A multi-network crypto balance and a virtual Visa, with narrow limits and a lot of silence
Scallop is a crypto account with a payment card attached to it. The account holds crypto across several blockchains, and a virtual Visa card spends from whatever you have loaded onto that card. The card itself is the part you touch in a shop; the multi-network balance is the part you touch when you load it. If that sounds like a good fit for how you already hold money, keep reading. If you want a physical card, a mobile wallet or a product with a name attached to the licence behind it, this is not the card for you.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score I give it is 6.6 out of 10. That is not a rounding of “decent” — it is a real split: strong on where the money comes from, weak on what you can do with the card once it is loaded, and quiet on several things a bank card would never leave unsaid.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Open to customers from “most countries that are not sanctioned by OFAC”; Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom are on the prohibited list, and high-risk countries are reviewed case by case |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | The Voyager plan is free: $2 per virtual card and 1.50% on conversion. Mariner is $14.99 a month with 0.75% conversion. The card’s own FX fee is not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | The card draws on the account balance across Ethereum, Tron, Base, Solana, BSC, Bitcoin, XRP, Sui and more, with a $15 minimum |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | No company name on the documentation pages I read, no complaints found, a Trustpilot page with zero reviews and a high-risk-investments note, and a card top-up that cannot be reversed |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, up to three active cards, and Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM access are not disclosed |
Who it is actually for
Scallop says it can onboard customers from “most countries that are not sanctioned by OFAC”, and that virtual cards are not available in its Prohibited Countries & Regions list. That list names Russia and Belarus, and also Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom. Countries it treats as high-risk — China, Turkey and Vietnam are the examples given — go into a case-by-case review after an extra questionnaire.
Two things follow from that. First, if you are in one of the prohibited places, the card is not for you, and no amount of good documentation will change it. Second, and this is the part that trips people up: the pages I read do not say whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence. The card states a country list; it does not state which of your two countries it is checking. If you hold one passport and live in another, you are reading past the end of what the documentation tells you.
Everyone else falls into a workable middle. The scope is wide, the review for high-risk countries is a slower path rather than a closed door, and for a reader in a country with thin banking options that breadth is the reason to keep looking.
How to get it
The card is virtual only — a Visa you use wherever Visa is accepted — and you can hold at most three active virtual cards at any time.
Onboarding is document-based and, for individuals, stricter than the headline suggests. You need a passport or national ID (non-US), or another ID plus a tax ID number such as SSN or TIN. For the virtual card specifically, a valid passport is required of individuals, with exceptions for users from Hong Kong or China; if your earlier KYC file had no passport, you are asked to upload one during the card application itself.
A few conditions trip up applicants:
- Age cap. “Individuals over 65 years of age at the time of submission will not be accepted.”
- Proof of address, conditionally. Required only if the government ID you submit comes from a high-risk region while your residence is elsewhere. It must have been issued in the last 90 days, and no PO box or virtual address is accepted.
- Catch-up uploads. A missing passport can surface at the card-application stage rather than the signup stage.
The pages I read do not state how long processing takes, why an application might be refused, or what the Tier 1 / Tier 2 / Tier 3 definitions are. One thing they do say about tiers: HKD pay-in and payout are not available for Tier 1 or Tier 2, and Tier 3 is for businesses. If your plan is to move Hong Kong dollars, that is a specific no.
Fees: what a Scallop payment really costs
The cost picture splits into two halves: what you pay to hold the card, and what you pay when it converts money. Only the second half is fully published.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Voyager — monthly fee | $0/month |
| Voyager — card issuance | $2 per virtual card |
| Voyager — conversion (swap) | 1.50% |
| Mariner — monthly fee | $14.99/month, waived with a $10,000 average fiat balance |
| Mariner — card issuance | First card free, then $1 each |
| Mariner — conversion (swap) | 0.75% |
| Admiral — monthly fee | $49.99/month, waived with a $50,000 average fiat balance |
| Admiral — card issuance | Multiple cards free |
| Admiral — conversion (swap) | 0.40% |
| Card-load conversion | USDT at a reference rate of “1 USDT = 0.9975 USD”; other rates shown in the app before confirmation |
| Card FX fee | not stated |
| ATM | not stated |
| Top-up minimum | $15 |
| Auto top-up threshold minimum | $20 |
| Daily and monthly spend limits | not stated; user-set spending limits are possible |
| ATM withdrawal limits | not stated |
Now three everyday payments, with the card’s own numbers only.
