A US Bank-issued Visa that spends straight from a stablecoin balance

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The DPT card sits in an unusual corner of the crypto-card market. It is a Visa debit card issued by U.S. Bank, but the balance behind it is held in USDC or USDT. When you tap to pay at a shop, the stablecoin converts to fiat at the moment the Visa transaction clears. There is no separate “fiat wallet” to manage and no manual conversion step before spending.

DPT works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review walks through who DPT accepts, what the card actually costs in everyday use, how the funding flow works, and where the rough edges are. The DPT card suits stablecoin holders who want a clean Visa product from a regulated bank rather than a prepaid programme. It is less suitable for anyone who needs to keep balances in multiple currencies, who wants cashback on every purchase, or who lives in the United States or Canada, because the operator does not offer services there.

Conditions current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

I give the DPT card 8.5 out of 10. That score reflects a few things. The card is genuinely issued by U.S. Bank under a Visa licence, custody sits with BitGo, and the operator is a Hong Kong TCSP-licensed entity. The acceptance footprint is wide: DPT says spending works in “150+ countries” wherever Visa is taken. For someone who already holds USDC or USDT, the flow is unusually clean: a transfer in, a tap to pay, no pre-loading step.

Where the score gives ground is in the everyday-use category. The fee schedule is not published in full on the public pages, so you find out about the $0.10 small-transaction charge, the 2.00% foreign-currency ceiling and the ATM surcharge only after signing up. The DPT app is the source of truth for limits, and that means a new user is committing before they see the numbers. There is no cashback on card spend, and multi-currency balances are not part of the product.

The headline audience is straightforward: stablecoin holders who want a US Bank-issued Visa card. If that is you, the DPT card does the job. If your priority is rich rewards, multi-currency accounts or a card you can use while living in the US, you should look elsewhere.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Spending in 150+ countries wherever Visa is taken; services not offered in the US, Canada or comprehensive-sanctions jurisdictions
Cost 8 / 10 USD transactions free, foreign-currency 0% to 2.00% FX, no DPT deposit fee; issuance and monthly fees not stated publicly
Top-up options 9 / 10 USDC or USDT on Ethereum, Polygon, Tron, Solana; Base, BNB and fiat on the roadmap
Reliability and complaints 9 / 10 DPT (HK) Limited holds TCSP licence TC010834, card issued by U.S. Bank, custody with BitGo; no public complaints found
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card for Apple Pay and Google Pay, physical card with chip and contactless; ATM fees and merchant restrictions not fully disclosed
Total 8.5 / 10 A clean stablecoin-to-Visa bridge for the audience it targets

Will they give you the card

The DPT card is positioned for global use. The product page says you can spend in “150+ countries” wherever Visa is accepted, and eligibility is checked by country of residence inside the app. The Terms narrow that picture in two important places. Services are not offered to persons located in, incorporated in, or resident of the United States or Canada. Services are also not offered to people in comprehensive-sanctions jurisdictions. If you are a US or Canadian resident, you cannot use DPT, regardless of citizenship.

For everyone else, the first check is residency, not nationality. The Terms are written around “located in, incorporated in or resident of” the excluded countries, which means a short trip to New York is not a bar, but moving your address there is. A failed KYC is often explained by an “unsupported jurisdiction”, which is the operator’s way of pointing at the same rule.

What “150+ countries” does not tell you is which currencies DPT can actually settle in, what the issuer (U.S. Bank) thinks of your address, and whether the card will work with merchants in your country. Acceptance depends on the BIN (the first digits of the card number, which identify the issuer) and on the local Visa configuration. A card issued by U.S. Bank looks like a US card to a merchant in another country, and that can cause specific declines for some shops, especially in Europe, where Address Verification Service is patchy. That is a category issue, not a DPT issue, but it shows up at the checkout.

The reader’s first question is usually: “Will they give it to me?” The honest answer is: probably, if you are not in the US, Canada or a sanctions jurisdiction, you are at least 18, and you can pass standard KYC. The next question is “Will it work where I shop?”, and that is something you only really learn by trying the card on your usual merchants. The DPT roadmap says 100+ payout currencies across 80+ corridors, which is broad on paper.

