The Trastra card review: a euro prepaid card with a 2.0 Trustpilot score behind it
The Trastra card is a prepaid Visa debit card that you fund from crypto held in a Mover wallet, and it scores 4.1 out of 10 in our assessment. That is not a rounding error in either direction: the everyday mechanics work, the euro IBAN is a real convenience, and the fees are stated in public. What drags the score down is not the product design. It is the licence, the complaint record, and the number of questions the card’s own pages leave unanswered.
If you read nothing else, read this: the card is aimed at people resident in the European Economic Area who want to spend a euro balance converted from crypto, and at people who cannot get an ordinary bank card for reasons of country, status or history. It is not aimed at you if you want to know exactly which coin and network is accepted before you send anything, or if a card frozen mid-month would strand you.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.1 out of 10
Let me walk you through the score criterion by criterion, because the total hides more than it shows. Four of the six marks are middling, one is generous, and the reliability mark is doing a lot of damage on its own.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Available in 31 listed countries including Germany, France and the UK; promised for all EEA residents, but not for non-European residents at the moment |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Card order EUR 9.00, EUR 15.00 a year to keep it, 3% on a purchase not in euros, EUR 2.25 to take out euros, delivery free |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Funded with crypto in the Mover wallet and the conversion to euros is free, but no coin or network is named |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issued by UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“” under Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53; Trustpilot 2.0 out of 5 from 747 reviews, with reports of frozen funds and refused withdrawals |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | ATMs across Europe and a euro IBAN; Google Pay and Apple Pay work according to an unofficial source; no virtual card is named |
The audience this card genuinely fits is narrow and real: an EEA resident who already holds crypto, is comfortable letting a provider convert it, and wants a plain euro card to pay ordinary bills. For that person the proposition is coherent. Everyone else is paying EUR 9.00 to find out whether it works for them.
The reason I do not score it higher is that the two things you would need in order to decide safely — which assets and networks are supported, and what happens when the provider freezes your balance — are both missing from the public pages. A card that costs a fixed annual fee and a fixed per-transaction fee can be costed. A card whose supported networks are not published cannot.
Will they give you the card?
Partly, and the rule appears to be residence-based rather than citizenship-based. The card is available in 31 listed countries, with Germany, France and the United Kingdom among them, and the page says it will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area. For non-European residents the answer is blunt: not at the moment.
That distinction matters more than it first appears, because nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence — sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are routinely applied to citizenship and country of birth, not just to your address. A European resident with a citizenship from a sanctioned country may therefore face questions that the “31 countries” headline does not anticipate. I cannot tell you how the card handles that, because the page does not say.
If you live outside the EEA the answer is simply no for now. If you live inside it, the list of countries is the thing to check first, and the promise of “all EEA residents” is a promise rather than a present fact.
How to get it
The application itself is the least documented part of the whole journey, and I want to be plain about that: the card’s public pages do not state which documents you need, whether proof of address is required, or what age threshold applies. That is not stated, and you should not take my silence as a green light — go and find the actual onboarding screens before you commit anything.
What the pages do describe is the security architecture, and it is a conventional one. Every transaction is verified through Visa and 3-D Secure. Signing in takes your wallet password plus a two-factor one-time code. A new device or browser has to be approved by email. And the money sits in a segregated account, which is the correct arrangement — with one important caveat I return to in the risks section.
The card itself is described as a prepaid debit card accepted at Visa merchants worldwide. Whether you get a physical card, a virtual one, or both is not specified on the page, though the ATM support implies a physical card exists. The currency is the euro.
Delivery is free, to the 31 listed countries across the EEA. How long it takes, and what a replacement costs if you lose it in a foreign city, are not stated.
My practical read: you are signing up to a payment account with an EMI, getting a Visa instrument, and waiting for plastic. Nothing in the flow suggests a long credit assessment. What you cannot tell from the page is how long the identity checks take when they go wrong, which is precisely the case that matters.
Fees and what they add up to in real payments
This is the part of the review where I can be most useful, because the numbers are actually published. Here is the complete list as the card states it.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Payment account creation | Free |
| Card order (from first top-up) | EUR 9.00 |
| Card delivery | Free |
| Card management fee | EUR 15.00 per year, first charge within 45 days of ordering |
| Purchase not in euros, online or offline | 3% |
| Internal card-to-card transfer | EUR 0.20 |
| Crypto to euro exchange | Free, rate set at the transaction |
| Balance inquiry | EUR 0.35 |
| PIN change | EUR 0.40 |
| Euro cash withdrawal | EUR 2.25 |
| Non-euro or outside-EEA withdrawal | EUR 2.25 plus 3%; some ATM providers may add fees |
| Maximum card balance | EUR 8,000 |
| Daily card spend | EUR 7,700 |
| Daily ATM withdrawal | EUR 300 |
| Overall daily spend, purchases and ATM combined | EUR 8,000 |
| Weekly, monthly, annual limits | None stated |
Now the three payments I would actually make, and what they cost.
