A prepaid Visa that spends a crypto balance — and what the app won't tell you until you sign up

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Pyypl is a prepaid Visa card that draws on a balance you top up through a phone app, rather than on a bank account. That single design choice explains both the appeal and the friction. If an ordinary bank card has been hard for you to get — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or a banking history you do not have — a card funded by a balance you control looks like a clean way around the account-application wall. And on the everyday side, a prepaid Visa with Apple Pay and Google Pay, no monthly fee and a spend limited by whatever you have loaded, is a reasonable tool.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Pyypl works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

It is also a narrow product. Pyypl’s own legal page limits services to residents of the countries where it is licensed, and that is the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan. If you are not resident in one of those three, nothing else in this review matters much. And even inside them, the card’s public pages are thin: the issuance fee is not published, the FX markup is described only as something that “may apply” by country, the top-up methods are not listed, and the card currency is fixed in US dollars and cannot be changed. So a lot of what you actually need to know lives inside the app, where you can only see it after you have signed up and cleared verification. I have read what is published and weighed it, and my score is 5.0 out of 10.

The conditions described here are current as of October 2026.

Verdict: 5.0 out of 10

five out of ten is not a snide midpoint. It is what you get when a card does three ordinary things correctly and leaves two important questions unanswered. Pyypl is a real, licensed prepaid Visa with a functional app, working mobile wallet support and no monthly fee. That is more than many crypto-branded cards manage. What pulls it down is eligibility geography and transparency: the service is closed to residents outside three countries, and the numbers that decide whether the card is cheap for you — issuance, FX markup, conversion — are not on the public pages.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 Residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan only, because that is where Pyypl is licensed
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly fees; issuance not published, conversion fee “may apply” by country with amounts only in the app; unofficial: ATMs worldwide
Top-up options 3 / 10 Supported methods “in your country” are not listed; Binance Pay not confirmed (an earlier check said Binance Pay with USDT converted to USD)
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Pyypl Ltd, FSRA licence No. 170031 (ADGM), also the Central Bank of Bahrain and AFSA in Kazakhstan; complaints of frozen funds and blocks, Trustpilot 2.8 out of 5 across 828 reviews
Everyday use 7 / 10 Prepaid Visa, digital card in the app, Apple Pay and Google Pay; physical card not mentioned
Total 5.0 / 10 Licensed and usable in three countries; unpublishable prices and thin top-up disclosure

Who this suits: residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan who want a prepaid Visa, hold some crypto or stablecoins, and are comfortable with a card that spends a balance rather than an account. If you want a card that simply debits a bank account and does not care about crypto at all, this is the wrong product and you should stop reading.

Who it does not suit: anyone outside those three countries; anyone whose main worry is cost predictability, because you cannot learn the FX or conversion numbers before installing the app; anyone who plans to hold a large idle balance for a long time; and anyone who has been burned by a custodial platform before and wants a card whose funds are tied to a key they personally hold. That last point is not a Pyypl failing on its own terms — it is a deliberate model — but it is the model.

Before you decide, do one thing: open the app, register with a throwaway-free but serious mindset, and read Profile > Fees and Profile/Settings for your own country before you load anything. The people who like this card are the people who did that first and then decided.

Will they give you the card?

Only residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan, on the current published rules.

Pyypl’s legal page says: “Pyypl services are currently available to residents of the countries in which we are licensed” — the UAE, Bahrain, Kazakhstan. The test is residence, not citizenship. That distinction matters if you hold a passport from somewhere else but live in one of those three: you are inside the product. The reverse is not true.

Note a contradiction you should know about, because it will cost you time if you rely on the wrong page. Some Pyypl material describes availability as “Middle East, Africa, Central Asia” — a much wider door. The legal page contradicts that, and the support centre says only that services “vary” by location while its country article names nothing at all. When a company’s own pages disagree in this way, the narrowest and most legally-worded statement is the one to plan around. Assume three countries and check inside the app.

Outside the three licensed countries, there is no application to make. What you can check before you spend time: whether you actually reside in one of them, and whether your residence is the kind a licensed e-money institution will accept — a lease, a utility bill, an employer letter. Proof of address is not mentioned anywhere on the pages I read, which usually means it is not requested at the first stage. But it can still be requested later, and I would not treat silence as a guarantee.

How to get it

A phone, a mobile number, an ID document, a selfie. That is the whole published list.

The signup flow is described as: “open your account in minutes using just your phone and ID”. You need a smartphone, a valid mobile number, a valid identity document and a selfie. A minimum age exists but the figure is not stated on the pages I read. Proof of address is not mentioned.

What you get is a prepaid Visa, issued digitally in the app. The card currency is USD. A physical card is not mentioned on the page I read — so on the published evidence, plan for a card that lives in your phone and in Apple Pay or Google Pay, and check in the app if a plastic option exists for your market.

