A virtual Visa funded only by USDT, thin on official detail and thin on proof

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Foton card is not a bank account and it does not pretend to be one. On the evidence I could gather it is a virtual Visa that you fund yourself with USDT, on the Tron network, and then spend like an ordinary prepaid card. That is a narrow, unglamorous proposition — and narrow is the whole story. There is no physical card in the picture, no published country list, no named issuer, and a great deal of the detail anyone would want before signing up exists only on third-party pages that disagree with each other. Against that, the price of entry is small and the conversion fee is claimed to be zero. My score is 4.8 out of 10, and the reasons are set out below.

Foton works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026

Verdict: 4.8 out of 10, and the number is mostly about proof

Let me put the score up front and then explain it, because a single number tells you nothing on its own.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Foton starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 The official site was unreachable (403) during my checking, no country list is disclosed; unofficial sources mention US, Hong Kong and Singapore BINs and publish no country list
Cost 7 / 10 Unofficial: $2 issuance, free monthly fee, 1% top-up, free conversion, $100 refundable deposit — though another note says the top-up is 1.5%
Top-up options 4 / 10 Unofficial: USDT on Tron (TRC20) only
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer and company are not named; Trustpilot 3.5 from four reviews: chat does not answer, a $145 complaint (September 2023), deposit not returned
Everyday use 4 / 10 Unofficial: virtual Visa only, 3D Secure; Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the English page and not on the Chinese one
Total 4.8 / 10

Who this suits, honestly: someone who has no access to an ordinary bank card, who already holds USDT and is comfortable sending it to a TRC20 address, and who treats whatever balance they load as money they may not see again for a while. For that person — narrow as the case is — a $2 virtual card is a reasonable tool. The audience the card is really aimed at is a user wanting a no-KYC virtual card paid in USDT TRC20.

Who it does not suit: anyone whose spending depends on this card surviving the month. A card with a virtual-only product, one funding rail, no disclosed issuer and a complaint history that includes an allegedly unreturned deposit is not something to build a salary, a rent payment or an emergency fund on. If you have a working bank card, the comparison you should be making is not Foton against other crypto cards — it is Foton against the bank card you already have, and on fees alone Foton will usually lose.

There is one more reason for the middling mark that has nothing to do with fees, and I want to name it plainly: I could not read the official site. Where the card itself does not publish terms, third parties fill the gap, and when two third-party pages contradict each other you are not reading facts, you are reading rumour with a table around it. Several of the figures in this review come from such pages. I flag them as unofficial where I use them.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: I cannot tell you who gets it, because the card does not say. The official site returned a 403 error, and no country list is disclosed anywhere official. That is not a technicality — eligibility is the first question for anyone in a country where cards are hard to get, and here it is simply unanswered.

Unofficial sources paint a particular picture: no published country list, with US, Hong Kong and Singapore BINs mentioned on a third-party Chinese review page from 2026. Those BINs are what a merchant’s system may see when the card is used; they are a hint, not a promise of eligibility, and they are not the same thing as “these three countries are supported.” I would not plan a trip or an account opening around a BIN appearing in a review.

What you can say for certain is the shape of the gap. You do not know whether nationality matters, whether residence matters, whether some countries are excluded on sanctions grounds, or whether a US BIN means US residents or simply US issuance. Since a card’s issuer is not named either, there is no register to check — no licence number, no company to look up in a regulator’s database.

Let me add a little general context, because it helps you ask better questions. A payment card number starts with a six- or eight-digit BIN identifying the issuing institution, and merchants can look that up to see the issuer and country, then apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in a shop in another — a practical concern for any crypto card that issues across borders. In the EU, the licence question is the other thing worth asking about: an electronic money institution can issue e-money and cards across the EU/EEA from a licence in one member state, but it cannot lend. And US customers identification rules require name, date of birth, address and an identification number for regulated businesses. None of this tells you Foton’s position, which is exactly the problem.

So the honest answer to “will they give me the card?” is: ask them, and treat the answer as the only one that exists. If you cannot get a straight answer about your country on the provider’s own page before you send anything, that is itself an answer.

How to get it

The card’s own pages do not describe the application. They do not say what you need, how long it takes, or what happens afterwards. That is what “not stated” means here, and I am not going to fill the hole with guesses from other products.

What unofficial sources describe is a very short signup with almost nothing asked of you: a listing marks email, phone, ID, proof of address and selfie all “Not Required”, and labels the product “No KYC”. If that is accurate, it is the card’s single most distinguishing feature, and it is also the reason for the lowest marks in the table.

