The e.PN card reviewed on cost, control and what happens when a payment is declined

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The e.PN card is not really a bank card. It is a virtual Visa — or, on the universal product, a virtual Visa/Mastercard — issued through a Seychelles company that describes itself as an intermediary between you and unnamed banks. There is no physical card, no ATM, no plastic in your hand, and no branch you can walk into with a problem. What you get is a card number, a balance held inside someone else’s platform, and a support chat that answers in a few minutes at any hour.

e.PN works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That description already tells you most of what matters. A card like this is genuinely useful if the problem you have is that ordinary bank cards are hard to get, or if you need to pay for advertising and online services where your home country is not accepted. It is a poor fit if what you need is a card you can withdraw cash from, hold for years without surprises, or trust with your savings.

My score for e.PN is 4.6 out of 10. That is not a dismissal — it is a card that does a narrow job competently and charges you for the privilege.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.6 out of 10

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Services are stated to be provided outside Russia; starting data adds “worldwide except Russia and United States”, which the pages I read do not confirm
Cost 2 / 10 Issuance runs $2–$4 per month by grade, top-up is 3–6.7% by grade, and an international transaction costs $0.50 plus 1.2%, or 2%–3%, or $0.70
Top-up options 5 / 10 Top-ups happen in the “Top Up” section, and auto-top-up exists; coins and networks are not named in the FAQ, though starting data mentions USDT and Bitcoin
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Digital Waves LTD. in Seychelles, an intermediary between client and banks, bank unnamed, and the site’s own words “EPN does not have any licenses”; Trustpilot 3.0 from 88 reviews, with blocked accounts and held funds among the themes
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual only, Visa or Visa/Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay on the card meant for “payment abroad”, no ATM
Total 4.6 / 10 A useful narrow tool with costs on every side and real counterparty risk

Who this suits: someone paying for ad platforms and online services, in a country where a normal card is awkward or unavailable, who is comfortable treating the balance as spendable money rather than savings. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs cash, a durable everyday banking relationship, or a card they can hold without a percentage quietly taken on the way in and again on the way out.

The strongest thing about e.PN is also the weakest thing about it: it is virtual, and it works. There is no waiting for post. The weakest is that virtual-only means no fallback when a merchant refuses a prepaid or foreign BIN.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, most likely, if you are not in Russia and not obviously barred — but the answer comes with a caveat I want to be plain about. The site states that services are provided outside Russia and that e.PN is not licensed or registered in Russia. There is a Sanctions Compliance Statement linked on the site; I did not read it, so I will not paraphrase it for you.

Starting data I was given adds “worldwide except Russia and United States”. That wording does not appear on the pages I read, so treat it as unofficial. What the pages actually show is a statement about services being provided outside Russia, and no list of issuing countries anywhere I looked.

Citizenship versus residence: not stated. That distinction matters more than it sounds. Card issuers screen nationality and country of birth separately from the country you live in, because sanctions rules and internal risk policy attach to citizenship as much as to address. So “I’m not in Russia” does not by itself answer “will I be approved”. If your citizenship, your residence and the bank that ultimately issues the card sit in different risk buckets, you can be approved in principle and declined in practice.

One more thing that is not stated and that I would want before sending documents anywhere: which documents, what proof of address, and what age. Card access is subject to KYC verification, sanctions screening and ongoing monitoring. Verification levels are not stated either — there is a single verification, and verified accounts get unlimited card issuance and extra BINs, but no tiered system is described.

How to get it

The sequence is short, which is a point in the card’s favour:

That is the whole flow. There is no physical delivery stage, because there is no physical card. What arrives is a virtual card you add to a wallet or use through the mobile apps, which are listed on the App Store, Google Play and AppGallery. I searched for ratings on 2026-10-21 and found none, which tells you little either way — plenty of good apps have no reviews and plenty of poor ones have few.

Two details to hold onto. Card currency is not stated; amounts are quoted in USD, the balance sits in “Virtual Items” denominated in supported currencies, and the card for online services is described as supporting “any geo and currency”. That last claim is marketing shorthand for wide acceptance, not a promise about settlement currency.

