Ultimo in 3.7 out of 10 — a Visa Platinum whose real price nobody will state

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Ultimo sells itself as a Visa Platinum debit card linked directly to a crypto balance, with a virtual card that arrives in minutes and plastic in the mail. That part of the pitch is coherent. The problem is everything around it: the card’s own pages do not name a single country they will issue to, do not publish the card’s own fees, and do not say which bank issues the plastic. Third-party reviewers fill in some of those blanks — and what they report, an issuance charge of $450 and a $600 total setup, is large enough on its own to change who should be reading this page. I scored it 3.7 out of 10.

Ultimo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 3.7 out of 10, and the low score is mostly about disclosure

Ultimo gets its best mark in the one place a card like this can genuinely excel — what you can load onto it — and its worst marks in the two places that decide whether you can trust it with money: who will actually hand it over, and what it costs. That distribution matters. A card that is generous about networks but silent about the issuing bank is not a gift; it is a card whose hard edges you find out about afterwards.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Ultimo starts with a transfer to the right network

Let me be precise about who this suits. It suits someone already comfortable holding a balance on an offshore crypto platform, someone who treats that balance as spendable money rather than as savings, and someone who already has a working way to pay ordinary bills — because the card is an add-on, not a replacement. The card’s own audience note is experienced users comfortable with offshore crypto platforms, and I would not soften that.

It does not suit anyone choosing a first card. It does not suit anyone whose income is verified against a bank account, anyone who needs proof of address or a salary record from the card issuer, or anyone who cannot afford to lose the balance for a month. It also does not suit a reader who plans to hold a large sum on it, because the custody model is not stated on the official pages and the card is described as working through an offshore bank that is not named.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 No countries named officially; Russia and Belarus not mentioned. Unofficial: the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is reported blocked in the EU and UK, no country list published
Cost 1 / 10 Card fees not disclosed officially, exchange 1.5% “all-in”; unofficial: issuance $450, total $600 ($450 card + $150 deposit), another report $550-$600; monthly fee free
Top-up options 9 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT “and more” across 9 networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Avalanche
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Brand “founded in 2026”, registration country and issuing bank not named; Trustpilot review Aug 2026: “cards and funds are locked” after the move to Ultimo
Everyday use 6 / 10 Visa Platinum, plastic delivered in 10-15 banking days plus a virtual card in minutes, cash withdrawal “wherever Visa is accepted”; unofficial: Apple Pay and Google Pay not supported
Total 3.7 / 10 Strong on funding, weak on disclosure, cost and complaints

The pattern in that table is the whole review in miniature. Funding is the one column where the answer is long and specific. Cost and reliability are the two columns where the official answer is empty and the unofficial answer is bad.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: the card’s public pages do not say. There is no country list on them. That is the finding, not a gap I failed to fill.

Ultimo’s own pages do not state which countries it will issue to, and neither Russia nor Belarus is mentioned anywhere in the company’s material. That silence matters more than it sounds, because card issuance is exactly the point at which a provider has to decide whose identity documents it will accept and whose address it will ship to. A provider that publishes a list has made a decision and shown it to you. A provider that publishes nothing has kept it, and you will meet it at the application form.

There is a third-party detail worth having here, clearly marked as unconfirmed by Ultimo: the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is reported as blocked in the EU and the UK, with reviewers attributing it to sanctions, and no country list has been published (per cryptocards.so, 2026). Sanctions blocking is normal for offshore cards — it is one of the ordinary consequences of issuing through an offshore bank — but the useful thing for you is the absence of a published alternative list. You cannot check whether you are in it, which means you find out by being refused.

The practical version of this section: if your reason for wanting a crypto card is that you cannot open a normal bank account, Ultimo’s silence about countries is a cost to you in itself, because you cannot even price the attempt. Compare that with Bybit Card, whose help centre does publish regions — Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific — and states plainly that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited. That is a different company with a different score, but the difference in candour is the difference I would want before sending documents to an unknown issuer.

How to get it

The official process is short on paper: an identity check to open an account and again before withdrawals, with a virtual card “ready in minutes” once the account exists, and a physical card delivered in 10-15 banking days. The parts that are not on the official pages are the parts that decide whether you get through: which documents, whether proof of address is required, and what the identity-check levels are.

What Ultimo does state:

What a third party says, unconfirmed by Ultimo: email, phone and an identity document are required, while proof of address and a selfie are not (per cryptocards.so, 2026). If that is accurate it is unusually light for a card issuer that has to satisfy anti-money-laundering rules — and light checks are exactly what produce frozen accounts later, because the provider has to do the screening at withdrawal time instead. That connects directly to the complaints in the risks section below.

