A euro crypto card from Estonia, with a small user base and a closure notice in 2026
The Kauri card lets you spend crypto through a Visa-style payment card denominated in euros, with an IBAN on top for residents of the EU/EEA. It is run by an Estonian virtual asset service provider, and the card programme itself is operated by a Polish payment institution. On paper, that combination looks tidy: an EU licence on the crypto side, an EU-licensed card issuer, and a euro card that works with Apple Pay. In practice, what you actually get depends on where you live, how much you plan to put through the card, and how comfortable you are with a small user base that has produced a recurring pattern of complaints.
This review is written for anyone, anywhere, who is having trouble getting an ordinary bank card and is wondering whether Kauri can step in. The card’s own pages do not give a country list, and the rules of who qualifies are scattered between the marketing pages, the user agreement, and a licence registry. I went through all of those, and I read the small set of public user feedback, to put together a picture you can judge for yourself.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Kauri scores 5.3 out of 10 in this catalogue’s rating. That is a middling score, and the breakdown below shows why the positives and the negatives almost cancel out.
| Criterion | Score | In short |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Virtual cards in many countries; physical card and IBAN only in the EU/EEA; no published country list |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | 20 EUR to issue, 1 EUR per card per month, plus 1% top-up and 1% auto-conversion, and an ATM charge |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto to a custodial wallet, converted to euros at payment; supported coins and networks are not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Licensed in Estonia, card issued in Poland; Trustpilot 2.8/5 from a small number of reviews, with accounts frozen after deposits and a closure notice in July 2026 |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical card, Apple Pay, Google Wallet design, ATM access |
The two strongest points are everyday convenience and the regulatory base: Kauri works in Apple Pay, you can use it in shops, and the company behind it holds a real Estonian virtual asset service provider licence. The two weakest are the cost stack and what users have written. The 20 EUR issuance, the 1 EUR monthly fee, the 1% on top-ups and on every conversion, and the 30 EUR delivery fee for the physical card add up quickly. And on Trustpilot, where the company has a 2.8 out of 5 from 16 reviews, the same themes come up again and again: accounts frozen after deposits, support slow to respond, and funds not returned.
If you live in the EU/EEA and want a euro card that draws on a crypto balance, with an IBAN attached, Kauri is one of a small number of options. If you are outside the EU/EEA, you are limited to a virtual card, and the case for paying those recurring fees gets weaker. If you are sensitive to the risk of frozen balances, slow support, or a small platform winding down, the alternatives in the next sections are worth a look.
Who they will give the card to
The Kauri card comes in three forms: a main virtual card, an additional virtual card, and a physical card. All three are denominated in euros, and the card network is not stated on the public card page. The key thing to understand is the geographic split.
Virtual cards are available in many countries. Physical cards and the IBAN service are limited to the EU/EEA. Kauri does not publish a list of supported countries on its card page, so the only way to check whether your country is on the list is to start the application. The user agreement makes the position more explicit: nothing in the agreement overrides the law of the country you live in, which is the regulator’s way of saying that your local law can still apply on top of the agreement.
The company behind the card is KAURIFINANCE OÜ, registered in Tallinn, Estonia, with company number 14559136. It holds a virtual asset service provider (VASP) licence from Estonia, number FVT000328, originally issued on 17 November 2020 and upgraded in 2023. That is a real licence, and you can verify it in the Estonian registry. The card itself is operated by Quicko sp. z o.o., a Polish national payment institution authorised by the Polish Financial Supervision Authority under reference UKNF IP52/2021. The IBAN service is provided by Breinrock LTD in Canada, registered with FINTRAC as a money services business under M20573902.
What that combination means for you, in plain terms: the crypto side of the business is regulated in Estonia under the EU’s anti-money-laundering framework, the card side is regulated in Poland under EU payment services law, and the IBAN is a Canadian-registered account. Two of those three are EU, but the structure is not as simple as “an EU bank card.”
There is no published tier structure: Kauri runs a single tier, so you do not get to choose a higher level with a different fee schedule.
How to get it
Getting the card starts in the Kauri app, which is available on the Apple App Store. The first step is the standard one for this kind of service: identity verification. The user agreement says that accounts are not opened for anyone under the legal age of majority in their country, and that KYC runs under the company’s anti-money-laundering policy. The exact documents required are not listed on the card page, which is a small but recurring frustration with this kind of service: you only find out what you need to upload when you start.