And if a card needs replacing: delivery does not apply, but reissue costs $2 to $4 depending on grade. If you are on Standard, that is $4 each time, which adds up quickly if you cycle through cards.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where the 2 out of 10 comes from. e.PN takes a percentage on the way in and a percentage on the way out, plus a fixed bank processing fee in between. There is no version of the flow where only one of those applies to you.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a e.PN payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Issuance / reissue, Standard $4
Issuance / reissue, Silver $3.5
Issuance / reissue, Gold $3
Issuance / reissue, Platinum $2.5
Issuance / reissue, Black $2
Card renewal Card renewed every 1 month (30 days); renewal charged 3 days before expiry
Top-up fee, Standard 6.7%
Top-up fee, Silver 6%
Top-up fee, Gold 5%
Top-up fee, Platinum 4%
Top-up fee, Black 3%
Domestic transaction, bank processing $0.20–$0.30 fixed, at cost
International transaction $0.50 + 1.2%, or 2%–3%, or $0.70 fixed, depending on BIN
Declined payment, domestic $0.10–$0.30
Declined payment, international $0.20–$0.40
Special BINs top-up surcharge 13%, minimum $2.5
ATM withdrawal Not available — the virtual card cannot be used to withdraw money from ATMs
Virtual card withdrawal, special BINs $0.45
Withdrawal commission 5% of the amount, minimum withdrawal $100
Deposit withdrawal window A deposit can be withdrawn within 30 days of being deposited
Card to Main Account transfer Free, takes up to 30 days
Minimum account top-up $50
Minimum card issuance deposit $1.00 (supplement: minimum card replenishment starts at $1)
Spending limits Not stated; card declines when it exceeds funds or “currently valid limits”

The FAQ states it plainly: “The card costs between $2 and $4 per month” and the top-up fee is “3-6,7% depending on your Grade”. A $4 monthly charge on a card with no ATM, no physical card and a 6.7% top-up fee at Standard is a lot of structure for a spendable balance.

Now three everyday payments, with the fees that actually apply.

A $30 subscription at Standard grade. You topped up, so 6.7% came off at the point of top-up. Then the payment runs through bank processing: if it settles as a domestic transaction, $0.20 to $0.30 fixed. If the merchant is foreign — and on this card they very often are — you are looking at $0.50 plus 1.2%, or 2%–3%, or $0.70 fixed, depending on which BIN your card runs on. You cannot choose which; it follows from the card you were issued.

A $50 ad-platform top-up while your account sits at Standard. The 6.7% top-up fee is the largest single cost you pay, and it is the one people forget because it never appears on a receipt. Ad platforms are also the single most-reported source of declines in user complaints about this card, so a failed payment here can cost you the decline fee as well — $0.10 to $0.30 domestic, $0.20 to $0.40 international — for a purchase that never happened.

A payment that gets refused. Decline fees exist in both directions. This is the cost people find out about late: the card charges you for trying to buy something, regardless of whether the money moved.

The one thing that genuinely gets cheaper with commitment: grades are set by spend over 30 days — Standard on registration, Silver from $1,000, Gold from $10,000, Platinum from $50,000, Black from $100,000 — and a higher grade lowers both the top-up fee and the issuance price. The catch is that grade drops if you stop spending. A 6.7% top-up fee is the price of entry; a 3% one is reached at $100,000 of spend in 30 days.

Top up: getting money in, and getting it back out

Top-ups happen in the “Top Up” section of the account, and auto-top-up is available. Beyond that, the FAQ does not name coins or networks. Starting data says crypto such as USDT and Bitcoin, which I cannot confirm from the pages themselves.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up e.PN starts with a transfer to the right network

That single gap is the one I would not accept without asking. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can simply be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. If e.PN supports USDT on one chain and you send it on another, there is no chargeback mechanism in the blockchain to undo it. So before your first transfer, get the exact chain in writing from support.

Fees follow the grade, as above: 6.7% at Standard down to 3% at Black, with a 13% surcharge on special BINs and a $2.5 floor there. Who pays the network fee — you or e.PN — is not stated, and there is no mention of topping up with fiat rather than crypto. Minimum account top-up is $50; minimum card issuance deposit is $1.00.

Getting money back out is where the cost bites hardest:

Five percent to leave, and up to thirty days inside, is a poor fit for someone who wants to move money around rather than spend it.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, this is a virtual card that spends a balance you preloaded. Because it behaves like a prepaid card, it cannot overdraw, and because it carries a foreign BIN, some merchants will treat it differently from a local card. Merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the first six or eight digits of the card number, and where the issuer country differs from the billing address on file they may apply extra scrutiny. That is the mechanical reason a perfectly legitimate card gets declined at a shop that never heard of it.

Linking to a wallet works: the “payment abroad” card can be linked to Apple Pay and Google Pay. That is worth having — tokenised wallet payments use a device-specific number rather than your card number and a one-time code per purchase, which removes your card number from the checkout flow.