Note also what happens between opening and receiving: there is a shipping window you cannot plan around, during which you have a virtual card whose currency nobody will name. Until you know whether it is denominated in dollars, euros or something else, you cannot predict what a payment will cost.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where I would stop most readers, because the card’s own pages do not publish the card’s fees — the Fees section on the site lists exchange fees only — and the number third parties report is not small. One review puts issuance at $450 with a total setup of $600, made up of $450 for the card plus a $150 deposit, and mentions elsewhere in the same review an issuance figure of $550-$600. Another source cites a $550-$600 issuance. Monthly fee, on the same unofficial source, is free.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Ultimo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Before you look at the rest of the table, note what is official and what is not. The 1.5% all-in exchange fee and the 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker spot fees are the card’s own numbers. The card’s issuance cost, its FX treatment, its ATM fee and its limits are all unofficial, and where unofficial they conflict — $450 in one place, $550-$600 in another.

Fee or limit Value Source
Card issuance $450 Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Total setup $600 ($450 card + $150 deposit) Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Issuance, second figure $550-$600 Unofficial (same review)
Monthly fee Free Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Buy & sell fee 1.5% all-in, shown up front Official
Spot fee 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker Official
Card FX fee Not stated —
FX fee (unofficial view) Free; a Trustpilot user cites 3% crypto-to-fiat conversion and 0.75% per card transaction Unofficial, conflicting
ATM withdrawal Possible “wherever Visa is accepted”; fee and allowance not stated Official
ATM fee (unofficial view) 0.1%, unlimited Unofficial
Daily, monthly spend and ATM limits Listed “Unlimited” Unofficial
Tier structure Not stated —
Card currency Not stated —

Now let me run three ordinary payments through those numbers, because a percentage fee means nothing until you attach it to something you would actually buy.

Coffee. Say you spend $5 on a coffee shop. The exchange layer’s 1.5% all-in buy-and-sell fee, if it applies to the conversion your purchase triggers, is $0.075. The unofficial 0.75% per-transaction figure would add $0.0375. On the unofficial “free FX” view, nothing else applies. That is a cheap transaction under every combination of figures here — but notice that I could not tell you definitively whether the 0.75% exists, and the two unofficial sources disagree with each other about whether FX is free at all.

A monthly subscription of $100. The same arithmetic gives $1.50 in exchange fees, plus $0.75 if the per-transaction charge applies. The card currency is not stated, so if the subscription is billed in a currency other than the card’s, an FX cost appears that Ultimo has not published a rate for. This is the case where the missing FX line in the table starts to matter: a $100 bill repeated twelve times a year is $1,800, and you are paying an undisclosed rate on it.

Withdrawing $200 in cash. The official line is that you can withdraw “wherever Visa is accepted” and nothing about what it costs. The unofficial view says a 0.1% ATM fee, unlimited — which would be $0.20. But a Trustpilot user cites a 3% crypto-to-fiat conversion, which on $200 is $6. Those two numbers are not compatible descriptions of the same transaction, and I have no way to tell you which one your withdrawal would meet.

The pattern I would draw from this: the officially stated fees are small and legible, the unofficially stated card fees are large and inconsistent, and the largest single number in the whole structure — what you pay to get the thing — exists only outside the company’s own pages. If you are considering this card, that number is the first thing to establish, and the only reliable way to establish it is to read it in Ultimo’s own checkout flow before sending anything.

How to top it up

This is the card’s best section, and the reason its score is not lower. The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL and USDT “and more” across nine networks — Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base and Avalanche — and the card draws on the Ultimo balance.

Nine networks covering the two dominant chains, the two major stablecoin chains and a credible spread of the newer layer-2 and high-throughput options is a genuinely strong list. If your holdings sit on Base, Arbitrum or Solana and you want to spend them, this is a shortlist card rather than a compromise.

What is not stated for the card specifically is how a top-up works mechanically — no minimum, no per-network fee schedule, no note on which networks are enabled for card loading. Unofficial, the top-up fee is described as free, while a Trustpilot user cites 1% for an immediate USD transfer and free for a 72-hour transfer (per cryptocards.so, 2026). That speed-versus-cost trade-off is a plausible pattern across this category, but I am reporting a user’s recollection, not a published tariff.

Withdrawals need a one-time code and email confirmation, then a routine risk check, with fees not stated; unofficial, the withdrawal fee is 0.1% plus 0.001 BTC. Two things to hold onto from the general mechanics of this space: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support or to an address belonging to another network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee; and network gas fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Ultimo, so a transfer from a wallet holding a popular token but no native gas token cannot be sent at all.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where Ultimo scores respectably, and the score is deserved. You get a Visa Platinum debit card — physical plus virtual — with the virtual one in minutes and the plastic in 10-15 banking days. A virtual card first is the right order if you want to test a card’s behaviour before committing to shipping anything.

A note on what “Visa Platinum” does and does not tell you. A card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number that identifies the issuing institution; the rest is an account identifier and a check digit. Merchants can look up that issuer number to see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. “Platinum” is a network tier; it does not promise better acceptance than Gold.

