The Uphold card spends your crypto balance, but only US residents get it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Uphold card is a Visa card that draws directly on your Uphold wallet balance — more than 300 digital assets plus US dollars — and it comes in two versions, Essential and Elite. The everyday mechanics are unusually clean: no credit check, no annual fee on the basic tier, and a plastic card that costs $4.99 once. The problem is that almost everything interesting about it stops at the US border. This is a review of the card as it is actually offered, not of the crypto-card idea in general.

Uphold works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.8 out of 10

I scored the Uphold card 5.8 / 10. That number is not a rounding of something rosier. The card does its job well and the fee structure is among the more honest in the category; the score is dragged down almost entirely by who can actually get it, and by a reliability record that is genuinely mixed.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Uphold starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is the breakdown I worked from.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Residents of US states and Washington D.C. only; not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories
Cost 6 / 10 Essential: $0 annual, $0 virtual, $4.99 plastic, 1.50% FX, $2.95 ATM; Elite: $99.99 a year, 0% FX. BTC/ETH conversion spread 2.05% to 2.2%
Top-up options 8 / 10 Card spends the wallet balance: 300+ digital assets and USD, stablecoins highlighted; funding by bank transfer, PayPal or crypto; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issuer is Cross River Bank (Member FDIC), programme run by Uphold HQ Inc.; Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 from 27,602 reviews, but account freezes lasting weeks and up to 3 months
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available”, ATM $2.95 on Essential and $0 on Elite

Who it suits. A resident of a US state (outside Louisiana and New York, and not in a territory) who already holds crypto or stablecoins and wants to spend them without selling to a bank first. The two features that stand out for that person are the size of the spendable asset list and the fact that the balance simply sits there in US dollars if you want it to. A stablecoin user is the best-case case here: the card treats US dollars and dollar stablecoins at a 1:1 rate up to a $20,000 monthly cap per customer, so a USDC or USDT balance behaves almost exactly like a dollar account.

Who it does not suit. Almost anyone outside the United States. If you are in the UK, the EU, Latin America or Asia-Pacific, this card is not for you, and no account standing will change that. Within the US, it is also a poor fit if you travel often and spend in other currencies on the basic tier — 1.50% on every foreign purchase adds up quickly — or if you need a card that a landlord, a car rental desk or an online casino will accept without argument. And if you are the kind of person who would be unsettled by an account freeze lasting three months, read the complaints section before you deposit anything.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: only if you live in the United States, and specifically not everywhere in it. The card page is for residents of US states and Washington D.C., and it is not available in Louisiana, New York, or US territories. The test is residence, not citizenship — the card’s public pages frame eligibility around where you live.

That single line decides the review for most of the world. If you were reading this hoping for an answer about your own country, the answer is almost certainly no, and the rest of this page is about whether to go through with it if the answer is yes.

There is no credit check. That matters more than it sounds: this is not a card that asks a bureau whether you have debt, so there is no credit-building side effect and no rejection on that basis. But “no credit check” is not the same as “no checks at all,” and I would rather be blunt about that than reassuring. The card terms require an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and a date of birth, and personal use only. The pages I read do not state what documents are required, what proof of address looks like, whether an age threshold is enforced beyond the general rule that prepaid and debit cards go to adults, how many identity-check tiers exist, or how long verification takes. Treat the verification process itself as something you will find out about by starting it, not something you can plan around from the outside.

How to get it

The mechanics are short, which is partly why the card scores well on everyday use. You need an Uphold wallet first; the setup is described as taking under five minutes. Once the wallet exists, the card lives inside it — virtual first, physical if you want one.

The card itself is a Visa, denominated in US dollars. There are two versions and two materials:

A US mailing address is required for the physical card. Delivery time and shipping cost are not stated on the pages I could read, which is an honest gap rather than a red flag, but it does mean you are ordering somewhat blind. Expedited replacement is “not available.” Replacement cards cost $4.99 on Essential and $29.99 on Elite, and Elite includes one free replacement per year.

There is no credit check to pass, no waiting period published, and no fee quoted for the application itself. Upgrading from Essential to Elite costs $0.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is every fee the card’s own pages give a value for. Where a number is missing, I have written “not stated” rather than guessing — a missing figure is information, and a wrong one is worse.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Uphold payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Essential Elite
Card issuance $4.99 $0
Annual fee $0 $99.99
Virtual card $0 $0
Physical card $4.99 (plastic) $0 (metal)
Foreign transaction fee (purchases) 1.50% 0%
POS purchase $0 $0
ATM withdrawal (in- or out-of-network) $2.95 $0
Foreign ATM transaction fee $1.50 $0
Replacement card $4.99 $29.99 (one free per year)
Closing the card $0 $0
Customer service $0 $0
Upgrade Essential to Elite — $0
ATM balance inquiry not available not available
Crypto conversion fee not stated not stated
Free ATM allowance not stated not stated

A coffee abroad. Say you are in a European city and buy something for €4.50 on Essential. Visa converts the amount to US dollars at the rate in effect on the processing day — not the rate you saw when you tapped — and then the card adds 1.50%. On Elite that 1.50% simply is not there, which is the single cleanest reason to pay the $99.99 if you travel. Note also that the bank does not reimburse exchange-rate losses or foreign fees: the rate the network gives you is the rate you get.

