A real Swiss bank card with crypto payments bolted on — useful in 15 countries, and the restrictions bite

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Let me say the uncomfortable thing first. The Swissquote card is not really a “crypto card” in the way that phrase usually means. It is a Mastercard debit card issued by a Swiss bank, attached to a Swissquote trading account, with one crypto feature bolted onto it: you can nominate crypto as the payment method and the app sells you, at the moment of purchase, exactly as much Bitcoin, Ethereum or XRP as the price requires. Everything else — the fees, the limits, the onboarding, the customer service, the complaints — behaves like an ordinary Swiss bank account with a card attached.

Swissquote works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That framing matters more than it might sound, because it decides who this is for. If you were hoping for a card that talks directly to your own wallet, or that accepts a stablecoin transfer from anywhere, this is not it. If what you want is a proper regulated bank account, a normal Mastercard, multi-currency balances, and a way to spend crypto you already hold inside that broker, then you are looking at the right product. I scored it 7.1 out of 10 overall, and the reasons are laid out below.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, and who this card suits

Here is the whole picture before I unpack it. Every mark below is out of 10.

Criterion Mark Why, in short
Who can get it 7 / 10 A real Swiss and Luxembourg bank, but products and pricing depend on your region; physical Bright and Elite are listed for 15 countries only
Cost 8 / 10 Light is free, Bright is CHF 6.90 a month free for six months, Elite is CHF 39; conversion is 0.95% on 13 main currencies
Top-up options 4 / 10 The card is funded from the Swissquote account; Bitcoin, Ethereum and XRP are supported, “more planned”; no external wallet or stablecoins named
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Swissquote Bank Ltd, and Luxembourg-based Swissquote Bank Europe under CSSF supervision with an FGDL deposit guarantee membership; in August 2026 letters warning of account closures went to Russian clients
Everyday use 9 / 10 Light virtual instantly, Bright plastic plus virtual, Elite metal; Apple Pay and Google Pay; Bright gets five free ATM withdrawals a month
Total 7.1 / 10 A strong everyday card with a narrow crypto angle and a region gate at the front door

Who suits it: you already have, or can open, a Swissquote account; you live in one of the regions Swissquote serves and, for the physical tiers, in one of the fifteen countries where they are actually listed; you want a normal debit card for daily life; and you hold crypto inside Swissquote and would rather not move it to sell a coffee. The audience here is straightforward — Swiss-bank clients who want a debit card that can pay in crypto.

Who it does not suit: you need a card issued in your country of citizenship alone, with no residence condition. You want to load a USDC or USDT transfer from a wallet you control. You want generous spending abroad with no conversion fee. Or you want anonymity, discretion from your bank, or freedom from questions about where the money came from. This product has none of those properties and does not pretend to.

Will they give you the card?

Yes for many people, and the gate is your residence rather than your nationality — but that is not the same as “open to everyone”. You need a Swissquote account in your own name, and which products and pricing you are offered depends on which region matches your residence. Swissquote’s site selector splits the world into Switzerland, Europe, the UK, the Middle East, South Africa, Singapore, Hong Kong and Rest of World. That is the first fork: your region decides the price list you see, and possibly the tiers you can order.

The narrower gate is the physical card. The starting data lists physical Bright and Elite cards for fifteen countries: Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Italy, Austria, France, Germany, the UK, Cyprus, Spain, Malta, Monaco, the UAE, South Africa and Greece. If you are in, say, Portugal or Poland or the Philippines, do not assume the plastic card follows you — the site selector says Europe, but the physical-card country list is specific and shorter. That gap between “Europe is supported” and “these fifteen countries get plastic” is the single most useful thing to check before you get your hopes up.

One unofficial data point sits against this. A third-party card directory reported on 11 August 2026 that the card is available in 35 countries and restricted in 13, naming the United States, Canada, Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Cuba and Venezuela among them. That is not confirmed by Swissquote’s own pages, so treat it as a pointer rather than a rule; the country list on the card pages is the reliable version.

