KeyOne, a free virtual Visa card with crypto top-up, run on top of Wirex, and what that actually means for everyday spending
KeyOne is a small fintech product that lives at the intersection of two things that rarely share a screen: a self-custody crypto wallet and a Visa card you can spend from. The card itself is issued by Wirex, a long-established crypto card programme; KeyOne Solution Ltd., the company behind the brand, is registered in Saint Christopher and Nevis and describes itself as a technology layer rather than a bank. That shape — a self-custody wallet, a virtual Visa, an off-shore operator, and a licensed issuer doing the regulated work in the background — is the single most important thing to understand about the product, and it colours every section of this review.
If you came here wondering whether KeyOne is the right replacement for a bank card, or whether you can rely on it day to day, the short answer is: it is genuinely free, surprisingly cheap to use for a card in the balance currency, and constrained in ways that a normal debit card is not. It is virtual only, it is aimed at residents of 70 countries, and it does not have a long public track record because the brand is new. The rest of the page walks through who can get it, what it costs, how to top it up and what to watch out for, and ends with a verdict, alternatives and a frequently asked questions section.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
I score KeyOne 6.8 out of 10. The headline is that a free, EUR-denominated virtual Visa with no monthly fee, zero-fee spending in the balance currency and a 0.8% crypto top-up is a reasonable deal for a niche of users — most obviously people in countries where getting an ordinary Visa or Mastercard is awkward: residents of Georgia, Serbia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Moldova, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Thailand, the UAE, Bahrain, Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, Australia and similar. The card is not for people who need a physical card, who want cash from ATMs, or who are not on the supported-country list.

The score breaks down as follows.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Residents of about 70 listed countries, including much of Eastern Europe, the CIS, Southeast Asia, Africa and Latin America, plus Australia; Russia and Belarus are not on the list. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Free tier at EUR 0 — issuance and monthly service free; spending in EUR balance is 0% and crypto conversion up to 1%; crypto top-up is 0.8% plus network fee. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDC and USDT, network not specified; plus SEPA, ACH, and Visa/Mastercard top-up; crypto withdrawals only on Base. |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Card issued by Wirex (Visa), KeyOne Solution Ltd. is the technology interface, not a bank; no public complaints found, App Store has too few ratings to show a score. |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay is available, Google Pay is not confirmed, ATM access is not stated. |
The biggest single reason the score is not higher is everyday use. A virtual-only card with no confirmed ATM support and an unconfirmed Google Pay position is not a substitute for a normal card; it is a specific tool for a specific job. The second is the company’s footprint. KeyOne Solution Ltd. is registered in Saint Kitts, the card-issuer identity is disclosed only as “an unnamed payment partner” in some places and as Wirex elsewhere, and there is no public licence page. If those things matter to you, the alternatives in the comparison section are worth a look.
Who will they give you the card
KeyOne is sold on residence, not citizenship. The card is available to residents of about 70 listed countries, with a wide spread across regions: most of Europe including Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia and Azerbaijan; much of Asia including Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan and Thailand; the UAE and Bahrain in the Gulf; Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa and Uganda in Africa; Mexico, Brazil and Argentina in Latin America; and Australia. Russia and Belarus are not on the list, and for any country that is not on it the company says plainly that you cannot apply yet.
There is no stated excluded-citizen list and no statement on what happens with Russian or Belarusian citizens living in supported countries. If that is your situation, the only reliable answer is to ask KeyOne support before you upload documents, because once a KYC check has been opened and closed the outcome is binary and there is no appeal route described in the cardholder agreement. Two quick implications. First, the country you apply from has to match a country the card has decided to onboard; changing your address on file later does not, on its own, open a new application. Second, the rule looks residence-based because the documents you will need — a passport or national ID plus, in some cases, a residence permit or proof of address — are the only way the company can confirm that you actually live where you say you live.
The application also requires you to be at least 18 years old, which is the standard age threshold for a prepaid card.
How to get it
The sign-up flow is described in four short steps. You check that your country is on the supported list, you submit a government-issued ID together with a selfie, you provide proof of address if asked, and once the checks pass a card is issued inside the app. The documents accepted are a passport, a national ID card, a driving licence or a residence permit; the exact mix depends on the issuing country of the ID. Proof of address can be requested after the ID check has been completed — typically a utility bill or bank statement — and that requirement is set by the card-issuing partner’s compliance policy rather than by KeyOne itself, so you cannot predict in advance whether you will be asked.
