A crypto card with no spending limit, a 0.6% platform fee and a partner bank you cannot name
If a normal bank card is hard for you to get — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or how you are registered — then the PEXX card is worth a careful look, because it removes one of the usual doors that stays shut. It is not a bank account in the ordinary sense: it is a payment card that spends a balance you load yourself with US dollars or stablecoins, offered by an Australian company that runs its card programme through unnamed licensed partner banks. That single fact colours everything else in this review. The product is live, the app exists, the card works, and the fees are stated plainly — but a lot of the details a careful buyer would want, including the issuing bank, the price of the physical card, and the cash-machine situation, are simply not published.
My score for PEXX is 6.8 out of 10. That is a passing mark, not a recommendation. It is the right card for one specific situation: you already hold dollars or stablecoins, you want to spend them at ordinary shops, and a conventional card is closed to you. It is the wrong card if you want a bank account feel, a low-cost everyday debit card for a currency other than the dollar, or a product whose issuer you can name.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Eligibility turns on country of residence: large parts of Europe, Australia, Japan, Latin America, Africa, the UAE, Georgia, Kazakhstan and others |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Platform fee of 0.6% on every transaction, a 1.2% markup on non-USD payments; the issuance fee is not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USD, USDT, USDC; networks are not named; the USD account is funded by ACH, Fedwire and SWIFT |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | PEXX Technology Pty Ltd, registered with AUSTRAC as a DCE and with FinCEN as an MSB; partner bank unnamed; Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from three reviews, with complaints about fees above the stated ones |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Physical and virtual cards, Apple Wallet and Google Pay; the cash-machine position is not disclosed |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 | A workable tool with real gaps in what it publishes |
Read that score table as a set of trade-offs rather than a ranking. The two strongest lines are “who can get it” and “everyday use”, which is where the card genuinely stands out. The weakest is cost, because the headline numbers are honest but the ones that decide whether a card is cheap — what the plastic costs, what a cash withdrawal costs, what a failed payment costs — are absent. You are told the two percentages, and nothing else.
Will they give you the card
Yes in a long list of countries, decided by where you live rather than what you hold — and the public pages never set out the rules they will actually apply at the application stage.
This is the first question, because everything else is irrelevant if the card never arrives. Eligibility is by country of residence. The published list covers roughly 35 European countries and territories, including the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Switzerland; then Australia, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, the Philippines, South Korea, Taiwan and Thailand; then Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama and Peru; then Bahrain, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and the UAE; and Azerbaijan, Georgia, Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Jersey, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. That is a genuinely wide reach, and it is the single most useful thing about PEXX for a reader who is excluded elsewhere.
But read the fine print of what is *not* on the page. The card’s own public pages do not list eligibility criteria or exclusions — not in the sense of “you must be 18 and have a valid ID”, though that is implied. There is no stated list of who is refused. So when I say “in these countries you can probably get one”, I mean the product is offered there, not that every applicant in France or Nigeria will pass.
Two things are worth knowing about how the check works. First, the country that matters is residence, and citizenship is a separate matter that the pages do not tie to the application. Second, the identity requirements are lighter in some places than others: a valid ID and a phone number are needed for the card itself, while the US virtual bank account additionally requires “level 1 KYC”. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated. If you have been turned away by a bank for missing a utility bill, do not assume PEXX will ask for one, and do not assume it will not — that is exactly the sort of thing to ask support directly.
There is also an extra identity check to activate the card, mentioned as a question in the card’s own help centre, and an application usually sits in “In Review” for one to two business days. Reasons for rejection are not listed anywhere I could find.
How to get it
You apply in the app, the check takes about one to two business days, and the virtual card exists within a minute of a confirmed deposit.
There are two products. PEXX Physical is the card you hold, loaded with dollars and stablecoins. PEXX Virtual is the instant, online-only version. The page title carries both Visa and Mastercard, which means the network you get may depend on your region rather than on your preference — worth confirming in the app before you build your spending around one. The card currency is implied to be the US dollar rather than stated outright.
The practical sequence is short: install the app, get through identity verification, deposit, and the virtual card appears within a minute once the deposit is confirmed. That single minute is the headline of the whole onboarding story, and it is genuinely unusual — most cards take days to arrive by post.
