A virtual dollar card funded from crypto, useful mainly if you are already inside the Bitnob wallet ecosystem
The Bitnob card is a virtual USD Visa or Mastercard that you fund from a crypto balance inside the Bitnob wallet and then spend like an ordinary payment card. That short description hides most of what matters. For the reader who already holds Bitcoin, USDT or USDC with Bitnob and wants a dollar card without a traditional bank saying yes, it is a genuinely useful tool. For everyone else — and especially if you cannot get a normal debit card, or you want a card that works at a shop without fussing with merchant categories — the thin official information and a heavy cloud of complaints will make you cautious. Read on, and I will tell you where the sharp edges are.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.1 out of 10
I score the Bitnob card 5.1 / 10. It is a competent bridge between a crypto balance and a dollar-denominated virtual card, but it is a virtual-only product with no published price list, no 3-D Secure, no ATM access, and a public trust record that gives real pause. My score breaks down into five criteria, each of which I explain in the sections that follow.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Countries are not named on the card page; a Nigeria-based company has expanded to eight other African countries, and eligibility depends on region and partner |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | No official amounts are published; unofficial sources say creation is free or about USD 1, one Trustpilot complaint cites USD 6 for new cards, and the conversion fee is never named |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Funded from a Bitcoin, USDT or USDC wallet balance, though networks are not disclosed; unofficial figures cite funding up to USD 10,000 |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Bitnob Technologies Limited is not a bank or a licensed card issuer, cards come from “regulated partners”, and Trustpilot shows 2.9 out of 5 from 48 reviews with 50% one-star |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual only; Apple Wallet and Google Pay are added manually, there is no 3-D Secure and no ATM withdrawal |
Who it suits. Someone based in Africa who already keeps crypto with Bitnob and wants a virtual USD card funded directly from BTC, USDT or USDC, to pay online or add to a mobile wallet.
Who it does not suit. Someone who wants a physical card, an ATM, 3-D Secure, a clearly published fee schedule, or high confidence that a payment will simply go through at any shop. It is also a poor fit if you are outside its region and cannot complete its verification.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: probably, if you can pass verification and you fall inside the regions it serves — but the card page does not name the countries, so you cannot confirm eligibility before you try.
The Bitnob card page does not specify any countries. It refers to “dollar-scarce markets” instead. The company behind it, Bitnob Technologies Limited, is based in Nigeria and has expanded to “eight other countries in Africa”. Press coverage from 2023 said that “users located anywhere in the world who have access to the Bitnob app can create a virtual card”. But availability, the card page notes, varies “by region and partner institution”.
So there are two different questions here, and people often confuse them:
- Can I create the card? Broader — press suggests almost anyone with the app could, back in 2023.
- Can I actually use it at my shop or service? Narrower — that depends on your region and which partner institution is behind the card.
Your nationality is also relevant in a way people do not expect. Card issuers screen customers against sanctions lists by citizenship and country of birth, not just by the address you live at. That is general practice across the industry, and it is why a card that works for one person is refused for another in the same city.
Because the card page names no country list, the honest answer to “is Bitnob available in my country” is: you find out by applying, not by reading. If your ability to get an ordinary bank card is the reason you are here, be aware that the same verification hurdles apply here too.
How to get it
You apply through the app, and the card only appears once you have passed verification. The process is: verify your identity, create the virtual card in the app, and fund it from your crypto balance. There is no physical card to wait for.
Verification is the gate. Bitnob states that cards can only be issued to customers who have passed verification, and it asks for an image of your ID along with details that match it. For national ID cards from a list of countries, you submit the card photographed front and back together. Passports and driver’s licences are not affected by that particular front-and-back requirement. The minimum age is 18.
Some things I could not find on the public pages are worth naming plainly once here: the specific list of countries whose national ID cards need front-and-back submission is not stated, the level of verification (address documents, selfie, source of funds) is not stated, and whether a proof of address is required is not stated. That means the exact document set you will be asked for can only be discovered by starting the flow in the app.
One practical warning. A Trustpilot user reported having verification denied *after* they had already deposited funds, in September 2025. The lesson for you: complete verification first and see it pass before you move money onto the platform, because verification problems discovered post-deposit are far more painful to resolve than those caught beforehand.
The card itself is virtual only — no physical card is currently offered, so “waiting for the card to arrive” never applies. The card page advertises “Visa and Mastercard USD cards”, and the API documentation describes “USD-denominated virtual Visa cards”. You get a card number, expiry and security code to enter into sites or wallets.
