A closed crypto card: how the Moonwell programme ended and what former cardholders should check first
I went through the Moonwell card programme as it stood in late 2026, and the short version is that there is no Moonwell card to review in the way most readers expect. The programme is closed. New cards are no longer being issued, the cards that were in circulation stopped working on 8 August 2026, and the supporting app goes offline on 6 September 2026. This page is therefore a review of a closed product: what happened, what it cost while it ran, what current and former holders need to do, and which other cards the reader can turn to.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Moonwell card scores 2.3 out of 10. That number reflects a programme that no longer exists: a score of zero on availability, on everyday use, and on the basic question of whether you can still get one. The marks that are not zero come from the cost structure that the programme had while it ran, drawn from unofficial reporting rather than the card’s own pages.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Card loading stopped and new issuance ended 8 July 2026; last day of card use 8 August 2026 |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficial: 0.5% USDC load fee, 1.5% foreign exchange fee |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | Card loading stopped 8 July 2026; on-chain USDC and a “borrow-and-load” against Moonwell lending positions existed while the programme was live |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Closed along with the Cypher infrastructure that Nium acquired; fee-free withdrawals ran until 6 September 2026; no complaints about the card found in searches |
| Everyday use | 0 / 10 | All cards cancelled 8 August 2026; the app was switched off 6 September 2026 |
| Total | 2.3 / 10 |
The audience this page is for is fairly narrow. If you held a Moonwell card, the only reason to read a review now is to confirm that the closure dates you may have read about are correct, and to see how long the withdrawal window stayed open. If you are looking for a crypto card to use today, the verdict is the headline itself: this is not one, and the comparison further down is the part that matters to you.
What happened to the programme
The Moonwell card has not been quietly paused; it has been closed end to end, and the page on moonwell.fi no longer carries card content at all. The dates and the wording that follow come from a notice dated 8 July 2026 issued by Cypher, the infrastructure provider that ran the card, together with a Moonwell statement to Crypto Briefing. Unofficial facts about how the card worked when it was live are flagged as such.
The Cypher notice says that card loading and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026. From 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC, all cards were cancelled and could not be used to make purchases. The final rewards cycle ran from 2 to 16 July 2026, and the app, dApp and the withdrawal window all close on 6 September 2026. Cypher has been acquired by Nium, and the team said it is building a successor platform on Nium infrastructure. Moonwell separately told Crypto Briefing that it is exploring new card providers, with no timeline given.
The following table summarises the timeline.
| Date | What happened |
|---|---|
| 8 July 2026 | Cypher notice issued; new card issuance and card loading stop |
| 2–16 July 2026 | Final rewards cycle |
| 8 August 2026, 00:00 UTC | Last day of card use; all cards cancelled |
| 6 September 2026 | App, dApp and withdrawal window close |
| After 6 September 2026 | Cypher support available through a 60-day transitional period |
Three pieces of context from unofficial sources are worth recording so the picture is complete. Crypto Briefing and Diario Bitcoin reported that while it was live, the card was a Visa debit product, usable at more than 44 million merchants, and that it launched in December 2024. The same sources said the card was available in more than 180 countries, excluding New York and Vermont, and supported Apple Pay and Google Pay. The load fee while live was 0.5% on USDC and the foreign exchange fee was 1.5% (Crypto Briefing, Diario Bitcoin). Moonwell’s own pages do not state any of these details, so I am treating them as unofficial and not confirmed by the card.
If you are reading this in 2026, the practical question is whether anything is still open. The card is not. The app is offline from 6 September 2026. The way out for holders is the withdrawal path described in the next section.
If you already have the card
If you held a Moonwell card, the window for acting on it has now closed. The card itself stopped working on 8 August 2026, and the Cypher app and dApp went offline on 6 September 2026, so by the time you are reading this, both the spend path and the in-app path are gone. I am including what Cypher stated so you can check whether your situation matches the timeline Cypher described.
Cypher said card balances could be withdrawn through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee, with a deadline of 6 September 2026. The Cypher wallet is non-custodial, which means the user holds the keys, so what Cypher provided was an interface, not custody. Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured, and holders were asked to claim them before the end date. Cypher support was reachable at [email protected] through 6 September 2026 and then for a 60-day transitional period, after which it is reasonable to expect the channel to wind down as well. Languages and hours for support were not stated.
