Exa Card review: a self-custody credit line with no plastic
The Exa Card is a virtual Visa that spends against crypto you already hold, in a self-custody wallet, with a credit line built on non-custodial smart contracts. That is the whole idea in one line, and it is genuinely different from the wave of prepaid crypto cards that convert your coins into a fiat balance behind a company’s screens. The trade-off is equally plain: there is no physical card, the fees are close to undocumented on the public pages, the card works as a line of credit rather than a debit from a balance, and the questions you would want answered — issuer, limits, resolution times — largely are not answered. My score is 6.2 out of 10. That is a card for a specific person with a specific setup, and an awkward fit for nearly everyone else.
Conditions stated on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Issued in 45 countries and 31 US states; 18 countries are ineligible, including Russia, and residents there cannot be issued a card at all |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Officially a 1.5% fee on non-USD payments, with any loan origination fee folded into the rate; unofficial sources put issuance and the annual fee at $0 and a withdrawal at $1 plus 0.65% |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Collateral in USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP; the networks are not named, and no crypto deposit fee is confirmed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Exa Labs SAS, issuer unnamed, US issuance via Rain; no Trustpilot page, Google Play 2.7 from 58 ratings, and a $7.3M exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023 |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, with Apple Pay and Google Wallet support; unofficial sources describe ATM use through the contactless card with a PIN |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | A well-built mechanism for self-custody users, wrapped in a product with real gaps |
The audience note from my own notes is worth putting in plain words here: this is a card for people who already hold crypto in self-custody and want to spend it, or borrow against it, without handing the keys to a custodian. If you are simply looking for an ordinary debit card that a shop abroad will accept without a fuss, this is not the one.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, in a lot of places — and the rule is by residence, not citizenship, which matters more than it sounds.

The card is issued in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, with Nigeria conditional, and in 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, and the list includes Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. The stated position on Russia is unusually direct: Russian residents cannot be issued a card, and the card is not usable for spending in Russia. Spending is separately blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela.
Residence is the axis, so if you moved, or if your address and your nationality point at different countries, the address is what decides. Note the difference between being blocked from spending and being refused a card at all: the second is what will happen to a Russian resident no matter where they live. That is a compliance decision, not a technical one, and nothing in the public documentation suggests an appeal route.
Third-party commentary goes further in one direction: an aggregator rates the service at 5.7/10 and mentions exclusion of 24 US states, which is a wider restriction than the 31-state figure on the card’s own material. Where a number disagrees, I would trust the card’s.
How to get it
The application is presented as almost embarrassingly quick: download the app, add funds, and a KYC check that takes “about 3 minutes”. Requesting the card itself starts a validation process the site describes as “no more than 3 minutes”. Both claims are about the check, not about being approved and holding a working card.

What the public pages do not say is as important as what they do. Which documents are required, what proof of address looks like, whether an age check applies beyond the standard adult threshold, what the verification levels are, and on what grounds a rejection happens — none of that is stated. What is stated is the escalation: above $10,000 in weekly purchases, an automated source-of-funds check begins, asking for a form plus supporting documents, and raising limits requires proof of address and proof of funds.
So the honest answer to “how long does it take” is: the verification step is fast, and everything after it is undocumented.
The card itself is a virtual Visa Signature Exa Credit Card, accepted “at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries”. Its currency is USD. There is no physical card — the site says flatly that no physical cards are available at the moment — so the number lives in Apple Pay or Google Wallet. Delivery and replacement do not apply to something that never ships.
What it really costs
Here is the most frustrating part of reviewing this card: the price list is thin. The card is marketed as free with no amounts on the page, and the help centre has an article titled “Exa Card associated fees and costs” whose contents I have not read. Same for the article on non-USD conversion rates, the purchase-limit article and the article on how the spending limit is calculated. Those four articles are where a real answer lives, and I am not going to invent what they say.
What the official material does establish: the currency of the card is USD, every purchase in another currency is charged a 1.5% FX fee, and that fee is included in the rate rather than added on top. A loan origination fee may be charged and is included in the installment interest. Weekly purchase limit for credit card purchases is $10,000. Daily, monthly and ATM limits are not stated.
