Card.fi looks generous on coverage, but the up-front card price and conversion fees do most of the damage
Card.fi is a prepaid crypto card built around an unusual pitch: ship the card itself to “200+ countries,” accept thirty-two coins across five blockchains, and let you spend the balance through Apple Pay, Google Pay or a metal card. For someone without easy access to a normal bank account, that reach is the headline. Once you read the fee schedule, though, the picture narrows quickly. A $49 one-time price for the entry-level virtual card, a 1.5% top-up fee plus a $1 flat charge on Classic, and a 3.5% foreign-exchange margin on the same tier put Card.fi firmly in the “convenience over cost” corner of the market. The card earns a 6.6 out of 10 in my scoring, weighted heavily by the wide coin support and broad country coverage, and pulled down by what you actually pay to use it day to day.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Card.fi suits a specific reader: someone who cannot get a mainstream debit card, holds several different cryptocurrencies and wants to spend them through a familiar card interface, and is willing to pay up front for that convenience. It does not suit someone who just wants the cheapest way to convert crypto to spending money, or anyone whose monthly spending is heavy enough that the 3.5% Classic FX margin would dominate the budget.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Cards ship to 200+ countries; only residents of comprehensively sanctioned jurisdictions are excluded |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Virtual Classic costs $49 to issue, Virtual Premium $249; top-up is 1.5% + $1.00 on Classic, 1% on Premium; FX is 3.5% on Classic and 2.5% on Premium; no monthly or annual fees |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | 32 coins across 5 networks: Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch; USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL, KAANCH all supported; dedicated deposit address per card |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Operated by Kaanch Limited, Hong Kong; cards issued by On5 Card Network; on-chain settlement via Kaanch Network; no licence information disclosed; balance held as a company debt (custodial); no Trustpilot or Reddit footprint found |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual, physical and stainless-steel metal cards; every physical order includes a virtual card; Apple Pay and Google Pay on Classic and Premium; ATM access on physical cards |
| Total | 6.6 / 10 |
The card’s audience, in one line, is someone who wants to spend many different coins on a virtual or metal card and is happy to pay for that flexibility.
Will they give you the card
Card.fi’s banner claim is that the card is available in “200+ countries.” The terms do something I find more interesting than the headline: they bar residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service,” and otherwise don’t draw a hard line between citizens and residents. So, in plain terms, if you are not in a country where international sanctions would block the service from being offered, you can apply from almost anywhere.
The company running the programme is Kaanch Limited, registered in Hong Kong. The actual card plastic is issued by a separate entity called the On5 Card Network, and the on-chain settlement runs on the Kaanch Network. That layered structure is normal for crypto cards, but it does mean you are dealing with three different legal and operational names depending on which question you are asking: who you pay, who holds your balance and who issues the card in your wallet. None of these layers has a named licence on the public page, and Hong Kong law governs the terms.
What the public pages do not say matters here. There is no list of supported countries. There is no citizenship-versus-residence distinction beyond the sanctions line. There is no statement of which document you will be asked for. If the page says “200+,” that is the most specific commitment you can rely on before you sign up.
How to get it
The application flow is built around the same idea as the rest of the product: minimal friction to start, more checks if you want to do more.
The minimum age is 18. The issuer reserves the right to require identity verification before issuing a card or before raising your spending limits, and the terms spell out what happens if that verification fails: no card is issued and any fee you paid is refunded. The exact documents requested, and the level at which they kick in, are not stated in the public materials, so you should expect an account to be created quickly and the harder questions to arrive when you try to top up meaningfully or to spend above the “standard” limit.
The cards themselves come in five shapes. There is a Virtual Classic and a Virtual Premium, then physical Classic and Premium, plus a metal card in stainless steel. Every physical order includes a matching virtual card, so you can start spending the moment you order the plastic. Card.fi is deliberately quiet on the network: the terms say cards are issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes” but do not name Visa or Mastercard. For most readers the practical consequence is that a card scheme is being used, which is what enables Apple Pay and Google Pay, but you cannot tell from the public page which one.
Physical Classic and Premium cards ship within 5 to 7 business days. Metal is described as express, with a tighter delivery window. The replacement cost for a lost or damaged card is not stated. The countries they actually ship to follow the “200+” figure, so the same exclusions apply as for sign-up.
What is not stated, and what I would check before committing any money, is the level of KYC you will be asked for. The terms give Card.fi room to require verification, but they do not say whether that is a one-off photo of an ID or a fuller proof-of-address package. The KYC levels are described in general terms only.
