What you actually get with the UNi card, and what the fine print leaves out
The UNi card is a multicurrency Mastercard that draws on a UNi.Global account balance, and the people behind it pitch it as a way to spend crypto and fiat through one piece of plastic without paying annual fees or foreign transaction fees. The marketing leans hard on a 3% Spend-to-Earn reward, free currency conversion at “live OTC rates,” and a wallet that supports 12 or more currencies. What the public pages do not lean on, and what becomes obvious the moment you start trying to check the details, is everything else: which countries you can sign up from, how much the card costs to issue, what the ATM and top-up fees look like, and who actually issues the card in the background. The score I came out with, 6.1 out of 10, reflects a product that looks generous on headline costs but leaves the reader to do a lot of guessing on the rest.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
I scored the UNi card 6.1 out of 10, and the breakdown of how I got there is below. The good half of the card is real: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates,” multicurrency spend in 12+ wallet currencies, a Mastercard rail, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a Spend-to-Earn reward of up to 3%. The weaker half is the part the card’s public pages do not say much about: the supported countries are described as “subject to jurisdictional limitations” without a list, the issuance fee is not stated, top-up and withdrawal methods are not stated, daily and monthly limits are not stated, the card issuer is not named, and the ATM situation is not stated. If you are a multi-currency spender who wants a fee-light card for everyday purchases and you are comfortable not seeing the full table of charges in advance, the UNi card is worth considering. If you are the kind of reader who wants to know who is behind the card, where you can use it, and what it costs to load before you sign up, you will find a lot of blank space.

| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Countries are not named; the card is offered “subject to jurisdictional limitations” without a published list. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No annual fee and no foreign transaction fee; conversion at “live OTC rates.” Issuance fee not stated. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Top-up methods are not stated; the wallet supports 12+ currencies and the card spends from the UNi.Global balance. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | UNi.Global is described as an AUSTRAC-regulated service provider with offices in Sydney, Auckland, Hong Kong and Taipei; the issuer is not named; no public complaints were found. |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | A multicurrency Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and instant card-freeze in the app. Card type and ATM support are not stated. |
| Total | 6.1 / 10 |
Will they give you the card
The first thing I usually look at is who can actually get a card, because that decides whether the rest of the review applies to you. With UNi, this is also the part of the picture with the most missing pieces.
The official public pages I checked do not name the countries where the UNi card is available, and they do not give a list of excluded jurisdictions either. The wording is that the card is offered “subject to jurisdictional limitations,” which is the sort of phrase card programmes use when the answer depends on where you live, where you are a citizen, or where you are registered for tax. If you are reading this from a major market, you may well be eligible; if you are reading it from somewhere under sanctions, or from a country the issuer has quietly decided not to serve, the only way to find out is to start the sign-up and let the system tell you.
The age rule is the one bit of clarity. To open a UNi.Global account and qualify for the UNi card you have to be 18 or older, and the verification step, which I describe next, takes one to two business days. There is no information on the public pages about whether a second tier of checks exists, what counts as a “jurisdictional limitation,” or whether additional documents can be requested after you start.
Because country availability is not published, the practical advice is to check the eligibility page in the app or on the website before you hand over any documents. If the country field rejects you, no documents are wasted; if it accepts you, you are at least past the first gate.
How to get it
The sign-up flow is described in the same terms on the public pages, and the one to two business day timeline is the only specific number attached to it.
The steps, in order, are: provide personal information (name, date of birth, address), scan an identity document, take a selfie, and supply a proof of address, which the public pages describe as a bank statement or utility bill. The card is unlocked only after this verification finishes, and the page says it usually takes one to two business days. There is no separate “card application” step described: KYC, fiat services, and the UNi card sit behind the same verification, so once you are through the door you are through it for everything.
On the card itself, the public pages describe a multicurrency UNi card on the Mastercard network that spends from the UNi.Global account balance. They do not state whether you receive a physical card, a virtual card, or both, and they do not give a delivery time. If the card is only virtual, you would add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay from inside the app; if a physical version is offered, the same plastic would presumably be sent to the address on your KYC file, but I could not confirm that on the public pages.
