A Visa from a crypto wallet with very little published

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Here is the short version. SpotPay Calypso is a Visa card — virtual and physical, both tied to one ATM PIN — that spends from the balance of a SpotPay wallet, and it works with Apple Pay and Google Wallet. On the things you actually touch, it scores well. On the things you need before you commit money, it is unusually quiet: the pages I read do not publish an issuance fee, a monthly fee, conversion terms, foreign-exchange terms, ATM fees, spending limits, daily or monthly caps, tiers, the card’s own currency, or even which coins and networks you are meant to send. The site says you can spend “worldwide” and that transfers have “clear fees”. That is all the pricing there is. So the card suits someone who already trusts the wallet and wants a Visa for everyday payments, and it does not suit someone choosing between cards on the strength of the numbers — because the numbers are not there to compare.

SpotPay Calypso works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score for it is 6.5 out of 10, and the shape of that number matters more than the number itself. Every strong mark on this card sits in the “does it work when I tap it” column. Every weak mark sits in the “can I predict what it will cost me” column. That is an unusual profile for a payment product in 2026, and it is the main thing to weigh before you read anything else below.

The score in detail

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Site says spend “worldwide”, no exclusion list published; earlier data says 40+ countries with separate US and international programmes and sanctioned countries closed
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance and fees not disclosed; the site only promises “clear fees” on transfers
Top-up options 5 / 10 The card spends from the SpotPay wallet balance; coins and networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 SpotPay, Inc. is a FinCEN-registered MSB and “not a bank”; issuer not named; no complaints found, App Store 4.2 from 41 ratings
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, one shared ATM PIN, Apple Pay and Google Wallet
Total 6.5 / 10 Strong to use, weak to predict

The row that pulls the total up is everyday use, at 9. The row that pulls it down is top-up, at 5 — not because top-up is bad, but because the coins and networks are unnamed, and that single omission has consequences you will feel later. I unpack that in the top-up section. The cost row is 5 for the same reason: nothing to add up.

Who this suits: app users who want a Visa with both virtual and physical cards, and who treat the wallet as the product and the card as the accessory. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs to know the exact cost of a foreign-currency transaction before they make it, anyone who lives in a country where the card’s reach is unclear, and anyone whose main worry is who stands behind the money when something goes wrong.

Will they give you the card

Yes, on the card’s own account — but the honest answer carries a caveat you should read twice.

The site says the card can be spent “worldwide”. There is no country list and no exclusion list on the pages I read. That is a genuinely broad promise, and it is why this section scores 7 rather than lower.

The caveat is that “worldwide” is a marketing sentence, not a jurisdiction table. Starting data from an earlier check — which I did not verify myself, and which the card’s public pages do not confirm — says 40+ countries, with separate programmes for the United States and for international users, and sanctioned countries closed. Treat that as a shape, not as a list: it tells you the model is regional programmes with exclusions, which means the answer to “is it available in my country?” is not necessarily visible from the outside.

There is a second reason to slow down here. In this category, whether you are served tends to depend less on where you live than on who you are. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are routinely applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address, so a card can be open to residents of a country and closed to nationals of it. The card does not publish which basis it uses. If your situation is at all non-standard — a country of residence different from your nationality, or a nationality that appears on sanctions lists — ask support directly in writing and keep the answer, rather than inferring eligibility from a “worldwide” line on a marketing page.

How to get it

The setup is described as “guided setup” and is said to take minutes. The App Store and Google Play listings cover both platforms, so you start in the app.

On documents: the card does not state what it asks for. Proof of address, age requirements, identification documents — none of these appear on the pages I read, so I cannot tell you what to have ready. Assume the standard for this category: name, date of birth, address and an identity document, plus whatever proof of address the provider’s process requires. Regulated businesses verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering law, including ongoing monitoring and reporting of suspicious activity, so some form of document check is the normal case rather than the exception.

On the card itself, the useful details are these. You get a virtual and a physical card. Both share one ATM PIN, which is a small quality-of-life touch — it means one PIN to remember rather than two. Names can be printed on the card. It is a Visa, so it works “anywhere Visa is accepted”. The card’s own currency is not stated, and that turns out to matter more than it sounds; it comes back in the cost section.