A EUR 40 grocery shop in Berlin. You pay EUR 40 and the fee is nothing. This is the case the card is built for, and it is clean.
A EUR 30 subscription billed by an American service. The 3% non-euro fee applies, so EUR 0.90 goes on top. Note that the fee is charged on the non-euro purchase itself — this is not an exchange-rate spread dressed up as a fee, it is a stated percentage. If you make several of these a month, they add up faster than you would expect.
EUR 100 taken out of a Spanish ATM. EUR 2.25 for the withdrawal, and the 3% does not apply because the cash is in euros. If you take the equivalent in a non-euro currency outside the EEA, you pay EUR 2.25 plus 3% of the amount, and the ATM operator may add a further fee of its own.
Two things the table does not include, because the card does not publish them: the cost of any on-chain network fee when you move crypto into the Mover wallet, and what it costs to move a balance back out to crypto or to close the account. On-chain fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so they are real money you send and cannot reclaim.
The EUR 15.00 annual management fee is the one to weigh most carefully, and it is worth reading the detail: the page says it is not charged by Mover, which means the charge attaches to the card arrangement rather than to the wallet. There are no tiers — one card, no premium version — though early customers could order a limited card design.
The daily limits are generous for daily life and stingy for anything larger. EUR 7,700 of card spend a day, EUR 300 of cash a day, EUR 8,000 total including cash, and a ceiling of EUR 8,000 on the balance itself. If you are trying to move a meaningful sum of crypto onto a card, the balance cap is the binding constraint, and you would be topping up in several passes across several days.
How to top it up
The mechanism is one sentence long: the card is topped up using cryptocurrencies in your Mover wallet. The crypto-to-euro exchange is free, with the rate set at the transaction, and the EUR 9.00 card order fee is charged from your first top-up — with the note that it can be covered by Smart Treasury bonuses.
And here is the gap. The coins and networks are not named. Neither is the minimum top-up. Neither is whether you can add euros directly, without crypto at all.
That last absence deserves more weight than it might appear. If you are a euro holder rather than a crypto holder, a card that can only be filled by converting digital assets is a different product from one that accepts a bank transfer, and this is the latter. The page does mention that the card can be used for transferring money to local banks, which suggests a withdrawal path to your own account, but fees for moving a balance back to crypto and for closure handling are not stated.
I want to be careful here about one thing, because it is where people get hurt. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, it can be lost or need manual recovery through support, with no guarantee. Tether also states that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Stablecoins themselves can lose their peg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis.
So the honest position on topping up is this: the flow is simple, the conversion is free, and the absence of published networks turns a five-second decision into a research task. Before your first transfer, confirm in the app which assets and networks are live. Not in the marketing copy — in the app.
Paying with it every day
The daily experience is the strongest part of this card. There is an ATM network across Europe, a dedicated personal euro IBAN, and mobile apps for both Android and iOS alongside a web app. For someone who has been refused a normal bank card, a euro IBAN is not a small thing: it means rent, utilities and salary-adjacent payments can go out in their own currency without a conversion step.
An unofficial detail worth knowing, and unofficial because it comes from the company’s own self-description on its Trustpilot company page rather than from the card’s documentation: the card can be used with Google Pay and Apple Pay. That is a meaningful convenience if you pay your phone bill or your transit fare by tap, but I would confirm it in the app rather than trust a Trustpilot profile.
What the pages do not state: which mobile wallets are formally supported, which merchant categories are blocked, whether any rewards or cashback exist. On that last point — there is no rewards programme described on the page, and I want to flag that any claim of crypto cashback you find elsewhere is not something I could verify here. A virtual card is not named. A single card, no tiers.
When a payment declines, a hold on funds can remain for several days, typically up to seven, and that hold is charged against the balance cap. Worth knowing if you have EUR 8,000 sitting in the account.
What can go wrong
This is the section that took me longest, and it is where your decision actually gets made.
Start with the issuer, because it is the part that is verifiable. The card is issued by UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“”, an electronic money institution under Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53. The card itself is a product of Trastra, which works in partnership with Mover, and Holyheld Labs is described as an authorised partner of Trastra Inc. Behind the brand there is a licensed institution with a named supervisor — that is a genuine positive and I want to credit it before turning to what follows.
