The card that spends your locked crypto instead of your balance
Anodos does something most crypto cards do not. Instead of asking you to hold a balance on the platform and convert it as you spend, it takes the crypto you already keep in your own wallet and locks it as collateral. The card then spends up to the value of that lock. The crypto never moves into someone else’s account: the terms say neither Anodos nor the issuer will ever hold custody of your collateral. What you get in exchange is a Visa card, physical or virtual, that draws on your own assets — which sounds liberating until you realise that a drop in the value of your collateral can shrink your spending limit, and can trigger a liquidation event, without any warning you get to argue with.
I gave it 7.2 out of 10. It is not a bad card. It is a specific card for a specific person: someone already holding crypto in a self-custody wallet, in one of the 150+ countries the programme covers, who wants the crypto to back day-to-day card purchases without giving up ownership of it. If your situation is different — you want a simple debit card, or you want to be paid into a balance, or you live in one of the excluded countries — the picture changes quickly, and the rest of this review is largely about those cases.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Who this card is for, and who it is not
Anodos suits holders who keep crypto in their own wallet as collateral. That is the whole pitch, and it is genuinely different from the pack of prepaid crypto cards that convert and hold your money for you. It does not suit someone who wants a bank account, and it does not suit someone without collateral to post.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Available in 150+ countries with a few exceptions; residents of 17 countries are excluded, including Russia, Belarus, China, India, Turkey and Ukraine |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Free tier costs 0 USD with the first virtual card free, FX at 1.50%, ATM $1.00 + 1.75%; Pro is $9.99/month, Elite $29.99/month |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | No top-ups; collateral is locked in your own wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum, and the coins accepted are not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Anodos Labs Inc. is not a bank, the issuer is Third National under a Visa licence; the terms contain an incomplete placeholder; no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Physical or virtual card, ATM available on tiers with a $5,000 monthly limit on Free; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed |
| Total | 7.2 / 10 | A well-targeted product with unfinished paperwork and an open question about wallets |
The score for access is high because 150+ countries is a genuinely wide reach for a crypto card, and because the exclusion list is published rather than discovered at signup. The score for top-ups is the lowest of the six because there is no topping up here at all — that is a design decision, not a fault, but you should enter it knowing you are locking value, not loading a balance.
Will they give you the card
Mostly yes, unless you live in one of seventeen specific places. The card’s own page says it is currently available in 150+ countries with a few exceptions. Cards cannot be issued to residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam. Chinese and Hong Kong passports are not eligible. Nigeria, Sri Lanka and South Africa are possible, but only with “enhanced review + explicit approval” — which is not the same as a straightforward application.

Spending is blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela, so a card you hold is not a travel card for those places even if your residence qualified. The Russia situation is stated twice: cards cannot be issued to residents there, and cannot be used for spending there. Belarus: no issuance to residents.
There is one more line in the terms that catches people out. Users must attest that they are not US citizens, because this international programme is for people outside the United States. A separate US programme exists in 30 US states, but that is not the same product and not the terms described on these pages. If you are a US citizen living abroad, you are not in the international programme, whatever your address says.
One caveat worth stating plainly: the country availability page was last updated on 26 September 2026, so treat the list as recently maintained rather than constantly verified.
How to get it
The terms describe no KYC process — and I want to be careful about how I phrase that. “Not stated” is not the same as “no checks”. The card terms say you must provide “true, correct, and complete” information, and the usual identity requirements that come with a programme issued under a Visa licence may simply live in pages these terms do not repeat. The practical consequence is that you cannot plan around a published checklist, because there is not one. Age is not stated either. The terms restrict the card to personal, family or household use.
The mechanism itself is short. You link a wallet, lock collateral in it, and the spending limit is set by the collateral value. There is no application form in the terms and no stated activation procedure beyond that. What the public pages do not cover: the KYC level you will be assigned, how long review takes, and how a physical card is delivered or replaced — replacement and delivery are simply not listed in the fee schedule.
The card is issued “under license from Visa”, in physical or virtual form. Foreign-currency transactions are converted to USD by the card network, which is a fact you will feel every time you pay outside the United States.