There is a further condition that has nothing to do with geography. In mid-August 2026 Swissquote wrote to around 600 customers warning that their accounts could be closed. Most were users of the Yuh app. The people affected were customers in Switzerland, some with permanent residence there. The chief executive, Mark Burky, said the reasons were “exclusively economic in nature”. At the time of the report the accounts had not actually been closed, and no extension was planned beyond the roughly 600 already identified. What that tells you, whatever your nationality, is that a regulated bank can and does switch accounts off for economic reasons, and that the Swiss residence which opens the door does not insulate you from it. I will come back to this in the risks section.

How to get it

The sequence is short and it is the ordinary broker sequence, not a card-issuer sequence. You open a Swissquote account first — the app offers a simplified opening flow — make a first deposit, and then order the card from the Bank tab in the app or from the desktop platform. The card is a Mastercard debit card.

There are three tiers, and they differ in more than metal:

Tier What you get Asset requirement
Light Virtual card only None stated
Bright Physical card plus virtual card None stated
Elite Metal physical card plus virtual card At least CHF 100,000 in total assets at subscription

The currencies on offer are CHF, USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, AUD, CAD, SEK, HKD, NOK, DKK, AED and SGD — the thirteen “main” currencies. A separate unofficial source adds that Elite is a metal format card; Swissquote’s own pages describe it as metal but the precise format detail comes from that third party.

What the card pages do not tell you is worth knowing too, because these are the things applicants ask about. The required documents, the proof of address, the minimum age: not stated on the card pages. Delivery time and delivery cost: not stated officially. What is stated is that the virtual card is active immediately after ordering, and that a replacement costs CHF 5 on Bright and CHF 50 on Elite — the Light replacement fee is not stated. Two third-party reviews fill the delivery gap unofficially: one review from March 2025 says the physical card arrives by post within three to four working days, and the same directory said in August 2026 that it takes three to four days after approval. Official delivery timing is not stated, so I would plan on days, not hours, and not on a specific number.

Full banking KYC and AML applies here, not a lighter crypto-style check. Elite additionally requires CHF 100,000 in total assets at subscription. The card pages do not state how long verification takes or why an application might be refused — and in a business that closes accounts on economic grounds, the absence of a stated refusal reason is itself something to keep in mind.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline is good. The tier that exists to be free really is free, the middle tier is free for half a year, and the currency conversion fee on major currencies is 0.95% rather than the 2%–3% that crypto cards often charge. The bad news is in the details of the top-up side, which the pricing page leaves blank.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Swissquote payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Light Bright Elite
Issuance fee Not stated Not stated Not stated
Monthly fee Free CHF 6.90, free for the first 6 months, debited from the 7th CHF 39
Card cancellation Free Free Free after 6 months; before that, 2 monthly fees
Replacement card Not stated CHF 5 CHF 50
Transaction fee Free Free Free
Currency conversion, 13 main currencies 0.95% 0.95% Free up to CHF 5,000 a month, then 0.25% per transaction
Other currencies Mastercard rate plus 1.5% Mastercard rate plus 1.5% Mastercard rate plus 1.5%
Crypto conversion fee on payment Not stated on the pricing page Not stated Not stated
Cash withdrawal, Switzerland CHF 1.90 per withdrawal 5 free a month 5 free a month, then CHF 1.90
Cash withdrawal, abroad CHF 4.90 CHF 4.90 5 free a month, then CHF 4.90
Monthly payments (CHF/EUR/USD) 10,000 25,000 50,000
Monthly ATM withdrawals 5,000 10,000 10,000
Daily ATM withdrawals 1,000 2,000 5,000
Contactless without PIN CHF 80 CHF 80 CHF 80

Two unofficial figures sit behind that blank cell, and you should know they exist. A March 2025 review reports that exchanging crypto to pay for card purchases costs 1%, and the same source carries tiered figures of 1% between EUR 25,000 and 10,000, 0.75% between 10,000 and 50,000, and 0.5% above 50,000, from an earlier check. Neither is confirmed on Swissquote’s pricing page. My reading is that if you run heavy crypto volumes through the card, the exchange spread is where your real cost sits, and you should ask for the current schedule rather than assume either number.