But understand what an EMI licence is. It is a licence to issue e-money, payment cards and wallets, not to lend. And an e-money card is not a bank deposit: the page states plainly that this product is not covered by the Deposit Insurance System of the Republic of Lithuania. The funds are held in a segregated account, which is the right structure, but segregated is not the same as guaranteed. In the EU generally, safeguarded customer funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.
Now the complaint record, which is the heaviest single fact in this review. Trustpilot shows 2.0 out of 5 from 747 reviews, read on 2026-10-20; an earlier reading that day showed 1.8 from 758, so the score moved during the day. Five-star reviews make up 65% and one-star reviews 23%. Only 7 reviews fall in the last 12 months, which cuts both ways — a thin recent sample, but also a service with a long tail of unhappy history behind it.
The complaints themselves cluster into four groups, all dated within 2025: blocked or frozen funds and denied withdrawals between January and December; unresponsive support with copy-paste replies between January and May; a maintenance window during which balances were inaccessible between March and June; and insolvency or closure worries between March and June.
On the insolvency thread, I want to be exact about what is and is not established. I found no dated official news. What exists is unverified third-party reporting: a March 2025 email referring to “Initiation of Insolvency Proceedings” against a related entity, and May 2025 claims that the company is closing, with police information about bankruptcy proceedings. My own search for official complaints about Trastra, Holyheld or the Mover card returned nothing relevant — no Reddit threads, no Trustpilot page surfaced through official channels. That absence cuts both ways as well: it means no documented enforcement action, and it equally means no dated official response to the emails users received.
One more caution on attribution. The reviews concern the Trastra service, and not necessarily the Mover card. If you are weighing whether to top up, that distinction matters: the brand on your statement and the brand whose support desk you will email may not be the same company.
The security features are solid and I have listed them above. What is missing from them is telling. There is no mention of an instant in-app card freeze. For a prepaid balance held with a single provider, that is the single most useful control you could have, and its absence is worth raising directly with support before you load anything.
Finally, the structural risk. Programme closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and stopped spending on 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, and I include it only as an illustration of the sequence. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. A licensed, regulated partner is real protection. It is not a guarantee that a product exists next year.
One question you will have, and I will answer it as far as anyone can: no, the card is not covered by deposit insurance, and no, a chargeback is not something I would plan around. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud or duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. In the EU your position depends on e-money and payment-services law rather than on a US regulation, and the card’s own pages say nothing about how disputes are handled.
What to take instead
I want to compare Trastra against three alternatives honestly, which means saying plainly that two of them score higher in our assessment and that neither is a like-for-like substitute. There is no anonymised euro crypto card here, and pretending otherwise would be worse than useless to you.
| Trastra | Gemini | Lava | GoMining | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our score | 4.1 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Card type | Prepaid Visa debit | Mastercard World Elite credit | Lava Card | Virtual now, physical “coming soon” |
| Annual fee | EUR 15.00 | None | None | Not stated |
| Foreign transaction fee | 3% on non-euro purchases | None | None, and no FX spread | Not stated |
| Funding | Crypto in Mover wallet | Paid off in fiat; not prepaid | Local currency or stablecoins | BTC, USDT, GOMINING and others |
| Rewards | None stated | 4% gas/EV/transit on first $300 per month, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% other, paid in crypto | Up to 5% back in bitcoin | Up to 5% cashback, paid in mining power |
| Availability | 31 EEA countries | Not stated on the page | 150+ countries at 150 million merchants | May not be available in your jurisdiction |
Gemini is a credit card, not a prepaid one, which changes the mechanics completely: you pay it off in fiat and earn crypto back rather than converting crypto to spend. It has no annual fee and no foreign transaction fees. Its rewards are the most fully specified of any of these, down to a $50 referral and $250 per five referrals up to 50 a year. But if crypto exchange is not what you are looking for, it is a different proposition entirely, and its availability is not stated on the page.
Lava scores highest and is the closest in spirit: deposits in local currency or stablecoins, no FX fees and no FX spread, no exchange fees or spread on bitcoin buys and sells, no annual fees, and up to 5% back in bitcoin. It also claims reach to 150 million merchants in over 150 countries. What is not stated is the network, the physical or virtual form, and the conditions attached to the 5%. Take the number, not the promise.
GoMining is the one to be careful with. Opening a card grants a free 1 TH miner, which reads more like a mining incentive than a payment product, and the cashback is paid in mining power whose rate rises with your VIP level. Products may not be available in your jurisdiction. If you are in the market for a card rather than a mining subscription, this is not it.