A $20 top-up from USDT on Voyager. The load is above the $15 minimum, so it goes through. The USDT conversion uses the published reference rate of 1 USDT = 0.9975 USD. On a free plan, the conversion fee on a swap is 1.50% — and whether the load itself is charged at that swap rate is the part I cannot answer from the pages, because the top-up fee and who pays the network fee are both not stated. What I can say is that a top-up under Voyager is not free of friction, and that the $2 card issuance still applies.
A $60 subscription while travelling outside the US. This is where the card runs out of published detail. The card currency is not stated, and the card’s foreign-exchange fee is not stated either — only the swap fee is. If the load involves converting crypto, the swap rate applies at 1.50% on Voyager, 0.75% on Mariner, 0.40% on Admiral. The FX layer on the payment itself is the part that could surprise you, and it is the part nobody will tell you.
A $15 top-up on a free plan. Right at the minimum. Add $2 for the card if you have not issued it yet, and you are already into your balance before the first payment.
The tier system is the thing to look at first, because fees here are the main reason to pay for a plan. Mariner at $14.99 a month adds 50+ local fiat currencies and the ability to send and receive with anyone. Admiral at $49.99 a month adds priority corridors and lists a 1.5% APR yield as “coming soon”. If you are only spending what you load, the free plan’s 1.50% swap is the number that decides whether the card is worth having.
Top up: the account is the only source
The card can be funded only from balances already sitting in the Scallop account — fiat or stable digital assets. There is no bank transfer in and no card-to-card top-up described. Whatever you want the card to spend has to arrive in the account first.

What that account accepts is the strongest thing about this card. The app supports tokens on Ethereum (ETH, USDT, USDC), BSC, Solana, Bitcoin, Tron (TRON, USDT, USDC), Base (USDT, USDC), XRP, XDC, Sui and others. The page does not say whether these are deposit-only assets or also tradable, so treat the list as “funds can land here”, not “you can trade here”.
Topping up has its own small rules:
- Minimum $15. Below that, no top-up.
- Auto top-up can be set with a threshold, the minimum being $20, paid from available balance in fiat or stable digital assets.
- Loaded funds are reserved for card use. Once money is on the card, it belongs to the card until you spend it.
Two terms in there deserve a second read, because they are the difference between a top-up and a transfer. Loaded funds “cannot be withdrawn, transferred, or refunded”, and a virtual card load “cannot be refunded, withdrawn, or reversed under any circumstances”. The balance you leave in the account is generally still yours; the balance you put on the card is committed. The top-up fee and who pays the network fee are not stated, and the closing balance on account closure is not stated either.
Paying with it day to day
Here is the honest summary: this is a virtual Visa card that spends a loaded balance. Everything else is either unstated or narrow.
What is documented:
- Network and acceptance. Visa, “wherever VISA is accepted”.
- Card count. A maximum of three active virtual cards at any time.
- Controls. Instant block and unblock, permanent termination, spending limits you set yourself, real-time transaction tracking and monitoring. Cards can be frozen and unfrozen at any time.
- Security model. Card details are revealed only after you authenticate.
What is not documented:
- No physical card. Virtual only, so nothing to hand over at a counter.
- No disclosed Apple Pay or Google Pay. You cannot plan a mobile-wallet setup around this card on the strength of its own pages.
- No ATM. Withdrawal functionality and fees are not stated at all.
- No wallet setup guidance. The pages do not describe adding a wallet.
- No rewards. No cashback is mentioned anywhere.