There are no KYC “tiers” in the way some exchanges have them. The flow is: government-issued ID, where the name and date of birth on the document must appear and match the application, a photo on the document is matched against the selfie, and the validity date is visible and in the future. If the issuer’s compliance check needs more, you are asked for a proof of address, and the issuing decision rests on the residence that document shows. The cardholder agreement does not give a processing time and uses the phrase “may vary”; the company’s own help pages suggest you ask support for a status if it drags on.
What you get at the end is a virtual Visa card. There is no physical card, no metal card, and the card balance currency is euro. The card number, expiry date and CVV appear in the app once the card is issued; you can add it to Apple Pay with one tap, and Google Pay is not stated on the public pages I read. If you need a physical card to swipe or to insert at a terminal, KeyOne is not the product for you, and no tier upgrade changes that.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline numbers on KeyOne are unusually simple. There are two plans, a Free tier at EUR 0 and a Premium tier at EUR 149 per year, paid from your balance and valid for 12 months from purchase. Free gives you one virtual card and no extra cards; Premium gives you three virtual cards plus the option to buy extra ones at EUR 10 each. The Free plan has no monthly fee, no issuance fee, and no setup fee; the Premium plan has the same — the EUR 149 is a one-off annual subscription, non-refundable except where local law says otherwise, and an early renewal adds 12 months on top.

The costs are summarised in the table below. I have copied the numbers directly from the card’s published fees and the cardholder agreement.
| Fee or limit | Free (EUR 0 / year) | Premium (EUR 149 / year) |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free | Free |
| Monthly service | Free | Free |
| Card payments in balance currency | 0% | 0% |
| Currency conversion (other currencies) | Up to 1% | Up to 1% |
| Crypto top-up (USDC / USDT) | 0.8% + network fee | 0.33% |
| SEPA / ACH in | 0.8% | 0.3% |
| Top-up from another Visa / Mastercard | ~4.5% | ~4.5% |
| In-app exchange | 0.3% on first EUR 1,000 / month, then 1.25% | 0.3% on first EUR 2,000 / month, then 1.25% |
| Card spending per card per month | EUR 20,000 | EUR 30,000 |
| Single transaction | EUR 20,000 | EUR 30,000 |
| SEPA in / out per month | EUR 20,000 | EUR 20,000 |
| ATM withdrawals | not stated | not stated |
| Minimum top-up | not stated | not stated |
Two things to read into that table. First, the 0% on payments in the balance currency is genuine: a card paid in euros, with a euro balance, has no payment fee. The 1% conversion cap applies when you pay in any other currency, and the cardholder agreement (s.5) frames that as “up to 1%” so a realistic worst case is a 1% cross-currency charge, in addition to whatever the merchant’s own bank charges on its side. Second, the “individual limits may be lower due to partner compliance checks” line is important: the EUR 20,000-a-month spend limit is the published ceiling, but the issuer can lower it for individual cardholders on a risk basis. If you are a higher-than-average spender, expect the limit to be set conservatively at first and to grow only with history.
Three everyday situations make the fee shape more concrete.
Paying a coffee in euros from a euro balance. This is the cheapest case. If you top up the card by SEPA, you pay 0.8% once on the top-up (Free) and 0% on the payment. The network cost is zero. There is no transaction fee, no ATM fee, no FX fee, because the merchant’s currency and your balance currency are the same. The cost per euro of spend, ignoring the one-off top-up charge, is essentially zero.
Paying a hotel in US dollars with a euro balance. The card charges up to 1% to convert euros to dollars at the point of sale, on top of whatever cross-border fee Visa itself applies and whatever the merchant’s own bank charges. So a EUR 1,000 hotel could cost you up to EUR 10 in the KeyOne conversion line, plus the underlying card-network FX margin. If you had pre-converted dollars in the app before paying, you would have paid 0.3% on the in-app exchange (up to the monthly free allowance) and 0% on the payment; the trade is that you have to think ahead.