What is blocked is a longer list than I expected, and it is worth reading as a description of the card’s risk posture rather than as a list of quirks:

Two categories there will bite a real user. Crypto purchases being blocked is unusual and tells you how this card is positioned. Blocking transfers to other banks’ cards is more serious: it means you cannot easily move your balance out to another card of your own, which limits your options if a payment system is unreliable.

No cashback is stated, though a Referral Program document exists. No dispute process is described, which is the gap I would worry about most in daily use: there is no stated route to challenge a merchant, and refunds or reversals from high-risk merchants may be held, with fees reconciled up to 10 calendar days after processing. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on funds that stays for days. If you are spending on subscription platforms you genuinely cannot afford to lose access to, keep a second payment method.

What can go wrong

Start with the company, because that is where the structural risk sits. e.PN is a trading name of Digital Waves LTD., incorporated in Seychelles, 306 Victoria House, Victoria, Mahe. e.PN describes itself as an intermediary between you and banks. The issuing bank is not named on the pages I read. And the site’s own sentence is: “EPN does not have any licenses and/or is not registered in Russia.”

I found no official record of incidents. That is not the same as there being none — it means the official channels I looked at do not show them.

User reports are a different story. Trustpilot reads 3.0 out of 5 from 88 reviews as of 2026-10-21. The themes in user reports, with dates:

The sudden-KYC pattern deserves explanation rather than alarm. Verification is not a one-time gate; it says monitoring is ongoing, and if a partner bank asks for documents mid-way, an account can be held until they arrive. That is normal in regulated banking and terrible in an unregulated one, because the account may already be frozen when the request lands.

Where your money sits matters as much. Funds are held in the e.PN account, not in self-custody — you do not hold keys here at all. e.PN may block funds if banks demand. Two-factor authentication and in-app freeze are not stated; the mobile app delivers 3-D Secure codes, which protects the online payment itself but says nothing about the account behind it. Safeguarding of customer funds is not stated.

Read that against the general shape of this industry. Custodial platforms have failed before: Mt. Gox with about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network bridge at US$625 million in 2022. Separately, card programmes themselves get switched off — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Neither event happened to e.PN. Both show that your dependency is not only on the brand you hold the balance with, but on the issuer and network behind it.

Support, at least, is easy to reach: online chat, Telegram, WhatsApp, WeChat, 24/7, with “we respond within a few minutes”, and a [email protected] address. Reachability and resolution are different things, and the reviews mention weak support directly. Legal documents — Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and the Virtual Card supplement — were updated 2 June 2026.

One final structural point worth holding: card payments go through several parties. Visa or Mastercard routes the messages and sets the rules, a licensed issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end. Nobody at the top of that chain has a direct relationship with you, and a licence from the network can be suspended without your being told in advance.

What to take instead

I looked at three alternatives. None is dramatically better; the differences are about what they are built for.

e.PN Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
My score 4.6 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Who it is for Services outside Russia; payment abroad, ad platforms “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; App Store listing is Naira-focused “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”, Nigerians and global users No country list on official pages; App Store says works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility)
Card form Virtual only Debit card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid; virtual and physical per App Store
Issuance $2–$4 per month by grade Not stated Free Not stated
Conversion Fixed by BIN: $0.50 + 1.2%, or 2%–3%, or $0.70 Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment; “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans exchange rates and picks the best; no percentage stated Not stated Not stated
Funding Crypto, coins and networks not named in FAQ; auto-top-up USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated
Rewards No cashback stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Read that table with the gap in mind rather than the similarities. Not one of these cards states its networks, and only Cardex states any conversion figure at all — and it states no percentage, only a mechanism. This is a category where the pricing page is thin because the pricing lives in a BIN and a network you do not get to choose.

Cardex is the one I would look at first if you spend abroad, because it offers a physical card and states a conversion mechanism rather than a fixed BIN fee. CardFlow is the most generous on the visible surface — a free virtual USD Mastercard in about three minutes — but “free” here means the card costs nothing to create, and the monthly fee and fees generally are not stated, so I would not read it as a cost comparison. HyperCard’s country claim is about where the card is accepted, not who can hold it, and that distinction is exactly the kind that gets people declined.