On refunds and mistakes, the picture is unusually harsh. A virtual card load cannot be refunded or reversed — no exceptions. If you send crypto on the wrong network, or fiat to a wrong account, the stated route is a support ticket, subject to an extra fee, “not guaranteed”, and possibly taking several days. Card chargebacks and dispute time frames are simply not addressed.
That combination — a virtual card, no mobile wallet, no ATM, and one-way loads — is what holds the everyday-use score down to 3. This card works for paying online. It does not, on its own documentation, work at a shop’s card terminal in the way you may be picturing it.
What can go wrong
I found no official incident reports and no complaint themes. That is not the same as a clean record: the Trustpilot page for scallopx.com had zero reviews and no TrustScore, and carried the note “This company may be associated with high-risk investments.” A search for card reviews and discussion turned up nothing relevant. A company with no public complaints is either very new, very small, or simply not talked about.
The company name is not stated on the documentation pages I read. So when you are deciding whether to trust this, you are being asked to trust a product whose pages do not name the legal entity behind it, while the only public rating page carries a high-risk-investments note. Check the registration yourself before committing real money.
A few more things worth knowing before you load:
- Support is vague. “Help is available through the app or official support channels”. Languages and hours are not stated, and with a one-way top-up, slow or closed support is the difference between a lost deposit and a recovered one.
- One-way moves. Card loads cannot be reversed under any circumstances. This is the single biggest practical risk here.
- Wrong-network transfers. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Extra care is warranted if you are moving between the supported chains — including the practical point that a Tron USDT transfer and a Base USDT transfer are different operations with different risks.
- Counterparty exposure. Because the card draws on a balance held in the account, you are trusting a custodian with your funds for as long as they sit there. Providers of this type have failed before, and losses from that pattern are not usually recoverable.
- Merchant-side friction. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because the card’s issuing country and type are visible to the merchant in a lookup. If a payment is declined once, that is a reasonable explanation.
- Holds on declines. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, up to about a week.
What to take instead
Three comparable options, none of them clearly better for everyone.
| Scallop | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.6 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual Visa, up to 3 active | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” | Multicurrency card on Mastercard; physical/virtual not stated | Visa; virtual/physical not stated |
| Cost | Free to $49.99/month; card $2 on free plan | $5 issuance, no maintenance fee; plans free, $9, $19 | “No annual fee”; issuance not stated | “No extra fees”; amounts not listed |
| Conversion / FX | 1.50% / 0.75% / 0.40% swap; card FX not stated | USD use free; foreign currency “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” | Live OTC rates; “no hidden exchange fees” | Not stated |
| Funding | Account balance across many chains; $15 minimum | USDC/USDT into the USD account free at 1:1; USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Not stated | Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet |
| Rewards | None mentioned | No cashback stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | 5% cashback at select merchants (Uber) |
| Availability | Broad; OFAC-sanctioned countries excluded | Residents of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam blocked | Not stated | 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses |
International Visa Card scores a shade higher and is more transparent where Scallop is silent: a $5 issuance fee, no maintenance fee, free use in USD, and a plainly stated 2% FX fee on foreign-currency purchases. Its catch is breadth — it blocks residents of a long list of countries including Russia, Belarus, India, Turkey and Vietnam, and purchases are blocked outright in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Its rule runs on residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned.
UNi Card is the one with the cleanest fee statement — no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at live OTC rates — plus spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. It is also the vaguest on who qualifies, how the card is funded, and whether you get plastic.
Whop Cards is the narrowest: 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, and a long unsupported-countries list. Its balance model is different again — pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives. Its 5% cashback is limited to select merchants, currently Uber, with payout conditions not stated.
Against that field, Scallop’s distinctive advantage is funding from a genuinely multi-chain balance. Everything it is weak on — eligibility detail, support hours, mobile wallets, refunds, FX — is weak in the same direction: undocumented.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Scallop to someone who already holds crypto across several chains — USDT on Tron and Ethereum, USDC on Base, SOL, BTC — and wants a Visa number to spend from that balance without moving everything to one network first. The nine out of ten on top-up options is real, and for that specific reader it is the reason the card exists.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these apply:
- You need a physical card. There is only a virtual one.