What it really costs: Fees
This is the weakest part of the review. Bitnob publishes no fee amounts at all. The card page says cardholder fees are “defined per platform integration”, and no official figure is given for creating a card, a monthly fee, conversion, or foreign exchange. When a company’s own pricing page declines to name a number, you have to treat the cost as unknown.

What is claimed officially is “seamless conversion at the best available rate”, with no FX or conversion fee stated. That sounds like zero, but “not stated” is not the same as “none”. The rate you get may include a spread you cannot see.
What I could gather from unofficial sources, offered here as third-party claims and not confirmed by Bitnob:
- The Paypers (February 2023) and cryptocards.so (undated) say creating a card is free.
- nairacompare.ng (2026) lists a USD 1 creation fee.
- A Trustpilot user complained of a USD 6 fee charged on new cards (June 2025).
These are inconsistent with each other, which is itself the finding: the real cost of getting and using a Bitnob card is something you discover in the app, not something written down in advance.
The costs table below is the honest summary — many cells simply say the figure is not published.
| Fee or limit | What Bitnob publishes |
|---|---|
| Card issuance fee | Not published; unofficial: free or USD 1 |
| Monthly fee | Not published |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion fee | Not published; only “best available rate” is claimed |
| Foreign exchange (FX) fee | Not published |
| ATM withdrawal | Not available — the API docs list “no ATM withdrawals” |
| Daily spending limit | Not published; limits are configurable per card |
| Monthly spending limit | Not published; limits are configurable per card |
| Overdraft | None — the card is prepaid |
Spending limits are a matter of configuration rather than a fixed number. Per the card, limits can be set per card by amount, by merchant, by channel, and by time of day. That is a useful control once money is loaded; it does not tell you your actual ceiling. One unofficial figure, from The Paypers in February 2023, cites funding up to USD 10,000 — again, not confirmed by the card.
Three everyday payments, and which fees apply
Because no percentage fees are published, the safest way to think about cost is by transaction type:
- Paying an online subscription in dollars. You load the crypto, it converts to USD at the claimed best rate, and the card is charged. The only fee named anywhere is the conversion, and it is not quantified. Watch the rate you receive rather than hunting for a published percentage.
- Paying a local shop priced in your own currency. This is where foreign exchange enters — and no FX fee or rate is published. If the merchant’s terminal converts dollars to your currency, who eats that spread is not explained by Bitnob.
- Trying to withdraw cash at an ATM. You cannot. The API documentation states there are “no ATM withdrawals”. The card is for spending, not for cash.
One thing you should know about declined payments generally: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that remains for several days, typically up to seven. So a failed payment can tie up money temporarily even if nothing is ultimately charged.
How to top it up
You fund the card from the crypto balance you already hold in Bitnob — Bitcoin, USDT or USDC. There is no overdraft and no bank transfer funding. The flow is straightforward: crypto sits in your wallet, the app converts and loads it, and the card spends that balance.
Two details are worth pausing on. First, the networks are not stated. Bitnob does not publish which blockchains it accepts for USDT, USDC or Bitcoin. This matters more than it sounds. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. If the network list is not visible in the app before you send, pause and confirm it through support.
Second, there are no tiers and no separate top-up fee page. Bitnob describes a single product, and details of a specific top-up fee, minimum or maximum are not stated on the pages I could read. Wallet withdrawal rules are also not stated. What is clear is the model: this is a prepaid card. It spends only a balance you have already loaded, so it cannot overdraw — but it also cannot rescue you if the loaded amount runs out.
I want to be straightforward about the crypto layer, because it is where your money actually sits. Your funds are held custodially — you are funding from your Bitnob wallet balance, which means the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them with the funds while they sit there. This is the opposite of a self-custody card, where the money stays in your own wallet until the moment of payment. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network all lost funds to large-scale incidents. That is background risk, not a prediction about Bitnob, but it belongs in your thinking.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the Bitnob card is a virtual card you add to a phone wallet or type into websites. It is deliberately spare, and that spareness is the trade.
What it does:
- Apple Wallet and Google Pay, by adding the card details manually. Note the condition: for Apple Wallet your Apple ID region must be the United States.
- Spending controls: freeze the card from the dashboard menu, and set limits by amount, merchant, channel and time of day.
- Prepaid, no overdraft — the balance is the ceiling.
What it does not do, and this is where the “everyday use” score of 4 comes from:
- No 3-D Secure. There is no extra identity check on online payments, meaning less protection against a fraudulent online charge where a challenge would normally appear.
- No ATM. You cannot take cash out.
- No physical card, so no in-person tap at a terminal that only reads plastic.
- Merchant category restrictions. Payments work “within allowed categories”, but the list of allowed categories is not published. This is the quietest trap: a category you never knew was blocked simply declines.