Now, three everyday payments, so the fee table turns into something you can feel:

A coffee in Zurich on Bright. You tap, Mastercard moves the amount, no transaction fee. If the card is set to a different currency than your bill, you pay the 0.95% conversion on 13 main currencies — an invisible small charge. This is the everyday case, and it is the one the card is good at.

A week in Lisbon on Bright, paid in euros. Every euro charge costs 0.95% conversion. The Mastercard rate underneath it moves daily, so the total varies. If the hotel wants to put a hold on your card for incidentals, a declined authorisation can leave funds held for several days — that is standard card-network behaviour, not a Swissquote quirk, but it is what turns a holiday week into a held-balance week.

A phone and laptop on Elite. No monthly fee shock, and if you are within the CHF 5,000 monthly conversion allowance, currency conversion is free, then 0.25% per transaction after that. But you only get Elite with CHF 100,000 of assets on subscription, and CHF 39 a month against that asset base is a small number that assumes you have a large one.

The pattern to notice: Swissquote charges almost nothing to hold the card and to transact. It charges at the points where value changes hands — currency conversion, cash withdrawal, crypto sale. That is normal banking pricing, and here it means the card rewards exactly the people who are already inside the ecosystem.

How to top up the card

This is where my mark drops to 4 out of 10, and I want to be plain about why. The card is not topped up from an external wallet. It draws on your Swissquote account — your bank or trading balance — and there is no mention of stablecoins or third-party wallets anywhere on the card pages.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Swissquote starts with a transfer to the right network

The crypto mechanic is this: you select crypto as the payment method in the app, and only the tokens needed for that particular purchase are sold. If your coffee costs a certain amount, the system sells the equivalent in whatever token you nominated. Supported tokens are Bitcoin, Ethereum and XRP, with “more planned”. Limits may apply when funding crypto exchanges. No network is named for these sales, because this is a sale inside the broker, not a blockchain transfer you initiate.

So the honest description of top-up is: it does not exist as a step. Money reaches the card the way it reaches any Swissquote card — spend from the multi-currency account, with the first deposit required before the account functions. The deposit fee and the deposit minimum are not stated on the card pages, so I cannot tell you what the first payment costs or how small it may be.

For cash, the ATM table above applies: CHF 4.90 abroad on Light and Bright, five free a month on Elite, and free in Switzerland on Bright and Elite.

And a clarification many people get wrong: Trading Credit is not cash. Swissquote pays cashback in Trading Credit, and the unofficial report on the reward details says that Trading Credit cannot be withdrawn and expires after three months. It is a broker balance line, not spendable money and not a withdrawal route. The balance on account closure, and the withdrawal of crypto or bank balance if you close, is not stated on the card pages — the balance sits in a Swissquote bank account, so transfers follow the account terms.

If you are someone whose money lives in a self-custody wallet, read that paragraph again. This card is not going to reach it.

Paying with it every day

This is the strongest part of the product and the reason I gave everyday use 9 out of 10. It behaves like a normal debit card.

Wallets. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. A pricing comparison on the site also lists Samsung Pay, and the Swiss page lists TWINT and eBill. Whether any merchant category is blocked is not stated, so if you spend on something unusual — gambling is the category most often restricted — you will find out at the till rather than in advance.

App. The Swissquote mobile app on iOS and Android has a Bank tab where the card lives and where the crypto payment method is selected. Unofficial ratings for the app as a whole are 4.3 out of 5 on the App Store across 47,913 ratings and 4.3 out of 5 on Google Play across 8,090 ratings. Note the scope: those are the ratings of the entire Swissquote app, the trading and banking platform as well as the card, and the figures come from a third-party page rather than from the stores themselves.

Rewards. Cashback is paid as Trading Credit, on regular and on crypto payments. The pricing page states 0.5% on Light and 1% on Bright and Elite for crypto payments. Regular purchase rates are given only unofficially: 0.25% on Light, 0.5% on Bright and Elite, and on Elite an additional 0.5% paid in gold capped at CHF 25 a month, which needs roughly CHF 5,000 of spending. Again: Trading Credit is not withdrawable and expires after three months.