How to get it

Sign-up is app-first. You download the DPT app from the Apple App Store or Google Play, or the Android APK at download.dpt.xyz. The app creates one DPT account per individual, and the minimum age is 18. KYC asks for a government-issued ID and a live selfie taken inside the app, and the Learn guide also lists a passport or national ID plus a proof of address (utility bill or bank statement, no more than three months old). The two DPT pages differ slightly: the main KYC page does not mention proof of address, the Learn guide does. In practice, you should have both ready.

Verification is typically minutes, sometimes up to 24 hours. The reasons for failure are the usual ones: blurry or expired ID, mismatched personal information, or an unsupported jurisdiction. KYC is required before you can have a card, before you can deposit at full capacity, and before you can pay out. There are no guest tiers for limited spending.

Once KYC clears, you can request a virtual card and a physical card. The virtual card is for Apple Pay and Google Pay; the physical card has a chip and contactless. DPT does not publish issuance fees, monthly fees, or shipping times for the physical card on its public pages. All of that shows up after verification, inside the app. If those numbers matter to you, you have to sign up to see them.

There is no separate activation step described in the public pages. Adding the virtual card to Apple Pay or Google Pay and the first successful top-up with USDC or USDT are effectively the activation.

Fees: what it really costs

The published fee schedule is short, and the rest lives in the app. Here is what is stated outright, in the order it tends to show up at a checkout.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a DPT payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Issuance fee Not stated publicly (shown in the app)
Monthly fee Not stated publicly (shown in the app)
USD transactions Free
Foreign-currency transactions 0% to 2.00% FX fee, depending on currency
Small transactions ($25 or less) $0.10 per transaction (currently waived as a limited-time promotion)
Declined transactions First 3 per calendar month free, then $0.50 each
DPT deposit fee None
ATM withdrawal 2% of amount + 0% to 1.75% FX surcharge + any ATM operator fee
Spending limits Not stated publicly (shown in the app after verification)

The “0% to 2.00% FX” range is the part to think about. DPT does not publish a per-currency table, so you do not know the exact fee for a specific currency without checking inside the app. The 2.00% ceiling is the worst case, and it is a normal ceiling for crypto cards. USD is free, which is a real benefit if you live, work, or run a business in dollars.

The $0.10 small-transaction fee is currently waived. The phrase “limited-time” is doing a lot of work there, so the waiver is promotional and the fee will return. The first three declines per month are free; the fourth costs $0.50. That is unusual. Most issuers do not charge for declines, and a $0.50 fee after three is a clear nudge to fix whatever is going wrong with your card setup rather than tap again.

ATM use is where the costs add up. A withdrawal outside USD costs 2% of the amount, plus up to 1.75% FX surcharge, plus whatever the ATM operator adds. There is no free allowance. If you need ATM cash regularly, this is not the cheapest card for it.

The absence of a stated issuance fee, monthly fee or shipping cost is the bigger gap. A reader has to create an account to see those numbers. That is a friction point if you are comparison shopping.

Three everyday payments

To make the cost picture concrete, here are three typical transactions and what each would cost under the published rules.

The big-picture takeaway is straightforward. For USD spending, the DPT card is essentially free. For non-USD spending, plan on a 0% to 2.00% FX cost. For ATM use, do not use this card for cash unless you have to.

Top up: how to fund the card

The funding model is what makes DPT different. There is no fiat deposit step in the live product. The card balance and the account balance are the same, and that balance is held in stablecoins. When you spend, the conversion to fiat happens at the Visa transaction.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up DPT starts with a transfer to the right network

Right now, the live top-up options are USDC and USDT on four networks:

The DPT app generates a deposit address for the network you choose. The minimum is 1 USDC or 1 USDT on Ethereum, Polygon and Solana, and 10 USDT on Tron. There is no DPT deposit fee; you pay the blockchain gas only, and that goes to the sender’s wallet. In practice that means you keep a small amount of the network’s native token (ETH, MATIC, SOL, TRX) in your wallet so the transfer can go through. Credit to your account arrives about a minute after on-chain confirmation.

The roadmap, not yet live, adds Base, BNB and fiat deposits (card and bank). Until fiat top-up is enabled, the only way to add money is to send stablecoins. That is a real constraint if you earn wages in fiat and do not already hold crypto.

