A prepaid Visa/Mastercard that takes crypto — but the price of entry is high and a lot of the basics are still unconfirmed
NEXA sells itself as a reloadable stored-value card you can fund with cryptocurrency and spend where Visa or Mastercard is taken. On paper, that is the convenient version of a crypto card — no bank account, no credit check, and a tier for almost every wallet thickness, from a free-feeling virtual Silver to a metal Platinum. In practice, the cost of getting in is unusually high, the fee schedule is not published, and the official pages leave large parts of the picture blank, including who actually issues the card.
This review walks through what the card is, what it costs, how the daily use looks, and where the real risks sit, so you can decide whether NEXA fits your situation or whether a different prepaid card would do the same job for less.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.7 out of 10 — convenient in theory, expensive in practice, and light on the basics
NEXA scores 4.7 out of 10. The breakdown below explains how the card performs across key areas like cost, accessibility and reliability.
| Criterion | Score | Why it got that mark |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | “190+ countries” advertised for sending money and accepted at “over 33 million merchant locations”; no eligibility or restricted-country list published, which is good for reach but weak on transparency. |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | Silver sign-up totals $114.93, Black $133.85, Platinum $281.85, and the line items do not add up to the totals without an explanation. No published fee schedule. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Cash, wire, bank transfer or crypto via the dashboard; the specific coins are not named on the official pages (an unofficial source says 65+). |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | No card issuer is named in the public materials, the site advertises a token presale, and an independent card-rating site gives Silver 3.2/10. |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Three tiers (virtual, plastic, metal) on Visa or Mastercard, but Apple Pay and Google Pay are not confirmed by the card, and ATM conditions are not stated. |
The audience this card is pitched at is the buyer who wants a choice of virtual, plastic or metal tiers. If that is what you are shopping for, the rest of the review helps you decide whether NEXA is the right one.
Who they will issue the card to
NEXA’s home page makes the reach claim: “190+ countries” for sending money and acceptance at “over 33 million merchant locations” (the merchant number is the network’s reach, not NEXA’s own footprint). What is missing is just as telling. The official pages do not publish a list of eligible countries, a list of restricted countries, or any minimum age. The hero text also says no bank account is required and there is no credit check, which removes two of the usual friction points.
For someone who cannot open a bank account, or who simply does not want one tied to a payment card, that is a real plus. The downside is that you cannot tell from the public site whether your country is one of the 190+ until you try to sign up. If your situation depends on the card working in a specific jurisdiction — for example, you travel often or you live in a country where most prepaid cards block sign-ups — that uncertainty is the first thing to clear with support before you pay anything.
KYC depth is also not described on the official pages. An unofficial source (cryptocards.so, October 2026) lists email, phone and an identity document as required, with proof of address and a selfie not required. Treat that as a useful data point rather than a promise; the issuer, once you actually know who it is, will set the rules.
How to sign up
The official flow goes like this: pick a tier, pay the upfront fees, and complete whatever verification the issuer asks for. The FAQ mentions a mobile app and an online dashboard at dashboard.nexacards.com, so registration runs through one of those.
What you actually get after sign-up depends on the tier:
- Nexa Silver — virtual card, no plastic.
- Nexa Black — plastic card.
- Nexa Platinum — metal card.
The networks (Visa and Mastercard) are mentioned in the FAQ, but the card’s settlement currency is not stated, beyond a US-dollar reference for the load limit. If you are based outside the United States and you were hoping for a card denominated in your local currency, do not assume that is what you will get; ask first.
Delivery times are spelled out: a virtual card number is issued within 24 hours, a plastic card in up to 5 business days, a metal card in up to 7 business days. A lost or stolen card is handled by contacting support; the cost of a replacement is not stated.
There is no published step-by-step KYC walkthrough, no stated document list, and no information on what happens if your application is refused. If identity verification is a sensitive issue for you — for example, you only hold a residence permit, not full citizenship in your country of residence — write to [email protected] before paying the enrollment fee and ask exactly which documents are accepted.