Topping up with USDC or USDT. The fee is 0.8% of the top-up value plus the underlying blockchain network fee on the Free plan. If you top up EUR 1,000 worth of USDC and the Ethereum mainnet gas is, say, the equivalent of EUR 2, the total cost is roughly EUR 10 (the 0.8%) plus EUR 2 (the gas). On the Premium plan, the percentage drops to 0.33%, so the same EUR 1,000 top-up would cost about EUR 3.30 plus the gas. Choosing a cheaper network to send on can change that materially, which is the next section’s job.
How to top it up
There are four top-up paths and one withdrawal path, and they are not all equivalent. Crypto top-up supports USDC and USDT, but the network is not specified on the public pages, which means in practice you have to look inside the app to see which address and chain the company actually expects. Bank top-up is via SEPA, for many EU countries and the UK, and via ACH for the UK only, with Faster Payments in GBP for the UK. Card top-up from another Visa or Mastercard is supported but costs about 4.5%, which makes it the most expensive way to load the card and mostly useful for one-off small amounts.
The fees are different on Free and Premium: crypto 0.8% versus 0.33%, SEPA and ACH in 0.8% versus 0.3%, and the cheaper rates are the main reason to upgrade to Premium if you load the card often. The published SEPA in and out limit is EUR 20,000 a month, on both tiers, and individual limits can be lower again depending on the partner’s compliance review.
Crypto withdrawals are the most restricted part of the funding story. KeyOne only lets you withdraw crypto to the Base network, with no KeyOne fee. Base is a low-fee Ethereum layer-2 network, which is good news for cost, but it does mean that if you hold USDT on Tron or USDC on Polygon you cannot send those balances out without bridging them first, and a bridge introduces its own counterparty and smart-contract risk. The minimum top-up is not stated on the public pages.
Two practical implications follow. First, the network matters. If you are topping up with USDC, the cheapest route is usually sending it on a low-fee network to the address the app shows, rather than a default Ethereum mainnet transfer where the gas can be larger than the top-up fee. If you are topping up with USDT, be aware that USDC and USDT live on different sets of networks and that sending on a chain the company does not support is the most common way to lose a deposit in this category, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Second, the SEPA ceiling and the spend ceiling are not the same thing. A EUR 20,000 SEPA top-up in a single month fills both limits, so for bigger balances the natural pattern is to use Premium (EUR 30,000 spend) and to spread top-ups across the month.
Paying with it every day
A virtual Visa with Apple Pay support is, in practice, usable in a lot of places. Tap-to-pay on a phone works at any contactless terminal that accepts Visa, online checkouts that take Visa work, and subscription services that take Visa work. The cardholder agreement does not list blocked merchant categories, but the home page says in general terms that “some countries, merchant categories and transactions are restricted”, and that list is not public, which is the same line you will find in most prepaid-card programmes.
What is not stated is at least as important as what is. There is no mention of cash withdrawal at an ATM. There is no confirmation that Google Pay works, even though Apple Pay does. There is no cashback or rewards programme — the home page does not mention one, and the cardholder agreement does not set one up. There is no published Apple Pay or Google Pay list of supported countries; the answer is the same as the card’s country list, because the wallet and the card travel together. A merchant category code block on gambling, for example, is common in this category, and the public pages do not tell you whether KeyOne applies one.
The app is the only operational interface. It is called “KeyOne: Crypto Card & Wallet” on the App Store, requires iPhone iOS 17 or later, was at version 1.0.10 on the date I read this, and lists English, Russian and Serbian as available languages. The App Store (Ireland) page shows no rating because the app has not received enough ratings, so you cannot tell from star averages what other users think. The Google Play listing is at com.keyonesolution.keyone but I could not retrieve a rating. The web app is at app.keyonepay.com and is the same product from a browser. The website language selector shows English only at the time of writing, even though the iOS app supports more.
If a transaction is wrong, missing, or not recognised, the cardholder agreement (s.7) says you contact support, and support helps you file a dispute with the issuer. No time frames are given, the word “chargeback” is not used, and the terms set no refund deadlines. Blockchain transactions are irreversible, which is relevant for the crypto side of the balance but not for the card side. Merchant refunds go back to the KeyOne balance and may arrive in a different currency than the original charge (s.7), which is a small but worth-knowing detail if you care about which currency the refund lands in.
What can go wrong
This is the section I find myself writing in a different tone. The product’s free tier is genuinely attractive, the brand’s positioning is clean, and the absence of public complaints is reassuring rather than the other way around. The risks that exist are mostly structural rather than scandal-shaped.
