A virtual card that spends crypto, with fees you can only see in the app

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

DigitalPurse is a virtual payment card that you fund with crypto and then spend like an ordinary card through your phone’s mobile wallet. There is no plastic in the post — the product is the card number in your Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. The pitch is speed and a light-touch onboarding, but the part I keep coming back to while reading the card’s own materials is how much of the money side is simply not written down. Issuance fees, top-up fees, monthly fees, spending limits, card network, card currency, issuer — none of it appears on the public pages. The one thing the company does commit to is that creation and top-up fees are shown inside the app while you are making the card, which is a reasonable design and also, for anyone weighing the product from the outside, an unusually important caveat.

DigitalPurse works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

So who is this for? In plain terms: someone who needs a spendable balance fast, is comfortable with crypto already sitting on an exchange or in a wallet, and can live with a prepaid-style card that has no chargeback and no cash access. If you want an ordinary debit card that draws on a bank account, with the consumer protections that come with it, this is the wrong shape of product and there are better fits. My score for it is 5.8 out of 10 — a middle mark, dragged down less by anything being broken and more by how much is hidden until you are inside the app.

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

DigitalPurse card review score

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 No country list and no stated exclusions; no citizenship or residence restrictions disclosed; issuing region not revealed
Cost 5 / 10 Officially, issuance and top-up fees appear in the app at creation, with no figures on the site; unofficial sources disagree
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT, USDC; networks not disclosed; no extra fees quoted for USDT and USDC
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issuer not named, platform is not a bank; chargebacks not supported; strong public ratings but complaints about declines at some hosts
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual only; Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay supported; ATM use not permitted
Total 5.8 / 10 A workable prepaid virtual card with an unusually large amount of undisclosed detail

The single best thing about DigitalPurse is the top-up list: six assets including two stablecoins, and no extra fee attached to the stablecoins. The single worst thing is that I cannot tell you what the card costs, because the card’s public pages do not say. That is not a reason to walk away on its own — plenty of services work this way and show you the price at the moment of purchase — but it does mean you should read the in-app fee lines before you load anything, and treat anything a third-party site tells you as a rumour rather than a fact.

Will they give you the card

The honest answer is that the card does not say. There is no list of eligible countries, no stated exclusions, no mention of citizenship or residence requirements, and no named issuing region on the public pages. That is unusual for a card that is pitched as widely available, and it is exactly the question a reader searching “is the DigitalPurse card available in my country” is trying to get answered. Nobody outside the company can answer it for you from the published information. Your realistic path is the practical one: download the app and see whether it lets you proceed. Age is the one hard number given — 18+ — with one account per individual.

Two further structural points worth holding on to. First, the card describes itself as a technology platform and not a bank, and says services may be facilitated by third-party licensed financial institutions. The issuer is not named, and neither are the registration country or any licence. Second, the whole product is virtual: created in the app or through a Telegram bot, described as “available instantly”, with orders processed right away that “may take up to 24 hours”. There is no physical card version, so if you are the kind of person who wants a card for a shop that only takes plastic, this is not it.

How to get it

You download the app, create an account, and you are issued a virtual card. That is genuinely the whole flow as described — the home page says only “create an account” after you get the app. The card then lives in your mobile wallet and is used in store through Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. The network the card runs on is not stated, and neither is the currency the card is denominated in.

On identity checks, the picture is unusually mixed, and this is where you need to read carefully:

The card also does not state processing times for verification or the reasons a verification can be rejected. If your situation means you need verified status, that is a question to put to support before you rely on the card, not after.

What DigitalPurse really costs: Fees and limits

Here I have to be blunt: the card’s public pages do not publish the numbers. Issuance fees are not stated. Monthly fees are not stated. Conversion fees are not stated. The terms say purchases “may be subject to handling fees” and that amounts are “detailed in the specific terms” of each product — which is a pointer to somewhere else rather than an answer.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a DigitalPurse payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What is officially stated about the money side:

Unofficial figures exist and they conflict. One App Store reviewer says the company charges an extra $3 for a virtual card and requires a minimum $6 balance. cryptocards.so lists issuance, top-up and monthly fee as free. Those cannot both be true, neither is confirmed by the card, and I would not plan around either.

