A regulated card that spends from your crypto, if you can live with its limits

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Jeton is one of the more established names in the crypto-to-fiat card space, operating under a UK FCA-authorised parent and issuing through a licensed e-money institution. The pitch is straightforward: load a balance, pay with a Visa or Mastercard, and the conversion happens behind the scenes. Whether that works for you depends on where you live, how much you plan to spend, and how much you care about the fees that aren’t always front and centre.

Jeton works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through Jeton’s terms, fees page, and the pattern of user reports to see what this card actually does day to day, and who it leaves out. The short version: it scores 6.4 out of 10, a middle-of-the-pack result. It’s not a bad card, but it’s not the cheapest or the most flexible, and a few details in the fine print are worth pausing on before you sign up.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Jeton earns 6.4 out of 10 in my assessment. That’s not a failing grade, but it’s a card I’d recommend with caveats rather than enthusiasm. The strongest points are everyday usability (physical and virtual cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, in-app freeze) and regulatory standing (FCA-authorised operator, licensed e-money issuer). The weakest points are cost (top-up fees that climb to 5% depending on method and country, plus a $39.99 physical card), a thin crypto funding list, and a Trustpilot score of 3.1 out of 5 from 725 reviews, with recurring complaints about frozen accounts, lost cards, and slow support.

Here’s the breakdown by criterion:

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Worldwide eligibility, at least on paper; the conditions only show “All Countries”
Cost 4 / 10 Free account, but $39.99 for the physical card and top-up fees from 2.5% to 5%
Top-up options 6 / 10 Six major coins (BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, DOGE, XRP), but no stablecoin or network details
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Licensed issuer, but 3.1/5 on Trustpilot with themes of freezes and KYC delays
Everyday use 10 / 10 Virtual and physical, Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM access, in-app freeze
Total 6.4 / 10

This is a card for someone who wants a regulated app account with both physical and virtual cards, and who is comfortable paying a premium for that structure. If you want the cheapest possible crypto-to-fiat spend, or you need stablecoin support, or you live in a country where Jeton has had visible service issues, you’ll likely want to look elsewhere.

Who will they give you the card?

The headline answer is: almost anyone, at least according to Jeton’s own framing. The terms page only offers an “All Countries” option for the region selector, and the company states that Jeton Bank is authorised to provide services to clients worldwide. That’s a deliberately broad statement, and in practice it gets narrowed down at sign-up and again at KYC.

What this means for you: you won’t find a country exclusion list on the public page, so eligibility is decided in your specific case. If you complete KYC and your documents are accepted, you’re in. If not, the account can be frozen or closed mid-process. That’s the pattern I see in user reports (more on that below).

I want to be clear about what isn’t stated, because it matters: the card page does not list excluded countries, age requirements, required documents, or proof-of-address rules. These are revealed during sign-up, not in advance. Starting data does confirm that a physical card is available in the EU, so at least that much is grounded in reality.

The company behind the card is LA Orange Limited, trading as Jeton, which is FCA-authorised with registration number 902088. The card account and the card itself are issued by Financial House Limited, which holds FCA reference number 902039. There’s also a Jeton Bank Limited entity licensed in the Commonwealth of Dominica (registration 2022/C0175), which is where the “worldwide” banking claim comes from. This is a multi-entity structure, and which entity you interact with may depend on where you live and what product you sign up for.

How to get it

The signup process is presented as fast: “takes about 3 minutes, no paperwork.” That framing is optimistic, but the initial app steps are genuinely quick. You download the app, enter basic details, and choose a region (only “All Countries” is offered as a preset option). Sign-in then uses device verification and a 6-digit PIN, which is a reasonable security baseline.

After the initial signup, KYC kicks in. The terms page and fees page don’t spell out which documents are required, so you should expect the standard set for a regulated financial app: government-issued ID, proof of address, and possibly a selfie or liveness check. The card page doesn’t say what ages are eligible, but as with most regulated cards, 18 is the working assumption.