A card payment at a US shop. A point-of-sale purchase is $0 on both tiers. This is the case the card is genuinely good at.

Crypto-funded spending. Here the fee is not a card fee at all — it is the conversion spread inside the wallet. Converting US dollars and dollar stablecoins is 0% at a 1:1 rate, with a $20,000 monthly cap per customer. Other stablecoins come in under 0.25%, major FX pairs at 0.3%. Bitcoin and Ethereum are 2.05% to 2.2%, altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%, precious metals 2.35% to 3.40%. So if you pay a $60 lunch with ETH, roughly $1.23 to $1.32 leaves you as spread, invisibly, inside the conversion. That is the number to argue with yourself about, not the $0 POS fee — and the app’s “Preview Trade” is the tool that shows you the all-in price before you commit.

Limits. Both tiers cap the card balance at $25,000. Essential allows $2,500 a day and $10,000 a month across purchases and total withdrawals; ATM withdrawals are $500 a day and $2,000 a month, three per day and ten per month. Elite lifts the purchase and withdrawal ceiling to $25,000 a day and $100,000 a month, with ATM at $2,000 a day and $10,000 a month, still three per day but thirty per month. Bank-teller cash withdrawal matches the ATM amounts. Elite also advertises “higher limits” generally, and its perks are 4% in XRP on crypto- and metals-funded spend or 3% on fiat and stablecoin spend, capped at up to $300; Essential pays 2% in XRP, capped at up to $120.

A multi-currency balance is not stated for this card. It is a dollar card.

How to top it up

Topping up is where this card is most unusual, and the reason it scores 8 out of 10 on this criterion. You do not load the card; the card spends the wallet. You hold a balance of more than 300 digital assets plus US dollars, with stablecoins highlighted as the practical middle ground, and the card simply draws down whatever is there. In effect the card and the wallet are one pot.

That pot can be filled four ways: bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal, or a crypto deposit from elsewhere. Per-method deposit fees and minimum amounts are not stated, and — worth pausing on — the networks you can send crypto over are not listed either. I would not assume a network is supported because it is popular.

The conversion spreads are the real cost of topping up with crypto, and they are wide at the altcoin end: 0% for US dollars and dollar stablecoins up to the $20,000 monthly cap, under 0.25% for other stablecoins, 0.3% for major FX pairs, 2.05% to 2.2% for BTC and ETH, 2.85% to 3.8% for altcoins, and 2.35% to 3.40% for precious metals.

A word on the mechanics, because this is where people lose money across the whole category and not only here: blockchain transfers are irreversible. Sending on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can mean the funds are gone or need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached. If you are sending ETH itself you also need ETH for gas — a wallet holding a token but no native asset cannot send it.

Funds already in the card account do not expire. You can close the card through customer service at a $0 fee, though the bank may cancel the card at any time. Withdrawal-to-bank fees are not stated. And a limit worth holding onto: only the US dollar fiat account is FDIC-insured; crypto and metals are not.

Paying with it every day

This is the strongest section of the review, and the card is good at being boring in the right way. It is a Visa, virtual and physical, it works in Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available” — that qualifier is the card’s, and it is worth noticing. Blocked merchant categories are not stated. For prepaid-style cards in this category the common blocklist question is gambling, since the relevant merchant category code covers casinos, betting and lotteries; but Uphold does not publish a list, so I cannot tell you what is switched off. If gambling is relevant to you, ask before you rely on it.

The rewards are the one thing that is genuinely different. Elite pays up to 4% in XRP on crypto- and metals-funded spending, or 3% in XRP on fiat and stablecoin spending, capped at up to $300. Essential pays 2% in XRP, capped at up to $120. The rewards currency is currently XRP, and the programme applies for three months after activation on cards activated on or after 1 January 2026. Read that twice: the reward is a crypto token, not dollars. Its value on the day you redeem is the value you get, and if the value of XRP falls during your three months, so does the value of your reward. This is a real feature with a real caveat, and I would treat the cap as the realistic figure rather than the headline percentage.

On the software side, the iOS App Store rating was 4.7 out of 5 from 91K ratings when I checked (version 6.111.0, iPhone); I did not read the Google Play rating, so I am not going to quote one.

