A crypto Visa card with good everyday reach and an unusually thin public record

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Stella card is a crypto Visa card: you deposit digital assets into an in-app wallet, the balance converts to fiat, and a virtual or physical Visa spends it — online, in stores, at ATMs, and through Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay. On the things you actually do with a card day to day, it scores about as well as any product in this category. On the things you need before you trust it with your money — who is behind it, what it charges, which licences it holds — the public pages say very little, and I have to be straight with you about that rather than fill the gaps with guesswork.

Stella works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score is 6.5 out of 10. That is a deliberate middle, not a fence-sit: the card’s everyday usefulness is genuinely strong, and the disclosure around it is genuinely weak, and those two facts pull in opposite directions.

Conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.5 out of 10, built for crypto holders who want a Visa with ATMs and Alipay

The Stella card is aimed, plainly, at people who already hold crypto and want a Visa card to spend it through — the audience note is crypto holders who want Visa with ATM and Alipay support. If that is you, and Alipay or WeChat Pay is how you actually pay for things, the feature list here is longer than most rivals’. If you are looking for a bank-like account with savings, a regulated deposit, or a clearly named issuer on the paperwork, this is the wrong shape of product.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Countries are not named on the official pages; unofficial sources say 57 countries available and 49 restricted
Cost 5 / 10 Fees are not published officially; unofficial detail suggests no annual fee but an in-app-only virtual card charge
Top-up options 9 / 10 Crypto deposit, no fee reported but gas only; several coins and six networks listed unofficially
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 British Virgin Islands company, unnamed issuer, no licences named, reports of frozen accounts
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, ATMs, Google Pay, Alipay, WeChat Pay, and Apple Pay unofficially
Total 6.5 / 10 Strong on use, weak on disclosure

Who it suits: you hold BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC; you want one balance for card spending, cash and mobile wallets; you are comfortable treating the balance as money you have handed to a company rather than money you hold yourself. Who it does not suit: you need a named, licensed bank you can point to; you want published fees before you commit; you are in a country the operator may exclude and cannot verify from the public pages; or you plan to keep large sums on the platform for a long time.

Will they give you the card?

The honest answer is: I cannot tell you from the public pages, and neither, I suspect, can you.

The official site does not state which countries are served. What the terms do say is that users under economic sanctions programmes are barred, and that US and European users are routed through affiliates — two different arrangements, which in itself tells you the card is not one single regulated product across those regions.

Third-party sites, which the card has not confirmed, say Stella is available in 57 countries including the United States, the United Kingdom, Singapore and India, and restricted in 49 including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, Iraq, Syria, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and South Africa. That country list was last confirmed against Stella documents dated 6 September 2024, according to CryptoCardHub in August 2026. Treat it as a starting point for your own search, not as an answer from the card.

Question What is actually published
Countries served Not stated on the official pages
Sanctions policy Users under economic sanctions programmes are barred
US and EU users Routed through affiliates
Minimum age 18
Countries unavailable Not stated officially; unofficial lists name 49 restricted

So the practical test is simple and yours to run: find out whether your country of residence is served before you upload documents. Eligibility here appears to follow the company’s own routing and screening rules rather than a published list, which is exactly the situation where you should expect a decline you cannot appeal easily.

How to get it

The application is described as a quick verification process with immediate card usage after approval. What that means concretely is spelled out in the User Agreement, and the list is long: your name, address, date of birth, tax ID, government ID and bank details. Biometric data may also be requested. There is no published list of what counts as low, medium or high verification, so you cannot choose your own level.

Third-party sources describe full electronic KYC, typically one to two business days, with many applicants auto-approved in minutes. That is not confirmed by the card.

On the card itself: Stella issues both a virtual and a physical card, on the Visa network, which the company says works at over 40 million Visa merchants globally. Unofficially, it is described as a Visa credit card with USD as the only base currency, starting at a zero credit limit that rises as you provide crypto collateral. If that is right, it changes the mental model — you would be borrowing against collateral rather than spending a prepaid balance, and the limit is something you earn, not something you are given. The card does not publish this, so treat it as something to confirm in the app before you rely on it.

Delivery: not stated. Unofficially, the physical card is free after a top-up of USD 20,000, and otherwise carries a delivery fee. That threshold is high enough that most people will pay the fee, and it is one of the reasons the cost score is not higher.