KYC questions go to [email protected]. The agreement does not describe multiple verification levels, and the public pages do not say whether there is a tiered structure that unlocks higher limits. A user on Trustpilot has reported an ID being rejected, which suggests that the process can be slow or fail, and that you should not treat a successful sign-up as guaranteed until verification is complete.
For the physical card, the issuance fee is 20 EUR, and delivery to your door is 30 EUR on top. Both apply at order time. The card page does not state a delivery time or a replacement cost if the card is lost, so those are points to clarify with support before you order. The countries that can order a physical card are limited to the EU/EEA, as noted in the previous section.
Fees: what it really costs
The fee structure is the part of Kauri that most needs careful reading. It is not unusually expensive for a crypto card, but there is a fee on top of a fee on top of a fee, and small purchases feel the pinch.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance (main virtual, additional virtual, physical) | 20 EUR |
| Monthly maintenance, per card | 1 EUR |
| Top-up (including P2P top-ups) | 1% |
| Auto-conversion on deposit, exchange, or payment | 1% |
| Foreign exchange fee | not stated separately |
| ATM cash withdrawal | 1.5% plus 1.5 EUR |
| PIN change | 0.5 EUR |
| Balance inquiry at ATM | 0.5 EUR |
| Physical card delivery | 30 EUR |
| Chargeback fee | 30 EUR |
| Monthly transaction limit | 3 BTC equivalent |
| Currency | EUR |
There is no foreign exchange line in the table because the card is denominated in euros and the published fee schedule does not break out an FX margin. If you spend in a non-euro currency, the conversion goes through the card network and the cost is whatever that conversion carries, on top of the 1% auto-conversion fee that Kauri charges when the crypto balance is converted to euros at payment. So in practice you may end up paying two conversions: crypto to euros inside Kauri, and then euros to the merchant’s currency at the network.
To make this more concrete, here is what three common payments look like in fees.
- A 50 EUR card payment in a eurozone shop: you pay 1% auto-conversion on the crypto you converted to fund the card (0.50 EUR), plus whatever spread sits in the crypto-to-euro conversion. There is no FX fee and no separate network fee for the merchant. The merchant’s bank may charge its own fee to the merchant, but that does not come out of your pocket.
- A 50 EUR ATM withdrawal in euros: 1.5% plus 1.5 EUR. That is 0.75 EUR plus 1.5 EUR, for a total of 2.25 EUR. On a 100 EUR withdrawal, the same fixed 1.5 EUR plus 1.5 EUR fee applies. On a 20 EUR withdrawal, the fixed fee makes up a larger part of the total cost. The lesson: small ATM withdrawals are expensive.
- A 50 USD online subscription (so the network converts euros to US dollars): 1% auto-conversion on the crypto funding (0.50 EUR), plus the network’s currency conversion margin. The network margin is not published by Kauri, so you do not know the second number in advance.
The minimum top-up amount is not stated, and there is no published cashback, reward, or sign-up bonus. The agreement describes a referral programme: if you refer another user, you get 15% of the commissions they generate. That is a commission share, not a customer discount.
Top up: how to fund the card
The way Kauri works is that you send crypto to a custodial wallet that the company holds, and when you pay with the card the crypto is converted into euros and the payment goes through in euros. The card page does not list the supported coins, the supported networks, or the deposit address format, which is one of the bigger practical gaps if you are trying to plan a top-up in advance. The general background section of this review covers why the network choice matters: send a coin on a network the provider does not support and the funds can be lost or stuck in manual recovery with no guarantee of return.

Top-ups cost 1%, including person-to-person top-ups between two Kauri members. Sending crypto to another Kauri member’s card carries no fee, which is a small but useful detail for anyone splitting bills inside a group.
There is a single monthly transaction limit of 3 BTC equivalent. Per-level limits are not published, so it is not clear whether higher limits are available for verified users, and there is no published table of what you have to do to lift the cap.
On closure, the agreement gives the company some discretion. If the closure is related to anti-money-laundering, the funds are returned to an EU/EEA-licensed credit institution of the company’s choosing. Otherwise, the company can return the funds either in fiat or in crypto, again at its discretion. Dormant accounts are charged a fee after 6 months, so leaving an unused Kauri balance in place is a slow way to lose money.
Paying with it every day
For daily spending, the card supports both virtual and physical form factors, and the virtual card is the one most people will use day to day. It is supported by Apple Pay, and there is a “design” available for Google Wallet, which is the Google equivalent of an Apple Pay-ready card. The card works in shops, online, and at ATMs, and the card page does not publish a list of blocked merchant categories, so gambling and other restricted categories are not explicitly off-limits in the public material.
