A Nigerian virtual dollar card built on a thin set of published facts

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

PowerPay is a mobile app that gives you a virtual dollar card you can load by selling crypto. The pitch is simple enough: keep some USDT or BTC in your wallet, convert to naira, kwanza or cedis balance, then spend dollars online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. The trouble starts when you try to read the small print. PowerPay’s public pages do not list the card network, the issuer, the licences behind it, or most of the fees. What you do get is a virtual product aimed squarely at Nigeria, with a name suggesting a payments utility rather than a bank, and a single review on the App Store to show for it. This review walks through what the company publishes, what it leaves out, and what that means for you.

PowerPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

PowerPay earns 4.0 out of 10. The product works for a narrow use case — a Nigerian user who wants a virtual dollar card funded from crypto and is comfortable with a wallet run by a company that does not name its issuer, its licence, or any of its fees. If you sit outside that profile, or if you simply want to know what you will pay for a coffee in Lagos, the silence on the page is the answer in itself.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PowerPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 2 / 10 The app is aimed at Nigeria; the site also lists Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis; the terms are governed by Nigerian law.
Cost 5 / 10 The company does not publish its fees. The App Store listing says “competitive rates on every swap and sale” without a number.
Top-up options 5 / 10 Sell crypto for naira, Kenyan shilling or Ghanaian cedi balance, then fund the card. Networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operated by PowerPay Limited in Abuja. The card issuer and any licences are not stated. No user complaints are publicly available.
Everyday use 3 / 10 A virtual card denominated in US dollars, with a published limit of up to $10,000. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. There is no public mention of a physical card or ATM access.

The single audience that this card fits cleanly is a Nigerian user topping up a virtual dollar card from a crypto balance. Everyone else will be working harder than the product saves them.

Will they give you the card

PowerPay’s public pages do not say who is eligible in a single sentence, but the shape is clear. The iOS app is described in its App Store listing as “Nigeria’s all-in-one app,” and the wallet supports three currencies: Nigerian naira, Kenyan shilling and Ghanaian cedi. The earlier wording also listed Nigeria, Kenya and Ghana. If you live in one of those three, you can use the wallet. If you do not, the rest of this section matters less for you than for the readers who fit it.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PowerPay starts with a transfer to the right network

Two structural points are worth knowing up front. The first is the legal base: the published terms are governed by Nigerian law, which means the contract you agree to in the app is read through Nigerian courts and Nigerian regulators, even if the same app is sold in Kenya or Ghana. The second is the licence: PowerPay does not name a card issuer on its public pages, nor does it list any payment-services or e-money licence. That is a feature of the page, not an interpretation, and it is one you should treat as part of the offer.

Two KYC tiers exist. The first is the basic level, where the app asks for a government-issued ID — National Identity Card, NIN or BVN — plus a proof of address, either a utility bill or a bank statement. A working mobile phone number is also required. The age limit is not stated on the public pages. The second tier is Enhanced Due Diligence, used for higher-risk customers, where the company can ask for source-of-funds documents. Per-tier limits and processing times are not stated.

How to get it

The signup flow is built around the app, not the web. PowerPay is available on iOS as “PowerPay Ng” and on Google Play, and the iOS page is the closest thing to a pricing page the company publishes, because that is where the “competitive rates” line lives. The card itself is a virtual dollar card, described on the public site as “Instant virtual cards.” The card network is not stated on the public pages; the card’s currency is the US dollar, by the page’s own naming.

The signup itself is the KYC flow described in the previous section: ID, proof of address, a phone number. Once verified, you get a virtual card. There is no physical card, no ATM access and no delivery step, because the card is virtual. The website does not state which card network sits behind the PAN, and a cardholder using Apple Pay or Google Pay on top of that PAN will still see no network in their wallet metadata beyond what the tokenisation surface exposes.