Who else is inside this. A widely read explanation of how these cards work is worth a minute of your attention, because it tells you what you actually hold. A card number begins with a six or eight digit issuer identification number that says which institution and country issued it; merchants can look it up and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. The card network routes the transaction and sets the rules; the issuer is the bank licensed to run the programme; the crypto brand is often just a front end. In Swissquote’s case the issuer is a bank — Swissquote Bank Europe for the Mastercard, supervised in Luxembourg by the CSSF — so this is the well-regulated end of the category, not the thin end.

Two practical consequences follow. Online payments can ask for 3-D Secure verification, where the issuer approves frictionlessly or challenges you with a code; the Mastercard brand of it is Identity Check. And a decline can leave a hold on your account for several days. Neither is Swissquote-specific, but both are things people are surprised by the first month.

On charges and disputes, Swissquote Bank Europe publishes General Terms and Conditions for its debit card. I could not read the text of that document, so the dispute and chargeback time frames are not stated in this review. If a chargeback matters to you — that is, if you plan to use this card for anything you would fight over — ask Client Services for the timelines before you need them.

What can go wrong

No official incident appears on the card pages. That is not the same as no risk, so here is what I actually found, in descending order of how much it should change your behaviour.

Accounts can be closed on economic grounds. This is the big one. In August 2026 Swissquote warned around 600 customers, mostly Yuh users, that their accounts could be closed; the affected people were residents in Switzerland. The chief executive said the reasons were “exclusively economic in nature”, the accounts had not yet been closed, and no extension was planned beyond the roughly 600 identified. If your money is held with a broker as custody — which bank-held assets are by nature — you are trusting an institution that has just demonstrated it will switch off accounts. The wider reason is regulatory: anti-money-laundering law obliges institutions to verify customers, monitor transactions and report suspicious activity, and where due diligence cannot be completed the rules require them to stand aside from the transaction or the relationship. Residency is screened as part of the standard risk policy, which is exactly why it did not save those 600 accounts.

Slow money and slow service. A user report on the WikiFX aggregator, with around 49 complaints recorded in 2026, describes slow withdrawals, slow customer service, difficult activation, and account closures stalled by source-of-funds questions. And an unofficial Trustpilot figure of 3.7 out of 5 from 3,371 ratings — again covering all of Swissquote, not just the card — repeats the same themes. There is also a 2026 report of a failed flight booking paid with a Bright card. This is complaint-level evidence, not verified failure rates, but the pattern is consistent enough that I would not keep a large idle balance here.

Deposit guarantee is real but partial. Swissquote Bank Ltd is the Swiss entity; the Luxembourg page says the Mastercard is issued by Swissquote Bank Europe, supervised in Luxembourg by the CSSF and a member of the FGDL deposit guarantee scheme. Being inside a deposit guarantee scheme is a genuine protection — but note the category difference. An electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, and such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme at all. Ask which of the two your balance is under. If you do not get a clear answer, that is itself informative.

Fees you did not budget for. The crypto conversion fee on payment is not stated on the pricing page. Withdrawal fees abroad are CHF 4.90 on Light and Bright. Conversion outside the thirteen main currencies is the Mastercard rate plus 1.5%. And the limits are real ceilings: CHF 10,000 a month on Light, CHF 25,000 on Bright, CHF 50,000 on Elite, with daily ATM withdrawals of CHF 1,000, 2,000 and 5,000 respectively.

Programmes can be switched off. Card programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. Closures usually mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, so I mention it only as the shape of a shutdown rather than as a prediction.

What is on your side. You can block a lost or stolen card through Client Services, +352 2603 2003 on the Luxembourg page, CET Monday to Friday, with a contact form and FAQ. Virtual cards have built-in safeguards. Whether two-factor authentication and an in-app freeze are available is not stated on the pages I read, which for a card account is a gap I would want closed before I rely on it. Support runs through a Help Center, a Customer Care contact page and a Client Portal.