Acceptance, honestly stated:

On mobile wallets, the unofficial picture is the frustrating one: Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported (per cryptocards.so, 2026). If you are used to tapping your phone to pay, this removes the most convenient part of a card. Rewards are not stated officially, and unofficial sources list no cashback. The app is a web app at app.ultimox.io; store listings and ratings are not stated. Wallet support and dispute handling are also not stated officially.

Three-D Secure applies to online payments the way it does to any card, with the issuer either approving frictionlessly or challenging you with a one-time code or biometric check; a tokenised wallet number can also be restricted by the issuer to particular channels.

What can go wrong

This section is the reason the score is 3.7 and not 6.

The complaints are user reports, and no official incident is confirmed. A Trustpilot review from August 2026 says that after the move to Ultimo, “cards and funds are locked”. The overall Trustpilot position I read on 21 October 2026 was 3.2 out of 5 from a single review — one star, dated 17/20 August 2026, describing cards and funds locked after the move to Ultimo. One review is not a trend, and I am not going to pretend it is. What makes it worth your attention is what it describes: both the card and the money on it affected at once, with no official announcement found to explain the change.

There is a second, older user report from 2025-2026, undated, about the previous Ultimo Pay card: it stopped working in the EU and UK, a $600 fee was still charged, support was unreachable, and the account could not be deleted. Also a user report. Also not officially confirmed. But read the two together and the shape is consistent: when something changes, the card stops and the balance stays.

Underneath the complaints is the structural point. The brand says “Ultimo” and “founded in 2026” on its own site; its registration country is not stated; the physical card is described as being issued through an offshore bank that is not named; the infrastructure partners named are BitMEX, Bitget, Deribit, Cobo and Simplex; and no licences are listed. Third-party research names Silver Capital Financial s.r.o. as the starting data and cites reviews referring to a Laos bank, JDB, later “removed from the partnership” (per cryptocards.so, 2026). When the issuing bank is not named, you cannot check whether it is regulated, in which country, and under whose supervision.

Custody is not stated on the official pages, though a Security page is linked and I did not read it. Unofficially, custody providers are named as BitGo, Shiftmarket and Fireblocks. This is the single most consequential unknown in the review: who holds your keys. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely; a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words, unencrypted, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery because the network cannot freeze or return funds. The category has a documented history here: Mt. Gox, about $350 million reported stolen 2011-2014; Coincheck, about $400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, $625 million in 2022.

Finally, who is behind the counter. Support is chat and email at [email protected], advertised 24/7, “any time — day or night”. An older report says support was unreachable. Both can be true at different moments, and the moment that matters is the one when your money is stuck.

This is also where the regulatory frame belongs, briefly, because it explains why the missing issuer matters. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, while a card is regulated separately as an e-money or payment service — so a crypto card often depends on two licences, and the transitional period for providers already operating under national law ran until 1 July 2026 or until they received or were refused authorisation, whichever came first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and it is where you can check a provider for yourself. Electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or insurance, but those funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. I am not giving you legal or tax advice here — this is context for why the unnamed bank is the thing to ask about.

What to take instead

None of these is perfect, and I am not presenting them as safe. The comparison below is against Ultimo’s actual weaknesses: undisclosed fees, unnamed issuer, thin independent coverage.

Card Score What it states that Ultimo does not What it still leaves open
Ultimo 3.7 / 10 Network list of 9 chains; 1.5% all-in exchange fee; 10-15 banking day delivery Issuance cost, FX fee, limits, issuing bank, custody model, country list
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Published regions; $0 virtual issuance; no annual fees; card currency by country; tiers from 2.00% to 10.00% cashback Foreign-exchange fees of 2%, 7%, 1.5% and 1% depending on region; EEA participation prohibited outright
MSX 6.4 / 10 — Card type, costs, fees and funding all not stated on pages I could read
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Cashback paid in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% Card type, cost, fees and funding not stated officially; Bronze and Silver rates not stated

Two things worth saying plainly about this table. First, three of these four cards publish less about their own card than Ultimo does — the “not stated” cells are genuinely empty, which is why their scores sit where they do and why I could not write a fee comparison for them. Second, the strongest documentation in the set belongs to Bybit Card, and it comes with the strictest regional limits: the help centre lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific, the application asks for your country of residence and says that unsupported countries will have their interest registered instead, and the cards page states the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers with all EEA participation strictly prohibited. Its cost structure is also the most interesting: conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina, while foreign-exchange fees are 2% in several countries, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil and 1% in Peru. That is expensive in places, but it is written down.

Bybit’s funding model is the other structural difference. Its card has no balance of its own: it draws on the Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, and if fiat runs short crypto is sold at the exchange rate plus the card’s conversion fee. Its default priority order across BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM is USDT first, and you can reorder it. Rewards only accrue on crypto-funded transactions from 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC, with Base at 2.00% and a $5 monthly cap rising to Omega at 8% with a $400 cap.