Two things about verification are worth planning around. First, features unlock after verification, and your “verification level” affects your limits, but the levels are not named anywhere public — so nobody can tell you in advance which tier you will land in. Second, verification “may take sometime if additional checks are required”, and the reasons for a rejection are not stated. That combination — unstated tiers, unstated timing, unstated rejection grounds — is the single biggest source of frustration in the complaint record I looked at, and it is worth knowing before you are mid-application and anxious.

Practically: have your ID document to hand, make sure your phone number is one you keep, and do the selfie in good light with the document in the same frame if the app asks for that. Nothing here requires a branch visit, which is the genuine convenience of the product.

Fees: what it really costs

The published cost is a single sentence — “No monthly fees” — and then everything else is left to the app.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Pyypl payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

So let me be precise about what is known and what is not, because this is where card comparisons usually go wrong.

Known: no monthly fees. Not known on the public pages: the issuance fee; the crypto conversion fee; the amount of any international or FX fee. The support centre says card, replacement-card and inactivity fees may apply depending on country and product, and that the amounts appear only in the app under Profile > Fees. Limits exist for top-up, per transaction, and daily, monthly and yearly spend, plus send and withdraw; they depend on your country, your verification level and local regulation, and the figures are visible only in Profile/Settings.

Fee or limit What is published
Monthly fee “No monthly fees”
Issuance fee Not stated
Card / replacement / inactivity fees May apply by country and product; amounts only in the app (Profile > Fees)
Conversion of foreign-currency payments Converted to the USD base at transaction time; an international or FX fee or markup “may apply” by country; amounts not published
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM withdrawals Not stated on official pages; unofficial: ATM withdrawals worldwide
Card currency US dollars, “cannot be changed”
Tiers A single tier is stated — one prepaid card, features vary by market
Limits Top-up, per transaction, daily, monthly, yearly spend, send and withdraw; figures only in the app

Now three everyday payments, so the shape of the cost is concrete.

Paying for a $30 subscription in dollars, from a dollar balance. This is the clean case. No conversion, no FX layer. The card does what a prepaid card does, and the only fee that could bite is one of the country-specific fees that lives in the app.

Paying for a EUR 25 item while your balance sits in dollars. The amount is converted to the USD card base at transaction time, and an international or FX fee or markup “may apply” depending on your country. This is the payment where a Pyypl user can quietly bleed money, and — this is the part that matters — you cannot see the rate or the markup before you have the app open. Compare that with an alternative that publishes “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” and you realise how little a single sentence is worth.

Paying after converting crypto into your card balance. The crypto conversion fee is not stated. The card side of that payment may be free; the cost sits either in the conversion rate you receive inside the app or in a fee the app shows you at the moment you convert. Either way it is a number you meet at the transaction, not a number you can budget from a table.

One thing you can rely on: because the card is prepaid and draws on a stored balance, it cannot overdraw. You will not be charged for spending money you do not have. That is a real safety property, and it is the same property that makes a large idle balance feel uncomfortable — the money is in someone else’s system, not yours.

Top up: how the balance gets there

The top-up method is described as the “supported methods in your country”, via the app’s Top-up function. The methods themselves are not listed.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Pyypl starts with a transfer to the right network

That sentence is the entire published answer, and it is why I scored top-up options 3 out of 10. Not because the routes are necessarily bad, but because the one thing a reader needs — the list — is deliberately country-scoped and therefore invisible from outside. On Binance Pay, the current pages do not mention it. An earlier check of Pyypl’s material recorded Binance Pay with USDT converted to USD. Treat that as history, not as a current feature: if it matters to you, confirm it in the app.

Timing is at least stated in two buckets: “Some methods are instant, while others may take 1-3 business days”. Fees and minimums for top-ups are not stated. So budget for a wait of up to three business days on some routes, and know that instant probably means instant and instant-fee, since the fee is not published.

Two facts to keep separate, because they belong to different places in your head. On-chain network fees — gas or bandwidth — are charged by the blockchain for your transfer, not by Pyypl. So the amount that leaves your crypto wallet may be slightly more than the amount that lands on the card, and that difference is not a Pyypl fee. What Pyypl charges for loading is a separate, unpublished number.

And the network question is not academic. A transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Before your first top-up, confirm in the app which networks and assets it expects, and copy addresses rather than pasting them — clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address for its own is a real and common theft vector.

On the way out: send and withdraw fees and limits depend on your country and product, and crypto withdrawal is not stated. What happens to a remaining balance if you close your account is also not stated. If you intend to close, ask support that question in writing before you close anything.

Paying with it every day

It is a prepaid Visa in the app, and it goes into Apple Pay and Google Pay — which is the practical answer to “where can I use this”.

The daily experience is unremarkable in the way you want it to be. Add your card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and you tap or pay from your phone at anything that takes contactless cards. The card network is Visa, so acceptance is wherever Visa is accepted.