Cashback is not mentioned, and the only recurring reward structure is the referral commission share described in the fees section. There is no sign-up bonus, no spend-based tier, and no staking requirement to unlock the card.
Customer support runs through [email protected] and the help centre at support.kauri.finance. The user agreement is governed by Estonian law, and disputes are heard in the Estonian County Court, which is a notable point if you are a non-EU user: you would be agreeing to litigate in Estonia if anything goes seriously wrong.
For a problem transaction, the chargeback fee is 30 EUR, regardless of outcome. The chargeback policy itself is published as a separate PDF at /docs/Chargeback_Policy.pdf, which I did not read in detail; if a chargeback is on the table, the policy document is the place to start.
What can go wrong
The risks come in three groups: the risk of the platform itself, the risk that comes with a small user base, and the risk of running into the standard issues with custodial wallets and crypto top-ups.
On the platform side, the licence situation is solid on paper. KAURIFINANCE OÜ holds an Estonian VASP licence, the card programme is run by a Polish national payment institution, and the company is registered with FINTRAC in Canada for the IBAN side. A PCI DSS certificate is listed on the company’s page, which is the payment-card-industry data-security standard. Card security includes blocking the card after three wrong PIN entries. User funds are held in a segregated safeguarding account, which is the standard protection for e-money institutions, but those funds are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
The user-feedback picture is harder to ignore. On Trustpilot, Kauri has a 2.8 out of 5 score from 16 reviews, six of which were posted in the last 12 months. The themes, as written by users, are: accounts frozen after deposits during 2025, funds not returned during 2025, support not responding from December 2024 through 2025, slow verification, and high IBAN fees in July 2026. The most recent reviews also include a closure notice dated July 2026. A small review base means each review carries more weight, and a programme closure is the kind of event that you want to know about in advance.
The user agreement became effective on 30 December 2025, which is a recent enough change that the prior version is still what most of the Trustpilot reviewers agreed to. If you are reading this before signing up, the current version of the agreement is the one to read carefully, paying attention to the clauses on closure, dormant accounts, and the company’s discretion to return funds in fiat or in crypto.
The category-level risks are the ones that apply to any custodial crypto card. The crypto you send to Kauri sits in a wallet the company controls, which means your claim on it runs through the company rather than through the blockchain. Stablecoins can lose their peg. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and a deposit to the wrong network can be lost. Sanctions screening can block a user even when the local law does not, and Tether in particular has a record of disabling tokens in wallets on sanctions lists. The general background section of this review covers these in more detail, with the specific events and regulations behind them.
What to take instead
If the Kauri fee structure, the limited support footprint, or the closure notice pushes you to compare, here are three alternatives from this catalogue. They are all crypto cards with different geographic reach and different cost models, so the right one depends on where you live and how you plan to use it.
| Card | Score | Geographic reach | Pricing model | Cashback or rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | Not available to residents of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case; purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela | $5 issuance for the virtual card, no maintenance fee, free in USD, FX fee 2% on top of the Visa exchange rate | No cashback stated |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Country list not stated | No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at live OTC rates, no hidden exchange fees | Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3% |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Consumers: 31 US states; businesses: 41 states; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam | “No extra fees,” no issuance or monthly amounts listed, no FX fee amounts listed | 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber) |
The International Visa Card is the strongest of the three on geographic reach and on the published fee transparency, but the rule is by residence, and the block list is long. UNi Card looks attractive on the no-annual-fee, no-foreign-transaction-fee pitch, but the card page does not state a country list, which is the same gap that Kauri has. Whop Cards is a US-centric product with a long block list and an unspecified fee schedule, so it works for a US consumer who can be served.
If you live in the EU/EEA, Kauri is in the running alongside these because of the IBAN and the euro card. If you are outside the EU/EEA, the International Visa Card or Whop Cards, where available, will probably give you more for less.
Who I would recommend it to
The honest version: Kauri is a reasonable choice for a narrow group and a poor choice for everyone else. The narrow group is EU/EEA residents who want a euro-denominated crypto card, value having an IBAN attached, and are comfortable with a small platform that has a real licence but a small user base. For that group, the 20 EUR issuance, the 1 EUR monthly fee, the 1% top-up and conversion, and the 30 EUR delivery are tolerable if you plan to put meaningful volume through the card and use the IBAN regularly.
If you are outside the EU/EEA, the case gets thin. You are limited to a virtual card, the IBAN is not available to you, and the fees are the same as for an EU user. A non-EU user is also agreeing to Estonian law and Estonian courts, and is more exposed to currency conversion costs if the card is spent in a non-euro currency. At that point an alternative such as the International Visa Card, where available, is likely a better fit.