Fee or limit What the card publishes
Issuance / card creation Not stated; shown in the app during creation
Monthly fee Not stated
Top-up fee Not stated; scales with amount on privacy cards, extra fees possible for non-fiat methods
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
Payments in a currency other than USD Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not permitted
Handling fee on purchases Purchases “may be subject to handling fees”
Starting balance Virtual cards offered with a “starting balance of up to $1,000 – $10,000”
Spending and ATM limits Not stated
Daily / monthly caps Unverified users have caps, amounts not stated; verified users get higher limits
Card type split Reloadable vs non-reloadable; KYC vs Non-KYC, with Non-KYC priced higher

Three everyday payments, walked through, so you can see which of those lines actually bites:

Buying coffee on a card loaded with USDT. The top-up path is USDT, which carries no extra fee on the card’s own statement, and your balance arrives as USD. What you do not know is the conversion rate or spread used at the moment of payment, and the network fee on the blockchain side, which is charged by the network rather than by the card provider. You will be spending well under $1,000 if you take a card at the lower end of the starting balance range.

Paying a subscription in euros. Your balance is USD, so the payment involves conversion, and the spread or fee on non-USD payments is not stated. This is the payment type most likely to surprise you, because you have no figure to check against.

Withdrawing cash. Not possible. ATM withdrawals are not permitted, so any plan that depends on getting physical cash from this card has to be a different plan.

How to Top up

Six assets are supported: BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT and USDC. The card does not state which blockchain networks each is accepted on, which is the single most consequential omission in this section — a transfer sent on the wrong network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up DigitalPurse starts with a transfer to the right network

The mechanics are simple. On a reloadable card you select the card and choose “Add Funds”. Non-reloadable cards cannot be topped up; the card’s phrasing is that you can buy as many as you want. Minimum top-up is not stated.

On fees, the card says creation and top-up fees appear in the card description during creation and scale with the amount on privacy cards, and that extra fees are possible for non-fiat methods. It specifically notes that BTC, ETH, LTC and XMR may cost more, citing volatility and processing, and suggests USDT, USDC, bank transfer or mobile money to avoid extra charges. No extra fees are quoted for USDT or USDC.

That recommendation aligns with the general mechanics of stablecoins. A USD-denominated stablecoin transfer on a supported network is typically the cheapest and least volatile route into a card balance, while crypto majors carry both market movement between the moment you send and the moment the balance is credited, and whatever network fee the chain charges.

Withdrawing is a separate question from top-ups, and the answer is thin. The FAQ says “Yes, you can withdraw your funds. Terms and conditions apply.” The help center describes a path: select the active card, then More/Manage, then “Withdraw Funds”. Fees, minimum amounts, timing and destination are all not stated. What happens to a remaining balance if you close a card or close your account is also not stated — and that, given there is no chargeback and no ATM, is the question I would ask first.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is one of the weaker parts of this card. It is virtual only, so it works where a merchant accepts a mobile wallet — Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, per the site. Apple Pay in particular replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, with a one-time code per payment, which is a good sign for how you handle it day to day. The issuer can also restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on phone, online or magnetic stripe — without anything changing on your end.

The prohibited purchases list, which the card says is not exhaustive, includes betting and casino gambling, government-licensed online casinos, non-sport internet gaming, dating and escort services, security brokers and dealers, foreign or non-fiat currency, wires and money orders, and cash disbursements. This is issuer policy, not law, and the practical reason is well known: many issuers block gambling merchant categories outright, and merchant category codes are what make those decisions possible. Budget for a decline, not a ban, in other categories.

Three things people usually look for are missing or thin:

What can go wrong

No chargebacks, at all. The card says plainly that it cannot support chargebacks, citing unsustainable fraud, the finality of blockchain transactions and privacy, and says this also applies to sub-issuers. That is the single largest practical difference between this card and a bank card. Under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift toward the bank; with no chargeback, that protection is largely gone. Gift-code orders are a special case with no returns or refunds once processed.