Two more realities to weigh. Rewards are not stated — no cashback, points or scheme is described on the official pages (one unofficial source lists cashback at 0%). And because there is no 3-D Secure, and this is a prepaid virtual card, your protection when something goes wrong is less certain than with a mainstream bank card; prepaid-card chargeback coverage varies and should not be assumed. If a payment is disputed, the dispute process itself is not stated on the pages I read.
On the app itself: the iOS listing on the US App Store sits at 3.79 from 108 ratings when I read it on 21 October 2026; the Google Play rating was not read. A middling app rating is not proof of anything, but it is the kind of thing worth glancing at before you start.
What can go wrong
The most serious risk in this review is not a fee or a declined payment. It is the gap between what Bitnob tells you and who actually holds your card.
Bitnob is not a bank, and it is not a licensed card issuer. The company is Bitnob Technologies Limited, and it states plainly that “Bitnob is not a bank”. Cards are issued by “regulated card partners” — licensed issuing banks and Visa programme managers — and Bitnob describes itself as “not a licensed card issuer”. In practice, Bitnob is the brand and app you interact with, while a partner bank is the actual issuer. The pages I read did not clearly state the jurisdiction or the specific licences. If that distinction matters to you — and for a reader who wants to know who is responsible when money goes missing, it should — it is a fair question to put to support directly.
The complaint record is the other headline. On Trustpilot, read 21 October 2026, the card showed 2.9 out of 5 from 48 reviews, with 50% of them one-star. Recurring themes from user reports include funds going missing or disappearing (from June 2025 through August 2026), cards being cancelled and details changed without notice, a USD 6 fee on new cards, verification and withdrawal errors (September to October 2025), and poor support with an unclear virtual card balance (January and July 2026). To be fair, I found no official record of incidents — but official silence and user-reported problems are two different things, and both belong in your assessment.
Crypto-specific risks sit underneath all of this. Because funding is custodial, a failure, hack or insolvency at the provider puts your funds at risk in a way a normal bank deposit is partly protected against. Stablecoins can also move away from their dollar peg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And because transfers are irreversible, a network mistake can simply lose money.
Merchant and country friction. A card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because the card’s issuer country and type are visible in a lookup. Address verification, which many online merchants use, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.
Taxes. Spending the card can be a taxable event. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in your local currency at the value on the transaction date — meaning each card payment funded from crypto may count as a separate disposal. I am not giving tax advice here; only note that paying with the card is not necessarily the same as spending money you already had.
What to take instead
If the Bitnob card is not quite right, the crypto-card category has other options. Below is how the main alternatives compare, using what each provider publishes and the score each carries in this review.
| Card | Score | Who it targets | Card type | Funding | Cost and conversion as stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “One crypto card, 200+ countries” | Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical | USDT, USDC, BTC | Costs not stated; real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment, “AI-Powered” best rate claimed, no percentage stated |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer | Virtual card creation “completely free” (site FAQ); monthly and conversion fees not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | App Store says works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) | Prepaid; network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH | No fees listed on the App Store page or the pages I could read; rewards not stated |
Reading that table, a few things stand out. Cardex is the broadest on paper — it offers a physical card and claims 200+ countries — but its costs are not stated, its App Store listing is Naira-focused, and its network list mixes card schemes in a way worth asking about. CardFlow is the most openly priced for card creation (free) and is explicitly Nigeria-focused, but is virtual-only like Bitnob and leaves conversion fees unstated. HyperCard is the most transparent about balance currency (USD or EUR) but says nothing about fees or its card network, and “176 countries” describes where the card is accepted, not who can hold it.
None of these alternatives publishes a full price schedule either — that is a category-wide pattern, not a Bitnob failing in isolation. But Cardex is the one to look at first if a physical card or a broader country list matters to you, and Bitnob is the one to look at first if you are already a Bitnob wallet user wanting a straight USD card.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Bitnob card to a specific person: someone based in Africa who already keeps Bitcoin, USDT or USDC in a Bitnob wallet, wants a virtual USD Visa or Mastercard funded straight from that balance, and is comfortable with a virtual-only card that has no ATM, no 3-D Secure and no published fee list. If you are adding the card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay to pay subscriptions and online services, and you can pass verification before depositing, it will do that job competently.
I would tell the rest of you to pause. Do not choose it if you need a physical card, cash withdrawals, or the reassurance of 3-D Secure on online payments. Do not choose it if you cannot get a normal bank card and are relying on this as a fallback without checking whether your region and partner institution actually serve you — the card names no countries, so eligibility is something you discover only by applying. And if you are drawn to it mainly because it promises “free” conversion, be careful: no conversion or FX fee is published, and a Trustpilot complaint even mentions a USD 6 charge for new cards, so the real cost is something you confirm in the app, not something written down in advance.