Two more things that catch people out, both general to crypto cards rather than to this one. A declined online authorisation can leave a hold for up to seven days. And if you send a stablecoin transfer to a network or address the provider does not support, it can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible. On this card specifically, that scenario does not arise in the way it would on a wallet-funded card, because the funds are sold inside the account.

What to take instead

If the Swissquote card fails you, it fails you for one of a few specific reasons, and each has a different alternative. Here is how the three main alternatives compare, on the same basis.

Swissquote International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Score 7.1 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Card Mastercard debit, three tiers U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” Multicurrency Mastercard, physical/virtual not stated Visa; physical/virtual not stated
Monthly cost Free / CHF 6.90 / CHF 39 Classic free, Pro $9.00, Max $19.00 No annual fee “No extra fees”, no amounts listed
Issuance fee Not stated $5 one-time Not stated Not stated
Currency conversion 0.95% on 13 currencies; Elite free to CHF 5,000/month then 0.25% Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee Live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” Not stated
Funding Swissquote account balance USDC or USDT 1:1 into the USD account, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow Not stated Whop balance; pending balance usable on arrival
Crypto payment on the card Yes, Bitcoin/Ethereum/XRP Not stated Not stated Not stated
Rewards Cashback as Trading Credit No cashback stated Spend-to-Earn up to 3% 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber
Availability Region-based; physical cards in 15 countries Not available to residents or registrants of a long restricted list Not stated 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses

Where the Swiss card is weak, the alternatives are worth reading honestly rather than dismissively.

If your problem is that you live somewhere Swissquote does not serve well. The International Visa Card excludes residents and legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, and reviews FATF grey-list countries case by case with compliance approval. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Its rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. That is a much narrower gate than Swissquote’s region selector, but it comes with a 2% FX fee on foreign currency and no crypto-on-the-card feature at all — so if crypto was the reason you were here, it does not solve it.

If your problem is the fee on currency and you do not need crypto. The UNi Card is the cheapest of the three on paper: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live over-the-counter rates, “no hidden exchange fees”, and spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. But its availability and funding route are not stated, and it does not tell you how it is paid for. Low cost plus missing information is not automatically the safer choice.

If your problem is that you want to spend a specific merchant ecosystem. Whop Cards offer 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber with more planned, and spend from a Whop balance where a pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives. The catch is geography: 31 US states for consumers, named individually, and unsupported consumer countries including Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The basis — citizenship or residence — is not stated. For most people outside the US this is simply not an option.

A fourth option deserves a sentence even though it is not a card brand: keeping the crypto in your own wallet. A self-custody-linked card lets funds stay in your wallet until the moment of payment, but then key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address are entirely your problem, and crypto transfers are irreversible by design. Swissquote sidesteps all of that by holding the assets for you — which is the trade. You give up control and key risk, and you gain a bank account, a card scheme member issuer and a deposit guarantee membership.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to four kinds of person, and steer the rest elsewhere.

First, existing Swissquote clients living in a served region, especially in the fifteen countries where plastic is listed. You are already inside the account; the card is a natural extension; Bright’s first six months are free and it is the best value of the three by a distance.

Second, anyone in Switzerland, the EU countries listed, the UK, the UAE, South Africa, Singapore or Hong Kong who wants a multi-currency Mastercard with a real bank behind it rather than an e-money institution. The 0.95% conversion on major currencies is respectable, the ATM allowances are decent, and FGDL membership is a genuine, if bounded, comfort.

Third, people who hold crypto inside Swissquote and want to spend it without manually selling first. The sell-only-what-the-purchase-needs mechanic is genuinely convenient, and the stated 0.5%–1% cashback on crypto payments is a real edge, provided you treat it as broker credit rather than withdrawable money.

Fourth, Elite clients with CHF 100,000 or more on the platform who want free conversion up to CHF 5,000 a month, five free ATM withdrawals at home and abroad, and higher ceilings. At that asset level CHF 39 a month is close to noise.

I would not recommend it if you need your card to follow your nationality rather than your address; if your funds live in a self-custody wallet and you refuse to move them; if you need stablecoin transfers from arbitrary chains as a funding route; if you cannot tolerate a provider closing your account on economic grounds, and I would think hard about that one given what happened in August 2026; or if cheap foreign-currency spending is your primary goal and 0.95% or the Mastercard rate plus 1.5% is too much.