Fees: what NEXA actually costs
The single biggest thing to understand about NEXA is the sign-up price. The headline cost numbers from the official pricing page are:

| Fee or limit | Silver (virtual) | Black (plastic) | Platinum (metal) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrollment | $49.95 | $99.95 | $99.95 |
| Monthly hosting | $3.99 | $11.95 | $11.95 |
| Activation | $5.95 | $10.00 | $10.00 |
| Displayed total on the page | $114.93 | $133.85 | $281.85 |
| Billing label | — | “Pre-Paid Annually” | “Pre-Paid Annually” |
The line items do not add up to the totals, and the page does not explain the difference. Black and Platinum are labelled “Pre-Paid Annually”, which suggests a year of monthly fees is bundled in, but the breakdown is not shown. Read that as: the displayed total is what you pay, but you cannot reverse-engineer it from the components. If you are deciding between tiers, compare the totals, not the line items.
Beyond the sign-up cost, the FAQ says fees may apply to ATM withdrawals, international transactions and card replacement, and points to a “fee schedule” link that is a placeholder — there are no values behind it. An unofficial source (cryptocards.so, October 2026) describes ATM, FX, top-up and decline fees as free, then describes the same fee schedule as “opaque”. Treat the official page as authoritative for what you pay to get the card, and treat every running-cost number as “ask before you rely on it”.
Three everyday payments and which fees apply
- Buying a coffee in your home country. This is the cheapest case in theory: a domestic, in-person transaction. With a prepaid crypto card the crypto is converted to fiat when the balance is loaded, so the network fee is the bank’s authorization fee, not a gas cost. NEXA does not publish a domestic transaction fee, so the assumption is that the spread and any conversion fee are baked into the load.
- Paying a subscription in a foreign currency. The FAQ lists “international transactions” as a fee-bearing event, but the rate is not given. Budget for that until you have a number from NEXA support.
- Withdrawing cash from an ATM. ATM withdrawals are mentioned as a fee-bearing transaction, but the per-transaction fee, any percentage fee, and the monthly free allowance are not stated. An unofficial source says ATM withdrawals are “free”, but the same source calls the fee schedule “opaque” — pick whichever number makes you more cautious.
Limits
The published load ceiling is a single number: “Max load amount is $150,000 U.S. Dollars or equivalent in cryptocurrency” on the physical card. The virtual card is described as “unlimited loading” but the FAQ also says load limits depend on account type, which is a contradiction. Until that is reconciled, the practical ceiling for Silver is the lower of “unlimited” and whatever the issuer enforces on your account at sign-up.
How to top up
Funding the card runs through the NEXA dashboard. The methods listed on the official pages are:

- Cash
- Wire transfer
- Bank transfer
- Cryptocurrency
The official pages do not name which coins or which networks are accepted for the crypto option — the count and the ticker list are left as placeholders in the official FAQ. An unofficial source (cryptocards.so, October 2026) shows BTC, ETH and BNB icons and claims support for “over 65 different cryptocurrencies”. Treat that as a useful indication, not a guarantee: pick the coin and network on the dashboard at the moment of deposit, not from a marketing screenshot.
Two practical points worth knowing before your first deposit:
- A blockchain transfer is irreversible. If you send a coin on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address that belongs to a different network, recovery requires manual support and is not guaranteed.
- Network fees (gas, bandwidth) are charged by the blockchain, not by NEXA, so the cost of topping up depends on which network and which coin you choose as much as on the card’s own fees.
For withdrawal, the only official phrase is “instant transfers”. The destination, the supported networks, and any fee or minimum are not stated. If you need to move money back out to a bank or a wallet, ask for the withdrawal flow in writing before you load a large balance.
Paying with NEXA every day
In normal use, a NEXA card behaves like any other prepaid Visa or Mastercard: tap or insert at the till, enter a PIN for cashback, get an app notification. The mobile app and the online dashboard handle the rest — balance checks, transaction history, freeze and unfreeze, support.
Three things the official pages do not confirm, which matter for day-to-day use:
- Apple Pay and Google Pay. Not mentioned on the official pages. An unofficial source (cryptocards.so, October 2026) says one of its two product pages marks them as supported while another says they are not. Until NEXA’s own site confirms it, assume the card is plastic-only and plan around a physical wallet.
- ATM access. The card is mentioned as supporting ATM withdrawals, but no allowance, fee or daily cap is published.
- Rewards or cashback. Not stated on the official pages. If a return on spend is part of why you are choosing a card, NEXA does not currently advertise one.
What does work in the official description is the breadth of acceptance: 33 million-plus merchant locations, which is essentially the network footprint of Visa or Mastercard. The friction is not finding a place that takes the card; it is the small-print fees and the missing mobile-wallet integration.