The physical card is where the information runs out. Delivery time, delivery cost and replacement cost are all not stated. If you are outside the countries on the list above, the card is not available to you at all, since availability is decided by country of residence.
One note for anyone reading reviews: the app on the Australian App Store shows 5.0 out of 5 from three ratings, at version 3.6.2, requiring iOS 16.0 or later, in English. Three ratings is not a track record, it is a rounding error — but it does tell you the app is current and that its own store listing is maintained. A Google Play app exists; its rating was not read.
Fees
Two percentages are published — 0.6% on every card transaction, and 1.2% on non-dollar payments — and almost nothing else about cost is stated, including the price of the physical card and what a cash withdrawal costs.
Here is the whole published cost picture, which is short:

| Fee or limit | What PEXX states |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Platform fee | 0.6% on every card transaction |
| Currency conversion | 1.2% FX markup on non-USD purchases |
| Cash machine fee | Not stated |
| Daily limit | $30,000 per day |
| Per-transaction limit | $30,000 per transaction |
| Monthly limit | $70,000 per month |
| Spending limit | “There are currently no spending limits” |
That last line and the three dollar figures sit oddly together, and the honest reading is that both are true in different senses: the card is designed not to cap you day to day, while a large-value ceiling still exists. If you are moving serious money, the $30,000 and $70,000 figures are the numbers that matter, and they are high enough that most people will never meet them.
The two published fees are the ones to build a budget from. The platform fee of 0.6% applies to every single card transaction, and the 1.2% currency markup applies only when you spend in something other than US dollars. PEXX describes the underlying pricing as “true mid-market pricing” — that is, the 1.2% is the whole spread, not a margin hidden on top of a worse rate. Note that the card currency itself is implied to be dollars and not stated explicitly, so treat non-dollar spending as the case to plan for, not the exception.
Now the three everyday payments, because that is where a fee table stops being abstract.
A coffee in your own country, paid in the local currency. The 0.6% platform fee applies. If you pay in dollars at a terminal that offers them, the 1.2% markup does not. This is the cheapest realistic use of the card and the one to aim for.
A subscription or a bill in a non-dollar currency, say a monthly $12 service billed in euros. Both fees apply: 0.6% on the transaction plus 1.2% on the conversion. Repeated monthly, that is the use pattern where the cost starts to bite, and it is where the “is PEXX cheap?” question gets its answer. It is cheaper than a typical bank FX markup of three per cent plus a foreign-transaction fee, but it is not free.
A cash withdrawal. Here I cannot help you, because the cash-machine fee is not stated. What is also not stated is whether the partner bank charges one on its side, and whether the card works in machines at all. If cash is part of how you live, this is the single fact to chase before you commit, and it is a question for support rather than something the pages answer.
There are no tiers — no free plan, no paid plan, no premium tier — just the two products. And a multi-currency balance is not stated, so do not plan on holding euros and dollars side by side.
Top up
With US dollars by bank transfer, or with USDT and USDC by crypto transfer — and the blockchain networks you must use are not named, which is the one thing you really need to know before you send.
Funding arrives in three forms: USD, USDT and USDC. The USD account is funded by ACH, Fedwire or SWIFT, and no deposit fee is listed. Timings are given per rail: ACH takes one to three US business days, Fedwire a few hours to one business day, SWIFT one to five US business days. If you are moving dollars from a traditional bank, the choice is between speed and cost, exactly as it would be with any transfer.

The USDT and USDC route is where the caution sits. The card’s pages do not specify which blockchain networks are accepted. That is not a detail I am being pedantic about: a stablecoin transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Transfers are irreversible. So the first thing to do before sending a single token is ask support, in writing, which networks are supported for your country, and read the deposit screen in the app for the exact address. Some context that helps you judge the answer: USDC is natively supported on 38 networks, and USDT exists on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others, so both tokens have many possible homes and the provider has chosen only some. Also worth knowing in advance that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron, so if you are a Tron user, USDC over TRC-20 is not a native option, while USDT over TRC-20 remains a common route.