For the original card experience, the unofficial description (Crypto Briefing, 2026) is that the card was funded with on-chain USDC and offered a “borrow-and-load” option that let users borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the borrowed funds onto the card. Both of those flows are part of the closed programme; they are not active alternatives today.
The checklist below is the kind of thing I would run through if I were in this position. None of this is legal or tax advice; it is a list of things a reasonable person would want to confirm against their own records.
- Whether the card balance was withdrawn before 6 September 2026, or whether anything was left behind.
- Whether any rewards earned in the 2–16 July 2026 cycle were claimed before the closure date.
- Whether any remaining USDC is sitting in the Cypher wallet, and whether the seed phrase is still safely stored, because the wallet itself is non-custodial and the keys are yours.
- Whether the card has been removed from any mobile wallet (Apple Pay, Google Pay) and from any saved payment details online, to avoid a stored card creating confusion later.
- Whether the support address ([email protected]) has been used to confirm any balance that Cypher might still hold on the holder’s behalf, given the 60-day transitional window.
The Cypher notice also said that, in line with anti-money-laundering law, it keeps identification and transaction records for at least five years after account closure. Moonwell-specific controls were not stated.
What can go wrong
The most obvious risk on a closed programme is missing a withdrawal window. Cypher gave a fee-free path through 6 September 2026 and a support channel through a 60-day transitional period, and after that the route is unclear. The Cypher wallet is non-custodial, so if you held your own keys and still have your seed phrase, the funds are technically still reachable through any standard non-custodial interface, but that is a different path from the one Cypher provided and it is not described in the closure notice. The point worth taking seriously is that the easier the closure sounds, the easier it is to leave a small balance behind and only notice months later.
A second class of risk is the kind that affects any crypto card programme that shuts down. Programmes are not run by Visa or Mastercard themselves; the network licenses an issuer, and a crypto brand often acts as a programme manager on top of that. When the issuer or the infrastructure provider is acquired, as Cypher was by Nium, the user ends up depending on the new owner’s transition policy, not the brand they originally signed up with. The Moonwell card sits inside that pattern.
A third risk is the one that affects any non-custodial wallet: seed phrase handling. The Cypher wallet is non-custodial, which means the user keeps the private key. If a phishing email or clipboard-hijacker intercepted that key at any point during the life of the card, the closure does not undo it. The non-custodial design also means there is no one to call for a key recovery.
Finally, the closure notice is from Cypher, the infrastructure provider, not from Moonwell. Moonwell told Crypto Briefing it is exploring new card providers, but the card the reader originally had is gone, and any future Moonwell-branded product would be a separate product with separate terms, separate KYC, and a separate set of risks. Treating the two as the same product would be a mistake.
I did not find any Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the Moonwell card in my searches, and the Cypher notice does not name Moonwell at all. The reliability mark of 1 out of 10 in the verdict reflects that the programme is closed, not that it was poorly run while it was open.
What to take instead
Because the Moonwell card is no longer available, the question for anyone reading this page is which crypto card to use in its place. The three alternatives below — Sponge, Nexo and Xplace — are not like-for-like replacements for the Moonwell card. Each is a different product, and the table at the end of this section shows how they compare to the features the Moonwell card once offered.
Sponge is a virtual card created by createSpongeCard, described on the Sponge homepage as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, accepted wherever Visa is accepted. The card currency is not stated. The card is funded by moving USDC from the Sponge wallet with a card fund action (the example chain is Base; the Sponge SDK mentions Base or Solana as optional chains). The country list, the cost, the fees and the rewards are not stated on the card pages. Sponge scores 4.9 out of 10.