If you are sensitive to the risk of frozen balances, slow support, or a small platform winding down, this is not the card for you. The Trustpilot pattern is consistent enough that it should be read as part of the offer, not as noise. The closure notice in July 2026 is a specific data point: programme closures of this kind typically give a notice period, stop spending, and then ask users to withdraw remaining balances, and the smaller the platform, the less room you have if anything goes wrong.
Before signing up, I would check three things in this order. First, confirm the country eligibility by starting the application, since the card page does not list countries. Second, read the current user agreement, paying attention to the clauses on closure, dormant accounts, and the company’s discretion on the form of any returned funds. Third, decide what you would do if the platform announced a closure on 90 days’ notice, and only fund the card with the amount you could comfortably live without in that scenario.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kauri card?
The Kauri card is a payment card denominated in euros, issued by the Estonian virtual asset service provider KAURIFINANCE OÜ and operated by a Polish national payment institution called Quicko sp. z o.o. It comes as a main virtual card, an additional virtual card, and a physical card, and it draws on a crypto balance that the user funds by sending cryptocurrency to a custodial wallet.
How does the Kauri card work?
You send cryptocurrency to a custodial wallet run by Kauri, and at the moment of payment the balance is converted into euros and the card pays in euros. The card works in shops, online, and at ATMs, and supports Apple Pay on the virtual card, with a Google Wallet design available. The coins and networks that Kauri supports are not listed on the public card page, so you only find out the supported assets when you start the top-up.
Is Kauri a bank?
No, Kauri is not a bank. KAURIFINANCE OÜ is an Estonian virtual asset service provider, the card programme is operated by a Polish payment institution called Quicko sp. z o.o., and the IBAN service is provided by Breinrock LTD, a Canadian-registered money services business. The user funds are held in a segregated safeguarding account, which is the e-money standard, but those funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
Who owns Kauri?
Kauri is owned by KAURIFINANCE OÜ, a company registered in Tallinn, Estonia, under company number 14559136. The card programme is operated by Quicko sp. z o.o. in Poland, and the IBAN is provided by Breinrock LTD in Canada. The Estonian company holds virtual asset service provider licence FVT000328, originally issued on 17 November 2020 and upgraded in 2023, which can be verified in the Estonian registry.
Is the Kauri card available in my country?
The card page does not publish a country list. Virtual cards are available in many countries, but physical cards and the IBAN are limited to the EU/EEA. The only way to confirm whether your country is on the list is to start the application, and the user agreement says that the agreement does not supersede the law of the country you live in, so your local rules still apply on top.
How do I get a Kauri card?
You start in the Kauri app on the Apple App Store, complete the identity verification under the company’s anti-money-laundering policy, and order either a virtual card or a physical card. Identity verification is required, and the documents are not listed in advance, so you only find out what is needed when the KYC step begins. KYC questions go to [email protected].
Does the Kauri card require KYC?
Yes. The user agreement says that accounts are not opened for anyone under the legal age of majority in their country and that the company runs KYC under its anti-money-laundering policy. The exact documents are not listed on the card page. A user on Trustpilot has reported an ID being rejected, which suggests the process can be slow and is not guaranteed to succeed.
How do I top up my Kauri card?
You send cryptocurrency to the custodial wallet that Kauri provides, and the balance is converted into euros at the moment of payment. The supported coins and networks are not listed on the public card page, and the minimum top-up is not stated. Top-ups cost 1%, and person-to-person top-ups between two Kauri members also cost 1%, while sending crypto to another Kauri member’s card carries no fee.
Is the Kauri card safe?
The platform has a real Estonian virtual asset service provider licence, the card programme is operated by a Polish payment institution, and the user funds are held in a segregated safeguarding account. On the other hand, the crypto is held in a custodial wallet that the company controls, so your claim runs through the company rather than through the blockchain. Trustpilot scores the company 2.8 out of 5 from 16 reviews, with users reporting accounts frozen after deposits, support slow to respond, and a closure notice in July 2026.
How do I close my Kauri account?
The user agreement gives the company discretion over how the balance is returned. If the closure is anti-money-laundering-related, the funds go to an EU/EEA-licensed credit institution of the company’s choosing; otherwise the company can return the funds in fiat or in crypto, at its discretion. Dormant accounts are charged a fee after 6 months, so leaving an unused balance in place is a slow way to lose money.
App and neobank cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