Two things I could not establish at all. Delivery time and shipping for the physical card: not stated. Verification tiers: not stated. So the question “how long until a plastic card arrives, and will I get one without a video call or a branch visit?” has no published answer. If a physical card in the post matters to you — and for anyone who wants to pay in shops it usually does — that is a question to put to support in writing before you count on it.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the section where the card is thinnest, so let me be precise about what “not stated” means. It does not mean expensive, and it does not mean cheap. It means the public pages I read do not give you a number. For a card whose entire value proposition is spending money, that is a real gap, and it is why the cost line scores 5.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a SpotPay Calypso payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card publishes
Issuance Not stated
Monthly or maintenance fee Not stated
Conversion rate from crypto to fiat Not stated
Foreign exchange fee Not stated
ATM fee and ATM allowance Not stated (ATM use is implied by the shared ATM PIN)
Daily spending limit Not stated
Monthly spending limit Not stated
Tiers or paid plans Not stated
Card currency Not stated
Wallet transfers Site says only that fees are “clear”

ATM use is implied rather than advertised: the fact that both cards share one ATM PIN says there is an ATM pathway, but neither the fee nor how much you may withdraw is published. That is one of the combinations that gets people — a fee you cannot price, for a service you can reasonably assume exists.

The wallet itself is described as supporting local and international transfers and being multi-currency, which is a statement about the wallet, not the card. The card’s currency is still not stated.

Three everyday payments, walked through

Since there are no published rates, I will not invent any. Instead, here is what each payment looks like when the cost side is unknown.

The coffee shop on your own street. The tap itself should cost nothing beyond the price of the coffee — the only conversion is whatever happens between your balance and the currency the till expects. What I cannot tell you is what that conversion costs, because the rate is not published. If the card settles in a currency that is not your own, the amount you are charged is set by an undisclosed rate. For a €4 coffee this hardly matters. It is worth knowing that the answer exists at all.

A subscription billed in dollars while you think in euros. This is the payment where the missing FX line bites. In this category, foreign-currency conversion typically costs something on top of the network’s own exchange rate — an International Visa Card, for example, states “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” — but SpotPay publishes no such figure, so I am not going to guess at one. Budget for the possibility that a dollar subscription costs meaningfully more than the sticker price suggests, and check your statement after the first one rather than assuming.

A payment where the shop declines the card. A prepaid or foreign-issued card can be refused at the counter. When the merchant can look up the card’s issuing institution and country from the card number, a mismatch with the billing address can invite extra scrutiny, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards on that basis. If your card is declined twice, the first thing to know is that a failed authorisation can leave a hold on your balance that stays for several days — typically up to seven. That is the invisible cost: money you did not spend and cannot use for a week.

How to Top up the card

The mechanics, as published, are simple: the card spends from the SpotPay wallet balance, you add funds to that wallet, and the wallet can also receive payments. That is the whole model. It is a pre-loaded balance design — you top up first, and the card can only spend what is already there. That has one big advantage: the card cannot overdraw. There is no credit line to exceed and no debt to fall into.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up SpotPay Calypso starts with a transfer to the right network

And one big unknown: which coins and networks.

Neither is named. This is the single most consequential gap on the card, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Sending USDC on the wrong chain is not a mistake an ordinary bank will reverse for you.

Some context that will help you reason about it even though the card does not. If the coins in question are dollar-pegged stablecoins, the two dominant ones account for about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation. USDC is issued across 38 networks, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard, and gas on Ethereum is paid only in ETH — so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it at all. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. And a genuinely common trap: USDC is no longer natively supported on Tron, so “USDC over TRC20” is not an option. Tether also states that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.

None of that tells you what SpotPay expects. It tells you why the answer matters, and why I would not send a first deposit before support has named the exact coin and network in writing. My own view is that this is a question to ask before you fund, not after.

Two further details are not stated: whether there is a top-up minimum or method list, and whether you can withdraw from the wallet back out. If you need to get money off rather than only spend it, that second point decides whether the wallet is a spending tool or a one-way street for you.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card earns its best mark, 9 out of 10, and the reason is straightforward: it covers the everyday cases properly.

The App Store listing, “SpotPay: Global Wallet”, shows 4.2 out of 5 from 41 ratings, rated 4+, developer SpotPay, Inc., version 1.4.12, as read on 2026-10-21. Forty-one ratings is a thin sample — enough to say the visible reaction is positive, not enough to lean on. The Google Play rating was not read.

What is missing in daily use: blocked merchant categories are not stated, and rewards are not stated — so assume no cashback rather than assuming some. Address verification behaves differently for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines, which is worth knowing if you travel. And nothing is published about disputes: how you challenge a charge, what evidence is needed, how long it takes.

What can go wrong

Nothing dramatic has surfaced, and that is worth saying plainly before the caveats. I found no published incidents from the company, and no user reports or news coverage in two searches on 2026-10-21. The handful of App Store reviews that exist are positive. No Trustpilot or Reddit presence was found either — which cuts both ways: no complaints, and very little independent voice to check against.