My honest summary is this: it is a useful tool inside its own ecosystem, and a thin, poorly documented proposition outside it. Know which side of that line you are on.
Frequently asked questions
What is a Bitnob card?
The Bitnob card is a virtual USD payment card, available on Visa or Mastercard, that you fund from crypto held in your Bitnob wallet — Bitcoin, USDT or USDC. Instead of drawing on a bank account at each purchase, it spends a balance you have already loaded, like a prepaid card. It exists mainly so users in dollar-scarce markets can hold and spend a dollar balance sourced from crypto.
How does the Bitnob card work?
You create the card in the Bitnob app after passing identity verification, then transfer value from your wallet balance onto it. When you pay, the crypto is converted to a USD balance and the virtual card is charged. You receive a card number, expiry and security code, which you either type into websites or add to Apple Wallet or Google Pay. Spending is limited by the balance you have loaded; it is prepaid, so it cannot overdraw.
Is Bitnob a bank, and who issues the card?
No. Bitnob Technologies Limited states plainly that “Bitnob is not a bank”, and it describes itself as “not a licensed card issuer”. The cards themselves are issued by “regulated card partners” — licensed issuing banks and Visa programme managers — while Bitnob operates the app, wallet and brand you interact with. That means the entity you hold funds with and the entity that issues the card are not the same company, which matters when something goes wrong.
Does the Bitnob card require KYC, and what documents do I need?
Yes. Cards can only be issued to customers who have passed verification. You submit an image of your ID along with matching personal details, you must be 18 or older, and for national ID cards from certain countries you must photograph the card front and back together. Passports and driver’s licences are not subject to that front-and-back rule. Whether proof of address is required is not stated on the public pages, so the full document list is something you discover by starting the application.
Is the Bitnob card available in my country?
The card page does not name any countries, referring only to “dollar-scarce markets”. The company is Nigeria-based and has expanded to eight other African countries, and availability varies “by region and partner institution”. Press from 2023 suggested anyone with the app could create a virtual card, but your citizenship also matters, since issuers screen customers by citizenship and country of birth as part of sanctions checks. In practice you find out by applying.
How do I top up the Bitnob card, and which networks are accepted?
You top up from the Bitcoin, USDT or USUC balance in your Bitnob wallet — there is no overdraft and no bank-transfer funding. One important caution: the networks Bitnob accepts for deposits are not stated on its public pages. Because blockchain transfers are irreversible, sending on an unsupported network or to an address belonging to a different network can lose the funds or require manual recovery. Confirm the correct network in the app or with support before you send anything.
Is the Bitnob card free, and what fees does it charge?
The official answer is that no amounts are published. Bitnob says cardholder fees are “defined per platform integration”, and no official figure is given for card creation, a monthly fee, or conversion. Unofficial sources disagree — The Paypers and cryptocards.so say creation is free, while nairacompare.ng lists a USD 1 fee — and one Trustpilot user reported a USD 6 charge for new cards. For conversion, Bitnob only claims a “best available rate”. Treat the real cost as something you confirm inside the app.
Is the Bitnob card safe, and how do I protect myself?
There are two sides. Structurally, Bitnob is a custodial provider — your crypto sits in their wallet before conversion — and a custodial platform carries counterparty and hack risk, as the Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin incidents showed. Practically, the card is prepaid with no overdraft, offers an instant card freeze, and lets you cap spending by amount, merchant, channel and time. There is no 3-D Secure, though, so online payments get less fraud protection than on a card with a challenge step.
Can I use the Bitnob card in Apple Wallet or Google Pay, and can I withdraw cash?
Apple Wallet and Google Pay are supported, but by adding the card details manually rather than through an in-app button. For Apple Wallet your Apple ID region must be the United States. Cash withdrawal is not possible — the API documentation explicitly lists “no ATM withdrawals”. The card is for spending only, and payments may also be limited to certain allowed merchant categories.
Is a Bitnob card worth it?
It is worth it for a specific person: someone already holding BTC, USDT or USDC with Bitnob who wants a simple virtual USD card for online payments and phone wallets, and who is comfortable with a virtual-only card that has no ATM, no 3-D Secure and no published fee list. It is less convincing if you need a physical card, cash, strong online-payment authentication, or a clearly itemised price sheet — and if you cannot pass its verification or are outside the regions it serves. Weigh those trade-offs against the alternatives before funding it.
Virtual cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