The minimum top-up for the card is not stated. There is a separate product called PEXX Earn, a savings feature paying daily interest tied to US Treasury bill rates, which has no minimum balance, and Earn funds can be withdrawn at any time. Two warnings on Earn. It is not FDIC-insured. And the treatment of withdrawing money from the card balance itself, or of closing the account and getting the remainder out, is not stated — there is a withdrawal section in the help centre that I did not read in detail, and that is exactly the page to read yourself before you load a balance you might want back.
One last thing about stablecoins, since you may be holding them: they aim to hold a steady value against a currency, but the name overstates the guarantee. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis.
Paying with it every day
This is the card’s strongest area: a physical card, a virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, no stated merchant-type blocks — and a rewards layer that pays interest rather than cashback.
You add the card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay from the Cards tab in the app, with a one-time password arriving by email or SMS. That is the standard, well-trodden path, and once the card is in the phone wallet it behaves like any other card for everyday shopping.
What you do not get stated is a list of blocked merchant categories. Some issuers block gambling (MCC 7995) or similar categories on crypto cards by policy, and the blocked list varies by issuer. PEXX does not publish one, which means you cannot know in advance whether a particular merchant will be refused. If a payment is declined, hold on your account can remain for several days, typically up to seven.
On rewards, there is no cashback. Instead there is PEXX Earn, which pays daily interest linked to US Treasury bill rates and has no minimum balance, with withdrawals available at any time. For a reader who keeps a working balance on the card and wants it to do something while it sits there, that is more interesting than a percentage back at a café — but it is a savings product with its own risks, not FDIC-insured, and the yield moves with US rates rather than being fixed.
Disputes are handled through PEXX support, submitted through the card network, only for successful transactions, within 120 days, and the process takes 60 to 90 days. There is a USD 25 administration fee if a dispute fails. That timeline is the detail to hold on to: if something goes wrong, three months is the realistic horizon, and a failed dispute can cost you more than the amount you were disputing.
One thing you should understand before your first payment abroad: the card’s BIN identifies the issuing institution and country, and merchants may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address. Some shops also decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards precisely because the lookup reveals the type. That is why a card issued in one country can occasionally behave oddly in another, and it is not a fault in your card.
What can go wrong
The realistic risks are not hacks in the abstract — they are fees that turn out higher than the published ones, money held by a partner rather than by a bank you can name, and a help desk that is email and in-app only.
Start with the complaints, because they are the most specific evidence available. No official complaints were found. What exists is user reporting: Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from three reviews, read on 2026-10-20. A January 2026 one-star review says fees were higher than advertised, specifically a $0.50 per-transaction charge, and that deductions appeared without history. A December 2025 five-star review praises the fees and the speed. Three reviews is a very thin sample and I will not lean on it heavily — but note the shape of it: one reviewer describes a flat $0.50 charge per transaction that does not appear anywhere in the published pricing. That is the single thing I would most want clarified, because $0.50 on a small purchase is a very large percentage of the stated 0.6%. The same user reporting also describes a failed crypto deposit that was only partially refunded.
Next, the custody question. PEXX Technology Pty Ltd is an Australian company, registered with AUSTRAC as a digital currency exchange and remittance dealer, and with FinCEN as a money services business. That registration is real and checkable, and it is the right kind of evidence to look for. But the issuer is described only as a “partner bank” or “licensed partners”, unnamed. For USD deposits, the card says funds are held with licensed partners and are not FDIC-insured. So your money sits with a partner you cannot identify, and the deposit guarantee scheme you might associate with a US bank balance does not apply. PEXX advertises bank-grade encryption and real-time alerts, and offers in-app payment approval — reasonable protections, none of which are the same as a named issuer.
The category has a documented history here, and it is worth knowing rather than fearing. FTX’s card programme ended after Visa terminated its global agreements with the company on 13 November 2022. In 2018 Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. That is the failure mode to hold in mind: not theft, but an orderly shutdown that strands a balance.
On support and access: help is in the app or by email, with an FAQ at faq.pexx.com and channels on Telegram, X, Instagram and Medium. The site is in English only, Russian is not offered, and opening hours are not stated. For a reader who needs help in another language, that is a real cost, and for anyone whose money is on the card, hours matter.