One practical effect of a virtual-only product: there is no chip-and-PIN to lose, and there is no plastic to freeze, but the “freeze” function the site advertises still applies to the digital PAN. If the card is bound to Apple Pay or Google Pay, the issuer — whoever that turns out to be — may be able to restrict tokenised numbers separately from the underlying card, but PowerPay does not explain how that is handled in this product.

What it really costs

This is the section where PowerPay’s public pages give the least away, and the reason the cost score sits in the middle of the table rather than at the bottom or the top. The company has not published a fee schedule, an exchange-rate margin, an ATM fee, a monthly maintenance fee, or an issuance fee for the card. The App Store listing says “competitive rates on every swap and sale,” which is marketing copy rather than a number. The website names the $10,000 ceiling for the virtual card but does not link that ceiling to a specific KYC tier.

Below is what the public pages state, and what they do not.

Fee or limit What PowerPay says
Card issuance not stated
Monthly fee not stated
Crypto-to-fiat conversion (swap/sale) “Competitive rates,” no figure
Foreign exchange not stated
ATM withdrawal not stated
Daily limit not stated
Monthly limit not stated
Maximum card balance “up to $10,000 threshold”

Reading that table against the everyday cases a user actually faces is the most useful exercise. Three small scenarios, all unofficial because the company has not published a fee schedule, show what is and is not knowable from the public pages.

You buy a $30 app subscription from a US service. The card is denominated in dollars, the merchant settles in dollars, and the conversion path is short. The rate you receive on the crypto-to-USD sale inside the app is the only fee you can know about, and PowerPay has not published what that rate is. Network-level cross-border or scheme fees, if any, are not disclosed.

You buy a coffee in Lagos for 5,000 naira through Apple Pay at a point-of-sale terminal. The wallet balance is in naira, the card is in dollars, and the conversion is a two-step path: naira balance to dollar card, then dollar to naira at the merchant. The cost of that second conversion, and the FX margin applied by the card scheme or the issuer, is not stated.

You top up the card with USDT over an unsupported network. The transfer itself is paid for on-chain, in the network’s native asset. The amount that lands in your wallet is reduced by that network fee, and if you sent the USDT on a network PowerPay does not support, the transfer can be lost or stuck in support, with no guarantee of recovery. The site does not name which USDT and USDC networks are accepted.

The honest answer to “what does it really cost” is: the company has not told you, and the only way to find out is to load a small amount, make a small payment, and read the receipt.

How to top it up

Topping up the PowerPay card is a two-step process. First, you sell crypto inside the app to a fiat balance in naira, Kenyan shilling or Ghanaian cedi. Second, you move that balance to the card. The earlier list of supported coins is USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH. The networks on which these are accepted are not named. The page is also explicit that you can collect payments into the wallet through Paystack, Flutterwave and Kora, so the wallet doubles as a small payments collection account.

The general category point worth carrying with you is that stablecoin and crypto transfers are irreversible once confirmed. A deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or stuck in support, with no guarantee of recovery. PowerPay also reserves the right, in its terms, to place a lien on funds, meaning access can be restricted. Withdrawal rules from the wallet itself are not stated on the public pages.

In practical terms, the safe sequence is to start small, confirm that a top-up lands and is reflected in the card balance, then scale up. The other safe sequence, for a user who does not want to be the first test case, is to choose a card provider that names the networks it accepts and publishes its top-up timing.

Paying with it every day

The everyday-use picture is mostly positive in the marketing sense, mostly thin in the public-information sense. The card is a virtual card in US dollars, bound to Apple Pay and Google Pay, and useful for online subscriptions and for tap-to-pay at any terminal that takes a contactless card. There is no public mention of a physical card, no ATM access, and no rewards or cashback programme described on the public pages.

The iOS app, “PowerPay Ng,” has a single 5.0 rating from one user as of the read date, which is not a sample on which to draw conclusions. The Android build is available on Google Play. The app’s role is to display balance, freeze the card, and show transactions — three things the site explicitly mentions under “pay safely online,” “monitor spend” and “Freeze card at will.”