Declines at some merchants. A third-party aggregator, and one App Store reviewer, both report cards being declined at Google Cloud, Azure and DigitalOcean. The explanation offered is prepaid BIN blocking — merchants look up the first six or eight digits of a card number, see a prepaid card issued in a particular country, and decline it. This is the same mechanism behind the general rule that prepaid and foreign-issued cards get extra scrutiny. The aggregator also cites Reddit threads from users in Ghana and Nigeria that I could not verify, and an earlier reading of Trustpilot through a different domain gave 4.5 from 192 reviews.

Declines that still take your money. The help center carries articles on refunds that have not arrived, double charges, and a merchant declining but taking the money — none of which I read, so I can’t tell you the resolution times. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on funds that persists for several days, typically up to seven.

Custodial risk. The card says it holds funds with the platform and its sub-issuers, which makes this custodial by nature: the private keys are on someone else’s side. You are trusting a company you cannot audit. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure — Mt. Gox at roughly US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck around US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022 — and a blockchain transfer has no built-in reversal because the network cannot freeze or return funds. The card’s own security language is about encryption, minimal data collection and strict access controls. Whether there is in-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls or insurance is not stated, though it does say you can cap the amount loaded onto a card to limit spending — which, given no chargeback, is the single most sensible habit to build here.

Where the company sits. The footer reads © DECLASSIC TECHNOLOGIES LLC 2026. The site says it is a technology platform, not a bank, and that services may be facilitated by third-party licensed financial institutions. The issuer is not named. Registration country and licences are not stated. No dated licence, issuer or programme events appear on the official site or help center.

Support. Available 24/7 through in-app support, a Telegram bot, a Help Center with 29 English articles, and an email address for failed purchases. That’s a good spread. Reviews both praise and criticise support quality.

Public ratings, read 20 October 2026. Trustpilot shows 4.8 out of 5 from 232 reviews, 60 of them in the last 12 months, the latest dated 19 October 2026, with visible reviews largely positive; the aggregator notes the company has not recently invited customers to review. Treat this as a healthy signal, not a guarantee.

What to take instead

None of the alternatives below clears the transparency problem — they are cards with their own gaps — but each solves a different shape of the problem.

DigitalPurse Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.8 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Card type Virtual only, mobile wallet Virtual and physical, on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay Virtual USD Mastercard Prepaid, network not stated on the App Store page
Eligibility Not stated “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no country list or exclusions Aimed at Nigeria and “global users”; no country list Official pages state none; App Store says works in “more than 176 countries”
Funding BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT, USDC USDT, USDC, BTC BTC, USDT, ETH, or Naira bank transfer Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH
Balance currency USD Naira per listing USD USD or EUR
Fees Not stated Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion; no percentage stated Virtual card creation free; other fees not stated Not stated; App Store lists no fees
Rewards Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

The three comparisons in a sentence each: Cardex is the one with a stated conversion mechanism — an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans exchange rates and picks one at the moment of spend — plus real card-network variety and a physical option, but no fee percentage published. CardFlow is the cheapest to start on the card-creation line and aimed squarely at Nigerian users, with Naira bank transfer as a funding route, but is virtual USD Mastercard only. HyperCard is the simplest of the four, funded in USD or EUR, but says the least of all.

Who I would recommend it to

I’d recommend DigitalPurse to someone in a specific situation: you already hold crypto, you need a spendable balance today, in-store spending through your phone is how you pay anyway, and you are at peace with a prepaid card that offers no chargeback, no cash withdrawal and figures you can only see inside the app. If your crypto is in USDT or USDC, the cost story is as good as it gets for this category. If you can cap how much you load onto a card, you can live with the no-chargeback part. Read the fee lines in the app before you fund it, and check that the networks it accepts for your asset are the ones you’d send on.