What can go wrong
There are four categories of risk on NEXA, in rough order of how much they could cost you.
1. The card issuer is not named. The site footer reads “Powered by NEXA” with a 2023 copyright line, and the public Terms & Conditions page names “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as site operator and states that NEXA is “not a lending institution, insurance provider, or other Partner”, with Israeli law and Tel Aviv-Jaffa courts as the governing jurisdiction. That phrasing reads more like comparison-site boilerplate than card terms. A third-party site names “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”, which still is not a card issuer. Without a named issuer there is no clearly identified regulated institution standing behind the card, which makes dispute resolution and complaints harder to direct.
2. Fee transparency is poor. The headline sign-up totals do not match the line items, the fee-schedule link is a placeholder, and the running costs of ATM, FX and top-up are not published. You can still use the card, but you cannot predict the running cost from the public information alone.
3. A token presale is advertised on the site. The official NEXA site promotes a token presale at presale.nexacards.com. A card programme that is also a vehicle to sell tokens mixes the incentives: card revenue, interchange and float are not the only thing funding the operation. That is a yellow flag rather than a verdict, but it is worth knowing about.
4. Third-party reputation is weak. An independent card-rating site gives the Silver card 3.2/10 (October 2026), citing opaque fees and high upfront costs. A Trustpilot page for a similarly named third-party domain shows reports of frozen funds and a company reply about sanctions screening — but that is a different domain and is not confirmed to be the same operator. Treat the freezing reports as a cautionary tale about what can happen with prepaid cards generally, not as a confirmed NEXA record.
5. Custody and safeguarding are not described. NEXA’s FAQ mentions encryption, secure payment processing and fraud protection, and says a lost or stolen card can be blocked through support. It does not say whether your crypto is held in custody, who holds it, whether customer funds are segregated, or what happens to a stored balance if the operator stops trading. That is the kind of detail a licensed e-money issuer is normally required to publish, and its absence is a gap.
6. Support hours are inconsistent. The hero text claims 24/7 support. The actual hours listed are 9 AM to 9 PM, Monday to Friday, at +1 (877) 770-0550, with [email protected] for email. If you travel across time zones or rely on weekend support, factor that in.
What to take instead
If NEXA’s fee structure or its missing details give you pause, three other crypto-funded cards are worth a look. None of them is a perfect substitute — they each have their own gaps — and none of them is presented here as better in every respect. They are alternatives with different trade-offs.
Cardex — 5.6 out of 10
Cardex describes itself as “one crypto card, 200+ countries”, with no country list or exclusions published. The App Store listing is Naira-focused, so the practical experience of the app is built around paying in Naira, and the card’s listed currency is Naira. The card is a debit product on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, with both virtual and physical variants. The running cost is not stated, and the standout feature is real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment, with what the site calls an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates. No fee percentage is published. Funding is from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, with networks not stated. Rewards are not stated.
Cardex makes sense if you live in or regularly transact in Nigeria, where the app and the card currency line up with daily life. It is weaker as a global card because the published experience is regional.
CardFlow — 4.9 out of 10
CardFlow is positioned as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” aimed at Nigerians and global users. It is a virtual USD Mastercard created in minutes, with no published monthly fee and a FAQ entry that says “Creating a virtual card is completely free”. The funding list is Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, with networks not stated. Running fees and rewards are not stated.
CardFlow is a fit for someone who wants a quick virtual card denominated in USD without paying an enrollment fee. It is not a fit for someone who needs a physical card or who transacts heavily in non-USD currencies.
HyperCard — 4.7 out of 10
HyperCard is a prepaid card with no country list on its official pages; the App Store description says acceptance in “more than 176 countries”, which is a network statement, not an eligibility one. The card balance is in USD or EUR, and the network is not stated on the listing. Cost is not stated; the App Store page lists no fees, and the official pages do not publish a schedule. Funding is by depositing USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR on the card. Rewards are not stated.
HyperCard is a fit for someone who wants a USD- or EUR-denominated prepaid card funded from a small set of major coins. It is not a fit for someone who needs a published fee schedule up front, because the public materials do not give one.
Across all three alternatives, the same pattern appears: the running-cost information is thin, the country lists are thin, and the issuer details are thin. That is the category as much as it is NEXA. The point of comparing is to see which set of gaps you can live with.