Operator footprint. KeyOne Solution Ltd. is incorporated in Saint Christopher and Nevis (company no. C 63589). The Terms are governed by the law of Saint Kitts. The company describes itself as “not a bank” and says card issuance and payments are by an unnamed payment partner. In the most recent published cardholder agreement, the card issuer is identified as Wirex, which is a Visa principal member in Europe (Visa granted Wirex that status in December 2020, per The Block), and KeyOne Solution Ltd. is described as the technology interface. The two descriptions are not contradictory — the issuer is the regulated party, the operator is the brand — but the change is worth noting, because it shifts the regulatory question from “who is the issuer” to “is the issuer licensed where you live”.
No deposit or investor guarantee. Crypto balances held in the self-custody wallet are not on the operator’s balance sheet; they are in a wallet whose private keys are created and stored on the user’s own device through an embedded wallet provider. KeyOne cannot move crypto without the user’s signature. The flip side is that if you lose the device, the PIN or the seed phrase, the funds are permanently lost. Fiat balances sit with the card-issuing partner, not with KeyOne, and they are not the same as bank deposits; in the EU, where the relevant comparison is the Deposit Guarantee Scheme, they are not covered by it. If the partner fails, your euro balance is a creditor claim, not a guaranteed deposit.
Programme suspension. A card programme can be suspended by Visa or Mastercard at the network’s discretion, and historically that has happened to crypto card programmes: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all of its programmes were closed. The pattern in those cases is a notice period, then a stop on new loads, then a stop on spending, then a window to withdraw balances. The product is not, on its own, a counterparty to Visa — the issuer is — but the issuer’s programme can be paused, and that flows through to every card on it.
No public complaints — yet. I searched Trustpilot and Reddit and did not find a Trustpilot or Reddit page for KeyOne itself; what came up were unrelated products with similar names (OnePay, KeyOneClick). The App Store rating is “not enough ratings”. This is a new product, not a long-established one, and absence of complaints today is not the same as a track record. If you are putting meaningful funds through it, that is a thing to be aware of, not against it.
Restricted categories and countries. The home page’s “some countries, merchant categories and transactions are restricted” line is uninformative by itself. If you plan to use the card for a specific category — gambling, crypto purchases, certain subscriptions — assume you will need to test, and that the answer can change without notice. The same is true of cross-border use: a card that works in the EU on a holiday may not work in the same way in a non-EU country the operator is not familiar with.
Irreversible crypto. Sending USDC or USDT on the wrong network, to the wrong address, or with a smart-contract mistake, is not recoverable. Stablecoin issuers can also freeze funds: Tether has said it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. The point is not that KeyOne will freeze your funds, it is that the underlying rail can, and you should not treat crypto top-up as a low-risk operation by default.
Support and language. Support is reachable through a Telegram bot (@keyone_supportbot), an obfuscated email, the X account @keyoneapp for status, and an in-app chat (Profile > Support). The company says it “usually responds within a few hours, and always within 24”, but it does not publish support hours. The website shows English only; the iOS app is also in Russian and Serbian. If you are a French, Spanish or Portuguese speaker, the experience is English-only for now, which is worth knowing before you need help.
What to take instead
Three alternatives in roughly the same bracket of free or low-cost virtual crypto cards, for the reader who is not sure KeyOne is the right fit. The scores below are the ones I have given those products on the same scale.
| Card | Score | Who it suits | Headline difference from KeyOne |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | A wider geographic reach | One crypto card, “200+ countries” acceptance, on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, with an AI-style conversion scan at the moment of payment; no published fee table. |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Nigerian users in particular | Free virtual USD Mastercard created in 3 minutes, with BTC, USDT, ETH and Naira bank funding; the published detail is thin. |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | A simple, prepaid option | Prepaid “HyperCard” in USD or EUR, accepting USDT, BTC and ETH deposits; very little fee detail on the public pages. |
Reading the table the way I would: if you are not on KeyOne’s country list, Cardex is the broadest reach, but it has the least public fee detail of the three, and the network list (Verve, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay) suggests it is built around African and Asian acceptance rather than European. If you are in Nigeria, CardFlow is the most locally tailored of the three, with a Naira funding option and a fast virtual card; outside Nigeria the case for it is weaker because the public material is Nigeria-focused. If you want a simple prepaid card and you do not need a long feature list, HyperCard is worth a look, but the lack of published fees means you would need to load a small amount and test before committing.