The product itself, again unofficial: a virtual card only, on the Visa network, with 3D Secure supported. The same third-party page also mentions “virtual Visa and Mastercard options”, which contradicts the Visa-only line — so treat the network as unconfirmed. No physical card is listed; the card exists as a number you put into a wallet or a merchant form.

Is “no KYC” a good thing? Sometimes, genuinely — for people the traditional system has failed, a card with no identity check is the entire point. But know what the absence means. KYC rules exist because regulated businesses must verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, with ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check and politically exposed person status; where it cannot be completed, rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction, or to end the relationship. A provider that does not collect your documents is not necessarily doing anything wrong — many legitimate services run on lower thresholds and monitor transactions instead — but it is not collecting them either, and that shapes what happens when something goes wrong later. There is no identity on file to support a dispute, and no in-app flow to upgrade you into a higher tier if you ever want one.

One practical point before you start: keep whatever you load small until you have seen the card work end to end. That is not a warning about a specific provider; it is what I would do with any prepaid product whose deposit terms I have only read second-hand.

Fees and what a payment actually costs

Here is where Foton looks best, and it is the reason the cost mark is 7 rather than 3. But almost every number comes from unofficial sources, so read the table as a description of what has been claimed, not a published price list.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Foton payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Amount Source status
Card issuance $2 Unofficial
Monthly fee Free Unofficial
Top-up fee 1% (another note says 1.5%) Unofficial, figures disagree
Conversion fee Free Unofficial
ATM fee “Free” Unofficial
ATM withdrawal “Unlimited” Unofficial
Refundable deposit to start $100 Unofficial
Daily spend limit Unlimited Unofficial
Monthly spend limit Unlimited Unofficial
Maximum decline rate policy Strict 20% (unofficial and unconfirmed) Unofficial
Tiers None listed; one card, with “unlimited card issuance available for high-volume users” mentioned Unofficial

Two entries deserve a raised eyebrow. The ATM rows say “Free” and “Unlimited” while the card is virtual only — a virtual card cannot withdraw cash at an ATM unless it is provisioned onto a mobile wallet and the ATM accepts contactless, which is a different product with different costs. And a “strict 20% maximum decline rate policy” (unofficial and unconfirmed by the card) is unusual wording that I cannot interpret for you: it could mean declines in a period are capped, or that declines above 20% trigger review. The card does not explain it.

Now, three everyday payments, and which fees actually bite.

Paying 40 USD of groceries in a shop that accepts the card. The claimed 1% top-up fee has already been paid when you loaded, and conversion is claimed free. So the cost is roughly the load fee and whatever the network charged for the transfer — not the purchase. On paper this is the good case, and it is why the cost score is the strongest of the five.

Paying a subscription online. Here 3D Secure, which the card is said to support, matters. 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online payments: the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure. Under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift away from the merchant — to your bank, or, as critics put it, to you. Also note address verification: AVS compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A foreign-issued virtual card in an online subscription flow is a realistic decline scenario.

Spending in a currency the balance is not in. The listing claims an FX fee of free. If that holds, this is close to a market rate and Foton is genuinely competitive here. But it is a single unverified claim about the product’s most attractive-sounding feature, and it is the first thing I would test with a small amount of my own money before relying on it.

There are two more costs the table does not capture, and both are outside the card’s control. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — on Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. And transfers are irreversible: money sent to the wrong network or the wrong address can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. That is not a fee, but it is a cost, and for a card funded by a single network it is the largest one on the page.

How to top it up

One rail, one asset: USDT on Tron (TRC20). That is what the unofficial listings say, and there is no official description of the top-up flow at all — no minimums, no arrival times, no address format, no fee schedule beyond the 1% (or 1.5%) figure.

If that is right, topping up starts with a transfer to the right network, and everything about the experience follows from the network being Tron. Before sending anything, confirm the deposit address and chain match the network the card expects, because the reverse — USDT arriving on a different network — is one of the few ways to lose money instantly and irreversibly in this whole product. Getting this wrong is the single most common irreversible mistake available to you here, and the card cannot undo it.

Some background on why the choice of chain matters more than it looks. USDT and USDC are the two stablecoins holding roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation, and both can be issued on many networks. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard, where fees are paid only in ETH — so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send it at all. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so USDC over TRC20 is not a native option. If the card only accepts USDT on TRC20, you need Tether’s version of USDT on Tron, funded with enough TRX to pay for the transfer. Nothing about this is difficult once you know it; all of it is easy to get wrong once, expensively, if you do not.

Two other things to know before you rely on the rail. Stablecoins aim to hold a stable value but, in the regulator’s own framing, are not necessarily stable — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023. And Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. If your balance is meaningful, it sits in a token that can move against you and can be frozen by an issuer, on a network whose transfers cannot be reversed.