The practical point here is that almost everything in this section is described in general terms: the time window (one to two business days), the network (Mastercard), the account (UNi.Global), and the documents (ID, selfie, proof of address). If you need specifics, they appear further down the funnel, in the app or in support, and not on the marketing pages.
What it really costs
This is the part of the card the public pages talk about with the most confidence, and the costs table below is built from what they say. Everything in the “not stated” rows is genuinely missing, not a number I have guessed at.
| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated |
| Annual / monthly fee | No annual fee |
| Foreign transaction fee | None |
| Conversion | Live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates; “no hidden exchange fees” |
| ATM withdrawals | Not stated |
| Daily spending limit | Not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | Not stated |
The four “stated” rows are the strengths. “No annual fee” and “no foreign transaction fee” are simple, easy to verify promises, and the conversion line is unusually plain: assets are converted at “live OTC rates” with “no hidden exchange fees.” For someone who travels or pays across borders, that combination removes a lot of the small print most cards hide.
The four “not stated” rows are where the score dips. Issuance, ATM, daily and monthly limits are all part of what most card products list in their fee schedule, and UNi’s public pages do not list them. The honest reading is that the card wants to advertise its zeroes and let you find the non-zeroes later. If you are weighing the UNi card against another card, the missing numbers matter, and you should expect to ask support for them or to discover them in the app.
A few everyday situations help make this concrete.
Buying a coffee abroad. You tap the card in a café in a country that uses a different currency. The card converts your UNi.Global balance at the live OTC rate, with no foreign transaction fee and no “hidden” exchange markup on top. The reward is up to 3% back through Spend-to-Earn. The fee you would not see is the merchant’s own card-present cost, which is built into the price and is not a fee the card adds. As long as the card form factor is supported at the terminal — Mastercard contactless, Apple Pay, Google Pay — this is the kind of transaction the card is built for.
Paying a foreign subscription. You pay a streaming or software subscription billed in a currency you do not hold. The card converts from your chosen wallet currency at the OTC rate and the merchant sees a Mastercard transaction. Because the public pages do not state whether the card supports 3-D Secure by default, you should expect a small number of foreign merchants to either require an extra step or to decline a foreign-issued card, especially if they rely on AVS in the US, Canada or the UK.
Topping up and spending in the same currency. If you top up your UNi.Global balance in the wallet currency you plan to spend in, conversion is not triggered at the point of sale. The card still earns the Spend-to-Earn reward where the merchant qualifies, but you avoid the conversion step entirely. The missing top-up methods and any fees they carry are the gap here, and I cover that in the next section.
How to top up the UNi card
This is the second section in a row where the public pages get thin, and I want to be honest about the shape of the gap rather than fill it in.

The card spends from the UNi.Global account balance, and the wallet supports 12 or more currencies, so the user model is: load a balance in one or more currencies, switch the card to spend in a given currency, and let the card draw on that balance. The Spend-to-Earn reward is layered on top of the spend. What the public pages do not state is how the balance is loaded in the first place, whether transfers in are free, which networks or rails are supported, and what it costs to move money out of the balance back to a bank or a wallet.
The practical consequences are real. If you are paid in a currency the wallet supports, you would expect a direct deposit or a local rail. If you hold crypto, you would expect a transfer to a deposit address, on a network the card provider supports, with the usual on-chain network fee. None of that is confirmed in the public materials I read, and the closest the information available comes to an answer is that membership levels exist without a published description of what each tier gives. For a card whose main pitch is that it is the bridge between crypto and everyday spending, the lack of a top-up and withdrawal section on the public pages is a meaningful gap.
What I would do, before treating the UNi card as my primary spending card, is open the app, look at the deposit and withdrawal screens, and check the fee disclosure there. If the top-up cost is on the order of a normal on-chain fee, the rest of the value proposition still holds; if there is a percentage fee or a minimum, the card’s fee-light reputation does not transfer to the loading step.