None of the three is a one-for-one replacement. Cardex does not publish a fee schedule, CardFlow is Naira-oriented and does not publish a fee schedule, and HyperCard does not publish a fee schedule either. The honest reading is that KeyOne is the most transparent of the four on what it charges, and that is part of the reason its score is higher than any of them.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend KeyOne to a fairly specific reader. You live in one of the 70 supported countries, you do not already have a Visa or Mastercard you are happy with, and you are comfortable with the operator footprint: a Saint Kitts-registered technology company on top of a Visa-licensed issuer. You have some crypto, you want to spend it without selling it first through an exchange, and you are happy with a virtual-only card that lives in Apple Pay. You do not need cash from ATMs, you do not need a physical card, and you do not need cashback. The free tier is enough for everyday spending under EUR 20,000 a month; Premium pays for itself only if you load the card often enough that the lower crypto and SEPA fees add up to more than EUR 149 a year.
I would not recommend it to a reader who needs a physical card, who plans to use ATMs regularly, who is in a country not on the supported list, who needs a card in a currency other than euros, or who is uncomfortable with a brand that has no public track record. I would also be cautious about parking a large balance in the card or the wallet: the self-custody side is a real product but the operational experience is new, and the published limits are ceilings, not guarantees.
The free tier is, in my view, the right way to start. Open the app, complete KYC, load a small amount, set up Apple Pay, run a few real payments, and only then decide whether to put more through it. If the product works for you for a small monthly volume, it will work for you for a larger one, and if it does not, the cost of finding that out is small.
Frequently asked questions
What is the KeyOne card?
KeyOne is a virtual Visa card tied to a self-custody crypto wallet. You top it up with USDC, USDT, SEPA, ACH or another Visa/Mastercard, and the card spends a euro balance. The card is issued by Wirex, and KeyOne Solution Ltd. is the brand and technology layer.
How does the KeyOne card work?
You add USDC or USDT to the wallet, the wallet converts to euro balance on the card, and the card is spent in euros or, with a conversion fee of up to 1%, in other currencies. The card number lives inside the app and can be added to Apple Pay.
Is KeyOne a bank?
No. KeyOne Solution Ltd. is a Saint Kitts-registered technology company that says explicitly it is not a bank. Card issuance and payments are by a licensed partner, identified in the most recent cardholder agreement as Wirex.
Who owns KeyOne?
The brand and operating company is KeyOne Solution Ltd. (Saint Christopher and Nevis, company no. C 63589). The card-issuing partner is Wirex, a Visa principal member in Europe.
Is KeyOne available in my country?
The card is sold on residence, not citizenship, and the supported list has 70 entries covering most of Europe (including Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia, Azerbaijan), much of Asia (including Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan, Thailand), the UAE, Bahrain, several African and Latin American countries, and Australia. Russia and Belarus are not on the list. The simplest way to check is to look at the country picker in the app or on the home page before you upload documents.
How do I apply for KeyOne?
You confirm your country is supported, you submit a government-issued ID (passport, national ID, driving licence or residence permit) with a selfie, you provide proof of address if asked, and the card is issued in the app once the checks pass. There is no separate activation step: the card number, expiry and CVV appear in the app.
Does KeyOne require KYC?
Yes. The flow is a government-issued ID plus a selfie, with a proof of address only if the issuer’s compliance review asks for it. The cardholder agreement does not set a processing time.
How do I top up the KeyOne card?
Crypto with USDC or USDT (the network is shown in the app), bank with SEPA, ACH or Faster Payments, and another Visa or Mastercard at about 4.5%. SEPA in and out is capped at EUR 20,000 a month.
How do I add KeyOne to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Apple Pay is supported in one tap from the app. Google Pay is not stated on the public pages; assume it does not work until you see the option in your wallet app.
How do I close my KeyOne account?
In the app under Profile > Support, or by email. You have to withdraw the balance first; the card and account are closed with the issuer, the deletion is processed within 30 days, and KYC and transaction records are kept for 5 years. Closing the card does not, on its own, close the balance: you still have to withdraw.
Virtual cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