What none of these cards do, and what I would genuinely want to see before committing money:

A card that answers those five plainly is worth more than one with a low headline score and none of them answered.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend e.PN to a specific person: someone whose money is going out to advertising platforms and online services, who already holds their balance in crypto, who is based outside Russia, and who treats the money on the card as money already spent — set it, use it, move on. For that person, a 3–6.7% top-up fee is annoying but predictable, a $2–$4 monthly charge is a small price for a card that works, and virtual-only is an advantage rather than a limitation. Check the grade you land on; the top-up fee is the number worth optimising, and the difference between Standard and Black is nearly four percentage points on every deposit.

I would not recommend it to someone keeping a balance they care about. The combination of a custodial balance held by an unlicensed Seychelles intermediary, funds that can be blocked when banks ask, no stated safeguarding, no described dispute process, and a review pattern of frozen accounts with money held is not something I would rest on. Nor would I recommend it to anyone who needs cash — there is no ATM, and that is not a gap that will close.

And the specific group I would warn hardest: if ordinary banking is difficult for you precisely because of sanctions exposure, nationality or where you live, do not assume a virtual card from an intermediary sidesteps that. It does not. KYC, sanctions screening and monitoring apply to you the same as to anyone, the bank behind the card makes its own decisions, and grade-based fee reductions are not a substitute for eligibility.

Frequently asked questions

What is the e.PN card?

e.PN is a virtual payment card issued through Digital Waves LTD., a company incorporated in Seychelles that describes itself as an intermediary between customers and banks. You get a card number — Visa, or Visa/Mastercard on the universal product, depending on the BIN — with no physical card and no ATM access. It works as a prepaid card: you load a balance, and the card spends only that balance.

Is e.PN a bank?

No, and the site’s own wording is that “EPN does not have any licenses and/or is not registered in Russia”. It says services are provided outside Russia and that e.PN is an intermediary between the customer and banks. The issuing bank is not named on the pages I read, and the company is not stated to be licensed or registered in Russia.

Who owns e.PN?

e.PN is a trading name of Digital Waves LTD., incorporated in Seychelles at 306 Victoria House, Victoria, Mahe. Beyond that corporate identity, the pages I read do not name a parent, a founder or an issuing partner bank, so I cannot tell you who ultimately stands behind the programme.

Does the e.PN card require KYC?

Yes. e.PN describes “Comprehensive KYC” for all clients, and card access is subject to KYC verification, sanctions screening and ongoing monitoring. Which documents are required, what proof of address is acceptable, and what age applies are not stated on the pages I read — ask support before you upload anything.

Is e.PN available in my country?

The public pages say services are provided outside Russia and that e.PN is not licensed or registered in Russia; no list of issuing countries appears on the pages I read. Starting data adds “worldwide except Russia and United States”, but that is not confirmed on the site’s own pages. Citizenship versus residence is also not stated, so ask before you rely on it.

How much does the e.PN card cost?

Between $2 and $4 per month depending on grade, charged on renewal every 30 days with the renewal billed 3 days before expiry. Top-up fees are 6.7% at Standard, 6%, 5%, 4% and 3% across the five grades. Bank processing runs $0.20–$0.30 for a domestic transaction, and $0.50 plus 1.2%, or 2%–3%, or $0.70 for an international one depending on BIN.

How do I top up the e.PN card?

Through the “Top Up” section in your account, with auto-top-up available. Coins and networks are not named in the FAQ, though starting data mentions USDT and Bitcoin. Minimum account top-up is $50 and minimum card issuance deposit is $1.00. Transfers are irreversible, so confirm the exact network with support before your first deposit.

Can I withdraw money from an e.PN card?

Not from an ATM — the virtual card cannot be used to withdraw money from ATMs. Other withdrawals carry commission of 5% of the amount with a $100 minimum, a deposit can be withdrawn within 30 days of being deposited, moving funds from the card to the Main Account is free but takes up to 30 days, and a virtual card withdrawal on special BINs costs $0.45.

Is the e.PN card safe to use?

Safety here is mostly about the company holding your money, not about encryption. Funds sit in the e.PN account rather than in self-custody, e.PN may block funds if banks demand, and safeguarding is not stated. Trustpilot shows 3.0 out of 5 from 88 reviews, with user reports of frozen accounts and held funds. Treat the balance as spendable, not as savings.

Why do my e.PN payments keep getting declined?

Several causes are possible and they are worth separating. Ad platforms and subscription services are repeatedly named in user reports as decline hotspots; some merchants refuse prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers; gambling, crypto purchases and transfers to other banks’ cards are blocked by policy; and declines themselves cost $0.10–$0.30 domestically or $0.20–$0.40 internationally. A hold can also stay on your funds for days after a failed authorisation.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team