Paying with it every day
The public pages give a cleaner picture of the everyday experience than they do of the top-up experience, and there are several pieces worth holding on to.
The card is a multicurrency Mastercard, which in practice means it works anywhere Mastercard is accepted online and in physical stores that take contactless payment. If you have a card form factor, you tap or insert; if not, the wallet integration is the path. The card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a tokenised device number is what the merchant sees, not the long card number. You can also freeze and unfreeze the card in the app without limit, and the app sends real-time alerts for each transaction. Both are standard expectations in 2026, and it is good to see them confirmed.
The Spend-to-Earn reward is the headline number, up to 3%, and the language is that you earn it when you spend with the UNi card. The public pages do not state the reward currency, the merchant exclusions, the monthly cap, or whether the percentage varies by tier or by spending category. A 3% headline can mean a lot of things: 3% on everything, 3% on a curated list of merchants, 3% on the first few hundred dollars a month, or 3% only at the top membership tier. If the reward is the reason you are considering the card, this is the part to confirm in the app.
The app itself is on both major stores. The Apple App Store listing is “UNi.Global: Invest & Spend BTC” in the Estonian store, and the Google Play listing is uni.global.mcdc_client_app. I did not read the ratings, but both exist, both are available, and both are how you reach support and account settings. Support itself runs through live chat and an FAQ inside the app for registered customers, and through [email protected] by email outside the app.
The everyday-use picture, then, is: a multicurrency Mastercard with mobile wallet support, a freeze switch, real-time alerts, and a reward of up to 3%. What is missing is a stated ATM policy, a stated form factor, a stated dispute process, and a stated reward rulebook. For a card you plan to use abroad, the absence of a stated ATM policy is the gap I would press on first.
What can go wrong
A few of the risks are generic to crypto cards and a few are specific to what the public pages do and do not say about UNi. I have tried to keep them in the order in which a careful reader would meet them.
The first risk is the missing country list. “Subject to jurisdictional limitations” is not the same as a published list, and depending on where you live, you may not be able to sign up at all. If the country you live in is restricted, the documents you upload to KYC are still uploaded, and the verification step still takes one to two business days. The fix is to check the eligibility page before sending anything in.
The second risk is the missing fee schedule. The card tells you what it does not charge (no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee) and what its conversion model is (live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees”). It does not tell you what it does charge, because the issuance fee, ATM fee, and spending limits are not stated. If you sign up assuming the rest is also zero, you may be surprised by the first statement or the first ATM visit. The fix is to find the full fee schedule in the app before you make the card your primary one.
The third risk is the missing issuer. UNi.Global describes itself as an AUSTRAC-regulated service provider with offices in Sydney, Auckland, Hong Kong and Taipei, but the public pages do not name the bank or e-money institution that actually issues the Mastercard. This is normal for crypto card programmes, where the brand is a programme manager and the regulated bank sits in the background, but it does mean that the safety of the balance rests on a counterparty you cannot easily identify from the public pages. The fix is to find the issuer in the card terms inside the app, and to read those terms before you keep a large balance.
The fourth risk is the missing complaint record. I could not find a Trustpilot page for uni.global, and a search for UNi card reviews on Trustpilot and Reddit returned only the unrelated Indian Uni Cards and UnCard. The absence of public complaints is not the same as a clean track record: it can mean the product is too small to attract reviewers, or it can mean the audience has not yet had a reason to complain. Either way, the public record is short.
The fifth risk is the missing top-up and withdrawal story. If you cannot load the balance the way you expected, or if the cost of loading is higher than the card’s headline fee-light image suggests, the rest of the value proposition falls apart. The fix is the same as for the second risk: open the app and look at the deposit and withdrawal screens before you commit.