You can choose between a virtual card ($0.99 one-time), a physical card ($39.99 one-time), or both. Jeton supports Visa, Mastercard, and UnionPay as card networks, though not all three are necessarily available in every region. The account itself is multi-currency, but the card currency is not stated on the public page; starting data suggests USD or EUR, depending on where you are.

Replacement fees if you lose a card: $15 for a physical card, $1 for a virtual one. Shipping destinations and delivery times are not stated, so if you’re outside the main markets, that’s a question to ask support before paying for the physical card.

What it really costs: Fees

The cost story is mixed. The headline numbers look reasonable, but once you layer in top-up fees and the physical card price, the total can climb quickly.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Jeton payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Virtual card issuance $0.99 / €0.99
Physical card issuance $39.99 / €39.99
Account and monthly maintenance Waived
Annual fee Waived
Foreign-currency card payment 0
Crypto conversion fee Not listed
ATM fee (UK) 0.5% of transaction value
ATM fee (outside UK) 0.5% + 2%
Balance enquiry at ATM 0
ATM limit per transaction $700
ATM limit daily $2,000
ATM limit weekly $10,000
ATM limit monthly $10,000
POS limit per transaction $100,000
POS limit daily / weekly / monthly $1,000,000 each
Max load per month (one version of the table) £60,000
Replacement card (physical / virtual) $15 / $1
Closing a card 0

The first thing that jumps out is the $39.99 physical card fee. That’s a significant upfront cost, especially compared to crypto cards that issue physical cards free or under $10. If you only need a virtual card for online spending, the $0.99 fee is competitive.

The second thing is the 0% foreign-currency card payment fee. If you travel or shop at international merchants, this is genuinely useful: many cards charge 1% to 3% for non-base-currency spending, and Jeton waives it. That’s a real positive.

But the top-up fees are where the cost picture gets worse. According to the general funding table, topping up your Jeton account costs 2.5%, 3%, 3.5%, or 5% depending on the method and your country. Which method lands you at which percentage is not spelled out on the public fees page, so the only way to know your real cost is to test a small top-up or contact support before committing larger amounts.

A few everyday scenarios to make this concrete:

If you’re a heavy ATM user outside the UK, the 2% surcharge will eat into your balance quickly. If you mostly pay at point-of-sale in your card’s base currency, the cost structure looks much better.

How to top it up: Top up methods

Jeton works on a pre-loaded balance model: you fund your Jeton wallet first, then the card spends from that balance. This is how most crypto-to-fiat cards work, and it has the practical advantage that the card can never overdraw.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Jeton starts with a transfer to the right network

The supported cryptocurrencies, according to starting data, are:

That’s six coins, which is a narrower list than many competitors. Notably absent from the public-facing information: stablecoins like USDT or USDC. If you hold stablecoins, you may need to convert them to one of the listed coins before topping up, which adds another step and another fee. The blockchain networks on which these coins are accepted are not stated, which is a real gap. Sending BTC on the wrong network, or sending to a deposit address on a network Jeton doesn’t monitor, can mean your funds arrive in limbo or get lost entirely.

Top-up fees range from 2.5% to 5% depending on method and country. There’s no stated minimum top-up, and no stated maximum per top-up, though monthly load limits apply (£60,000 in one version of the fees table).

For card-specific withdrawals, there’s no card-specific withdrawal fee listed, and closing a card costs nothing. If you need to cash out to a bank account rather than spend, that’s a different flow and a different fee structure, which lives in the general funding table rather than the card section.

What this means for you: if you already hold BTC, ETH, or one of the other listed coins, top-up is straightforward. If you primarily hold stablecoins, or coins not on this list, factor in the extra conversion step. And if you don’t see your preferred network (Ethereum mainnet, Lightning, Tron, etc.) confirmed before you send, don’t send.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where Jeton performs best, and the 10/10 score for this criterion reflects that. The app supports both virtual and physical cards, and both work with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Jeton specifically lists setup flows for iPhone, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS, iPad/Mac, and the web, which covers the major device categories.

At the point of sale, you tap, insert, or swipe like any other Visa or Mastercard. Foreign-currency transactions carry no extra fee, which is genuinely useful if you travel or buy from international merchants. ATM access is available, with the fee structure described above.