And the deposit itself is the hinge of this product. The $100 refundable deposit is described as refundable, but Trustpilot reviews and the Chinese review page both mention an unresolved withheld deposit and unanswered tickets. That report is a user report, not a confirmed finding, and it is old — but it is the most specific complaint on record and it is about exactly the thing you would be handing over first.

Paying with it every day

The daily experience is thin, and the honest version is: a virtual card, in a wallet, with no rewards.

Mobile wallets are where a virtual card earns its keep, since you have no plastic to carry. Apple Pay and Google Pay are marked supported on the English page — and the Chinese page of the same site says not supported. Sources disagree, so confirm on the page in the language you are actually using before you plan around it. It is worth knowing how this works underneath: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. The issuer can restrict a tokenised number, for example block it for website or phone use, so a card that works in a shop may fail online.

There are no rewards: no cashback, nothing back, 0% stated on the unofficial listing.

Nothing at all is stated about the app, about how disputes work, or what happens when a payment goes wrong. I would treat the absence of a published dispute process as part of the cost. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud or goods not received, and the rights behind it are jurisdictional: US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If you do not know which regime your virtual Visa sits under, you do not know what remedy you have.

Two everyday frictions to plan around. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country — with an unnamed issuer and BINs attributed to three different countries, that is not a theoretical risk. And declined authorisations may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven. If you keep a thin balance, a declined payment can still be sitting on it.

Merchant categories are a third. A four-digit merchant category code classifies a business by goods or services, assigned when a business starts accepting a card; MCC 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Nobody publishes Foton’s list.

What can go wrong

Start with the part that worries me most, because it is not a fee or a limit: who is actually behind this? No official incidents have been found — but the company and the issuer are both unnamed. That is not a small administrative gap. When something goes wrong, you need a legal entity to complain to, a regulator to escalate to, and a jurisdiction whose law applies. Without those, your recourse is a chat window.

The complaint record is thin but pointed. Trustpilot reads 3.5/5 from four reviews, none in the last twelve months, on an unclaimed profile. Themes are user reports: chat support not answering (September 2023), an alleged $145 taken (September 2023), scam accusations (September 2023), and an unresolved withheld deposit with unanswered tickets on the Chinese review page. In fairness there are positive reviews too — five-star ones from March and April 2024 mentioning timely customer service. So the picture is not “always terrible”; it is “too few reviews to lean on, from 2023 and 2024, with an unresolved money complaint in them.” Where support is claimed as responsive, support is also said to go silent. Both can be true across four reviews.

Now set that against the general history of this product category, which is genuinely instructive. Programme closures are normal. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. The pattern is: notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but the shape is the shape.

For a custodial card there is also the custodian’s own risk. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely. The record is not reassuring: Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018), Ronin Network ($625 million, 2022). And note the asymmetry of recovery: blockchain transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. Tether itself says it has frozen assets tied to illicit activity — useful for the industry, and a reminder that on-chain assets can be immobilised by someone else.

Regulation is worth a paragraph of your own attention. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on stablecoins applied from 30 June 2024 and the crypto-asset service provider provisions from 30 December 2024. Under it, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and providers operating under national law have a transitional period only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers that you can check a name against. None of that is a recommendation; it is a suggestion of the kind of search worth doing on any provider whose entity you have just been given.

Finally, tax. I am not going to advise you here, but you should not be surprised: digital assets are generally treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in your local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Every card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. Speak to an accountant in your own jurisdiction before you treat card spending as tax-free.

What to take instead

None of the alternatives below is clearly better on every axis — the honest summary is that they are all similarly thin on public detail, which is itself a signal about this category. Here is what each one does differently, at a glance.

Card Score Card product Cost stated Funding
Foton 4.8 / 10 Virtual Visa, 3D Secure (unofficial) $2 issuance, free monthly fee, 1% top-up, free conversion (unofficial) USDT on Tron (TRC20) only (unofficial)
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical Not stated USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Virtual card creation free; monthly fee not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Prepaid card, network not stated; balance in USD or EUR No fees listed on the app page Deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; networks not stated

Cardex scores highest here, at 5.6, and differs in ways that matter if you want physical plastic or more than one network: it runs on four networks including UnionPay, and its app listing offers virtual and physical cards. Its selling point is conversion — real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment, with what it calls an AI-powered conversion rate that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend. No fee percentage is published. It claims 200+ countries, but publishes no country list or exclusions, and its app listing is Naira-focused.

CardFlow is the most explicitly aimed at one market: it calls itself Nigeria’s fintech card platform for “Nigerians and global users”, with no country list or exclusions. It gives you a virtual USD Mastercard in minutes, free to create, funded by Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer. If you are in Nigeria, that is a more concrete proposition than Foton’s.