The sixth risk is the standard crypto card risk: the balance is held by a custodian, and a custodian can fail. Mt. Gox, Coincheck, and the Ronin hack are the well-known examples, and the pattern is the same each time: deposits are not the same as bank deposits, and they may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. The fix is to keep only the balance you would spend in the next week or two, and to treat the wallet the way you would treat a payment app rather than a savings account.
The seventh risk is the standard Mastercard foreign-card risk: a small number of merchants, especially US merchants that rely on Address Verification Service, may decline a card issued outside the US, and some prepaid cards are declined on principle by merchants that look up the BIN. The fix is to have a second card as a backup, particularly for the kind of online checkouts that ask for a US billing address.
The eighth risk is the on-chain transfer risk. If you top up with crypto, the deposit is irreversible, the network fee is paid to the blockchain rather than to the card provider, and a transfer sent on the wrong network or to the wrong address can be lost or stranded. The fix is the standard one: send a small test transaction first, double-check the network, and never copy an address from a clipboard that may have been swapped by malware.
What to take instead
A comparison is only useful if the alternatives are solving roughly the same problem, and the three cards below are all crypto-funded or crypto-friendly cards aimed at users who want to spend a digital balance through a card network. Their scores and the differences between them are a useful yardstick for what the UNi card does and does not tell you.
The International Visa Card scores 6.7 out of 10. It is a US-issued Platinum Visa that pays in USD, with a virtual card available now and a physical card marked “coming soon” at the time of writing. The virtual card costs $5 to issue and there is no maintenance fee; the subscription plans are Classic (free), Pro ($9.00/month) and Max ($19.00/month). Card use in USD is free on every plan, and foreign currency spending adds a 2% FX fee on top of the Visa exchange rate. Deposits of any kind are free, including USDC and USDT at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. The country list is published and is long: the card is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The basis is residence or registration, and there is no published cashback. The contrast with UNi is the published country list, the published fees, the published deposit methods, and the named plan structure, against UNi’s cleaner foreign-currency pricing.
Whop Cards score 5.2 out of 10. They are Visa cards that work anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores, and the page says “no extra fees” without listing the issuance or monthly amounts. The card spends from a Whop balance; pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives and standard withdrawals use settled funds. The balance is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and the coins and networks are not stated. The cashback is 5% at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned; the payout currency and conditions are not stated. Consumer availability is published: 31 US states, and 41 states for businesses. The unsupported consumer country list is long, including Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The basis (citizenship or residence) is not stated. The contrast with UNi is the published US state list, the named 5% merchant cashback, and the “no extra fees” line; against UNi, the foreign transaction story is thinner and the availability is more US-centric.
Stella scores 6.5 out of 10. It is a Visa card that works at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally” and comes in virtual and physical form. The fee schedule is not stated officially and is described as living in the User Agreement and the app. The card is topped up by depositing crypto into the account, which automatically loads the card. The official card page does not list a cashback; the Earn product is a separate yield feature. The country list is not stated on the official site, the terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes, and US and European users are routed through affiliates. The contrast with UNi is the simpler “deposit crypto, card loads itself” funding story, against UNi’s broader multicurrency wallet and Mastercard pricing; against Stella, UNi has a cleaner published cost story.
| Card | Network | Annual / monthly fee | Foreign transaction fee | FX / conversion | Rewards | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UNi | Mastercard | None | None | “Live OTC rates”; “no hidden exchange fees” | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | 6.1 / 10 |
| International Visa Card | Visa (US-issued) | Free / Pro $9 / Max $19 | 2% FX on foreign currency | Visa exchange rate | None published | 6.7 / 10 |
| Whop Cards | Visa | “No extra fees” | Not stated | Not stated | 5% at select merchants (currently Uber) | 5.2 / 10 |
| Stella | Visa | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | None on the card | 6.5 / 10 |
The pattern in the table is the same as the one you see in the prose. UNi wins on the published cost story (no annual fee, no FX fee, OTC rates); the International Visa Card wins on disclosure (country list, fees, plans, deposit rails); Whop Cards win on US availability and named merchant cashback; Stella wins on the simplicity of crypto-to-card loading. The right pick depends on which gap you can live with.