What it really costs: Fees

Here is the part I find hardest to write, because the card’s public pages do not itemise fees at all. The User Agreement says fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App”. So the pricing that matters most to you is inside the app, in a screen you can only read after you sign up.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Stella payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Unofficial detail, not confirmed by the card: no annual fee; the virtual card has a pay-as-you-go application fee shown in-app only — one user complaint cites USD 30; the physical card is free after a USD 20,000 top-up and otherwise charged a delivery fee. Crypto deposit is reported at 0% with only blockchain gas payable, while purchase fees and the FX or top-up spread are not itemised anywhere, with conversion shown in-app at interbank rates.

What I can tell you from the card’s own pages: ATMs are supported worldwide, at any ATM that accepts Visa, and neither the fee nor the allowance is published.

Item Published by the card Unofficial, unconfirmed
Issuance Not stated Virtual card application fee, in-app only (one complaint cites USD 30); physical card free after a USD 20,000 top-up, otherwise a delivery fee
Monthly or annual fee Not stated No annual fee
Crypto deposit Deposit crypto automatically tops up the card 0%, blockchain gas still charged
Conversion Not itemised; conversion shown in-app Interbank rates
Foreign exchange Not itemised Spread not broken down
ATM withdrawal Available at Visa ATMs worldwide; fee and allowance not stated Daily limit USD 2,000, monthly USD 10,000, up to 3 withdrawals per day and 30 per month
Spending limit Set by your risk preference; amounts not stated; further limits possible under underwriting criteria Daily spending limit USD 100,000 on regular accounts
Currency Not stated USD only base currency

Three everyday payments, and what you would actually be charged:

No cashback is stated on the official card page. The Earn product is separate and is a yield product, not a reward. Unofficially there is no cashback on the main card, but a referral programme paying up to 40% of card fees.

My honest read: a card that will not tell you what it charges is a card you have to test with small amounts first. Put in a modest sum, make one payment you do not care about the cost of, and see what the app shows before you scale up.

How to Top up

This is the strongest part of the product, and the reason the top-up score is 9.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Stella starts with a transfer to the right network

The official mechanism is straightforward: deposit crypto into the account, and it automatically tops up the card. The wallet inside the app is custodial, which the terms make explicit — assets in the App Wallet are “custodial assets held by us for your benefit”, pooled in omnibus accounts, with title staying with you. That pooling detail is worth reading twice. Your coins are not sitting in a wallet address you control; they are an entry on Stella’s books, and your claim is a legal claim on the company.

Unofficially, the supported coins are BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC, and the networks are ERC-20, TRON, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum One and Optimism. Deposits are reported at 0%, with you paying the blockchain gas cost only.

Coin Networks reported unofficially Fee reported
BTC not itemised 0%, gas only
ETH ERC-20 0%, gas only
USDT ERC-20, TRON, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum One, Optimism 0%, gas only
USDC ERC-20, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum One, Optimism 0%, gas only

Two practical warnings before your first transfer. First, on ERC-20 networks a USDT balance cannot move by itself — gas is paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send, and you will have to leave a little ETH in place. Second, blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send to the wrong network, or to an address the provider does not support, and the money can be gone or recoverable only through manual support work with no guarantee.

If you close your account, the terms say you may transfer digital assets out within a reasonable period unless legally prohibited, after paying amounts owed. That right is stated. The practical exercise of it is not described. Unofficially, crypto withdrawal fees start at USD 1 with exact amounts in-app.

Paying with it every day

Where this card is hard to argue with. Both card types link to Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay — and unofficially Apple Pay as well. That combination, especially the two Chinese wallets alongside the mobile ones, is not standard and is the reason the everyday-use mark is 9.

Everything else you would want to know here is thin, which is its own kind of warning. The card does not state which merchant categories are blocked. Many issuers block things like gambling — merchant category code 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries, and issuers do this by policy rather than by law, with a different list for every issuer. You cannot check Stella’s list because it is not published. If gambling or similar categories matter to you, ask support before you find out at the till.