For disputes, the published path is that product complaints go first to the merchant, and unresolved matters go to arbitration in English before a sole arbitrator, sitting under Nigerian law. The support email is [email protected] and the phone number is +234 811-9543-742. Time frames for the dispute and arbitration process are not stated on the public pages. As a cardholder, that means the company has not committed, in writing, to a response window for a complaint or to a chargeback-style timeline.

The general category point is that a virtual card is well suited to online and contactless retail, less suited to any use that requires a physical card or a cash withdrawal, and that a tokenised card on Apple Pay or Google Pay can be restricted by the issuer independently of the underlying card, which can show up as a declined tap at a terminal that would otherwise have accepted the card.

What can go wrong

The risk picture has three layers: the company, the product, and the category. The company is operated by PowerPay Limited, with an address at Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja — FCT. The App Store developer field shows ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD, which is not the same name and is worth noting if you are trying to verify who is behind the app. The card issuer and any payment-services or e-money licence are not stated on the public pages.

The product layer is the silence. No published fee schedule, no published card network, no published daily or monthly limit, no published dispute timeline, and no published list of supported networks for top-ups. The site advertises “Freeze card at will” and transaction monitoring as security features, and the user is responsible for their password. The wallet is custodial, in the sense that the company holds the credentials on the user’s behalf — the user does not manage a seed phrase.

The category layer is what any crypto-funded card carries with it. Cryptocurrency transfers are irreversible and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery. Custodial platforms have a record of failures across the industry, and the public pages do not describe how PowerPay segregates customer funds or whether any of them are safeguarded in a way that survives an operational failure at the company. Visa and Mastercard themselves do not issue cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme, which means a card programme can be wound down by the network on its own decision, with a notice period, a stop on new loads, and a stop on spending.

The incident and complaint picture is short. No official incidents were found in the search, and no public user complaints were located, including on Trustpilot. There is no published news about PowerPay. That silence is not the same as a clean record, and it is not the same as a dirty one. It is the absence of a public record on a young product.

What to take instead

If PowerPay’s shape does not fit what you need, three other cards in the same general category make the comparison useful. None of them is identical, and the numbers below are the scores each card earned in the same review framework, not adjusted for this page.

Card Score Who it suits What it costs Top-up options
Cardex 5.6 / 10 “One crypto card, 200+ countries” per its pages; App Store listing is naira-focused Cost not stated; the site says an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picks the best exchange rate at the moment of payment USDT, USDC and BTC; networks not stated
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Aimed at Nigeria, with “Nigerians and global users”; no exclusions list “Creating a virtual card is completely free” per the site FAQ; monthly fee not stated; other fees not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or naira bank transfer; networks not stated
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 No official country list; App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries,” meaning acceptance, not eligibility Not stated; App Store page lists no fees Deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC and ETH; converted to USD or EUR on the card; networks not stated

What jumps out of the comparison is that the field of Nigerian-focused virtual crypto cards is small, and the public-information problem is industry-wide. Cardex is broader on geography but does not publish a fee schedule either. CardFlow is free at the moment of card creation but is also thin on disclosed fees. HyperCard publishes no fees and is mute on the country list. The choice between them comes down to which gaps you are willing to live with, not which one has the cleanest page.

Two structural facts that travel across the category. First, on-chain network fees for the user’s deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, and they are paid in the network’s native asset — for example, ETH on Ethereum or TRX on Tron, with USDC transfers on Tron having been stopped by Circle in February 2024. Second, stablecoins are not necessarily stable despite the name: Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC account for about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation per the BIS in July 2025, but the category has historical depegs, including TerraUSD in May 2022 and a temporary USDC depeg in March 2023.

Who I would recommend it to

The honest recommendation sits inside a narrow band. PowerPay is worth a serious look if you are a Nigerian user who already holds USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH, you want a virtual dollar card for online and contactless spending through Apple Pay or Google Pay, you do not need a physical card or ATM access, and you are willing to load a small amount first to discover the fee you will actually pay. It is also worth a serious look if you are testing the Nigerian crypto-card market and want a point of comparison against CardFlow, Cardex or HyperCard.