On regulation and compliance: no dated enforcement events were found. PEXX says it follows AUSTRAC guidelines and runs an anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing programme with enhanced due diligence. That is the correct framework. Understand, though, that compliance cuts both ways — if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must decline the transaction or the relationship, and accounts do get frozen pending documents. In the EU, that customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship and whether you are politically exposed. In the US the identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also validate proof-of-address documents. Nationality is screened separately from residence, so a clean address does not settle the question.
Two more things you should not assume. Card freeze and insurance are not stated, so do not treat either as a feature. And chargeback rights should not be assumed either: prepaid-card coverage varies, and under 3-D Secure the liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift toward you rather than the merchant. Since PEXX cards run on Visa or Mastercard and support the wallets, expect 3-D Secure checks on online payments — the issuer assesses the risk and either waves you through or challenges you with a code or biometric.
What to take instead
Three alternatives, each better on one axis and worse on another — and the choice depends almost entirely on what the problem was in the first place.
| PEXX | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.8 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Card | Physical and virtual, Visa and Mastercard | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual (physical “coming soon”) | Multicurrency card on Mastercard | Visa, virtual or physical not stated |
| Eligibility | ~35 European countries and territories plus Australia, Japan, much of Latin America, Africa, UAE, Georgia, Kazakhstan and others | Not for residents or registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam | Not stated | Consumers in 31 US states; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam |
| Cost | 0.6% per transaction, 1.2% FX markup | $5 virtual issuance, no maintenance; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee | Page says “No extra fees”, no amounts listed |
| Funding | USD, USDT, USDC; networks not named | USDC or USDT at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Not stated | Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral; coins and networks not stated |
| Rewards | No cashback; PEXX Earn pays daily interest tied to US T-bill rates | No cashback stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber |
A few of the trade-offs deserve a word beyond the table.
The International Visa Card scores almost the same as PEXX and is the sharper alternative for a reader who wants dollar spending without a per-transaction charge: card use in dollars is free on all plans, and the only conversion cost is the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee on foreign currency. It also excludes a long list of countries, and it excludes them by residence or registration — citizenship is not mentioned — with purchases blocked entirely in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval. Its structure is clear: no annual fee on the classic plan, a monthly fee on the two paid ones, and a $5 one-time issuance fee for the virtual card, which is one of the few numbers in this whole comparison that is unambiguous.
UNi Card wins on fees and rewards if you are spending across several currencies. It charges no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, converts assets at live over-the-counter rates with “no hidden exchange fees”, and pays spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. The catch is what is missing: who can get one, how you fund it, and whether it is physical or virtual are all not stated.
Whop Cards sit at the bottom of this group on published information, and the reason is disclosure rather than necessarily quality. The geographic limits are US-state-based for consumers, and the unsupported-country list is long. No fees are quantified, no networks are named, and the 5% cashback is limited to selected merchants with Uber currently the example, on terms that are not stated. What is stated is appealing — a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, and the balance is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet — but you are being asked to trust several undisclosed things at once.
Who I would recommend it to
To you if you are holding dollars or stablecoins, a normal card is closed to you, and paying at shops is the job. To nobody who is choosing between this and an ordinary bank account.
My recommendation is conditional on the problem. If you are in one of the listed countries, you have a valid ID and a phone, and you cannot open a conventional account, then PEXX is a genuine solution and the combination that makes it work is the virtual card inside a minute, the wide country list, and wallets for everyday spending. That is a real answer to a real difficulty, and I would not talk you out of it.
I would pause and think twice in three situations. If you spend mainly in a currency other than the dollar, the 1.2% markup on top of the 0.6% platform fee turns an ordinary purchase into an expensive one, repeatedly. If you want cash, the absence of any published information about cash machines makes the card hard to plan around. And if you are thinking of it as an investment product — earning interest on a balance via PEXX Earn — remember that the yield follows US Treasury rates, the funds are not FDIC-insured, and the provider holding them is a partner you cannot name.
Before you load money, four questions are worth more than anything else in this review. Which networks do you accept for USDT and USDC, and what happens if I send on the wrong one? What is the physical card’s delivery time, delivery cost and replacement cost? What exactly is the per-transaction cost, including that $0.50 charge one reviewer described? And how do I withdraw my card balance, and what happens to it if the programme closes?