If a payment goes wrong, the dispute path is defined. You start it in the Uphold Platform; errors should be reported within 60 days; a dispute reported by phone needs written confirmation within 10 business days; the bank decides within 10 business days; a full resolution can take up to 45 days with provisional credit within 10 business days; and up to 90 days applies in some cases, including new cards, point-of-sale and foreign-initiated transactions. Unauthorized Visa transactions are investigated in 5 business days, plus 5. Lost or stolen cards cap your liability at $50 if you report within 2 business days, up to $500 later. Notably, the terms do not use the word “chargeback” anywhere — that word describes a refund the issuer orders, and here the process is called a dispute.

What can go wrong

Two categories, and I would rather you read both.

The platform side. Trustpilot showed 4.6 out of 5 from 27,602 reviews when I checked, about 6,386 of them in the last 12 months; 67% five-star and 17% one-star, with 0% of negative reviews replied to. That headline number is good. The themes underneath it are what matter, and they cluster on one thing: accounts frozen or restricted without explanation, lasting weeks and sometimes up to three months. In reports from September and October 2026 this most often followed a first deposit, linking the card, a withdrawal attempt, or a mismatch between the location the account shows and where the person is. There is also recurring complaint about slow, bot-driven support; identity-verification friction such as expired verification links and lockouts after a phone number change; and unexpected charges.

Outside Trustpilot, the picture is rougher and the numbers conflict, which is itself worth noting: a third-party aggregator and a community thread report markedly lower scores for the same brand, and a complaints directory lists 1.9 out of 5 from 13 reviews. UK users have a route that US users do not: a Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-5127266, on a closed wallet and card where the card was issued by a different issuer, Optimus Cards UK. There is also an official incident on the record — Uphold’s status page reported a Mastercard-related issue freezing some UK cards, resolved 19 May 2026 — which is reassuring in one narrow way: the company publishes status information and resolves things.

The card side. The issuing bank is Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC, on the Visa network, and the programme manager is Uphold HQ Inc. The specific legal entity and licences behind the US card are not stated on this page. Uphold states plainly that it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank, and only the dollar fiat account carries deposit insurance. On security, Uphold recommends enabling two-factor authentication, uses email verification for unusual activity, and describes a ReserveLedger/Reservechain solvency proof. An in-app card freeze, spending controls and card insurance are not stated on the security page. One asymmetry to keep in mind: Visa Zero Liability does not cover ATM transactions outside the Visa and PLUS networks, so the ATM side of the card is the weaker side of the zero-liability story.

And one structural caution that applies to this whole category rather than this card alone: when a card programme ends, the usual sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Programme closures have happened — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest’s European Visa programmes were suspended in 2018.

Support, if you need it: phone +1 888-977-7217 or the number on the back of the card; mail Uphold Card, 228 Park Ave. S., #50458, New York, NY 10003-1502; in-app or at support.uphold.com; US consumer complaints to the CFPB on 1-855-411-2372. Languages and opening hours are not stated.

What to take instead

Two of the alternatives here are aimed at people outside the US, which is exactly the gap this card leaves. Neither publishes enough for me to compare them properly — card fees, eligibility and top-up mechanics are not stated officially for Young Card or MSX — so I will keep this short and honest rather than pad it.

Card Score What is actually published
Uphold 5.8 / 10 The most complete public pricing of the three: two tiers, full fee list, published limits
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 The most complete public eligibility information: a named region list, card currencies, issuance fees, FX fees and a tiered cashback table
MSX 6.4 / 10 Eligibility, card, cost, fees and funding all not stated on an official page I could read
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Only the rewards structure is public: cashback in YNG tokens by Club tier — Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated)

Bybit Card is the one worth your time if you are outside the US, because it at least tells you where it works. Its help centre names Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. The application asks for your country of residence; if the country is unsupported, Bybit says it “will register your interest.” Its cards page states that the product “is not meant for European Economic Area customers” and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. Card currencies vary by region: US dollars for AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Asia Pacific; Argentine pesos, Mexican pesos, Brazilian reais, or Peruvian pesos or dollars. Virtual issuance is free in all regions “until further notice”; physical issuance is 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD/USDT in Argentina, 29.99 USDT in Georgia and Kazakhstan, 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, and free in Brazil and Mexico, with VIP holders in several regions exempt.

Its fee structure is more expensive on travel than Uphold’s, though: an FX fee of 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 2% as an “International Fee” in Kazakhstan (AIFC) on purchases outside the country even in dollars, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru — against 0% or 1.50% on Uphold. Its conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions. What it has that Uphold does not is a real cashback ladder: from 5 October 2026, only crypto-funded transactions earn, with tiers from Base at 2.00% (5 USD monthly cap) up to Infinite at 10% (600 USD cap, 25,000 USD monthly spend to unlock), plus a 10% welcome cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days. The catch is structural: from that same date, fiat-funded spending earns nothing.