Here are the risks I can see in the structure.

The unnamed issuer. The card does not say who issues it. The card network routes the payment and sets the rules; the issuer holds the programme; the crypto brand is often only a manager and front-end. Here the front-end is a company called SpotPay, Inc., which describes itself as “a financial services platform, not a bank” and is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business. Under US guidance, administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency are treated as money transmitters. So the money sits with a fintech platform, and the entity behind the card is unnamed on the pages I read. Ask who the issuer is; it is a fair question and the answer should be a sentence long.

Where your crypto sits. The card’s pages do not say whether the wallet is custodial or self-custody. This matters more than it sounds. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely; with a self-custody-linked card your funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you carry sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and malware that swaps a copied address. Neither is safer in the abstract — the risk simply sits in a different place. You should know which one you are choosing. Starting data says collateral from a self-custodied wallet; that is not confirmed on the pages I read, so treat it as a question rather than a fact.

Irreversibility. Transfers on a blockchain generally cannot be undone, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). I am not predicting any of that here; I am saying that counterparty risk is part of what you are accepting when funds sit with a platform.

Stablecoins can move. Despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If the card’s balance is dollar-pegged, your purchasing power rides on that peg.

Holds, declines and closures. A declined payment can tie up funds for up to seven days. In this category, programmes do close: Visa terminated its agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Your recovery then depends entirely on how well-behaved that shutdown is.

Support and disputes. Neither is described on the pages I read. What happens when a payment goes wrong is a large part of how a card feels, and it is exactly what is missing here.

On security, the site cites industry-standard fund protection, authentication that locks the account to the owner, and real-time monitoring for unauthorised activity. Those are the right words to use, and words are not the same as a published safeguard. The site’s own warning that its issuer is “not a bank” cuts both ways: it is an honest statement, and it tells you that deposit-guarantee thinking may not apply.

One unofficial thread, kept separate from the above: an Extruct AI profile, undated, describes SpotPay as San Francisco based, founded 2025, Y Combinator W26, with founder and CEO Zsika Phillip-Baptiste. That is a third-party source and not confirmed by the card, so I would treat it as a lead rather than a fact.

What to take instead

All three alternatives below are in the same family — crypto-funded payment cards — and none of them is dramatically safer. They are better or worse on particular axes, so the useful question is which axis hurts you most.

SpotPay Calypso International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Score 6.5 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Network Visa Visa, US-issued Platinum Mastercard Visa
Where Site says “worldwide”; no list published Long exclusion list by residence or registration; purchases blocked in several countries Not stated 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; long unsupported-country list
Card currency Not stated USD, virtual; physical “coming soon” Multicurrency; physical/virtual not stated Not stated
Cost Not stated $5 issuance, no maintenance; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month No annual fee “No extra fees”
FX / conversion Not stated Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee; USD use free Converted at live OTC rates, no foreign transaction fee, no hidden exchange fees Not stated
Rewards Not stated No cashback stated Spend-to-Earn up to 3% 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber

International Visa Card (6.7) is the closest comparison and the only one that beats it, mostly because it publishes. You get a stated $5 issuance fee, no maintenance fee, free use in USD, and a stated 2% FX fee — numbers you can actually plan around, plus free and paid tiers. Its costs are its reach: it is explicitly not available to residents or legal registrants of a long list of countries, and purchases are blocked in others, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. The rule runs on residence or registration, not citizenship. And the physical card is only “coming soon” — if you want plastic in your hand, that is a real gap.

UNi Card (6.1) is the pricing-transparency winner in spirit: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at live over-the-counter rates, and “no hidden exchange fees”. It runs on Mastercard and spends from a UNi.Global account balance. Against that, who can get one is not stated, the physical-versus-virtual situation is not stated, and top-up details are not stated. For someone who spends across many currencies and wants no per-conversion markup, it is the most attractive of the four on paper. For anyone who needs certainty about eligibility or about holding plastic, it is as quiet as SpotPay.

Whop Cards (5.2) offers the most concrete reward — 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned — and states “no extra fees”. But it is the narrowest by geography: 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses, with a long unsupported-country list for both. Its conversion and FX amounts are not stated, and it spends from a Whop balance where pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives while standard withdrawals use settled funds. Fine for a US freelancer in a supported state; not a general answer.