It is not the right card if you need a published fee schedule before you commit money, if you want a physical card or ATM access, if you live outside Nigeria, Kenya and Ghana, or if you need a chargeback and dispute process that is described in writing with response windows. The product is also not the right card if you are unwilling to accept that the card issuer and the licences behind the product are not on the public page. You can still use the card with that gap, but the gap is real, and it should be a part of your decision, not an oversight on your part.

The single most useful thing you can do before loading real money is to send a small test top-up from the network you intend to use, confirm it lands in the wallet, and confirm the resulting card balance matches what the receipt says. That single five-minute check will tell you more about your actual cost than the company’s marketing copy, and it will tell you which network to use for the rest of your transfers.

Frequently asked questions

What is the PowerPay card?

PowerPay is a mobile app that gives you a virtual US-dollar card you can load by selling crypto. The card is virtual, sits behind a wallet that supports naira, Kenyan shilling and Ghanaian cedi balances, and is accepted through Apple Pay and Google Pay. The card network is not stated on the public pages.

Is PowerPay a bank?

No. PowerPay is operated by PowerPay Limited, an Abuja-based company. The public pages do not name a card issuer or any banking, payment-services or e-money licence, so the product is best understood as a payments app rather than a bank. Your funds are held by the company, not by a licensed bank, and they are not deposit-guaranteed.

Who owns PowerPay?

PowerPay is operated by PowerPay Limited, with a published address in Apo, Abuja. The App Store developer field lists ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD, which is a different name from the operator. The company has not published ownership, group structure, or any card-issuer relationship on its public pages.

Is the PowerPay card available in my country?

The app’s public pages do not give a country list, but the wallet is built around three currencies: Nigerian naira, Kenyan shilling and Ghanaian cedi, with the iOS app listing describing itself as “Nigeria’s all-in-one app.” If you are outside those three, the product is unlikely to fit. The terms are governed by Nigerian law.

How do I get a PowerPay card?

Download the iOS or Android app, complete basic KYC with a government-issued ID (National Identity Card, NIN or BVN) and a proof of address, then create a virtual dollar card. The card is virtual, so there is no delivery step. Per-tier limits and processing times are not stated on the public pages.

Does PowerPay require KYC?

Yes. Basic KYC asks for a government-issued ID and a proof of address, plus a valid mobile number. The age limit is not stated. Higher-risk customers can be moved to Enhanced Due Diligence, which can include source-of-funds checks. Per-tier limits are not stated.

How do I top up the PowerPay card?

Sell crypto inside the app for a fiat balance in naira, Kenyan shilling or Ghanaian cedi, then move that balance to the card. The earlier supported list is USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH; the supported networks are not stated. The public pages also let you collect payments through Paystack, Flutterwave and Kora.

How do I add the PowerPay card to Apple Wallet?

Open the card detail in the PowerPay app and follow the standard Apple Pay add-card flow. The card network is not stated on PowerPay’s public pages, so the tokenisation behaviour you see in Apple Wallet depends on the underlying issuer rather than on PowerPay. The same applies to Google Pay.

Is the PowerPay card safe to use?

The site advertises transaction monitoring, the ability to “Freeze card at will,” and a user-side responsibility for password security. The wallet is custodial, which means the company holds the credentials on your behalf. There are no public user complaints or incidents, but there is also no published fee schedule, no named issuer, no published licence, and no published dispute timeline. Treat the silence as part of the offer, not as an oversight.

Is the PowerPay card worth it?

It depends on what you need. For a Nigerian user topping up a virtual dollar card from USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH, and who is comfortable with a card whose fees, network, issuer and limits are not all on the public page, PowerPay can fit. For a user who needs a published fee schedule, a physical card, ATM access, or a documented dispute process, the product’s gaps are too large to recommend.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team