So: Uphold wins on price and on published detail if you are a US resident; Bybit wins on reach if you are not.

Who I would recommend it to

Yes, if you live in a US state other than Louisiana or New York, you are not in a US territory, and you already hold stablecoins or crypto that you want to spend without a separate conversion dance. Stablecoin holders get the cleanest version of this: 1:1 up to $20,000 a month, $0 POS fees, and a $0 annual fee. Frequent travellers who can justify $99.99 a year also get a genuinely good deal — 0% foreign fees and $0 ATM fees remove two costs that quietly dominate other cards.

No, if you are outside the United States. No if you travel and would rather not pay $99.99 for the privilege of 0% foreign fees. Think twice if your income or spending is irregular enough that a three-month account freeze would be a crisis rather than an inconvenience, or if you are considering the altcoin end of the 300+ asset list, where the 2.85% to 3.8% conversion spread is a real haircut on every single payment.

And a caution about the XRP rewards, which are the most eye-catching thing on the page and the most easily misread: you are being paid in a crypto token, capped at $120 or $300, for three months. If that is the reason you are considering the card, you are choosing a token bet with a spending account attached.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Uphold card?

The Uphold card is a Visa that spends your Uphold wallet balance rather than a separate bank account. The wallet holds more than 300 digital assets plus US dollars, with stablecoins highlighted as the practical option. It comes as Essential (plastic physical card) or Elite (metal), each with a free virtual version. It draws down the wallet in real time, so the card cannot overdraw.

How does the Uphold card work?

You top up the wallet by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal or a crypto deposit, then tap the card. When you spend an asset other than dollars, the wallet converts it at that moment and the conversion spread is your cost. US dollars and dollar stablecoins convert 1:1 up to a $20,000 monthly cap; BTC and ETH carry a 2.05% to 2.2% spread; altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%. The card balance is capped at $25,000.

Is Uphold a bank?

No — Uphold states it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank. Your US dollar balances are held at Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC, which is also the issuer for the US card on the Visa network; Uphold HQ Inc. is the programme manager. Only the dollar fiat account is insured. Crypto and metals balances are not, so a stablecoin is not a bank deposit.

Who owns Uphold?

The card programme is run by Uphold HQ Inc. with Cross River Bank as issuer. The specific ownership structure behind Uphold, and the licences covering this card, are not stated on the card page I read. US money transmission rules are the frame: FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money services businesses.

Is the Uphold card available in my country?

Only in the United States, and not all of it. The card page covers residents of US states and Washington D.C.; it is not available in Louisiana, New York, or US territories. The test is residence, not citizenship. If you are in the UK, EU, Latin America or Asia-Pacific, the answer is no, and the account’s country of residence is what determines it.

Does the Uphold card require KYC?

There is no credit check, and wallet setup is described as taking under five minutes. But the card terms require an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and a date of birth. What documents, proof of address, identity-check tiers and processing times apply are not stated on the pages I read, so expect verification to be part of starting the application rather than something you can pre-plan.

What does the Uphold card cost?

Essential: $0 annual, $0 virtual card, $4.99 for the plastic card, 1.50% foreign transaction fee, $2.95 per ATM withdrawal, $1.50 foreign ATM fee, $4.99 for a replacement. Elite: $99.99 a year, $0 for issuance and the metal card, 0% foreign fees, $0 ATM fees, one free replacement per year. Point-of-sale purchases are $0 on both tiers.

How much can I spend or withdraw?

Essential allows $2,500 a day and $10,000 a month across purchases and withdrawals, with ATM withdrawals limited to $500 a day, $2,000 a month, three per day and ten per month. Elite raises this to $25,000 a day and $100,000 a month, with ATM at $2,000 a day, $10,000 a month, three per day and thirty per month. Bank-teller cash matches the ATM amounts. Both tiers cap the card balance at $25,000.

Is the Uphold card safe?

The issuer is a Member FDIC bank and the card runs on Visa, with zero liability on Visa transactions — though not on ATM withdrawals outside the Visa and PLUS networks. Uphold recommends two-factor authentication and uses email checks for unusual activity, and describes a ReserveLedger solvency proof. Against that, user reports from late 2026 describe account freezes and restrictions without explanation lasting weeks to three months, slow bot-driven support and verification lockouts.

Is the Uphold card worth it?

For a US resident spending stablecoins, yes: no annual fee, $0 point-of-sale purchases and 1:1 stablecoin conversion up to $20,000 a month is a hard combination to beat. Elite’s $99.99 is worth it only if you travel enough to care about 0% foreign fees and $0 ATM fees. It is not worth it for XRP rewards alone — those are paid in a crypto token, capped at $120 or $300, and available for three months after activation on cards activated on or after 1 January 2026.

Content created by the «cryptocardcatalog» team