Where SpotPay stands after the comparison: it is the only one of the four that promises worldwide reach without publishing the exceptions, and the only one whose own cost sheet is empty. If you want the widest reach on paper, it is in the running. If you want to know what a dollar purchase will cost you, the alternatives that publish numbers win.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend it to someone in a specific and fairly narrow position: you already use the SpotPay wallet or are comfortable starting there, you want both a virtual and a physical Visa, you pay mostly through Apple Pay or Google Wallet, and you have decided that an undisclosed-but-plausible fee is an acceptable trade for the promise of reach.

I would not recommend it as your first crypto card if any of the following is true. You are choosing on price — you cannot, because the price is not published. You are in a country where eligibility is unclear or where your nationality and your residence differ and you cannot get a written answer. You need a physical card in the mail as a given rather than a possibility. You are sending money from an exchange and care whether a mistake is recoverable. Or you are simply the kind of person who wants the fee schedule up front — which, at 2026, is a reasonable thing to want from any card.

Before funding anything, I would put four questions in writing and keep the answers: which coin and network should I send, on which address; what are the issuance, conversion and foreign-exchange fees; who is the card issuer; and is the wallet custodial or self-custody. If the answers come back clearly, this is a fine card for a specific kind of user. If they come back vague, you have your answer too.

Frequently asked questions

What is the SpotPay Calypso card?

It is a Visa payment card offered alongside the SpotPay wallet. You get both a virtual and a physical card, and both share the same ATM PIN for withdrawals. The card does not spend directly from a blockchain account; it draws on the balance held in your SpotPay wallet, so it behaves much like a prepaid card. Visa acceptance means it works wherever Visa is accepted, and it can be added to Apple Pay and Google Wallet.

How does the SpotPay Calypso card work?

It works on a pre-loaded balance model. You add funds to the SpotPay wallet and the card spends that balance, which means the card cannot overdraw — there is no credit line and no debt. Payments made to your wallet can also top it up. Under the hood a payment involves the card network, which routes the message and sets the rules, and an issuer that holds the card programme, while SpotPay is the app-level brand in front of it.

Is SpotPay Calypso a bank?

No, and the card says so itself, describing SpotPay, Inc. as a financial services platform, not a bank. The company is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business, which is the US registration for money transmitters handling convertible virtual currency. That is a real regulatory category, but it is not a banking licence and deposit-guarantee thinking should not be carried over to it.

Who owns SpotPay Calypso?

The operator is SpotPay, Inc., the developer named on the App Store listing. One thing the card does not publish is the name of the entity that actually issues the card, which is usually a separate licensed institution. An unofficial and undated third-party profile describes the company as San Francisco based, founded 2025, a Y Combinator W26 company — that is not confirmed by the card, so check it yourself.

Is the SpotPay Calypso card available in my country?

The site says you can spend “worldwide”, and it publishes no country list and no exclusions. Earlier data suggests 40+ countries with separate US and international programmes and sanctioned countries closed, though that is unverified. Eligibility may also depend on your nationality rather than your address, so if your residence and citizenship differ, get an answer in writing before you rely on it.

Does the SpotPay Calypso card require KYC?

The card’s own pages do not say what it asks for — documents, proof of address and age requirements are all unstated. What is true for the category is that regulated businesses must verify customers as part of anti-money-laundering law, with ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting, and prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults 18 and over. Assume some identity check, and expect higher limits in some cases.

How do I top up the card?

You add funds to your SpotPay wallet, and the card spends from that balance. The important gap is that the card does not name which coins or networks it expects, and blockchain transfers are generally irreversible — a deposit on the wrong network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Get the coin, the network and the address confirmed in writing before your first transfer.

How much does the SpotPay Calypso card cost?

The card’s public pages do not disclose an issuance fee, a monthly fee, conversion terms, foreign-exchange terms, ATM fees, or spending limits — the site only says transfers have “clear fees”. I cannot tell you what a given payment will cost, because the rate that would decide it is not published. That is the single most useful thing to ask support, and the reason the cost side of this review stays at 5 out of 10.

Can I add the card to Apple Wallet and Google Pay?

Yes, both mobile wallets are supported anywhere Visa is accepted. The card number is replaced on your phone by a device-specific token stored on the device rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. The issuer can still restrict a tokenised number — for example blocking it for website or phone payments — so if a specific merchant declines, that restriction is one possible cause.

Is the SpotPay Calypso card safe?

There is no clean yes or no, and the honest answer is a set of things to check. I found no published incidents from the company and no user reports or news coverage in two searches, and the few App Store reviews are positive, though the app has only 41 ratings. The site cites industry-standard fund protection, authentication locking the account to its owner, and real-time monitoring. What is not published is who the issuer is, whether the wallet is custodial or self-custody, and how disputes and support work.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team