Two more everyday frictions worth knowing, because they are not Stella-specific but they bite crypto cards harder:

There is an app, downloadable, with a Google Play button on the cards page; the platforms and store ratings are not stated on the pages I read. Unofficially it is iOS, Android and a Telegram Mini App, with an App Store rating of 5.0 out of 5 from five ratings — five ratings is not a signal, and I would treat it as decoration.

If a transaction goes wrong, unauthorised or in error, support is at [email protected]. Partner disputes are settled directly with the partner. Anything contested goes to the courts of the Republic of Seychelles under Seychelles law. Time frames are not stated.

What can go wrong

This is where I would want you to slow down.

The company is Stella Global Services Limited, incorporated in the British Virgin Islands. The card is issued by an unnamed licensed “Partner Issuer”. The Apple App Store developer name shown is Flashwire Inc, described as starting data. Licences are not stated anywhere on the pages I read. A British Virgin Islands company issuing through an unnamed partner in another jurisdiction, with no licences named, is a structure you should be able to inspect before you trust — and Stella’s public pages do not let you.

The counterparty record is not reassuring. Custodial platforms have a long history: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. And the card programmes themselves are not immune — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. The industry lesson is that a programme can end and you will be asked to withdraw your balance on their timetable.

On Stella specifically, official incidents: none published. That is not the same as none having happened. A user report from August 2026 raised a virtual card cost, limited crypto support, occasional failed transactions, and an App Store complaint about an account freeze with funds not returned after transfer proof was provided. Separately, Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from a single rating — one rating is not a reputation, in either direction.

Note what an account freeze is, in this category. Under EU due-diligence rules, if the institution cannot complete checks it must refrain from the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship. In practice that means your account can be frozen pending documents, and your balance — which is a claim against the company — sits still while you argue.

Some smaller things:

And the regulatory context, briefly, because it affects how much any of this is worth to you. Under MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto regulation, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution; providers already operating under national law could continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they received or were refused authorisation, whichever came first. ESMA maintains a register of authorised providers and non-compliant entities — you can check a company there before you fund it, and that check is worth ten minutes. Note also that a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences, and only one of them may be visible to you.

What to take instead

None of these is a recommendation to switch, and none is a like-for-like substitute — Stella’s Alipay and WeChat support is genuinely unusual. They are the comparison set, so you can see what you are trading.

Card Score Who can get it Card and cost Notable points
Stella 6.5 / 10 Countries not stated officially; 57 available and 49 restricted reported unofficially Virtual and physical Visa; fees not published officially Google Pay, Alipay, WeChat Pay; custodial wallet; BVI company
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 Not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list reviewed case by case US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual only, physical “coming soon”; USD; issuance $5 once, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month USD spending free; foreign currency at Visa rate plus 2% FX fee; deposits of any kind free; USDC/USDT into the USD account, also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Not stated Multicurrency Mastercard-network card spending from the UNi.Global balance; no annual fee or foreign transaction fee; issuance fee not stated Assets converted at live OTC rates, no hidden exchange fees claimed; spend-to-earn up to 3%
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Consumers in 31 US states, businesses in 41; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam Visa accepted online and in stores; virtual or physical not stated; page says “No extra fees”, no amounts listed Spends from a Whop balance; backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber

Read across that table and three things stand out. Stella is the only one of the four with a clear physical card in hand today, and the only one with Alipay and WeChat Pay. The International Visa Card publishes everything — $5 issuance, $0 maintenance, a flat 2% foreign currency fee, a named plan structure — which is a fundamentally different level of disclosure, and it is the higher score. And Whop, at 5.2, shows that “no extra fees” on a page without a single number is not the reassurance it sounds like.

One more comparison you should make yourself: any of these against a self-custody card, where your crypto stays in your own wallet until the moment of payment. You then take sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard malware that swaps a copied address. Custodial is more convenient; self-custody is more yours. There is no third option and no clever framing of it.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Stella, cautiously, in three situations.

You already hold USDT or USDC and want it spendable without selling it first. The deposit flow, the coin list and the network list are the best of the four cards here, and a 0% deposit fee with gas only is a real, if small, win.

You pay with Alipay or WeChat Pay regularly. Nothing else in this comparison supports those wallets, and that alone can make Stella the only workable option.

You travel and want a card that works at ATMs, in shops and in your phone’s wallet without planning each payment.