What none of these will give you, and I say it because it is the actual gap in this category: a euro-denominated, EEA-resident, crypto-funded card that publishes its supported networks. Trastra is the only one of the four aimed squarely at that person. That is why I have written a 4.1 rather than a 2.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to an EEA resident who already holds crypto, has a EUR 9.00 and EUR 15.00 a year budget for payment tooling, and wants a euro card plus an IBAN more than they want rewards or cashback. I would recommend it specifically to someone who has been turned down by ordinary banks, because that is where its advantages are concentrated and its drawbacks are least binding.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You are outside the EEA. You need to know exactly which coins and networks are supported before sending funds. You rely on Apple Pay or Google Pay as your primary payment method and cannot tolerate an unconfirmed answer. You need a card with an instant freeze, because there is no published one. You would be unsettled by a 2.0 Trustpilot score and unverified insolvency emails, and you should be — I would be. Or you need deposit-insurance protection, because this product explicitly does not have it.
And the general lesson, which is worth more than this card: when you fund a card from crypto, you are taking on two counterparties, not one. The crypto provider holds the funds, and the licensed issuer holds the card programme. Both can fail, and the separation between them is exactly what made the FTX card unwound in 2022. Read the licence, find the issuer, and ask what happens to your balance on a bad day. Any provider that will not answer that question plainly is telling you something.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Trastra card?
The Trastra card is a prepaid Visa debit card that spends a euro balance you fill from cryptocurrency held in a Mover wallet. It is accepted at Visa merchants worldwide, comes with a euro IBAN, and is issued by UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“” under Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53. Mover is the wallet; Trastra is the card brand. It scores 4.1 out of 10 in our assessment.
How does the Trastra card work?
You create a payment account, order the card for EUR 9.00 from your first top-up, and fund it by converting crypto in your Mover wallet to euros at no stated conversion fee, with the rate set at the transaction. You then spend the euro balance like any Visa debit card. Cash withdrawals work at ATMs across Europe for EUR 2.25 in euros.
Is Trastra a bank?
No. It is a card brand, not a bank. The issuer is an electronic money institution, UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“”, licensed by the Bank of Lithuania under licence No. 53. Being an EMI, it can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend, and the card product is explicitly not covered by Lithuania’s Deposit Insurance System.
Who owns Trastra?
Mover partnered with Trastra, and Holyheld Labs is described as an authorised partner of Trastra Inc. So there is no single obvious owner: a wallet operator, a card brand and an authorised partner are all involved, with a separate licensed issuer underneath. That layering is normal for this category and also the reason complaints can be hard to attribute.
Do I need KYC to get a Trastra card?
Almost certainly yes, even though the card’s pages do not say what documents are required. Under EU rules, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and politically exposed person status. If due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must decline the relationship — which is why accounts get closed or frozen.
How much does the Trastra card cost?
Card order is EUR 9.00 and the management fee is EUR 15.00 per year, with the first charge within 45 days of ordering; delivery is free. A purchase not in euros costs 3%, a euro ATM withdrawal EUR 2.25, and a non-euro or outside-EEA withdrawal EUR 2.25 plus 3%. Limits: EUR 8,000 balance, EUR 7,700 daily spend, EUR 300 daily ATM.
Can I use the card with Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Apparently yes, but treat this as unofficial. It comes from Trastra’s own self-description on its Trustpilot company page, not from the card’s documentation, which lists only Android and iOS mobile apps and a web app. Apple Pay stores a device-specific number in the Secure Element rather than on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time code. Confirm in the app before you rely on it.
Which crypto and networks can I top up with?
The card’s public pages do not name them, which is the single biggest practical gap in this review. Stablecoins commonly used in this space include USDT and USDC — Tether and Circle’s US-dollar-pegged tokens, which together held about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation per the BIS in July 2025. Transfers are irreversible, so check the supported network in the app before sending anything.
Is the Trastra card safe?
The security features are conventional and sound: Visa and 3-D Secure on every transaction, password plus 2FA at login, email approval for new devices, and funds in a segregated account. The caveats are structural rather than technical — no deposit insurance, no published instant freeze, a 2.0 out of 5 Trustpilot score from 747 reviews with reports of frozen funds, and unverified 2025 emails about insolvency proceedings.
Is it worth it?
For an EEA resident who needs a euro card and an IBAN and can afford the EUR 9.00 card fee and EUR 15.00 annual fee, the answer is plausibly yes. For anyone who needs confirmed networks, an instant freeze, mobile wallet support they can rely on, or deposit-guaranteed funds, the answer is no — and Gemini, Lava or GoMining may fit better, though none of them is the same euro-focused product.
Credit and cashback cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