Unofficial figures exist and I am passing them on as unofficial, not confirmed by the card: virtual card issuance and annual fee of $0, and ATM withdrawals at $1 plus 0.65%, $250 per withdrawal, four withdrawals per day, requiring a contactless NFC ATM and a PIN from the app, with the ATM operator possibly adding its own fee. That last clause is where most of the real cost hides.
| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated; marketed as free |
| Annual or monthly fee | Not stated; unofficial sources say $0 |
| FX on non-USD payments | 1.5%, included in the rate |
| Loan origination fee | May be charged, included in the installment interest |
| ATM | Not stated; unofficial: $1 plus 0.65%, $250 per withdrawal, four per day |
| Daily limit | Not stated |
| Weekly limit | $10,000 for credit card purchases |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
| Card currency | USD |
There is a single card and no tiers or paid plans, which in fairness is simpler than most of the field.
Three everyday payments, and what actually applies:
- A coffee in your own country, paid in dollars, costs the price of the coffee. This is the case the product is built for and the only one with no fee attached.
- A coffee in your own country paid in local currency takes the 1.5% FX fee, already inside the rate. On a small purchase the percentage is annoying but not decisive; on a large one it adds up quickly.
- A subscription billed in a foreign currency takes the same 1.5%, every month, silently, forever.
The ATM case is the one to think hardest about, because it is where the unofficial numbers matter most and where an operator’s own fee can be larger than the card’s. If cash matters to you, this is not a card to plan around on the strength of a third-party page.
How to top it up
You need funds in your account before the card will work — the site says exactly that. The account is self-custodial in the Exa App, and the card spends either through Pay Now or in installments against your collateral, which is the mechanism behind the credit line.
The documentation lists the supported assets as USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP, as collateral in the Exactly Protocol markets. The networks are not named. That omission is not a detail. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached. ERC-20 tokens on Ethereum also need ETH in the wallet to pay gas — a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it. Before you move anything, confirm the network inside the app, not from memory.
What is not stated: the deposit fee, the minimum top-up, and which fiat on-ramp options exist and what they charge. The associated-fees article, from what the help pages show, lists only the FX fee and the loan origination fee. Unofficial sources say crypto deposits carry no stated fee, and that fiat on-ramp fees vary by third-party route and country.
Money can leave again — the site says funds can be sent to a bank account or a digital wallet, and withdrawn from ATMs. Fees, limits and timelines for that are not given. What happens to your balance if you close the account is not stated either, and that is the question to ask before you open it.
Paying with it every day
It is a virtual card, so your day-to-day surface area is Apple Pay and Google Wallet; the help centre has articles for adding it to both. Whether any spending categories are restricted is not stated.
One piece of official detail that will bite people in restaurants and hotels: a purchase is placed on hold at authorization and usually completes one to three days later, and the final amount can differ. Tips, hotel holds and exchange-rate moves all cause the number on your statement to not match the number on the receipt. That is normal for cards, but it is worth knowing before you assume something went wrong.
The app is mobile, reached through a QR-code link on the site, with a web version at web.exactly.app, and the documentation covers iOS and Android. Store ratings are not given on official pages. Unofficial figures, from August 2026: Apple App Store 5.0 from 4 ratings, Google Play 2.7 from 58 ratings. Four reviews and fifty-eight reviews are both too few to mean much on their own, but a 2.7 against a 5.0 on Android is the kind of gap you notice rather than average away.
Rewards are thinner than the marketing line suggests. No cashback is stated — “Earn while you spend” refers to yield on assets, not to rebates on purchases. The help centre lists Visa Signature benefits, 20% off Airalo eSIMs, and a US activation reward of $20 in XRP via Uphold after spending $100. Unofficial sources say no current cashback is confirmed and that an earlier 1.5% USDC cashback was historical and unverified.
Disputes, refunds and chargebacks are not stated. That matters more than it sounds: in the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If nobody has written down how a dispute works here, you are the one left guessing.