What it really costs: the fees
Cost is the section where Card.fi’s pitch and the maths part company. The headline is “no monthly or annual fee, no inactivity fee, no minimum balance fee.” The footnote is that everything you actually do with the card costs you, in some combination of an up-front price, a top-up fee and a foreign-exchange margin.

The card costs in one table:
| Fee or limit | Classic | Premium | Metal |
|---|---|---|---|
| One-time issue (virtual) | $49 | $249 | — |
| One-time issue (physical / metal) | not listed | not listed | not listed |
| Monthly fee | none | none | none |
| Annual fee | none | none | none |
| Top-up fee | 1.5% + $1.00 | 1% | 1% |
| FX / conversion fee | 3.5% | 2.5% | 2.5% |
| ATM withdrawals | not included on virtual | larger allowance; amount and fee not stated | largest allowance; amount and fee not stated |
| Daily top-up limit | $5,000 | $25,000 | not stated |
| Spending limits | “standard” | “higher” | “higher” |
A few everyday scenarios make the numbers concrete.
Paying for a $100 coffee with a Classic virtual card, funded by swapping some USDT held on Ethereum: you have already paid 1.5% plus $1.00 to top up the card, so $1.50 in percentage plus the $1.00 flat charge, total $2.50. If the coffee is in a currency other than the card’s settlement currency, you add the 3.5% FX margin, which on a $100 spend is another $3.50. Total fees on that one coffee: about $6.00. Repeat every day and the cost stops being a rounding error.
Paying for a $50 supermarket shop with a Premium physical card funded by USDC on Solana: 1% top-up fee, $0.50, and the same currency, so no FX margin. Total fee: fifty cents. That is a sensible cost for the convenience.
Withdrawing the local-currency equivalent of $200 from an ATM with a Premium card: the terms confirm Premium and Metal have larger allowances than Classic, but neither the per-transaction fee nor the cap is published. Treat the ATM as a black box until you have the number in your own account.
The pattern across the tiers is straightforward: the more you pay up front, the less you pay on the way through. Classic asks $49 once and then charges you 3.5% every time you cross a currency line. Premium asks $249 once and then charges 2.5%. If you spend heavily, Premium wins on cumulative cost; if you only spend occasionally, Classic’s lower entry price wins on cash tied up.
The conversion fee is shown in the app before you confirm each top-up, so you are not surprised at the moment of payment. Cashback is paid on card spending only, not on top-ups: 0.8% on Classic with a 10 USDT monthly cap, 1% on Premium, and 1.2% or 2% on Metal depending on tier, with caps of 100 USDT or 250 USDT per month and lifetime ceilings of 5,000 USDT or 20,000 USDT. The 10% headline at coffee shops is capped at 10 USDT per month, so treat it as a small rebate rather than a meaningful earn.
How to top up Card.fi
Top-up is where Card.fi is at its most generous, and where the most money is easiest to lose by accident. The card accepts 32 coins across 5 networks: Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana and Kaanch. Among the named supported assets are USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL and the KAANCH token, with the full 32-coin list accessible inside the app.

Each card has its own deposit address. You send crypto to that address, and the platform converts it at the market rate when it arrives. The minimum top-up amount is shown in your account, not on the public page, so the threshold you actually face is a number you will see only after signing in. The order completes after the relevant on-chain confirmation.
The fee structure mirrors the rest of the product. Classic pays 1.5% plus a $1.00 flat charge; Premium and Metal pay 1%. The conversion fee is displayed before you confirm each top-up, so there is no ambiguity at the moment of transfer.
The single biggest risk on the way in is sending on the wrong network. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network Card.fi does not support, or to the address of a different chain, is at real risk of being permanently lost. Match the network on the deposit screen to the network your wallet is sending on, character by character, before you confirm.
Card.fi also supports a withdrawal flow that runs in the opposite direction. You can withdraw funds in a supported stablecoin at a 1:1 rate, paying a 1% fee, and the withdrawal sits on a seven-day hold during which it can still be cancelled. If you close the card, the remaining balance is returned to your held balance and remains withdrawable on the same terms. Virtual cards cannot be cancelled once they are issued, so a virtual card you no longer need is a balance you simply stop using.
Paying with it every day
In day-to-day use, Card.fi is closer to a normal prepaid card than to a typical crypto product. The balance is loaded, the card is added to a wallet, and payments behave the way you would expect at the till.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the Classic and Premium tiers, and tokenisation means the card number is never shared with the merchant or stored on Apple’s servers. If your phone is lost or stolen, the token on the device can be suspended independently of the card itself. The card issuer can also restrict a tokenised number, for example blocking it for online use while keeping the physical card active, and the freeze button in the account takes effect immediately.