A few ordinary realities of a foreign-issued prepaid card, which apply to Pyypl as they do to this whole category:

Not stated for this card: any cashback or rewards, whether any categories are blocked, and the dispute process for card purchases. There is a gift-card refund article and the Terms point to product-specific terms, but neither tells me what happens if a shop takes your money and does not deliver. Do not assume the protections you would have with a credit card under US Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed.

There are Android and iPhone apps, with store links in the app itself. I could not read the store ratings on 2026-10-21, so I am not going to quote an app score I did not see — and you should treat any rating you find as current, because these change weekly.

What can go wrong

Two different things can go wrong here, and they are worth separating: your money being stuck inside someone else’s system, and the company’s own record of complaints.

On the company: no official incidents came up in my search. But the user record is consistent and specific. On Trustpilot, read 2026-10-21, the TrustScore is 2.5 out of 5 across 828 reviews — counts varied between 821 and 828 across the snippets I saw, and only 11 of those reviews were in the last twelve months, so the volume is not growing fast but the ratio is stark: 46% five stars, 39% one star. The themes: withdrawals or frozen funds across 2025-2026; locked accounts in May and August 2026; support that does not respond across 2024-2026; and reports of the service not being available in a user’s region, or the app being removed, in 2025. One report describes funds frozen or not returned in January 2026, refunds unprocessed for three months or more, and an account blocked after verification was removed.

The score line in the table says Trustpilot 2.8 out of 5; my own read of the page on 2026-10-21 gave 2.5. Both numbers are from the same source at different moments. I would plan around the worse of the two.

Now the structural risk, which is not a scandal but is the thing to understand before you deposit. Pyypl is a custodial setup. Pyypl Ltd is incorporated in the Abu Dhabi Global Market (registration no. 000001116) with FSRA Licence No. 170031 “for providing money services”, and it is also regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain and the Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan. The card is issued by Pyypl under its principal Visa membership. And Pyypl states plainly: “We are not a bank, and balances … are not deposits.” That sentence is legally important. Your balance is not a bank deposit and does not carry deposit-guarantee protection. Under EU e-money rules an institution must safeguard customer funds, but Pyypl does not state that it does so — safeguarding is not stated.

So the risk is a counterparty risk, in the plain sense: if the operator stalls, is blocked, or winds the programme down, your balance is stuck until they let it out. This is not hypothetical for the category. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, but the shape is the shape.

The mitigations Pyypl does publish are the ordinary modern ones: freeze and unfreeze in the app, spend notifications, PCI DSS, encryption, and 24/7 fraud monitoring. Support is an in-app Help Center with a bot first and then a human agent, plus a web form on the contact page. Both complaint themes I just described — bot loops, and frozen accounts — are exactly the cases where that support structure is under strain.

The practical rule I would follow: keep a loaded balance that you could afford to lose or to have trapped for months, and treat the card as a spending tool rather than a place to hold money.

What to take instead

If Pyypl’s three-country limit rules you out, the same problem is being solved by other people with somewhat different trade-offs. Three, with numbers where they are published.

Alternative Score Card and cost Fees Funding
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, pays in USD; physical “Coming soon”; issuance $5 one-time, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month Card use in USD free on all plans; foreign currency “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind free USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1; networks not stated; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spends from the UNi.Global account balance; physical/virtual not stated; “No annual fee”; issuance fee not stated “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; converted at “live OTC rates”; “No hidden exchange fees” Not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores; virtual/physical and card currency not stated; “No extra fees” with no amounts listed Not stated Spends from a Whop balance; a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals use settled funds; backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated

Rewards, since people ask: UNi Card advertises “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3% with the card. Whop Cards advertises 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned — payout currency and conditions not stated. The International Visa Card states no cashback. Pyypl’s rewards position is not stated — no cashback is mentioned anywhere I read.

Who each of these fits instead:

The International Visa Card, if you want published numbers most of all. It is the only one of the four with a stated issuance fee and a stated FX formula, which means you can compute your cost before you sign up — the thing Pyypl makes impossible. Its cost is that its own eligibility list is long and blunt: not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case, and purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. It is also virtual only, for now. And it is not free: $5 to issue, with paid tiers if you want extras.

UNi Card, if currency flexibility is the point. A multicurrency card on Mastercard with no foreign transaction fee and conversion at live OTC rates is a better fit than a dollar-pinned card for someone who lives and spends in more than one currency. Two things it does not tell you: who is eligible, and how you fund it.

Whop Cards, if you are in the US and your income arrives through that ecosystem rather than through a bank. Its eligibility is US-state-based — 31 states for consumers, listed on the page — with an unsupported-country list that overlaps the one above. Its cost disclosure is thinner than the International Visa Card’s: “No extra fees” with no figures, and no conversion or FX amounts at all.