What it really costs
Three tiers, one shared fee logic: you pay more on the free plan, and the monthly subscription buys down the percentages. The costs table below covers the things the terms actually specify. Where the card does not say, I say so rather than filling the gap.
| Fee or limit | Free | Pro | Elite |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly or annual fee | $0 (“Financial Freedom”) | $9.99/mo or $99.90/yr (“Empower Pro”) | $29.99/mo or $299.90/yr (“Sovereign Elite”) |
| First virtual card | Included free | Included free | Included free |
| Extra virtual card | $20 | $10 | $10 |
| Card FX / international fee | 1.50% | 1.25% | 1.00% |
| Currency exchange (non-card) | 1.00% | 0.75% | 0.50% |
| ATM withdrawal fee | $1.00 + 1.75% | $1.00 + 1.00% | $1.00 + 0.75% |
| Monthly ATM limit | $5,000 | $10,000 | $15,000 |
| Interest on purchases | 0% APR currently | 0% APR currently | 0% APR currently |
| Late payment | Up to $40 | Up to $40 | Up to $40 |
| Returned payment | $29.00 | $29.00 | $29.00 |
| Daily spending or payment limits | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Three everyday payments
A coffee abroad on the Free tier. Say your collateral supports a $500 limit and you spend $8 in a local currency. The card network converts the transaction to USD, and the international spend carries 1.50% on Free — so the fee is 12 cents. The conversion rate you get is the network’s, not a quoted one, and the terms do not promise a rate. On Elite the same 1.50% becomes 1.00%, eight cents, but only if you are paying $29.99 a month for the privilege.
An ATM withdrawal on Free. The fee is $1.00 plus 1.75% of the amount, so a $200 withdrawal costs $4.50 on top of the rate your own bank charges, and the monthly ATM ceiling on that tier is $5,000. Worth knowing: the same terms also state that “Cash advances and balance transfers are not available”, which reads as a contradiction with the ATM section. I cannot resolve that from the published pages. Treat ATM availability as something to confirm before you rely on it.
A month of ordinary spending on Free. No monthly card fee, no top-up fee, but 1.50% on foreign spend and 1.00% on non-card currency exchange every time you convert. If you spend abroad daily, the arithmetic quickly favours Pro at $9.99/month, which drops the card FX fee to 1.25%; Elite’s 1.00% only makes sense if you also push the ATM ceiling to $15,000.
The costs most people forget here are the ones the card cannot see: gas on the network when you lock collateral, and whatever your exchange charges to get the crypto in the first place.
How to top it up
You don’t. This is the single most important thing to understand about Anodos, and it trips up people who arrive from prepaid-card reviews.
There is no top-up. The model is collateral: your crypto stays in your wallet, you grant a security interest over it, and the spending limit equals the value you have locked. $100 of collateral supports a $100 spending limit, across all three tiers alike. The networks are listed as Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum — spelled “Arbitrium” in the terms — plus others the issuer may add. The coins accepted are not listed, which means you cannot answer “will my token work?” from the public pages. That is a real gap, and the only way to close it is support.
A deposit fee is not listed in the fee schedule. Gas fees on a liquidation are paid out of the collateral itself, so a forced sale eats into the asset you posted. And withdrawal is not applicable in the ordinary sense: the collateral stays in your wallet. What happens on termination is that you must surrender or destroy the card, and your repayment obligations survive the closing of the account.
The limit is “dynamic and may be modified at any time”, including being cut to $0. On a volatile collateral that is the feature to think hardest about, not the fees.
Paying with it every day
The card behaves like an ordinary Visa in the shop and does not announce itself as a crypto product. That is its practical strength.
Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated, so I would not plan around tapping your phone until you have confirmed it. Cash-like transactions — crypto purchases, gambling, money transfers — may be restricted, which is standard for this category but here it is only a “may”, not a list. Rewards are not stated in the card terms at all. The Anodos app exists and covers sending, saving and investing, but the platforms it runs on are not stated, and I found no store ratings.
If a payment goes wrong, the route is the familiar one: try the merchant first, then report the dispute with the issuer “no more than 60 days after the disputed Charge is posted on your Periodic Statement”. Pending disputed charges may still be due while the case runs, and card network rules apply on top of your terms. Support is by email at [email protected] and by phone on +1 (307) 683-5768, with official channels on X, Discord, LinkedIn, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram and TikTok. Languages and hours are not stated.