I would not recommend it if any of the following is true. You want to dispute a transaction. You need cash from an ATM. You want a card that a shop’s staff will treat as unremarkable. You want to know your monthly cost before you sign up. Or you need a specific answer about whether your country is eligible and don’t have time to find out by downloading an app. In those cases, an ordinary bank or e-money card from a provider in your own country will serve you better, even if it means converting crypto through an exchange first.

Frequently asked questions

What is the DigitalPurse card?

DigitalPurse is a virtual payment card funded with crypto rather than a bank account. You load BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT or USDC onto it, and the balance sits in USD to be spent in store through Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. There is no physical card — the product is the card number inside your mobile wallet. The card describes itself as a technology platform, not a bank.

Does the DigitalPurse card require KYC?

Not as a condition of signing up, according to the card. The home page describes only creating an account after downloading the app. KYC “may” be required for certain payments or products, and separate Non-KYC cards exist at a higher price. Unverified users carry daily and monthly order caps of unstated amounts. Which documents are needed, and how long verification takes, is not stated on the public pages.

Is DigitalPurse a bank, and who owns it?

No. The site states plainly that it is a technology platform, not a bank, and that services may be facilitated by third-party licensed financial institutions. The footer reads © DECLASSIC TECHNOLOGIES LLC 2026. The issuer is not named, and neither the registration country nor any licence is stated. That is worth knowing before you fund it — you are trusting a company rather than an institution you can identify in a regulator’s register.

What does the DigitalPurse card cost?

The card’s public pages do not publish any of the numbers: not issuance, not monthly, not conversion, not foreign-currency. Officially, creation and top-up fees appear in the card description inside the app during creation, and on privacy cards they scale with the amount. Unofficial sources disagree — one App Store reviewer cites $3 for a virtual card and a $6 minimum balance, while a third-party site lists these fees as free. Read the app’s fee lines yourself.

Can I use a DigitalPurse card in my country?

The card does not say. There is no country list, no stated exclusions, no citizenship or residence conditions and no named issuing region anywhere on the public pages. Age 18+ and one account per individual are the only eligibility statements. Your only real test is to download the app and see whether it lets you proceed — which is exactly the wrong thing to discover after you have funded something.

How do I top up a DigitalPurse card?

On a reloadable card, select the card and choose “Add Funds”. You can send BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT or USDC; the card does not state which blockchain networks are accepted, which matters a great deal. It notes that the major coins may cost more due to volatility and processing, and suggests USDT, USDC, bank transfer or mobile money to avoid extra charges. Non-reloadable cards cannot be topped up — you buy a new one instead.

Why is my DigitalPurse card declined at cloud providers?

The likeliest reason is prepaid BIN blocking. Merchants can look up the first six or eight digits of your card number and see both the issuer and the issuing country, then decline prepaid or foreign cards on policy. Google Cloud, Azure and DigitalOcean are specifically named in third-party reports. A related mechanic is address verification, which compares numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. Try another card or another merchant before concluding the card is broken.

Can I withdraw money from DigitalPurse, or use an ATM?

No ATM withdrawals — the card states they are considered a “transfer of value” and are not permitted, and both automated and manual cash disbursements appear on the prohibited purchases list. Ordinary withdrawals are possible: the FAQ says you can withdraw your funds with terms and conditions applying, and the help center describes selecting the active card, then More/Manage, then “Withdraw Funds”. Fees, minimums, timing and destination are not stated, nor is what happens to a leftover balance.

Is a DigitalPurse card safe?

Safer than cash, less protected than a bank card, and specific about it. The card describes secure encryption, minimal data collection and strict access controls, and it is custodial by nature — funds are held with the platform and sub-issuers, so you depend on their security. Crucially, it cannot support chargebacks, which removes your main route to reversing a bad payment. It does let you cap the amount loaded onto a card, which is the sensible habit here.

Is the DigitalPurse card worth it?

Worth it if you already hold USDT or USDC, want a spendable balance quickly, and pay in store through your phone. Not worth it if you need chargebacks, cash, or a clear answer about costs before committing. The card has no rewards and no physical option, so there is little to offset the missing protections. Read the in-app fee lines, keep loaded balances small, and treat third-party figures as unconfirmed.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team