HyperCard is a prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing USDT, BTC or ETH in the app. Its app page claims the card works in more than 176 countries — which describes acceptance, not eligibility, a distinction worth holding on to with every card on this list. It is not really a competitor if you need a specific network or a specific currency.

The pattern across all four: networks and eligibility are rarely published, fees are rarely published, and funding networks are rarely published. Foton is the most rigid of them (one asset, one chain, virtual only) and also the one claiming the cheapest running costs. That is the trade.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Foton to someone in a specific position: you cannot get an ordinary bank card where you live, you already hold USDT, you know how to send a TRC20 transfer, and you are treating it as a convenience card for small amounts rather than as infrastructure. Pay a subscription, buy something small, see it work. If it works, you may keep it for that. If it does not, the loss is the small amount you loaded — which is exactly why I would keep the first balance small.

I would not recommend it to anyone whose income runs through it, to anyone who cannot absorb a several-day hold from a declined authorisation, or to anyone who needs a physical card, more than one funding network, or a dispute process they can read before they need it. Nor to anyone who is looking at it because the “no KYC” label felt like a perk. It is a workaround, and the right frame for a workaround is: what does it let me do that I otherwise cannot do? For a great many readers, the answer is nothing, and a bank card is cheaper and safer at every level.

If you want my honest one-line version: Foton is a cheap, narrow, thinly documented way to spend a small USDT balance online, and the 4.8 reflects the documentation and the complaint record far more than the fee schedule.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Foton card?

It is a virtual payment card that appears to be funded with USDT rather than a bank account. Third-party descriptions put it as a Visa-network card you load yourself and then spend like a prepaid card. The provider’s own pages do not publish a description I could read, and no issuer or company is named, so much of this comes from unofficial listings.

How does the Foton card work?

You would transfer USDT to a deposit address, the card would convert or hold that value as a spendable balance, and payments would draw down that balance the way a prepaid card does. Cards like this cannot overdraw, because there is nothing to overdraw from. The conversion and loading steps themselves are not described officially, so the mechanics above are inferred from how prepaid crypto cards generally work.

Is Foton a bank?

Nothing in what I could find says it is one, and no bank or e-money institution is named. Legitimate cards of this type are usually issued by a licensed bank or e-money institution under a Visa or Mastercard licence, with the crypto brand as programme manager or front end. Because the Foton issuer is unnamed, I cannot confirm whether a licensed institution stands behind it, which is the first thing I would ask.

Does the Foton card require KYC?

Unofficial listings mark it “No KYC”, with email, phone, ID, proof of address and selfie all shown as “Not Required”. The card itself does not state a policy. Even if accurate, no-KYC does not mean no monitoring — transaction monitoring is separate from identity checks — and it means there is no identity on file if you later need to dispute something.

How much does the Foton card cost to open and keep?

Unofficial figures: $2 issuance, no monthly fee, and a $100 refundable deposit required to start. Top-up is quoted at 1%, with one earlier note saying 1.5%, and conversion quoted as free. I would treat these as claimed prices rather than published terms, and confirm the deposit’s refund conditions in writing before sending it.

How do I top up the Foton card?

Unofficial sources say USDT on Tron, TRC20, only, with fast automated top-ups. There is no official description of the process, so there are no published minimums or arrival times. Check the deposit network and address match what the card expects, because a transfer on the wrong network is irreversible and the card cannot undo it.

Is Foton card safe?

Nobody can promise safety, and I would not. The balanced picture: no official incidents have surfaced, but the issuer and company are unnamed, and Trustpilot shows 3.5/5 from only four reviews, with user reports of an unanswered chat, an alleged $145 taken in September 2023, and a deposit not returned. There are positive reviews too, from March and April 2024.

Can I add the Foton card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Unofficial listings mark both as supported on the English page, while the Chinese page of the same site says not supported — the sources contradict each other, so check the language you actually use. It is worth knowing that tokenised wallet payments can be restricted by the issuer for website or phone use even when they work in store.

Where can I use the Foton card?

Anywhere a merchant accepts Visa, in principle — but with real friction. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs after checking the card’s issuer country, and address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines online. Unofficial mentions of US, Hong Kong and Singapore BINs describe issuance, not eligibility; no country list is published at all.

Is a Foton card worth it?

Worth it for a narrow case: you lack an ordinary bank card, you already hold USDT on Tron, and you want to spend small amounts online. Not worth it as a primary card, because it is virtual only, funded by a single asset on a single network, with no published dispute process and a complaint record that includes an unresolved deposit.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team