What can go wrong
Three risks sit above the rest, and none of them is the fee schedule.
Collateral value risk. If your payment is not made “within one (1) calendar day”, or if the collateral value falls below your outstanding charges, a liquidation event follows. The account may be suspended or cancelled “in our sole discretion”. A quiet weekend in a falling market is enough to move your limit — or to zero, since the terms allow the limit to be reduced at any time.
Paperwork risk. Anodos Labs Inc. is the technology provider and says plainly that it is “not a bank, credit union, or money services business”. The issuer is Third National, under a Visa licence. The card terms are governed by Puerto Rico law with binding AAA arbitration in New York — an inconvenient combination if you ever need to contest something. And the terms still contain an incomplete placeholder. That is a small detail on the page and a large one in a contract: something in those documents was never finished.
Silence risk. Official incidents or complaints are not stated, and no Trustpilot page or review record exists for the card. For a live product, an absence of complaints is weak evidence: it often means a small user base rather than a clean record. Treat it as untested rather than trusted.
On the security side, the model is better than average in one important respect. It is non-custodial: Anodos and the issuer “will not, in any circumstance, be holding custody of your Collateral”. What you give up instead is a security interest, and with it all the key-management risk that self-custody carries — a lost seed phrase, a phishing page, or malware that swaps a pasted address is your problem, not the company’s. Two-factor authentication and an in-app card freeze are not stated, and those are the first two features I would ask about.
What to take instead
The honest comparison is not “which crypto card is best” but “which model fits”. These are the alternatives in the same category, and their published terms are thinner or fuller in different places.
| Anodos | Sponge | Nexo | Xplace | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score in our catalogue | 7.2 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 6.3 / 10 | 7.7 / 10 |
| Model | Collateral locked in your own wallet | Credit card, USDC moved from wallet | Balance held on platform | Cash mode (stablecoin balance) or credit mode (borrowing) |
| Network | Visa | Visa, issued by Rain | Mastercard notice; issuer DiPocket UAB | Visa |
| Cost | $0 / $9.99 mo / $29.99 mo | Not stated | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee | Basic free, Silver $99/y, Gold $249/y, Platinum $999/y |
| Fees | FX 1.50% / 1.25% / 1.00% by tier | Not stated | FX 0.2% weekdays in EEA/UK/CH, 0.7% weekends; 2% / 2.5% rest of world | 0% FX on Platinum; other tiers not stated |
| Where it fits | You already hold crypto and want it to back spending | You want a credit line | You want a balance plus cashback | You want Solana deposits and tier cashback |
Sponge is the thinnest of the four on paper. It describes a virtual card created with createSpongeCard, presented as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member. Cost and fees are not stated, country availability is not stated, and the collateral model is USDC moved from the Sponge wallet, with base as the example chain and the SDK mentioning base or solana. If you are considering it, you are accepting a lot of unknowns in exchange for a credit line.
Nexo is the balance-model alternative, and for most people it is the more conventional choice. No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; a virtual card that activates in the app once you hold at least $50; a physical card with free shipping but a $5,000 minimum balance and at least the Gold tier. Its FX fee is 0.2% on weekdays and 0.7% on weekends in the EEA, UK and Switzerland, and 2% / 2.5% elsewhere — so it is only the cheap option in Europe. Availability covers residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”, with excluded jurisdictions unnamed, and a separate US programme. Cashback in Credit Mode pays NEXO or Bitcoin by tier, and needs more than $5,000 held. One thing you should know that is not in Nexo’s own material: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and AML violations. That is third-party reporting, not official, and it does not amount to a finding — but it is the kind of item I would rather you heard from me.
Xplace scores highest here at 7.7, largely because it publishes more of its fee structure. Annual fees run from free (Basic) to $999 (Platinum), with no origination fee on borrowing. You deposit BTC, ETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT or xStocks on Solana. Cash mode spends your stablecoin balance; credit mode borrows against holdings. Cashback is 0.5% on Basic rising to 2% on Platinum, paid in USDC. Against that: “0% FX on Platinum” is the only FX figure given, other tiers are unstated, Gold and Platinum physical cards are marked as coming soon, and the country list is not published.
The pattern across all four is worth naming: not one of them publishes a clean, complete fee table with a daily limit. That is the category, not a quirk of Anodos.