The card comes with a published list of blocked merchant categories. The list is long and worth checking against your own spending: crypto purchases (MCC 6051), cash equivalent transactions (MCC 6010), ATM cash disbursement (MCC 6011), quasi-cash such as traveller’s cheques and foreign currency (MCC 6050), stored-value card loads (MCC 6540), remittances (MCC 4829), financial institutions (MCC 6012), securities brokers (MCC 6211), telemarketing (MCC 5966), dating services (MCC 7273), massage parlours (MCC 7297), betting including casinos and lotteries (MCC 7995), regional gambling (MCCs 7800, 7801, 7802 and 9406), and political or religious organisations (MCCs 8651 and 8661). All of these will decline, regardless of the balance on the card.
Cashback is paid on card spending only, not on top-ups, and the headline 10% at coffee shops is capped at 10 USDT per month, so it is a small loyalty number rather than a serious earn. The Metal tier advertises up to 18% on balances, but the term is variable and the conditions are not spelled out in the public materials, so do not treat it as a fixed return.
The card itself is managed in the Card.fi web dashboard. “The app” is referenced for the token list, but the public materials I reviewed do not point to a downloadable app, and store ratings were not found. If mobile management matters to you, confirm the app is available in your country before you sign up.
One practical point about disputes: the Card.fi terms do not cover transaction disputes. Disputes fall under the issuer’s cardholder terms, and complaints on card accounts are passed to the On5 Card Network. So if a payment goes wrong, the path runs through the card issuer, not through Card.fi.
What can go wrong
Two layers of risk sit on top of the card’s normal prepaid-card risks: the company structure and the custody model.
Card.fi trades as Kaanch Limited, a Hong Kong entity. Cards are issued by the On5 Card Network, and on-chain settlement runs on the Kaanch Network. The public materials do not name any licences, so it is not possible to confirm from the outside that the issuer holds an e-money or banking licence in a recognised jurisdiction, or that the crypto side is regulated under MiCA, FinCEN or any equivalent. A regulated crypto card in the EU sits on top of an EMI licence on the payment side and a CASP authorisation on the crypto side, and the public materials I read do not show either for Card.fi.
The second layer is custody. Card.fi holds your balance as what the terms describe as “a sum we owe you.” That is the language of a custodial product: the platform holds the funds, you hold the credit. The terms do not address safeguarding or segregation, so there is no commitment that the customer funds sit in a separate account or are insured. In the EU, an EMI is required to safeguard customer funds by segregation or insurance, and those funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme; the Card.fi materials do not make any equivalent commitment, and that absence is the relevant fact.
A few smaller risks round out the picture. There is no official incident report and no Trustpilot or Reddit footprint for Card.fi or Kaanch found in my search, so there are very few independent data points to lean on. Support runs through email from your account address and a Telegram channel; the terms promise an acknowledgement within two working days and a resolution or explanation within fifteen, with priority support on Premium. If you freeze the card in your account, the freeze is immediate; per-card limits are applied at the moment of authorisation, so declines happen at the till, not afterwards. Declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds for up to seven days, which is worth knowing if your balance is tight.
A final risk worth flagging: a card programme can be closed. The category has seen this happen. In late 2022, Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. In 2018, WaveCrest, which supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe and all WaveCrest-issued programmes were closed. Card.fi does not publish the kind of programme-closure terms that would let you estimate your own exposure, so the prudent read is to assume the card could be shut down and to keep balances modest as a result.
What to take instead
Card.fi is one of several cards aimed at readers who want to spend crypto through a familiar interface. Three alternatives come up in the same category, each with a different trade.
| Card | Score | Reach | Card form | Funding | Cost signal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “200+ countries”; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Debit crypto card on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical | USDT, USDC, BTC; networks not stated | No published fee; uses an “AI-powered conversion rate” at payment time |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Aimed at Nigeria and “global users” | Virtual USD Mastercard created in 3 minutes | BTC, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated | Virtual card creation is free; other fees not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | No country list; App Store says acceptance in “more than 176 countries” | Prepaid HyperCard; balance in USD or EUR | USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; networks not stated | Not stated |
If you want the broadest network of card schemes in one product, Cardex is the obvious next stop, with Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay all listed, though the App Store page is Naira-focused and the cost side is mostly opaque. If you need a free virtual card quickly, CardFlow creates a USD Mastercard in 3 minutes at no charge, with the trade-off that the cost of spending is not published either. If you want a USD- or EUR-denominated prepaid balance funded by the major stablecoins, HyperCard is a simple shape, and the App Store claim of 176 countries is broader than Card.fi on acceptance, even if eligibility is not the same thing.