- You want Apple Pay or Google Pay. Not disclosed, so plan without them.
- You need to withdraw cash. ATMs are not covered by the documentation.
- You are in Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela or the UK. The card is not available to you.
- You are over 65. Individuals over 65 at the time of submission are not accepted.
- You cannot absorb a one-way top-up. Loaded funds cannot be withdrawn, transferred, refunded or reversed under any circumstances.
- You need to know which legal entity you are trusting. The company name is not stated on the pages I read.
- Your spending is mostly outside the US dollar. The card currency and the card FX fee are not stated.
If you want a card whose fees and limits are written down plainly and you live in a country where the alternatives are open, a card that publishes its FX fee is a better trade than one that does not. If your problem is specifically that your money sits on eight different networks and you want one number to spend it, Scallop is one of the few products aimed straight at that, and I would rather you went in with your eyes open about the price: a 1.50% swap on the free plan, a load you cannot undo, and a support desk whose hours nobody has published.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Scallop card?
Scallop is a crypto account with a virtual Visa card attached. You load money from your account balance onto the card, and the card spends that loaded balance wherever Visa is accepted. The account holds crypto across many blockchains; the card is virtual only, and you can hold a maximum of three active virtual cards at one time.
How does the Scallop card work?
You deposit crypto or fiat into the Scallop account, then move a balance onto the virtual card. At payment, the card draws on the loaded amount. Loaded funds are reserved for card use and cannot be withdrawn, transferred, refunded or reversed under any circumstances, so treat a card load as money you have already spent.
Is Scallop a bank?
The card’s own documentation does not name the company behind it, and the pages I read do not present it as a bank. Cards like this are usually issued by a licensed e-money or payment institution with the crypto brand running the front end, but because no entity is named on the pages, verify the registration yourself before depositing.
Who owns Scallop?
I could not find the owning company named on the official documentation pages I read. That is the answer, honestly: check before you rely on it. The one public rating page, Trustpilot for scallopx.com, shows zero reviews and carries a note that the company may be associated with high-risk investments.
Which countries can use the Scallop card?
Scallop says it can onboard customers from “most countries that are not sanctioned by OFAC”. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom are on the prohibited list. High-risk countries such as China, Turkey and Vietnam are reviewed case by case. The pages do not say whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence.
Does getting the card require KYC?
Yes. Individuals need a passport or national ID (non-US), or another ID plus a tax ID number such as SSN or TIN. For the virtual card a valid passport is required, except for users from Hong Kong or China. Proof of address is required only if your ID comes from a high-risk region while you live elsewhere, issued within 90 days and not a PO box.
How much does the Scallop card cost?
The Voyager plan is free at $0 a month with a $2 fee per virtual card and a 1.50% conversion fee. Mariner is $14.99 a month, waived with a $10,000 average fiat balance, with 0.75% conversion. Admiral is $49.99 a month, waived at $50,000, with 0.40% conversion. The card’s own foreign-exchange fee is not stated anywhere.
How do I top up the Scallop card?
The card is funded only from your Scallop account balance, in fiat or stable digital assets — there is no separate bank top-up described. The minimum card top-up is $15, and you can set an auto top-up with a threshold as low as $20, paid from your available balance. USDT loads convert at a reference rate of 1 USDT = 0.9975 USD.
Can I add the Scallop card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Not on the strength of its own documentation. Apple Pay and Google Pay support are not disclosed, and there is no physical card either, so if a mobile wallet is central to how you pay, choose a card that documents it. I would not plan a phone-wallet setup around an unstated feature.
Is the Scallop card safe to use?
Safety here depends on structure more than on any promise. Card details are revealed only after authentication, and you get instant block and unblock, spending limits and real-time transaction monitoring. But balances are held in the account, a card load cannot be reversed under any circumstances, wrong-network transfers are recoverable only through support with no guarantee, and the issuer company is not named on the pages I read.
App and neobank cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