What can go wrong
Start with who you are actually trusting. Exa Labs SAS appears in the footer, and the site says cards are issued by licensed third parties — the issuing bank is not named. The help centre says the card is issued in the United States and that a US legal address in San Juan, Puerto Rico is provided by Rain. Exa Labs itself states it does not issue payment instruments. So the chain is: a crypto brand as front-end, an unnamed licensed issuer, an issuing country, and a partner providing the address. That structure is normal for the category. It is also the structure you need to understand before you deposit.
The self-custody side has real advantages and real costs. The account is secured with passkeys, there is an optional second account owner, and borrowing and spending run on non-custodial smart contracts. Nobody can move your coins without your key. But a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in an unencrypted form, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend everything in it — with no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return what is gone. Phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address are the everyday attacks. Freeze-in-app and spending controls are not stated, and audits and insurance are not mentioned on the page.
Third-party complaint reporting is thin and mixed. No Trustpilot page for exactly.app was found, and no Reddit reviews either. An aggregator notes KYC failures for users in African markets, Nigeria in particular, and a lack of documented support service levels. The same source reports a $7.3M exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023 — that is the protocol the collateral markets sit on, not the card app itself, but it is the right thing to know before lending against assets in it.
Support, where it exists, is a help centre at intercom.help/exa-app and help.exactly.app plus an X account at @Exa_App. No response times are published.
Two more category-level risks to keep in view. Stablecoins can and do lose their peg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC wobbled in March 2023 — and much of what you spend here will be USD-denominated. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
What to take instead
The honest comparison here is awkward, because the alternatives are built differently. Exa is a credit line against self-custody collateral; the others are mostly balance-spending cards.
| Card | Score | Shape | Fee position | Who it suits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | Virtual only, credit line against collateral | 1.5% FX included in the rate; other fees largely unstated | Self-custody holders who want to borrow or spend without a custodian |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Virtual and physical, spends from the account | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; FX 0.2% weekdays in the EEA/UK/Switzerland, 2% elsewhere, 0.7% and 2.5% at weekends | Residents and citizens of selected European countries, including the EEA and the UK, who want a card with plastic |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Virtual and physical, Cash mode and Credit mode | 0% FX on Platinum; annual fee Basic free, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999; no borrowing origination fee | Solana holders wanting tiers with rising cashback and a clear fee ladder |
| Sponge | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual card issued by Rain | Not stated | People already living inside that ecosystem |
Nexo is the nearest neighbour on cost transparency, and it is the one to look at if a physical card matters to you. It has no monthly, annual or inactivity fee; a virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate; the physical card has free shipping but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least the Gold tier. Its cashback only applies in Credit Mode with more than $5,000 held, paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, from 0.5% at Base up to 2% at Platinum. Its eligibility wording covers citizens and residents of selected European countries, and excluded jurisdictions are not named — worth reading before you assume. A news report of a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on its Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations carried no official Nexo statement about Russians found; that is news, not a finding, but it belongs in your thinking if you hold Russian citizenship.
Xplace is the strongest of the four on a straight reading, and the most expensive to enter. It takes deposits in BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks on the Solana network, runs both Cash mode and Credit mode, and pays Credit-mode cashback in USDC at settlement: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%. Only Platinum shows 0% FX. The physical Silver card is live; Gold and Platinum are described as coming soon, with delivery quoted at 7–14 business days. Its country list is not stated and it says services are not available in all jurisdictions.
Sponge is the weakest of the four in this review at 4.9, largely because so little is published: no country list, no cost figures, no stated fees, no rewards. It does have a clear mechanism — USDC collateral moved out of the Sponge wallet, with base as the example chain and base or solana as optional — and the card is described as a Rain-issued Visa Principal Member card.
Two habits worth forming before you pick any of them. First, look up the BIN: the six or eight digit issuer identifier at the start of the card number tells a merchant which institution and country issued it, and a mismatch with your billing address can invite extra scrutiny, which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign in another. Second, assume any crypto card can be wound down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022; WaveCrest had all its Visa programmes suspended in Europe in 2018. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then no spending and no loading, then a request to withdraw your balance. So do not leave more on a card than you would mind being asked to withdraw quickly.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Exa to someone who already runs a self-custody wallet, already understands what a collateralised loan is, and wants spending or borrowing without creating a custodial account. If that is you, the mechanism is sound: non-custodial contracts, passkey security, and a card that reads as a normal Visa at the till.