What I would not do is hold more on this platform than I am willing to lose, keep it there as a store of value, or treat the absence of published fees as a saving. The trust problem here is not the interface and not the coins — it is that the operator is a British Virgin Islands company, the issuer is unnamed, no licences are published, the complaint record includes a frozen account with funds not returned, and the price list lives inside the app. All of that can be fine. None of it is checkable.

My actual suggestion, if you want to be sensible: start with an amount that would annoy you to lose, use it for a fortnight, watch what the app charges, test an ATM and a foreign-currency purchase, check whether your country was accepted without drama, and then decide whether the Alipay and WeChat support is worth scaling up. And if the answer is that you mostly need a card with published pricing, take the higher-scoring alternative with the 2% foreign currency fee and accept that it is duller and clearer.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Stella card?

It is a Visa payment card you fund with cryptocurrency rather than a bank account. You deposit crypto into a custodial in-app wallet, it converts to a fiat balance, and that balance pays for online purchases, in-store shopping, ATM withdrawals and mobile wallet payments. Both a virtual and a physical card are issued, and the company says the card works at over 40 million Visa merchants worldwide.

How does the Stella card work day to day?

You deposit BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC, and the deposit automatically tops up the card. When you pay, the balance is deducted and the merchant sees an ordinary Visa transaction, so it looks like a normal card payment to the shop. The balances are custodial — held by Stella for your benefit in pooled accounts — so you hold a claim on the company rather than keys to a wallet.

Is Stella a bank?

No, and nothing in its public material presents it as one. The company behind it is Stella Global Services Limited, incorporated in the British Virgin Islands, and the card is issued by an unnamed licensed “Partner Issuer”. No licences are named on the pages I read, and disputes are settled in the courts of the Republic of Seychelles under Seychelles law. Treat it as a payment and crypto product from a private company, not as a bank.

Who owns Stella?

The stated company is Stella Global Services Limited, incorporated in the British Virgin Islands. The Apple App Store developer name shown for the app is Flashwire Inc, described as starting data. That is as far as the public information goes — there is no named parent, no named issuing bank and no published licence list. If ownership structure matters to your decision, ask support directly and judge the answer.

Does Stella require KYC, and how long does it take?

Yes. The User Agreement lists name, address, date of birth, tax ID, government ID and bank details, and says biometric data may be requested; the minimum age is 18. The card describes a quick verification process with immediate use after approval. Unofficially it is full electronic KYC taking one to two business days, with many applicants approved in minutes.

Is the Stella card free?

Not clearly. The card publishes no fees at all, saying only that they are described in the User Agreement or in the app. Unofficially there is no annual fee and the virtual card carries a pay-as-you-go application fee visible only in-app, with one user complaint citing USD 30. The physical card is reported free after a USD 20,000 top-up and otherwise charged for delivery.

How do I top up the Stella card?

By depositing crypto, which automatically credits the card. Unofficially the coins are BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC across ERC-20, TRON, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum One and Optimism, at a 0% deposit fee with you paying blockchain gas. On ERC-20 networks remember gas is paid in ETH, so a USDT-only wallet cannot send, and check the network twice because transfers are irreversible.

Is the Stella card safe?

Safe enough to use carefully, not safe enough to trust with money you cannot lose. The balance is custodial, so you are exposed to the company’s solvency and operational security, and a user report from August 2026 describes an account freeze with funds not returned. Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from a single rating, which is too small to mean anything. Check whether two-factor authentication and instant card freeze exist, because neither is stated.

Can I use the Stella card in my country?

Possibly, but you cannot tell from the official pages, which do not name any countries. Unofficially it is available in 57 countries including the US, UK, Singapore and India, and restricted in 49 including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, Iraq, Syria, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and South Africa, based on Stella documents dated 6 September 2024. Users under economic sanctions programmes are barred, and US and European users are routed through affiliates.

Can I add the Stella card to Apple Wallet?

Probably, and it is worth checking for yourself because the details are not confirmed by the card. Officially both card types link to Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay. Apple Pay is listed only by third-party sources. Tokenised mobile wallet payments are among the safer ways to use any card, since the device stores a one-time number rather than your card number, but the issuer can still restrict a tokenised number for phone or website use.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team