Who I would recommend it to

To one person: you already hold crypto on a platform you have decided to trust, you are comfortable with that arrangement in principle, you can comfortably afford a setup cost in the several-hundred-dollar range in case the unofficial figures are right, you have a backup way to pay your bills, and you will treat whatever balance sits on the card as spendable rather than as savings. Under those conditions a nine-network card with instant virtual issuance is a reasonable convenience tool.

To nobody else, and specifically not to you if: you are choosing your first card; your income or address must be verifiable against a bank account; you would be putting savings on the balance; you need Apple Pay or Google Pay; you need to know exactly what a foreign-currency payment costs; or you cannot absorb a balance being frozen for a month with no clear path to a refund. In each of those cases the gaps in Ultimo’s disclosure — not the fee percentages, the gaps — are what will hurt you.

Before you send a single document, I would want three answers in Ultimo’s own words: what the card issuance and deposit charges are at checkout; which named, regulated institution issues the card and holds the balance; and which countries are accepted today. If those three come back clearly, the score I would give goes up considerably. If they come back as another set of unofficial figures from a third-party site, you already have my answer.

Frequently asked questions

What is Ultimo card?

Ultimo is a Visa Platinum debit card linked directly to a crypto balance held on the Ultimo platform. You get a virtual card, described as ready in minutes once an account is open, and a physical card delivered in 10-15 banking days. The card currency is not stated on the official pages, and no country list is published, which are two of the main reasons I scored it low.

Is Ultimo a bank?

No, not as far as its own pages show. The brand says “Ultimo” and “founded in 2026”, gives no registration country, names no licences, and says the physical card is issued through an offshore bank without naming it. Third-party research names Silver Capital Financial s.r.o. and mentions a Laos bank, JDB, later removed from the partnership — none confirmed by Ultimo.

How much does the Ultimo card cost?

The card’s own pages do not publish its fees; the Fees section covers exchange fees only. Unofficial sources report issuance at $450 and a total setup of $600 including a $150 deposit, with another report of $550-$600 issuance, and a free monthly fee. Officially you get a 1.5% all-in buy-and-sell fee and 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker spot fees. Treat the $450-$600 range as unverified until you see it in checkout.

Does Ultimo require KYC, and what documents?

Yes — an identity check is required to open an account and again before withdrawals, but Ultimo does not state which documents or whether proof of address is needed, nor its identity-check levels. A third-party source says email, phone and an identity document are needed, with no proof of address or selfie required. Note that lighter checks tend to mean more friction later, at withdrawal time.

How do I top up the Ultimo card?

You load the Ultimo balance, and the card draws on that balance. The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT “and more” across nine networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base and Avalanche. Unofficial sources say top-up is free, with one user citing 1% for an immediate USD transfer and free for a 72-hour one. Always match the network you send on to the network supported.

Is the Ultimo card safe to keep money on?

Nobody can answer that from the official pages, because the custody model is not stated — a Security page is linked but was not read. Unofficially, custody providers are named as BitGo, Shiftmarket and Fireblocks. Since the issuing bank is not named either, your money’s legal home is genuinely unclear. Treat the balance as spendable, and keep it small enough that a lock would not hurt.

Are there complaints about Ultimo?

There are user reports, and I would not call them proven. A Trustpilot review from August 2026 says that after the move to Ultimo, “cards and funds are locked”, and an older undated report on the previous Ultimo Pay card describes it stopping in the EU and UK, a $600 fee still charged, unreachable support and no account deletion. The page I read showed 3.2 out of 5 from a single review. No official incident or announcement was found.

Can I add Ultimo to Apple Wallet or use Google Pay?

Unofficial sources say Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported, and the official pages do not say otherwise. So plan on tapping the physical card or typing the number, not your phone. Without a tokenised wallet number you also lose the ability to set channel-specific restrictions on it through the issuer’s controls.

What are the fees for cash withdrawals and foreign payments?

Officially you can withdraw cash “wherever Visa is accepted”, with the fee and allowance not stated. Unofficial sources say the ATM fee is 0.1% and unlimited, while one Trustpilot user cites 3% for crypto-to-fiat conversion and 0.75% per card transaction — figures that do not sit comfortably together. The card’s own FX fee is not stated at all, so budget conservatively on foreign-currency purchases.

Is Ultimo available in my country, and can I use it there?

Ultimo’s official pages do not say which countries it will issue to, and neither Russia nor Belarus is mentioned. Unofficially, the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is reported blocked in the EU and UK, with reviewers attributing it to sanctions, and no country list published. Availability is therefore unknowable in advance; using the card abroad depends on the merchant, since some decline prepaid or foreign cards outright.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team