I would not recommend it if any of these are true of you. You want a physical card. You want to be able to ask what the issuer bank is and get an answer. You want clear limits — the daily, monthly and ATM numbers are not published. You are in one of the 45 countries but want certainty about approval, because the documents required and the grounds for rejection are not stated. You are a Russian resident, where the answer is a flat no. Or you want cashback, because none is confirmed.
The card’s own weaknesses, ranked: no physical card, an issuer that is never named, a help centre full of articles about fees and limits that the public pages do not summarise, and a support channel with no published response times. Against those, the self-custody credit structure is not something the alternatives in this table replicate.
For everyone else: pick the card whose fees and eligibility are written down. Nexo publishes an FX table. Xplace publishes a fee ladder. Exa publishes a 1.5% figure and a $10,000 weekly limit and leaves the rest to the help centre. That is not a disqualification, but it is a cost in clarity, and clarity is worth something when the money behind the card is money you cannot replace.
Frequently asked questions
What is Exa card?
Exa is a virtual Visa Signature credit card that spends against crypto you hold in a self-custody wallet. Borrowing and spending run on non-custodial smart contracts, so your coins stay under your own control rather than being held by a company. It is accepted wherever Visa is accepted, in over 150 countries, and its currency is USD.
Is Exa a bank, and who owns it?
Exa is not a bank. The company behind it is Exa Labs SAS, and it states plainly that it does not issue payment instruments. The cards are issued by licensed third parties, the issuing bank is not named on the public pages, and the help centre says the card is issued in the United States with a legal address provided by Rain.
Do I need KYC to get an Exa card?
Yes — requesting the card starts a validation process the site describes as taking no more than 3 minutes, and adding funds comes with a KYC check of about 3 minutes. The public pages do not state which documents, proof of address or age checks are required, or the grounds for rejection. Above $10,000 in weekly purchases an automated source-of-funds check also begins.
Is there a physical Exa card?
No. The site says directly that no physical cards are available at the moment, so the card number is stored in Apple Pay or Google Wallet and delivery and replacement simply do not apply. Several search queries ask about physical cards and about deleting an account; the first answer is no, and the second is not something the public pages explain.
What does an Exa card cost to use?
Officially, a 1.5% fee on every purchase not in USD, included in the conversion rate rather than added to it, plus a loan origination fee that may be charged and is folded into installment interest. Issuance and annual fees are not stated; unofficial sources say $0. ATM terms are not stated officially; unofficial sources say $1 plus 0.65% per withdrawal.
How do I top up the Exa card?
You need funds in your account first — the site says the card cannot be enabled otherwise. The documented assets are USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP as collateral in Exactly Protocol markets, but the networks are not named, and transfers are irreversible, so confirm the network before sending. Deposit fees, minimums and fiat on-ramp options are not stated.
Where can I use the Exa card?
It is accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries, which is the standard Visa footprint. Spending is blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela, and the card is issued in 45 countries and 31 US states, with 18 countries ineligible including Belarus, China, India, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine and Vietnam.
How do I add the Exa card to Apple Wallet?
The card is virtual, so you add the number from the Exa app to Apple Pay or Google Wallet; the help centre has an article for each. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element and uses a one-time code per payment. Restricted spending categories, if any, are not stated on the card’s pages.
Why does my pending purchase keep changing?
A purchase is placed on hold at authorization and normally settles one to three days later, and the final amount can differ from the authorisation. Tips, hotel holds and exchange-rate moves are the usual reasons. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven, which is normal card behaviour rather than something specific to this card.
Is the Exa card safe?
The account is self-custodial and secured with passkeys, which removes custodian risk but puts key management on you — a seed phrase of 12 to 24 words can restore the wallet for anyone who obtains it, with no built-in recovery. Audits and insurance are not mentioned on the page, the issuing bank is not named, and a third-party source reports a $7.3M exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023, the protocol behind the collateral markets.
Credit and cashback cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