Who I would recommend it to
If you keep crypto in a self-custody wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum, you are comfortable with a spending limit that moves with the market, and you live in one of the 150+ countries this programme covers, Anodos is a sensible card to try — starting on the free tier, where the commitment is zero and the first virtual card costs nothing.
If any of the following is true, I would look elsewhere. You want a stable balance that does not shrink when prices fall. You live in one of the seventeen excluded countries. You are a US citizen abroad. You rely on Apple Pay or Google Pay. You need rewards. You want a physical card with clearly stated delivery and replacement terms. Or you want to know, in advance and in writing, which coins count as collateral — because right now the card does not say.
And before you commit: lock a small amount first, watch what the limit does over a volatile week, and ask support directly about the ATM contradiction and the incomplete placeholder in the terms. Both are quick questions and both deserve an answer before you put real value behind the card.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Anodos card?
The Anodos card is a Visa payment card, physical or virtual, that spends against crypto you lock as collateral in your own wallet. You set the spending limit by locking value — $100 of collateral supports a $100 limit — and the crypto stays in your wallet rather than moving to the platform. Anodos Labs Inc. is the technology provider, not a bank; the issuer is Third National.
How does the Anodos card work?
You link a wallet, lock collateral on a supported network, and the card can spend up to that value. Payments draw against the lock, and the terms describe a “dynamic” limit that can be modified at any time, including down to $0. If a payment is missed by more than one calendar day, or the collateral falls below your outstanding charges, a liquidation event can follow and gas is paid from the collateral.
Is Anodos a bank?
No, and Anodos says so itself: it is “not a bank, credit union, or money services business”, and it describes itself as a technology provider. The card is issued under a Visa licence by an issuer named as Third National. The card terms are governed by Puerto Rico law with binding AAA arbitration in New York. The collateral itself is non-custodial — neither Anodos nor the issuer holds it at any time.
Which countries can use the Anodos card?
Available in 150+ countries with a few exceptions. Cards cannot be issued to residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam. Nigeria, Sri Lanka and South Africa need enhanced review and explicit approval. Spending is blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela.
Does the Anodos card require KYC?
The card terms describe no KYC process, and they do not state a KYC level. They do require you to provide “true, correct, and complete” information, and age is not stated. There is also an attestation that you are not a US citizen, because the international programme covers people outside the United States — a separate US programme exists in 30 states. Treat the missing checklist as a gap in the documentation, not as an absence of checks.
Is the Anodos card free?
The Free tier, called “Financial Freedom”, costs $0 and includes the first virtual card at no charge. Pro costs $9.99/month or $99.90/year, Elite $29.99/month or $299.90/year. Extra virtual cards are $20 on Free and $10 on Pro or Elite. The FX fee falls from 1.50% to 1.25% to 1.00% across the three tiers, which is what the subscription is actually buying.
How much can I spend, and can I withdraw money?
Your spending limit equals your locked collateral and can change at any time; daily limits are not stated. ATM withdrawals are charged $1.00 plus 1.75% on Free, 1.00% on Pro and 0.75% on Elite, with monthly ATM limits of $5,000, $10,000 and $15,000. But the terms also state that cash advances are not available, which contradicts the ATM section — confirm before relying on it.
Is the Anodos card safe?
In the way that matters most: the collateral is non-custodial and stays in your wallet. Against that, the spending limit can be cut to $0 or trigger a liquidation if collateral value falls, the terms still contain an incomplete placeholder, two-factor authentication and an in-app freeze are not stated, and I found no complaints data either way — which for a live product usually means a small user base, not a clean record.
Can I add the Anodos card to Apple Wallet?
The card terms do not say. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is simply not stated on the public pages, so treat tap-to-pay as unconfirmed rather than unavailable. It is worth asking support directly, since mobile wallet support is standard on mainstream cards and its absence here would be a real gap for daily use.
How do I close the account, and what happens to my collateral?
The collateral never leaves your wallet in the first place, so there is nothing to withdraw — the crypto stays where it is, subject to the security interest you granted while the account was open. On termination the card must be surrendered or destroyed, and your repayment obligations survive the account closing. Support is at [email protected] and +1 (307) 683-5768.
Credit and cashback cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