Nexo offers a virtual card that activates in the app and a physical card, with a Mastercard trademark notice on the page though the network is not stated explicitly. The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, and ATM allowances are quoted in EUR and GBP so the card currency is not stated cleanly. Residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” can apply; the country list is not given, and excluded jurisdictions are not named. There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate; the physical card has free shipping but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier. The foreign exchange fee is 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA, UK and Switzerland and 2% elsewhere, rising to 0.7% and 2.5% at weekends. The crypto conversion fee is not stated, and the card spends stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx in Debit Mode. Cashback in NEXO token or Bitcoin is paid only in Credit Mode, only on purchases, and only when the account holds more than $5,000 in digital assets; the cashback by tier is Platinum 2% NEXO / 0.5% BTC, Gold 1% / 0.3%, Silver 0.7% / 0.2%, Base 0.5% / 0.1%, with the tier depending on the share of NEXO tokens in the portfolio. A 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations was reported by Cointelegraph, and I did not find an official Nexo statement on Russian users. Nexo scores 6.3 out of 10.
Xplace offers a Visa card, virtual (instant) and physical, with the Silver physical card live and Gold and Platinum physical cards described as coming soon, with a 7–14 business day delivery window. Visa acceptance is described as 160+ countries. The country list is not stated and the page says services are not available in all jurisdictions. Two modes are offered: Cash mode spends a stablecoin balance, Credit mode borrows against holdings. Annual fees are Basic free, Silver $99 a year, Gold $249 a year and Platinum $999 a year, with no origination fee on borrowing. Foreign exchange is “0% on Platinum”, and the FX for other tiers and the conversion fee are not stated, with stablecoin spending described as having “no hidden spread”. Funding is on the Solana network, accepting BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks. Credit-mode cashback is Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5% and Platinum 2%, paid in USDC to the wallet at settlement, with Cash-mode cashback not stated. Xplace scores 7.7 out of 10.
| Card | Score | Network | Availability | Card type | Annual fee | FX fee | Cashback | Funded from |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moonwell (closed) | 2.3 / 10 | Visa (unofficial) | 180+ countries excluding New York and Vermont (unofficial) | Debit (unofficial) | Not stated | 1.5% (unofficial) | Final cycle 2–16 July 2026 | On-chain USDC, borrow-and-load (unofficial) |
| Sponge | 4.9 / 10 | Visa (via Rain) | Not stated | Virtual, credit | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | USDC on Base or Solana (SDK) |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Mastercard (notice only) | Selected EEA + UK, residents and citizens | Virtual + physical | None | 0.2% weekday EEA/UK/CH, 2% rest of world; 0.7% / 2.5% weekend | 0.1–0.5% BTC, 0.5–2% NEXO by tier, Credit Mode only, over $5,000 | 100+ digital assets, including stablecoins and FiatX |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Visa | 160+ countries (Visa acceptance) | Virtual + physical (Silver live, Gold/Platinum soon) | Basic free, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999 | 0% on Platinum; others not stated | 0.5–2% USDC, Credit Mode only | BTC, ETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks on Solana |
What the table is good for, and what it is not, is worth saying. It is good for putting the four cards on the same page, so a reader can see at a glance that none of the alternatives reproduces the Moonwell combination of a Visa debit, on-chain USDC and a borrow-against-lending-positions top-up. The table is not good for choosing one, because the most important columns (which countries, what KYC, what happens to funds if the provider is acquired) are partly “not stated” on every alternative. The next step is to read the card’s own pages, not this table.
A few patterns are worth pulling out before moving on.
- Country rules differ across the three alternatives: Nexo names the EEA and the UK; Xplace gives a Visa-acceptance footprint of 160+ countries; Sponge gives no country list at all. If a particular country is the deciding factor, the card’s own page is the only place to check.
- The funding chain is a real differentiator. Sponge uses USDC on Base or Solana, Xplace uses a Solana-only basket that includes xStocks, and Nexo draws on more than 100 digital assets held in the Nexo account itself. None of these matches the on-chain USDC plus Moonwell-lending-collateral top-up that Moonwell offered.
- The cashback story is not directly comparable. Nexo pays cashback in NEXO or Bitcoin only in Credit Mode and only above a $5,000 balance; Xplace pays in USDC in Credit Mode across all tiers; Sponge does not state a cashback. If a reader is choosing on rewards alone, the comparison above is the starting point and the card’s own terms are the place to finish.
- Acquirer risk is the background issue. The Moonwell card was closed when its infrastructure provider, Cypher, was acquired by Nium. Nexo is a long-established platform with a Bulgarian regulatory and law-enforcement history that any reader should look at directly; Xplace is a younger product; Sponge is a virtual card that routes through Rain. None of those facts is a recommendation, but they are the kind of thing a reader should weigh alongside the table.