A few practical warnings from the published guidance. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native Circle option; if DPT says it accepts USDC on Tron, treat that as the operator’s own wallet handling the deposit. The bigger warning is universal to crypto: a transfer sent on a network DPT does not support, or to an address of a different network, can be lost. Blockchain transactions are irreversible, and recovery is manual, slow, and not guaranteed. Always send a small test amount first if you are using a new network or a new wallet.

For moving money out, there are two paths. Crypto withdrawal: DPT commission 0.1% plus gas. The gas cost depends on the network (around $2.00 on Ethereum, $1.00 on Polygon, $1.00 on Solana, $5.00 on Tron at the time of writing). Bank payouts work across a number of corridors with a provider fee: India 0.30%, Nigeria 0.80%, Vietnam 0.60%, Philippines 0.50%, Brazil 0.45%, Mexico 0.50%, Indonesia 0.55%, Thailand 0.40%, Europe SEPA Instant 0.35%, UK Faster Payments 0.35%. The DPT nav bar mentions 80+ corridors; the Terms mention 100+ payout currencies. On account closure, DPT may delete an account on 7 days’ notice, and how the remaining balance is returned is not stated clearly in the public pages. Ask support before you zero the account.

Paying with it every day

Once you are set up, the card behaves like any other Visa debit card, with the same caveats. A virtual card is added to Apple Pay or Google Pay “where available”, which is the standard hedge. Whether a physical DPT card can be tokenised into a mobile wallet is not stated. In practice, virtual cards almost always can; physical cards depend on the issuer’s policy.

In a shop, the flow is: tap or insert the card, the merchant sends the transaction to Visa, Visa sends it to U.S. Bank, U.S. Bank asks DPT to settle, DPT converts the relevant amount of USDC or USDT to USD at the prevailing rate, and the merchant is paid in fiat. You see the fiat amount in your banking app; the stablecoin balance drops by the equivalent.

There is no card cashback. DPT does run a Rewards and Referral Program (referral commissions, points, elite rewards) and a DPT Earn product that puts stablecoins into a yield vault, but you will not get a flat percentage back on every coffee. If cashback is your main reason to use a card, the DPT card is the wrong tool.

Blocked merchant categories are not stated in the public pages. The help centre has merchant-restriction articles I did not read in full, which is the standard place crypto cards put gambling restrictions, adult content, and so on. The category fact worth knowing: many issuers block MCC 7995 (gambling) on crypto cards. If gambling matters to you, test before committing.

App ratings are not in the public record. A search for the DPT app on the Apple App Store and Google Play did not return a listing I could confirm. The operator hosts an Android APK at download.dpt.xyz, which is itself a small trust signal worth noting: it suggests the Google Play listing is either not published or geo-restricted in the regions I checked. The Telegram channel and X account are linked from the help centre, and the support page lists [email protected], a ticket system, and a help centre with 12 categories.

Disputes work, but the rules are not aligned across DPT’s own pages. The Learn guide says to file a dispute with support within 60 days of the statement posting date for unauthorised charges. The Terms say card disputes or chargebacks must be raised within 90 days of the transaction date. Use the longer window in your own records, and assume the 60-day statement-posting rule is the one support will quote. Decisions by DPT or its Service Partners are generally final, and the Terms point to Hong Kong courts or LCIA arbitration in London. That is a real consideration if you ever need to escalate.

What can go wrong

Crypto cards combine the failure modes of a card programme with the failure modes of a custodian and a blockchain, and the DPT card is no exception. Here are the risks I would weigh before signing up.

The DPT card has more transparency than many crypto cards: the operator, the issuer, the custodian and the licence are all named. That is positive. The risk profile is still that of a stablecoin-funded card, and the only ways to reduce it further are to keep balances low, to use a self-custody wallet to send deposits rather than leaving funds on an exchange, and to avoid the card as a long-term store of value.

What to take instead

The DPT card is not the only option. Three alternatives show up in the same general category. None of them is a clone, and each makes different trade-offs.