The honest comparison is that none of these four cards is a clear category winner on cost. The choice comes down to which combination of country reach, network support, top-up coins and card form fits your situation, and how comfortable you are with cost being published only after sign-up.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Card.fi to a reader who fits a fairly specific profile. You are an adult in a country that is not subject to broad international sanctions, and you either cannot get a mainstream debit card or do not want one. You hold several different cryptocurrencies, including at least one of USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL or KAANCH, and you would rather spend them through a card than through a peer-to-peer sale. You are willing to pay a one-time fee ($49 for Classic, $249 for Premium, more for the metal card) and a recurring top-up and FX margin, in exchange for being able to walk into a shop, tap a phone and have the merchant paid in local currency. The Metal tier makes sense if you want higher cashback, a larger ATM allowance and a dedicated account manager, and you spend enough each month that the 2% earn is worth the up-front cost.
I would not recommend Card.fi if your main concern is the lowest possible cost of converting crypto into spending power, or if your monthly card spending is small enough that the fixed $1.00 top-up fee and the 3.5% Classic FX margin would dominate. I would also be cautious if you live in a country where Card.fi’s “200+ countries” headline cannot be independently confirmed, if the absence of a named licence is a deal-breaker for you, or if you are uncomfortable with the platform holding your balance as an unsecured company debt. In any of those cases, the alternatives above, or a card backed by a named e-money institution with a clear safeguarding commitment, is the safer fit.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Card.fi card?
Card.fi is a prepaid crypto card that lets you spend the value of your crypto through a Visa or Mastercard-style card at the till, online, or in Apple Pay and Google Pay. The card is operated by Kaanch Limited in Hong Kong, issued by the On5 Card Network, and settled on the Kaanch Network, with a stated reach of “200+ countries.”
Is Card.fi a bank?
No. Card.fi is a programme manager and front-end for a prepaid card issued by a separate entity, the On5 Card Network. The public materials do not name any banking or e-money licence, and the balance you hold is described in the terms as a sum the company owes you, not as a bank deposit.
Who owns Card.fi?
The trading name Card.fi belongs to Kaanch Limited, a Hong Kong company. Card issuance is handled by the On5 Card Network, and on-chain settlement runs on the Kaanch Network. Licences held by any of these entities are not named on the public pages.
Is the Card.fi card available in my country?
The banner claim is “200+ countries,” and the only named exclusion is residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service.” There is no published list of supported or unsupported countries, so the only way to confirm availability for your specific country is to start the sign-up flow.
How do I get a Card.fi card?
You create an account, choose a tier (Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249, physical or metal pricing not listed), and complete any identity verification the issuer asks for. The minimum age is 18. If verification fails, the card is not issued and the fee is refunded.
Does Card.fi require KYC?
The terms say the issuer may require identity verification before issuing a card or raising your spending limits, but the public pages do not state which documents are requested or at what level of activity verification kicks in. Expect a basic check at sign-up and additional documents if you want to top up heavily or to spend above the “standard” limit.
How do I top up the Card.fi card?
You send one of 32 supported coins on one of 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana or Kaanch) to the unique deposit address shown in your account. The platform converts at the market rate when the transfer confirms, and the conversion fee is shown before you confirm. The minimum top-up is shown in the app and is not published on the public pages.
Can I add the Card.fi card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Yes. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on Classic and Premium. The card number is tokenised, so the actual PAN never reaches the merchant or Apple’s servers, and the issuer can restrict a tokenised number without affecting the physical card.
Is the Card.fi card safe?
The card has the standard prepaid-card safeguards: instant freeze from the account, per-card spending limits, tokenised mobile wallets and a published list of blocked merchant categories. The weaker points are the absence of named licences, the custodial model in which your balance is held as a company debt, and the very thin public footprint of independent reviews or complaints.
How do I withdraw money from Card.fi?
You request a withdrawal in a supported stablecoin at a 1:1 rate, paying a 1% fee. The withdrawal is held for seven days, during which it can still be cancelled, after which the stablecoin is sent to your external wallet. Closing the card returns the remaining balance to your held balance, which stays withdrawable on the same terms.
Virtual cards in the catalogue – cryptocardcatalog
Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team