You can freeze and unfreeze both your physical and virtual cards directly in the app, which is a standard but important security feature. Spending limits and device verification add another layer.

What’s not stated: blocked merchant categories. Many cards block gambling (MCC 7995), and some block other categories by policy. Jeton’s public page doesn’t list its blocked categories, so if you have a specific merchant in mind, you’d need to test it or ask support.

There’s no mention of cashback or rewards in the public terms. If earning a return on your spending matters to you, this card doesn’t offer it. That’s not unusual for a pure utility card, but it is a gap compared to some competitors that offer 1% to 5% cashback.

The app is available on the App Store and Google Play. Official store ratings weren’t retrievable, but a third-party estimate from Justuseapp puts it at 3.5 out of 5 in 2026. That’s unofficial, not confirmed by the card, and worth treating as a rough signal rather than a definitive score.

For disputes: the card terms page doesn’t state a chargeback or dispute process specifically, but a complaints handling policy exists. Chargeback rights on prepaid cards vary by jurisdiction and by card network, so the protections you have depend on the rules that apply to you, not necessarily on what Jeton advertises.

What can go wrong

No card is risk-free, and Jeton’s risk profile is worth understanding before you commit funds.

Complaints volume and themes. Trustpilot shows 3.1 out of 5 from 725 reviews (260 of those in the last 12 months), which is a middling-to-low score for a financial product. The recurring themes from user reports (June to October 2026):

None of these are catastrophic on their own, but the pattern suggests that edge cases (KYC re-review, lost cards, declined transactions) are where users run into friction.

Regulatory standing. The positives: the operator (LA Orange Limited) is FCA-authorised (registration 902088), and the issuer (Financial House Limited) holds FCA reference 902039. Jeton Bank Limited is licensed in Dominica. The negatives: Dominica is a lighter regulatory regime than the UK, and the multi-entity structure means the rules that apply to you depend on which entity you’re signed up with. If something goes wrong, knowing which regulator has jurisdiction is the first step in any complaint.

Security features. Jeton lists UKAS accreditation, Cyber Essentials Plus, and ISO 27001 as part of its security posture. Freeze/unfreeze is available in-app, spending limits can be set, and sign-in uses device verification plus a 6-digit PIN. What’s not stated: whether customer funds are safeguarded in segregated accounts (a standard requirement for e-money institutions in the EU) and whether any deposit guarantee applies. If safeguarding is in place, the public page doesn’t say so, and you should ask.

Programme closure risk. Card programmes can be shut down by their issuer or by the card network (Visa or Mastercard). When that happens, users typically get a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then remaining balances must be withdrawn. Jeton has not announced any closure, and there are no official incidents of programme shutdown, but the risk is structural rather than company-specific.

Counterparty and hack risk. Like any custodial product, your balance is held by Jeton’s issuer, not by you. If the issuer fails, your ability to recover funds depends on the regulatory regime that applies and the safeguards in place. This is the same risk that applies to any card where you load money before spending.

What to take instead

If Jeton doesn’t fit, here are three alternatives that cover different priorities.

International Visa Card. Score 6.7 out of 10. A US-issued Platinum Visa, currently virtual only (physical is listed as “coming soon”). It excludes residents or legal registrants of a long list of countries (Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam), with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. The virtual card costs $5 one-time, and there are subscription plans (Classic free, Pro $9/month, Max $19/month) that unlock features. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign-currency transactions use the Visa exchange rate plus 2% FX. Deposits in USDC or USDT into the USD account are free at 1:1. No cashback is stated. This is a better fit if you’re in a supported country, primarily spend in USD, and want a US-issued card.

UNi Card. Score 6.1 out of 10. A multicurrency Mastercard that spends from the UNi.Global account balance. No annual fee and no foreign transaction fee are stated; assets are converted at “live OTC rates.” It offers “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3% with the UNi Card, which is a real differentiator if earning matters to you. Country availability and funding methods are not stated on the public page. This is a better fit if you want multicurrency spending with no FX markup and a cashback angle.