Card Score Networks Card type Funding Best for
DPT 8.5 / 10 Visa Virtual and physical, USD USDC, USDT on Ethereum, Polygon, Tron, Solana Stablecoin holders wanting a US Bank-issued Visa
Cardex 5.6 / 10 VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay Virtual and physical, Naira USDT, USDC, BTC Users whose primary need is a Naira-denominated card
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Mastercard Virtual USD card, about 3 minutes to create BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer Nigerians needing a quick virtual USD card
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Not stated Prepaid, balance in USD or EUR USDT, BTC, ETH Users wanting a simple USD or EUR balance prepaid card

The honest comparison is that DPT is the strongest of the four on transparency and regulatory framing. The others may be faster to set up, cheaper to fund, or more useful in specific corridors (Naira for Cardex and CardFlow, EUR balance for HyperCard). The score gap reflects that.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the DPT card to a stablecoin holder who:

I would not recommend the DPT card to someone who:

If you are not sure which bucket you fall into, the cheapest way to find out is to do a small test: download the app, complete KYC, see the fee schedule in the app, send a small USDC transfer, and put the card into Apple Pay. None of those steps commits large amounts of money, and they will tell you in an afternoon whether the DPT card is the right tool.

Frequently asked questions

What is the DPT card?

The DPT card is a Visa debit card issued by U.S. Bank under a Visa licence and managed by DPT (HK) Limited, a Hong Kong company. The balance behind the card is held in USDC or USDT, and the conversion to fiat happens at the moment of the Visa transaction. There is no manual conversion step and no separate fiat wallet.

How does the DPT card work?

You send USDC or USDT to a DPT deposit address on Ethereum, Polygon, Tron or Solana. The stablecoin balance in the DPT app is the card balance. When you pay at a shop, the merchant sees a normal Visa transaction, the issuer settles in fiat, and the equivalent amount of stablecoin is deducted from your account at the prevailing rate.

Is DPT a bank?

DPT itself is not a bank. DPT (HK) Limited holds a Hong Kong TCSP licence (TC010834) under AMLO Cap. 615 for trust or company service provider activities. The card is issued by U.S. Bank under a Visa licence, and custody of the stablecoin assets is with BitGo, which DPT describes as a “qualified custodian” with coverage up to $250M subject to terms.

Who owns DPT?

The public pages name DPT (HK) Limited as the operator. The Terms state that DPT arranges card issuance through a Service Partner, and the licensing structure is Hong Kong TCSP plus U.S. Bank as Visa issuer plus BitGo as custodian.

Is the DPT card available in the United States or Canada?

No. The Terms say services are not offered to persons located in, incorporated in, or resident of the United States or Canada, or in comprehensive-sanctions jurisdictions. A failed KYC for an “unsupported jurisdiction” is the operator’s way of saying the same thing.

Does the DPT card require KYC?

Yes. KYC is required for the card, for deposits at full capacity, and for payouts. You need a government-issued ID and a live selfie in the app, and the Learn guide also lists a proof of address no more than three months old. Verification usually takes minutes, but can take up to 24 hours. Limits appear in the app after verification.

How do I add the DPT card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

The virtual card is the path into mobile wallets. Once KYC is complete and the virtual card is issued, the DPT app offers an Add to Apple Pay or Add to Google Pay option. Whether the physical card can be tokenised is not stated. Mobile wallet support is “where available”, which is the standard hedge.

How do I top up the DPT card?

You send USDC or USDT to the DPT deposit address for one of the live networks: Ethereum (ERC-20), Polygon, Tron (TRC-20), or Solana. Minimum 1 USDC or USDT on Ethereum, Polygon and Solana, 10 USDT on Tron. There is no DPT deposit fee. The sender pays the blockchain gas. Credit to the account arrives about a minute after on-chain confirmation.

Is the DPT card safe?

The DPT card has more transparency than many crypto cards: a named operator (DPT (HK) Limited), a named US bank issuer (U.S. Bank), a named custodian (BitGo), and 24/7 support. The standard risks of a stablecoin-funded card still apply: custodian and counterparty risk, stablecoin depeg risk, sanctions and censorship risk, and the irreversibility of blockchain transfers. Always send a small test amount first if you are using a new network, and keep balances low.

How do I close my DPT account?

The Terms allow DPT to delete an account on 7 days’ notice. To close from your side, contact support at [email protected] or through the in-app ticket system and ask for closure. How the remaining balance is returned is not stated clearly in the public pages, so ask support before you zero the account. Withdraw any meaningful balance before requesting closure.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team