Who I would recommend it to
The reader I have in mind while writing this is a multi-currency spender who already holds a balance in one of the 12+ wallet currencies the UNi wallet supports, who is comfortable on a Mastercard rail, and who is happy to use a card through Apple Pay or Google Pay. For that reader, the combination of no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, and “live OTC rates” is the strongest part of the offering, and the Spend-to-Earn reward of up to 3% is a real sweetener. The fact that the card spends directly from the UNi.Global account balance, without a separate pre-load step on the card itself, is the everyday flow the marketing is built around.
The reader I would steer away from the card is the one who needs to see the full fee schedule before signing up, who needs a published country list, who plans to use the card at ATMs often, or who wants a named issuer they can look up on a regulator’s register. If you are in any of those groups, the International Visa Card is the closer match, because the disclosure is more complete even if the foreign-currency cost is higher. If you are US-based and want a card that earns a named percentage at a named merchant, Whop Cards are the closer match. If you only want a clean “deposit crypto, card loads itself” experience and are willing to take the published cost story on trust, Stella is the closer match.
The honest summary is that the UNi card has a strong cost story and a thin disclosure story, and the score of 6.1 out of 10 reflects exactly that balance. The card is worth a serious look if the published numbers match your situation; it is worth a hard second look if you need the unpublished numbers to match first.
Frequently asked questions
What is the UNi card?
The UNi card is a multicurrency Mastercard that draws on a UNi.Global account balance. The wallet supports 12 or more currencies, and the card is offered by UNi.Global, which describes itself as an AUSTRAC-regulated service provider with offices in Sydney, Auckland, Hong Kong and Taipei. The card form factor and the issuing bank are not stated on the public pages.
How does the UNi card work?
You open a UNi.Global account, complete KYC, and once verification finishes — the public pages say one to two business days — the card becomes available. The card spends from the account balance at Mastercard merchants, converts between currencies at “live OTC rates,” and earns Spend-to-Earn rewards of up to 3%. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the card can be frozen in the app.
Is UNi a bank?
UNi.Global describes itself as an AUSTRAC-regulated service provider, and the public pages do not name a bank issuer behind the card. The card programme is run as a Mastercard, which usually means a licensed issuer sits in the background; the issuer is not identified in the materials I read.
Who owns UNi?
The public pages name UNi.Global as the operator and describe teams in Sydney, Auckland, Hong Kong and Taipei, but they do not name a parent company, a founder, or a public ownership structure. AUSTRAC registration in Australia is the regulatory reference point.
Is the UNi card available in my country?
The public pages do not publish a country list and use the wording “subject to jurisdictional limitations.” The only practical check is the eligibility page in the app or on the website, which will reject you before any documents are submitted if your country is excluded.
How do I apply for the UNi card?
You sign up for a UNi.Global account, provide personal information, scan an ID document, take a selfie, and submit a proof of address (a bank statement or utility bill). Verification is described as taking one to two business days, and the same verification covers fiat services and the card.
Does the UNi card require KYC?
Yes. KYC is required before fiat services and the UNi card become available, and the public pages describe a single verification that covers both. The steps are personal information, ID document, selfie, and proof of address.
How do I top up the UNi card?
The card spends from the UNi.Global account balance, and the wallet supports 12+ currencies. The public pages do not state the top-up methods, the supported networks, or the fees, so the practical answer is to check the deposit screen in the app once the account is open.
Is the UNi card free?
The card has no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, and conversion is at “live OTC rates” with “no hidden exchange fees” by the company’s description. The issuance fee, ATM fee, and spending limits are not stated on the public pages, so “free” depends on which part of the fee schedule you look at.
How do I add the UNi card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. After the card is issued inside the UNi.Global app, the standard mobile wallet add-card flow applies: open the wallet app, scan or enter the card details, and complete the issuer’s verification step, which is usually a one-time code or biometric confirmation.
App and neobank cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
