29 countries — the EU states plus Norway and Iceland — who are 18 or older and pass identity verification. The catch is citizenship: US and Russian citizens are excluded no matter where they live, though Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible. You cannot sign up with a Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan mobile number.
Does the Bitrefill card require KYC?
Yes, identity verification runs through the card partner before you can order. The Starter tier asks for photo ID and a selfie liveness check, and possibly proof of address; the Plus tier adds proof of address and proof of source of funds. Note that KYC, specific documents, processing time and refusal reasons are described by the partner rather than on the card page itself.
How do I top up the Bitrefill card?
Deposit supported crypto — Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base or Polygon — or send a SEPA transfer. Each crypto deposit costs a fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate, and the minimum deposit is currently EUR 15. Two things to note: USDT deposits ended 17 March 2025, and store credit cannot be moved onto the card.
Can I use the Bitrefill card in my country?
You can use the Visa wherever cards are accepted, but you can only be issued the card if you live in one of the 29 eligible countries and are not a US or Russian citizen. Foreign-currency purchases go through Visa’s exchange rate with no extra FX fee of its own, though some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because of the BIN lookup. There is a help-centre blocklist for verification and deposits that includes the US, Japan, Russia, Ukraine and the UAE.
How do I add the Bitrefill card to Apple Wallet?
Not yet — the card’s own pages list Apple Pay as “not supported yet” and “will be available soon.” Google Pay, by contrast, works now. So if Apple Pay is your default way of paying, this card does not cover that today, and you would be relying on the physical card or Google Pay until Apple Pay arrives.
What are the fees on the Bitrefill card?
The card is free through the app. Each crypto deposit costs a fixed 1.99% plus a variable exchange cost, SEPA pay-in is 1.99%, and there is no foreign exchange fee of its own. The ATM fee is only unofficial at 2.49% plus the operator’s charge, with unofficial limits of EUR 350 a day and EUR 3,000 a month. The deposit-spread percentage and the inactivity fee (unofficial EUR 10/month after 12 months) are not stated officially — check them before you commit.
Is the Bitrefill card safe?
The issuer is licensed and the app gives you an instant card freeze, balance hiding and 3D Secure on online payments, which are real safeguards. But the card is custodial — Lightspark and Wallester hold your funds, so you carry counterparty and hack risk, and crypto transfers are typically irreversible. Safeguarding or insurance arrangements are not stated. One review notes the Visa is sometimes declined, and the July 2026 EU transfer rules can refuse deposits from certain wallets.
Is the Bitrefill card worth it?
For a euro spender in an eligible country who holds crypto or Lightning and wants an everyday Visa, the 1.99% top-up fee, 0% FX and 2% uncapped cashback make it genuinely worth it. It is not worth it if you are a US or Russian citizen, live outside the eligible countries, need Apple Pay now, or want your crypto to stay in your own wallet. The deal-breaker to check first is the crypto-to-euro spread, which the public pages do not state — that is the number that decides whether “1.99%” is the real cost.
Virtual cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