Whop Cards. Score 5.2 out of 10. A Visa card that works anywhere Visa is accepted. Consumer availability covers 31 US states; 41 US states are open to businesses. Unsupported countries include Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam. The page says “no extra fees” but doesn’t list specific amounts for issuance, FX, or conversion. The card spends from a Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. Cashback is 5% at select merchants, currently including Uber, with more planned. This is a better fit if you’re a US-based user, you do business on Whop, and the 5% merchant cashback aligns with your spending.

Who I would recommend it to

Jeton is a reasonable choice in a narrow set of circumstances.

Pick it if:

Skip it if:

The middle of the road is where Jeton sits. It does the basics competently, it’s regulated, and it’s widely available. But the cost structure, especially the top-up fees and the physical card price, means it’s not the cheapest option, and the complaint patterns suggest that when things go wrong, support is not always fast. If you can absorb those trade-offs, it’s a workable card. If you can’t, the alternatives above each offer a different strength that might suit you better.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Jeton card?

Jeton is a payment card (Visa, Mastercard, or UnionPay, depending on region) that spends from a balance in your Jeton wallet. The wallet is funded by cryptocurrency, and the conversion from crypto to fiat happens in the background. The card is issued by Financial House Limited, an FCA-authorised e-money institution, and operated by LA Orange Limited, also FCA-authorised.

How does the Jeton card work?

You create a Jeton account, complete KYC, and top up your wallet with supported cryptocurrencies (BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, DOGE, XRP). The card then draws on that balance like a prepaid card. When you pay, the available balance is debited in the card’s currency, and the conversion has already been handled at the top-up stage.

Is Jeton a bank?

Not exactly. Jeton Bank Limited is licensed in the Commonwealth of Dominica, but in the UK, the relevant entities are LA Orange Limited (the operator) and Financial House Limited (the card issuer), both FCA-authorised. These are e-money and payment-services licences, not full banking licences, which means Jeton cannot lend and customer funds are not deposit-guaranteed in the same way as a UK bank account.

Who owns Jeton?

Jeton is operated by LA Orange Limited, which trades as Jeton and holds FCA registration 902088. The card is issued by Financial House Limited (FCA reference 902039). Jeton Bank Limited, a separate entity licensed in Dominica, is part of the same group and is where the “worldwide banking” claim originates.

Is the Jeton card available in my country?

The public terms page only offers “All Countries” as a region option, and Jeton states it’s authorised to serve clients worldwide. In practice, eligibility is decided at KYC, and the card page does not list excluded countries. If you complete KYC successfully, you’re in; if not, the account can be rejected or closed mid-process.

How do I get the Jeton card?

Download the Jeton app, complete sign-up (presented as a 3-minute process), pass KYC, and order a virtual card ($0.99) or a physical card ($39.99). Virtual cards are issued immediately; physical card delivery times and destinations are not stated on the public page.

Does the Jeton card require KYC?

Yes. The initial sign-up is quick, but KYC is required before you can fully use the card and wallet. Required documents are not listed publicly, but the standard set for a regulated e-money institution applies: government ID, proof of address, and possibly a selfie or liveness check.

How do I top up my Jeton card?

You send supported cryptocurrencies (BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, DOGE, XRP) to your Jeton wallet deposit address. The card then spends from that balance. Top-up fees range from 2.5% to 5% depending on the method and your country. Networks are not stated, so confirm with support before sending.

How do I add the Jeton card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Jeton supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, with setup flows listed for iPhone, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS, iPad/Mac, and the web. In the app, choose the card, select “Add to wallet,” and follow the standard tokenisation process for your device.

Is the Jeton card safe?

Jeton lists UKAS accreditation, Cyber Essentials Plus, and ISO 27001 as part of its security posture, and offers in-app freeze/unfreeze, spending limits, device verification, and a 6-digit PIN. What’s not stated publicly: whether customer funds are safeguarded in segregated accounts, and what happens to your balance if the issuer fails. Given the 3.1/5 Trustpilot score and recurring complaint themes (frozen accounts, KYC delays, slow support), the operational side has room for improvement.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team