Who I would recommend NEXA to
NEXA is worth considering if you fit all of the following:
- You cannot or do not want a bank account, and a no-credit-check, no-bank-account card is genuinely the easiest path for you.
- You specifically want a choice of virtual, plastic or metal tiers, and the difference between $114.93, $133.85 and $281.85 in upfront cost does not put you off.
- You are comfortable funding the card with one of the major coins on a major network (BTC or ETH on their native chains, for example), and you can confirm the supported coin and network in the dashboard before you send.
- You are willing to write to support to confirm the running fees (ATM, FX, top-up) before you commit a large balance.
- You do not depend on Apple Pay or Google Pay, because mobile-wallet support is not confirmed on the official pages.
NEXA is not worth it if:
- The upfront sign-up cost is a real stretch, because the line items do not reconcile to the displayed totals and there is no way to verify the running cost from the public site.
- You need to know in advance whether your country is on the eligibility list, because NEXA does not publish one.
- You need mobile-wallet integration, a clear fee schedule, a named regulated issuer, or a published safeguarding policy, because the official pages do not provide any of these.
- You plan to keep a large stored balance on the card, because the custody and safeguarding story is not described.
If you are in the second group, Cardex, CardFlow or HyperCard each address a slightly different slice of the same problem; none of them is a complete substitute, and the right choice depends on your country, your funding coins, and whether you need a physical card.
Frequently asked questions
What is the NEXA card?
NEXA is a reloadable stored-value card on the Visa and Mastercard networks, available in three tiers: a virtual Silver, a plastic Black and a metal Platinum. The card is funded from cash, a bank transfer or cryptocurrency, and is positioned for people who do not have or do not want a bank account.
How does the NEXA card work?
You sign up through the NEXA app or the online dashboard, complete whatever verification the issuer asks for, pay the tier’s sign-up fees, and load a balance. The card then spends from that balance at any merchant that takes Visa or Mastercard. Crypto is converted to the card’s balance when the load is made; spending itself is a normal card transaction.
Is NEXA a bank?
No. NEXA is not a bank. The public Terms & Conditions page describes NEXA as “not a lending institution, insurance provider, or other Partner” and names “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as the site operator, with Israeli law as the governing jurisdiction. A licensed issuer of the card itself is not identified on the official pages.
Who owns NEXA?
The public materials do not name a card-issuing institution. The footer reads “Powered by NEXA” and a third-party site refers to “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”. Without a named issuer, ownership of the card programme is not clear from the official pages.
Is the NEXA card available in my country?
NEXA advertises reach to “190+ countries” for sending money and acceptance at “over 33 million merchant locations”, but it does not publish an eligibility list or a list of restricted countries. The only reliable way to find out is to start the sign-up process or to write to [email protected].
How do I get a NEXA card?
Pick a tier on the official site, pay the enrollment, monthly hosting and activation fees for that tier, complete the verification the issuer asks for, and wait for the card. A virtual card number is issued within 24 hours, a plastic card in up to 5 business days, a metal card in up to 7 business days.
Does the NEXA card require KYC?
The official pages do not describe the KYC flow. An unofficial source (cryptocards.so, October 2026) lists email, phone and an identity document as required, with proof of address and a selfie not required. Treat the unofficial list as a hint, and confirm the actual requirement with support before you pay.
How do I top up the NEXA card?
Top-ups are made through the NEXA dashboard using cash, a wire, a bank transfer or cryptocurrency. The official pages do not name the supported coins or networks; an unofficial source lists BTC, ETH and BNB icons and claims more than 65 cryptocurrencies. Confirm the coin and the network in the dashboard before you send any crypto.
How do I add the NEXA card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The official pages do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay support. An unofficial source gives conflicting answers, with one product page saying supported and another saying not supported. Until NEXA confirms it, assume the card is plastic-only and check the official site or the app before relying on a mobile wallet.
Is the NEXA card safe to use?
The FAQ mentions encryption, secure payment processing and fraud protection, and says a lost or stolen card can be blocked through support. What is not described is who holds the crypto, whether customer funds are segregated, or what happens to a stored balance if the operator stops trading. An independent card-rating site gives Silver 3.2/10 (October 2026), and there are reports of frozen funds on a similarly named domain, which is not confirmed to be the same operator. Treat the card as a small-balance spending tool rather than a place to store funds.
Virtual cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