Who I would recommend it to
I would not recommend the Moonwell card to anyone, because it is closed. That sentence sounds blunt, but it is the only honest one given the dates. The card stopped issuing on 8 July 2026, stopped working on 8 August 2026 and the app went offline on 6 September 2026.
The audience this page is genuinely for is former cardholders who want a second confirmation of those dates and of how the withdrawal path was supposed to work. For them, the checklist in the holders section is the part of the page that earns its keep. The Cypher notice is the authoritative source, and I would treat it as more reliable than any summary on the page; if a date in this review ever looks like it contradicts Cypher, Cypher wins.
For readers who are choosing a crypto card to use today, the Moonwell card is not a candidate, and the comparison section above is the part of the page that applies. My own view, for what it is worth as a reviewer, is that the three alternatives on the table are different enough from each other, and from the Moonwell card, that the table is the starting point and the card’s own terms are the finishing point. There is no shortcut past reading the card’s own pages, especially the country rules, the KYC requirements and what happens to the balance if the company is acquired.
If a reader came to this page looking for a “Moonwell card review” in the way a person might look up a hotel review, the answer is the same: the hotel is closed, here is when it closed, and here are three other hotels you can look at instead. That is a thin kind of review to write, but it is the honest one given the programme is gone.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Moonwell card?
The Moonwell card was a Visa debit card, run on Cypher infrastructure, that let users spend on-chain USDC at the point of sale and offered a “borrow-and-load” option against Moonwell lending positions. The programme is closed: no new cards have been issued since 8 July 2026 and all cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026.
How did the Moonwell card work?
While it was live, the card was funded with on-chain USDC and supported Apple Pay and Google Pay, according to unofficial reporting (Crypto Briefing, Diario Bitcoin). The card’s own pages do not describe how it worked, and the supporting app went offline on 6 September 2026.
Is Moonwell a bank?
No. Moonwell is the brand name behind a DeFi lending protocol and the former card programme. The card was issued under Cypher, which was acquired by Nium, and Cypher is the entity named in the closure notice. Moonwell’s company registration is not stated in the card materials.
Who owns Moonwell?
Moonwell’s company registration and ownership are not stated in the card materials. The card infrastructure was owned by Cypher (CypherD Wallet Inc.), which was acquired by Nium during 2026; that is the ownership change that triggered the closure.
Is the Moonwell card available in my country?
The card is not available in any country. Unofficial reporting (Crypto Briefing, Diario Bitcoin) said the programme was available in more than 180 countries, excluding New York and Vermont, while it was live, but new issuance ended on 8 July 2026 and the cards stopped working on 8 August 2026.
How do I get a Moonwell card?
You cannot. New issuance ended on 8 July 2026 and all cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026. Moonwell has said it is exploring new card providers, with no timeline, so there is no product to apply for at the time of writing.
Does the Moonwell card require KYC?
The card’s own pages do not state the KYC requirements. Cypher’s closure notice mentions that, in line with anti-money-laundering law, identification and transaction records are kept for at least five years after account closure, which implies KYC was performed while the programme was live.
How do I top up the Moonwell card?
You cannot. Card loading ended on 8 July 2026. While the programme was live, unofficial reporting (Crypto Briefing, 2026) described on-chain USDC top-ups and a “borrow-and-load” option that let users borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the borrowed funds onto the card.
How do I withdraw money from Moonwell?
Card balances were withdrawable through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee, with a deadline of 6 September 2026. The Cypher wallet is non-custodial, so the user holds the keys; any USDC that remains in the wallet after that date is still controlled by whoever holds the seed phrase, though the official Cypher interface is no longer available.
Is the Moonwell card safe?
While it was live, the card used a non-custodial Cypher wallet, which means the user held the private keys rather than the provider. The programme is now closed, so the relevant safety question is whether a former cardholder withdrew the balance before 6 September 2026 and kept the seed phrase secure. The card’s own pages do not state Moonwell-specific security controls, and I did not find any complaints about the card in my searches.
Credit and cashback cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