Finally, a word about tax, offered as information and not advice. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the fair market value on the transaction date. That means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal, and short-term treatment applies to holdings of a year or less. The same logic tends to follow in other countries, but the rules are local — check yours, or ask someone qualified.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PEXX card?
The PEXX card is a prepaid-style payment card that spends a balance you load yourself, rather than a card linked to a conventional bank account. You fund it with US dollars, USDT or USDC, and it behaves like an ordinary card in shops and online. Two versions exist: a physical card and an instant virtual one. The provider is PEXX Technology Pty Ltd, an Australian company registered with AUSTRAC and FinCEN. The issuing bank is not named publicly.
Is PEXX a bank?
No. PEXX is a financial technology company, not a bank, and your balance is not a bank deposit. The card’s own language is a “partner bank” and “licensed partners”, unnamed, and USD deposits are described as held with licensed partners and not FDIC-insured. That distinction matters practically: a bank deposit carries deposit-guarantee protection in many countries, and this does not. You are relying on a licensed partner’s safeguarding arrangements and on the card programme continuing to exist.
How do I get a PEXX card?
You apply in the app, complete identity verification, and deposit. The virtual card appears within a minute once the deposit is confirmed; an application usually sits in review for one to two business days. The physical card takes longer, but delivery time, delivery cost and replacement cost are all not stated on the public pages. Availability is by country of residence — roughly 35 European countries and territories, Australia, Japan, parts of Latin America and Africa, the UAE, Georgia, Kazakhstan and others.
What are the PEXX card fees?
Two fees are published: a platform fee of 0.6% on every card transaction, and a 1.2% currency-conversion markup on purchases that are not in US dollars. PEXX describes the underlying pricing as mid-market, so the 1.2% is the whole spread rather than a margin on a worse rate. The issuance fee, any monthly fee and the cash-withdrawal fee are not stated, which is why the card cannot be called cheap on published information alone.
Is there a limit on how much I can spend?
The card states there are currently no spending limits, yet it also publishes ceilings of $30,000 per day, $30,000 per transaction and $70,000 per month. Both statements are true in different senses: the card is built not to restrict day-to-day spending, while large-value caps exist. For most people the monthly figure is the one that matters, and it is high enough never to be reached.
How do I top up the PEXX card?
Three ways. The USD account is funded by bank transfer — ACH in one to three US business days, Fedwire in a few hours to one business day, SWIFT in one to five US business days — with no deposit fee listed. You can also fund with USDT or USDC by crypto transfer. The card does not name which blockchain networks it supports, so ask support in writing before sending, and check the deposit address in the app. Transfers are irreversible and a wrong-network deposit can be lost.
How do I add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Open the Cards tab in the PEXX app and add the card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay from there. You will confirm with a one-time password sent by email or SMS. Once tokenised in the phone wallet, the card works like any other for contactless payments. The issuer can still restrict the tokenised number in specific places, and your card details live on your device rather than in the wallet company’s servers.
Is the PEXX card safe to use?
It uses what the card describes as bank-grade encryption with real-time alerts, and offers in-app payment approval, which are sensible safeguards. Against that: the issuing bank is not named, USD deposits are not FDIC-insured, and no card-freeze or insurance feature is stated. Historical context matters here — Visa ended its agreements with FTX in November 2022 and suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing its programmes. Programmes can end, and a closure typically means you are asked to withdraw the remainder.
What happens if a payment goes wrong?
Disputes go through PEXX support and are submitted via the card network. Only successful transactions can be disputed, you have 120 days, and the process takes 60 to 90 days. A USD 25 administration fee may apply if the dispute fails. Chargeback rights should not be assumed: prepaid-card coverage varies, and under 3-D Secure the liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift toward you. A declined payment may also leave a hold on your funds for up to seven days.
Why do reviews mention fees higher than advertised?
Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from three reviews, read on 2026-10-20. One January 2026 review reports fees above the stated level, describing a $0.50 per-transaction charge and deductions with no history; a December 2025 review praises the fees and speed. Three reviews is a very small sample, and I would not treat it as proof. But the $0.50 figure appears nowhere in the published pricing, and on a small purchase it would be far heavier than 0.6% — so it is the first thing to ask support about.
App and neobank cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