And the single most useful thing you can do before applying is trivial: confirm that your residence, and for the physical tiers your country, is on Swissquote’s own list for your region. Everything else on this page is downstream of that.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Swissquote card?

The Swissquote card is a Mastercard debit card attached to a Swissquote bank and trading account. It is issued by Swissquote Bank Ltd in Switzerland, and on the Luxembourg side by Swissquote Bank Europe under CSSF supervision with FGDL deposit guarantee membership. It is not a standalone crypto wallet card: it spends from your account balance, with the added feature that you can nominate crypto as the payment source.

How does the Swissquote card work in practice?

You set crypto as the card’s payment method in the app, then pay normally by card or wallet. At the moment of purchase, the app sells only as much of your nominated token as that purchase requires, and the card spends the result. Supported tokens are Bitcoin, Ethereum and XRP, with more planned. Limits may apply when funding crypto exchanges, and the crypto conversion fee itself is not stated on the pricing page.

Is Swissquote a bank, and who owns it?

Yes. The card pages name Swissquote Bank Ltd as the Swiss entity, with Swissquote Bank Europe as the Luxembourg entity that issues the Mastercard. Swissquote is not a crypto startup dressed as a fintech — it is an established Swiss broker and bank, which is why its card behaves like a bank card rather than a prepaid card. I found no material about its ownership structure on the card pages themselves.

Can I get the Swissquote card in my country?

It depends on your residence first, since Swissquote’s site selector splits regions and pricing by it. For the physical Bright and Elite cards the list is specific: Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Italy, Austria, France, Germany, the UK, Cyprus, Spain, Malta, Monaco, the UAE, South Africa and Greece. A third-party directory reported 35 available and 13 restricted countries in August 2026, but that is unofficial — check the card pages for your region.

How do I apply for the Swissquote card?

You open a Swissquote account in your own name first, using the app’s simplified flow if it suits you, make a first deposit, and then order the card from the Bank tab in the app or the desktop platform. Elite additionally requires CHF 100,000 in total assets at subscription. Full banking KYC and AML applies; the required documents, minimum age and processing time are not stated on the card pages.

Is the Swissquote card free?

Partly. Light has no monthly fee and is virtual only. Bright is CHF 6.90 a month, free for the first six months and debited from the seventh. Elite is CHF 39 a month, with free cancellation after six months and two monthly fees before that. Transaction fees are free on every tier, and the issuance fee is not stated.

Is the Swissquote card safe?

The issuer side is as good as this category gets: a supervised bank, an FGDL deposit guarantee membership on the Luxembourg entity, virtual cards with built-in safeguards, and a lost or stolen card can be blocked through Client Services on +352 2603 2003. Against that, deposits are custodial, complaint reports describe slow withdrawals and slow service, and in August 2026 around 600 mostly Russian clients were warned of possible account closures. Neither 2FA nor an in-app freeze is stated on the pages I read.

Can I pay with the Swissquote card in Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Yes. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and the pricing comparison also lists Samsung Pay while the Swiss page lists TWINT and eBill. Adding the card to a mobile wallet tokenises the number so the real card number is never stored on your phone or on the wallet provider’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code.

Where can I use the Swissquote card?

Anywhere Mastercard is accepted, in the regions Swissquote serves you in, and cash at ATMs. Watch three things: the monthly payment ceilings are CHF 10,000, 25,000 and 50,000 by tier; contactless without a PIN is capped at CHF 80; and merchants can look up the issuer country on the card number, which can lead to extra checks when your billing address differs. Blocked merchant categories are not stated.

Is the Swissquote card worth it?

For a Swissquote client in a listed country who wants one card for bank balance and crypto, yes — that is why it scored 7.1 out of 10. For someone whose money is in a self-custody wallet, whose country is outside the fifteen with plastic, or who wants cheap foreign-currency spending, no. The crypto feature is convenient rather than transformative, and it comes with the account-closure risk any custodial broker carries.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team