None of these is a clean recommendation, and I want to be honest about that rather than manufacture a winner. They are all custodial, all narrow in eligibility, and all quiet about something important. The structural point is that this category has a recurring pattern — a card is a front end, the licence sits with someone else, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager. In Pyypl’s case the licence is Pyypl’s own (ADGM, Bahrain, Kazakhstan), which is cleaner than a pure marketing layer, but the money is still inside the operator.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Pyypl to a resident of the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan who: wants a Visa rather than a Mastercard, is comfortable holding a dollar-denominated balance, already has crypto or stablecoins to convert, will use the card mostly through Apple Pay or Google Pay, and has read the fees screen in the app before loading money.

I would not recommend it to: anyone outside those three countries; anyone who wants to know their FX cost before committing; anyone planning to keep a substantial balance parked on it; and anyone who has been affected by a frozen-funds complaint before and has not yet decided they are comfortable with that trade-off again.

If you are in the three countries and the app’s fees screen shows you a number you find acceptable, this is a competent prepaid card with real licences behind it. The grade is held down by disclosure and geography, not by the product being broken.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Pyypl card?

Pyypl is a prepaid Visa card you spend from a balance you load through its mobile app, rather than from a bank account. It is issued in the app as a digital card and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Pyypl describes itself as prepaid, not as a debit card linked to your bank, and says plainly that it is not a bank and that balances are not deposits. Because it is prepaid, the card draws only on a loaded balance and cannot overdraw.

How does the Pyypl card work?

You register with a phone, mobile number, ID document and selfie, clear verification, and receive a digital Visa card in the app. You convert or transfer money onto the card, then pay with it in stores or online, in person or through your phone’s wallet. Payments in other currencies are converted to the US dollar base at the moment of the transaction. Your “verification level” affects your limits, and the levels are not named publicly.

Is Pyypl a bank, and who owns it?

No. Pyypl Ltd states that it is not a bank and that balances are not deposits, which means your money is not covered by a bank deposit guarantee scheme. It is incorporated in the Abu Dhabi Global Market, registration no. 000001116, and holds FSRA Licence No. 170031 for providing money services. It is also regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain and the Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan, and issues the card under its own principal Visa membership.

Which countries can use the Pyypl card?

The published answer is the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan. Pyypl’s legal page says services are available to residents of the countries in which it is licensed, and those are the three named. The test is residence, not citizenship. Some other Pyypl material describes availability more widely as “Middle East, Africa, Central Asia”, which contradicts the legal page — plan on the narrower, three-country version and confirm in the app.

How much does the Pyypl card cost?

The published figure is “No monthly fees”. Beyond that, the public pages do not disclose the issuance fee, the crypto conversion fee, or the amount of any international or FX markup, which “may apply” by country. The support centre says card, replacement-card and inactivity fees may also apply, with amounts visible only in the app under Profile > Fees. In practice you cannot compute your cost before installing the app.

How do I top up the Pyypl card?

Through the app’s Top-up function, using the “supported methods in your country” — the methods themselves are not listed publicly, and they vary by where you live. Some are instant; others may take 1 to 3 business days. Top-up fees and minimums are not stated. Note that on-chain network fees for a crypto transfer are charged by the blockchain, not by Pyypl, and that a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost.

Is the Pyypl card safe, and can I use it with Apple Pay?

Pyypl publishes the standard safeguards: freeze and unfreeze in the app, spend notifications, PCI DSS compliance, encryption, and 24/7 fraud monitoring. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported — Pyypl’s page says “Add your card to Apple Pay or Google Pay”. Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time code. Safeguarding of your balance is not stated, and the balance is custodial.

What do people complain about on Trustpilot?

Read on 2026-10-21, Trustpilot showed a TrustScore around 2.5 to 2.8 out of 5 across roughly 828 reviews, of which only 11 fell in the last twelve months. Ratings split 46% five stars and 39% one star. Recurring themes are frozen or unreturned funds and delayed withdrawals, accounts locked after verification was removed, unresponsive support, and reports that the service was unavailable in some regions.

Can I withdraw money from Pyypl, and what happens to my balance if I close?

Send and withdraw fees and limits depend on your country and product, and crypto withdrawal specifically is not stated. What happens to a remaining balance if you close your account is also not stated on the pages I read. If closing is on your agenda, ask support that question directly and in writing first, and withdraw while the account is still open rather than assuming the remainder is returned automatically.

Is a Pyypl card worth it?

It is worth it if you are a resident of the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan, hold crypto or stablecoins, want a dollar-denominated prepaid Visa, will mostly pay through your phone, and have checked the fee and limit screens in the app. It is not worth it if you need published costs before committing, if you plan to park a large balance on it, or if a frozen-account history would make you uneasy. My score is 5.0 out of 10, held there by geography and thin disclosure.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team